DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s 3/4/26 amendments and accompanying remarks are accepted. Claims 12-20 are rejoined, claim 12 now depending from claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qu (US 20170231533 A1).
For claim 1, Qu teaches An orthopedic brace system, comprising:
a first brace member, arranged to be externally affixed to a first musculoskeletal portion of a subject; a second brace member, arranged to be externally affixed to a second musculoskeletal portion of the subject; a pivot point, affixing the first brace member to the second brace member to permit angular motion therebetween and about a rotational axis defined by the pivot point; [¶¶28-29 ¶33 ¶¶39-41]
and an angular range of motion sensor, arranged configured to measure an angular motion of the orthopedic brace along an angular range of motion of the pivot point about the rotational axis defined by the pivot point, the angular range of motion sensor including: a magnetic field sensor and a magnet, arranged to indicate the angular range of motion by sensing a magnetic field of the magnet that varies with the angular motion of the pivot point. [Fig(s). 1-3 Fig(s). 11]
For claim 2, Qu teaches The orthopedic brace system of claim 1,
wherein the magnet is affixed to one of the first brace member or the second brace member to define the magnetic field that varies with the angular motion of the pivot point, and wherein the magnetic field sensor is affixed to at least one of the first brace member or the second brace member, [¶¶28-29 ¶33 Fig(s). 2]
and wherein at least one of:
(a) the magnet defines a fixed magnetic field central axis that passes through the rotational axis of the pivot point throughout the angular range of motion of the pivot point; [¶¶31-41]
or (b) the magnetic field sensor includes or is coupled to compensation circuitry configured to adjust for a secondary component of variation in the magnetic field through a range of the angular motion of the pivot point.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, and 8-10 are further limitations on an optional limitation (b) of the list of alternates (a) and (b) in claim(s) 2 and as such are moot in view of Qu teaching alternate (a) in claim(s) 2. See MPEP § 2143.03.
For claim 4, Qu teaches The orthopedic brace system of claim 2,
wherein the magnetic field sensor is a single axis magnetic field sensor. [¶¶31-39]
For claim 7, Qu teaches The orthopedic brace system of claim 2,
wherein the magnetic field sensor is multi-axis sensor that produces at least a first signal and a second signal. [¶31 ¶49]
For claim 11, Qu teaches The orthopedic brace system of claim 1,
wherein the angular range of motion sensor includes a wireless transceiver configured to communicate with a handheld or console portion of a gaming controller to use angular range of motion data for gamified physical therapy. [Fig(s). 2 ¶28]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu in view of Mahfouz (US 20130217998 A1).
For claim(s) 12, while Qu generally teaches the use of a gyroscope as in Qu ¶6 ¶26 ¶31 ¶49, Qu does not teach the specifically claimed first and second gyroscope.
Mahfouz teaches an orthopedic brace system [entire disclosure – see at least abstract] comprising a first gyroscope [48a] that produces a first signal, affixed to the first brace member; and a second gyroscope [48b] that produces a second signal, affixed to the second brace member. [¶¶43-45]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the brace system of Qu to incorporate the
For claim(s) 13, Mahfouz teaches (in the motivated combination of claim(s) 12)
wherein the first gyroscope is a multi-axis gyroscope, the second gyroscope is a multi-axis gyroscope, and the pivot point is configured with one or more axis of rotation. [¶¶43-46 ¶¶71-80] As motivated in claim(s) 12.
For claim(s) 14, Mahfouz teaches (in the motivated combination of claim(s) 12)
wherein the angular motion is measured as a relative angular motion determined using the signal of the first gyroscope and the signal of the second gyroscope. [¶¶45-46 ¶¶71-72] As motivated in claim(s) 12.
For claim(s) 15, Mahfouz teaches (in the motivated combination of claim(s) 12)
memory location storing an indication of a starting angle used as a reference for measuring the angular motion of the pivot point relative to the starting angle used as the reference. [¶¶45-46, more generally starting angles as reference is/are central inventive feature(s) detailed throughout the majority (if not the entirety) of the disclosure of Mahfouz — see throughout ¶¶71-89 et seq.] As motivated in claim(s) 12.
For claim(s) 16, Mahfouz teaches (in the motivated combination of claim(s) 12)
circuitry configured to automatically enter the stored indication of a starting angle when the system is powered on. [¶75] As motivated in claim(s) 12.
For claim(s) 17, Mahfouz teaches (in the motivated combination of claim(s) 12)
a mechanical feature defining an angle limit of the pivot point and circuitry configured to automatically enter the stored indication of a starting angle when the pivot point reaches the defined angle limit. [¶63 ¶¶151-157] As motivated in claim(s) 12.
For claim(s) 18, Mahfouz teaches (in the motivated combination of claim(s) 12)
circuitry configured to automatically enter the stored indication of a starting angle when a signal is detected. [¶75 ¶¶151-157] As motivated in claim(s) 12.
For claim(s) 19, Mahfouz teaches (in the motivated combination of claim(s) 12)
circuitry configured to enter the stored indication of starting angle when manually triggered. [¶75 ¶¶151-157] As motivated in claim(s) 12.
For claim(s) 20, Mahfouz teaches (in the motivated combination of claim(s) 12)
circuitry configured to compensate for gyroscopic drift. [¶102 ¶144] As motivated in claim(s) 12.
Pertinent Prior Art
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is provided in the Notice of References Cited (form PTO-892) herewith.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791