DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants’ remarks filed February 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8, 16 under 35 U.S.C. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art Kim et al. (US 2023/0045971).
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ assertion-“Thus, Xu only describes selecting a single precoding matrix W each time a downlink signal is received, and performing precoding for symbol streams based on the selected precoding matrix W”-for the same reasons detailed in the Office Action dated December 15, 2025. While it is true that Xu teaches in Section 0078 wherein the precoding matrix W is selected based on the on the uplink MIMO channel matrix, said uplink MIMO channel matrix can change or vary based on the fact that the characteristics of the channel can change thus leading to different precoding matrices.
Kim teaches the feature of a repeated transmission of an uplink signal a plurality of times in succession (Section 0236).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0361198) in view of Xu et al. (US 2009/0046800) and in further view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0045971).
Regarding Claim 1, Ly teaches a method of operating an electronic device, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a downlink control signal requesting repeated transmission of an uplink signal (Section 0094, a scheduling grant for PUSCH repetitions); determining a repeated transmission mode every time the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted in response to reception of the downlink control signal (Section 0094, determining one or more TTIs available for repetitions); and repeatedly transmitting the uplink signal using the repeated transmission mode every time the uplink signal is transmitted (Section 0094, the TTIs available for repetitions will be used for uplink transmission).
Ly does not teach repeated transmission of an uplink signal a plurality of times in succession; determining a repeated transmission mode for changing at least one of a precoding matrix, an analog transmission beam, and transmission power of the uplink signal every time the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted in response to reception of the downlink control signal; successively transmitting the uplink signal the plurality of times.
PLEASE NOTE: Applicants’ indicate that the term “at least one” can be disjunctive (See Paragraph 0021 of Applicants’ specification)
Xu, which also teaches use of MIMO communications, teaches determining a repeated transmission mode for changing at least one of a precoding matrix, an analog transmission beam, and transmission power of the uplink signal every time the uplink signal is transmitted in response to reception of the downlink control signal (Section 0078, selection of different precoding matrices based on the uplink MIMO channel matrix, which is ultimately based on the downlink reference signal therefore rendering a scenario of the selection of different precoding matrices every time the uplink signal, which is the MIMO transmission from the UE, is transmitted in response to reception of the downlink reference signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly with the above features of Xu for the purpose of sending MIMO transmission with less feedback overhead as taught by Xu.
Kim, which also teaches transmitting a PUSCH, teaches the feature of a repeated transmission of an uplink signal a plurality of times in succession and successively transmitting the uplink signal the plurality of times (Section 0236).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Kim for the purpose of obtaining frequency diversity gain as taught by Kim.
Regarding Claim 8, Ly teaches an electronic device comprising: a communication circuit configured to receive, from a base station, a downlink control signal requesting repeated transmission of an uplink signal (Section 0094, a scheduling grant for PUSCH repetitions, typical UEs comprise receivers or transceivers); and a processor configured to: determine a repeated transmission mode (Section 0094, determining one or more TTIs available for repetitions, typical UEs comprise processors); and repeatedly transmit the uplink signal using the repeated transmission mode every time the uplink signal is transmitted (Section 0094, the TTIs available for repetitions will be used for uplink transmission).
Ly does not teach does not teach repeated transmission of an uplink signal a plurality of times in succession; determining a repeated transmission mode for changing at least one of a precoding matrix, an analog transmission beam, and transmission power of the uplink signal every time the uplink signal is transmitted; successively transmitting the uplink signal the plurality of times.
Xu, which also teaches use of MIMO communications, teaches determining a repeated transmission mode for changing at least one of a precoding matrix, an analog transmission beam, and transmission power of the uplink signal every time the uplink signal is transmitted (Section 0078, selection of different precoding matrices based on the uplink MIMO channel matrix, which is ultimately based on the downlink reference signal therefore rendering a scenario of the selection of different precoding matrices every time the uplink signal, which is the MIMO transmission from the UE, is transmitted in response to reception of the downlink reference signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly with the above features of Xu for the purpose of sending MIMO transmission with less feedback overhead as taught by Xu.
Kim, which also teaches transmitting a PUSCH, teaches the feature of a repeated transmission of an uplink signal a plurality of times in succession and successively transmitting the uplink signal the plurality of times (Section 0236).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Kim for the purpose of obtaining frequency diversity gain as taught by Kim.
Regarding Claim 16, Ly teaches an electronic device comprising: a communication circuit configured to receive, from a base station, a downlink signal requesting repeated transmission of an uplink signal (Section 0094, a scheduling grant for PUSCH repetitions, typical UEs comprise receivers or transceivers); and a processor configured to determine a repeated transmission mode every time the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted to the base station (Section 0094, determining one or more TTIs available for repetitions, the TTIs available for repetitions will be used for uplink transmission, typical UEs comprise processors).
