DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that the claimed features are directed to a chemically homogeneous single enamel composition and that Baldwin is merely a physical mixture of multiple different compositions, the examiner disagrees. First, the examiner points out that the claims do not require that the composition be chemically homogenous. Second, though Baldwin discloses mixtures of different compositions, Baldwin states “The composition according to the present invention is typically fired at a temperature… Upon firing, the composition according to the present invention forms an enamel ground coat” (column 4, line 39). This implies a single, uniform composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin (US 6511931 B1), hereinafter Baldwin, in view of Kim (US 20130299482 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Baldwin discloses an enamel composition, comprising:
15 to 50 wt% of phosphorous pentoxide (
P
2
O
5
);
5 to 20 wt% of one or more of lithium superoxide (
L
i
2
O
), sodium oxide (
N
a
2
O
), or potassium oxide (
K
2
O
);
fluoride;
1 to 35 wt% of one or more of magnesium oxide (
M
g
O
), barium oxide (
B
a
O
), or calcium oxide (
C
a
O
);
one or more of manganese dioxide (
M
n
O
2
), molybdenum trioxide (
M
o
O
3
), bismuth oxide (
B
i
2
O
3
), or nickel oxide (
N
i
O
); and
2 or less wt% of titanium dioxide (
T
i
O
2
), wherein when the enamel composition includes both
M
o
O
3
and (
B
i
2
O
3
), 2 or less wt% of any one of
M
o
O
3
or
B
i
2
O
3
is included (Examples I and IV possess multiple frits milled together in certain proportions. The examiner has retrieved the relevant data and placed it into a table for simplicity. The examiner notes that the zinc oxide is not given in the table, but is specifically mentioned in column 3, line 13).
Baldwin does not disclose:
1 to 5 wt% of one or more of sodium fluoride (
N
a
F
), calcium fluoride (
C
a
F
2
), or aluminum fluoride (
A
l
F
3
);
5 to 30 wt% of one or more of manganese dioxide (
M
n
O
2
), molybdenum trioxide (
M
o
O
3
), bismuth oxide (
B
i
2
O
3
), or nickel oxide (
N
i
O
).
However, it has been held that “[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP §2144.05(II)(A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Although, it has been further held that "[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result, before determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Refer to MPEP §2144.05(II)(B)(quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In this case, Baldwin discloses a weight percentage of
M
n
O
2
,
M
o
O
3
,
B
i
2
O
3
,
N
i
O
, but does not specifically recite 5 to 30 wt%. Achieving 5 to 30 wt% is a results-effective variable because baldwin states “The
C
u
O
,
C
o
2
O
3
, and
N
i
O
are present in the frit to assist in obtaining a good bond to steel” (column 3, line 13). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the proportion of
N
i
O
, because the selection of proportion to achieve good bonding constitutes the optimization of design parameters, which fails to distinguish the claim
Baldwin does not disclose 1 to 5 wt% of one or more of sodium fluoride (
N
a
F
), calcium fluoride (
C
a
F
2
), or aluminum fluoride (
A
l
F
3
).
However, Kim teaches 1 to 5 wt% of one or more of sodium fluoride (
N
a
F
), calcium fluoride (
C
a
F
2
), or aluminum fluoride (
A
l
F
3
) (“The compound containing F may include
C
a
F
2
,
H
2
S
i
F
6
,
N
a
2
S
i
F
6
, or
A
l
F
3
. However, the current embodiment is not limited thereto, and thus, may include various compounds containing F. F and/or a compound containing F may be contained in an amount of about 1.8 wt % to about 7.7 wt % in the glass frit. Preferably, F may be may be contained at a rate of about 1.8 wt % to about 6.9 wt % in the glass frit” paragraph [0046]).
Baldwin does not disclose the claimed fluoride compound. Kim teaches the claimed fluoride compound. The substitution of one known element (the generically recited fluoride of Baldwin) for another (the
C
a
F
2
or
A
l
F
3
of Kim) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the fluoride compounds taught in Kim would have yielded predictable results, namely, the introduction of fluoride to the frit Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008). Additionally, it has been held that “[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP §2144.05(II)(A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Although, it has been further held that "[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result, before determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Refer to MPEP §2144.05(II)(B)(quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In this case, Baldwin discloses a weight percentage of fluoride, but does not specifically recite 1-5%. Achieving 1-5% is a results-effective variable because Kim states “F and/or a compound containing F may adequately adjust surface tension of the coating layer” (paragraph [0045]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the proportion of fluoride compound, because the selection of proportion to achieve adequately adjusted surface tension constitutes the optimization of design parameters, which fails to distinguish the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Baldwin, as modified by Kim, discloses the enamel composition of claim 1, further comprising:
20 or less wt% of silicon dioxide (
S
i
O
2
) (At least example IV).
Regarding claim 3, Baldwin, as modified by Kim, discloses the enamel composition of claim 1, further comprising:
15 or less wt% of bismuth oxide (
B
i
2
O
3
) (Baldwin discloses less than 15 wt%
B
i
2
O
3
).
Regarding claim 4, Baldwin, as modified by Kim, discloses the enamel composition of claim 1, further comprising:
1 to 20 wt% of aluminum oxide (
A
l
2
O
3
);
1 to 5 wt% of zirconium dioxide (
Z
r
O
2
); and
1 to 20 wt% of one or more of tin oxide (
S
n
O
) or zinc oxide (
Z
n
O
) (At least example I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee (US 3547098 A)
Ott (US 3580733 A) “It is essential to the development of good continuous cleaning properties that the enameling composition is in intimate contact with a source of halide in a proportion of at least about 1/2% and up to about 25% measured as the halogen element basis weight of the glass frit” column 8, line 8 and “The halide can be smelted into the frit by addition of fluorspar, sodium silicofluoride, cryolite, sodium fluoride or other alkali metal halide” column 8, line 28
Espargilliere (US 20050014625 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762