Ly does not teach does not teach repeated transmission of an uplink signal a plurality of times in succession; a processor configured to change at least one of a precoding matrix, an analog transmission beam, and transmission power of the uplink signal every time the uplink signal is transmitted to the base station; successively transmitted to the base station.
Xu, which also teaches MIMO communications, teaches a processor configured to change at least one of a precoding matrix, an analog transmission beam, and transmission power of the uplink signal every time the uplink signal is transmitted to the base station (Section 0078, selection of different precoding matrices based on the uplink MIMO channel matrix, which is ultimately based on the downlink reference signal therefore rendering a scenario of the selection of different precoding matrices every time the uplink signal, which is the MIMO transmission from the UE, is transmitted in response to reception of the downlink reference signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly with the above features of Xu for the purpose of sending MIMO transmission with less feedback overhead as taught by Xu.
Kim, which also teaches transmitting a PUSCH, teaches the feature of a repeated transmission of an uplink signal a plurality of times in succession and successively transmitted to the base station (Section 0236).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Kim for the purpose of obtaining frequency diversity gain as taught by Kim.
Regarding Claim 2, The above Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1.
Ly combination does not teach wherein the repeated transmission mode comprises a main mode and a sub-mode, and wherein the main mode comprises any one of: a first main mode indicating to change one of the precoding matrix, the analog transmission beam, and the transmission power; a second main mode indicating to change two of the precoding matrix, the analog transmission beam, and the transmission power; and a third main mode indicating to change all of the precoding matrix, the analog transmission beam, and the transmission power
Xu further teaches wherein the repeated transmission mode comprises a main mode and a sub-mode, and wherein the main mode comprises any one of: a first main mode indicating to change one of the precoding matrix, the analog transmission beam, and the transmission power; a second main mode indicating to change two of the precoding matrix, the analog transmission beam, and the transmission power; and a third main mode indicating to change all of the precoding matrix, the analog transmission beam, and the transmission power (Section 0078, changing the precoding matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly combination with the above features of Xu for the purpose of sending MIMO transmission with less feedback overhead as taught by Xu.
Regarding Claims 4, 15, Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 8. Ly further teaches wherein the downlink control signal further comprises information indicating a number of times for repeatedly transmitting the uplink signal (base station configures the number of repetitions and thus needs to provide to the UE via downlink signalling, Sections 0048, 0094).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0361198) in view of Xu et al. (US 2009/0046800) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0045971), as applied to Claims 2 set forth above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20140128658), hereafter Kim658
Regarding Claim 3, Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 2. Ly combination does not teach wherein the sub-mode comprises: a first sub-mode for randomly selecting one of a plurality of precoding matrices as the changed precoding matrix; a second sub-mode for selecting one of the plurality of precoding matrices as the changed precoding matrix based on a result of channel estimation; a third sub-mode for randomly selecting one of a plurality of analog transmission beams as the changed analog transmission beam; and a fourth sub-mode for selecting one of the plurality of analog transmission beams as the changed analog transmission beam based on the result of the channel estimation.
Xu further teaches a first sub-mode for randomly selecting one of a plurality of precoding matrices as the changed precoding matrix (Section 0078, different precoding matrices can be selected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly combination with the above features of Xu for the purpose of sending MIMO transmission with less feedback overhead as taught by Xu.
Ly combination does not teach teaches a second sub-mode for selecting one of the plurality of precoding matrices as the changed precoding matrix based on a result of channel estimation; a third sub-mode for randomly selecting one of a plurality of analog transmission beams as the changed analog transmission beam; and a fourth sub-mode for selecting one of the plurality of analog transmission beams as the changed analog transmission beam based on the result of the channel estimation.
Kim658, which also teaches selection of precoding matrices, teaches a second sub-mode for selecting one of the plurality of precoding matrices as the changed precoding matrix based on a result of channel estimation (Section 0039); a third sub-mode for randomly selecting one of a plurality of analog transmission beams as the changed analog transmission beam (Section 0048, there is a beam preference); and a fourth sub-mode for selecting one of the plurality of analog transmission beams as the changed analog transmission beam based on the result of the channel estimation (Section 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Kim658 for the purpose of providing wider coverage and higher data rates, which are benefits of the multistage beamforming taught in Kim658.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0361198) in view of Xu et al. (US 2009/0046800) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0045971), as applied to Claims 1, 9 set forth above, and further in view of Bai et al. (US 2022/0109550) in view of Kim et al. (KR 20140128658), hereafter Kim658
Regarding Claims 5, 10, Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 9. Ly further teaches an uplink signal being repeatedly transmitted (Section 0094, the TTIs available for repetitions will be used for uplink transmission).
Ly combination does not teach determining whether there is a downlink signal received while the uplink signal is being repeatedly transmitted; performing channel estimation based on the downlink signal when there is the downlink signal; and changing at least one of the precoding matrix and the analog transmission beam based on a result of the channel estimation, randomly select the changed precoding matrix from among the plurality of precoding matrices based on determining that there is no downlink signal.
Bai, which also teaches the use of TTIs, teaches determining whether there is a downlink signal received while the uplink signal is being transmitted (Section 0004, full duplex mode renders receiving downlink signals while uplink signals are transmitted), randomly select the changed precoding matrix from among the plurality of precoding matrices based on determining that there is no downlink signal (Section 0004, half duplex mode renders no downlink signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly combination with the above features of Bai for the purpose of promoting higher reliability and lower latency duplex communications as taught by Bai.
Ly combination does not teach performing channel estimation based on the downlink signal when there is the downlink signal and changing at least one of the precoding matrix and the analog transmission beam based on a result of the channel estimation.
Kim658, which also teaches selection of precoding matrices, teaches performing channel estimation based on the downlink signal when there is the downlink signal (Section 0039); and changing at least one of the precoding matrix and the analog transmission beam based on a result of the channel estimation (Section 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Kim658 for the purpose of providing wider coverage and higher data rates, which are benefits of the multistage beamforming taught in Kim658.
Regarding Claim 18, Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 16. Ly combination does not teach determine whether there is a downlink signal received while the uplink signal is being repeatedly transmitted; and perform the channel estimation based on the downlink signal.
Bai, which also teaches the use of TTIs, teaches determine whether there is a downlink signal received while the uplink signal is being transmitted (Section 0004, full duplex render receiving a downlink signal while the uplink signal is being transmitted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly combination with the above features of Bai for the purpose of promoting higher reliability and lower latency duplex communications as taught by Bai.
Ly combination does not teach perform the channel estimation based on the downlink signal.
Kim658, which also teaches selection of precoding matrices, teaches perform the channel estimation based on the downlink signal (Sections 0039, 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Kim658 for the purpose of providing wider coverage and higher data rates, which are benefits of the multistage beamforming taught in Kim658.
Claims 9, 11, 12, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0361198) in view of Xu et al. (US 2009/0046800) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0045971), as applied to Claims 8, 16 set forth above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20140128658), hereafter Kim658
Regarding Claim 9, Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 8. Ly further teaches the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted (Section 0094, the TTIs available for repetitions will be used for uplink transmission).
Ly combination does not teach wherein the processor is configured to: determine to change the precoding matrix when the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted; and transmit the uplink signal repeatedly according to the changed precoding matrix which is randomly selected or selected based on a result of channel estimation, from among a plurality of precoding matrices.
Kim658, which also teaches selection of precoding matrices, teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine to change the precoding matrix when the uplink signal is transmitted (Section 0039, signals can transmitted during a variety of times in typical wireless communication systems);and transmit the uplink signal according to the changed precoding matrix which is randomly selected or selected based on a result of channel estimation, from among a plurality of precoding matrices (Section 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Kim658 for the purpose of providing wider coverage and higher data rates, which are benefits of the multistage beamforming taught in Kim658.
Regarding Claim 11, Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 8. Ly further teaches the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted (Section 0094, the TTIs available for repetitions will be used for uplink transmission).
Ly combination does not teach wherein the processor is configured to: determine to change the analog transmission beam when the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted; and transmit the uplink signal repeatedly according to the changed analog transmission beam which is randomly selected or selected based on a result of channel estimation, from among a plurality of analog transmission beams.
Kim658, which also teaches selection of precoding matrices, teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine to change the analog transmission beam when the uplink signal is transmitted (Section 0049, signals can transmitted during a variety of times in typical wireless communication systems); and transmit the uplink signal according to the changed analog transmission beam which is randomly selected or selected based on a result of channel estimation, from among a plurality of analog transmission beams (Section 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Kim658 for the purpose of providing wider coverage and higher data rates, which are benefits of the multistage beamforming taught in Kim658.
Regarding Claim 12, Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 8. Ly further teaches the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted (Section 0094, the TTIs available for repetitions will be used for uplink transmission).
Ly combination does not teach determine whether there is a downlink signal received while the uplink signal is being repeatedly transmitted; perform channel estimation based on the downlink signal based on determining that there is the downlink signal; select the changed analog transmission beam based on the result of the channel estimation; and randomly select the changed analog transmission beam based on determining that there is no downlink signal.
Kim658, which also teaches selection of precoding matrices, teaches determine whether there is a downlink signal received while the uplink signal is being transmitted (Section 0049, signals can transmitted during a variety of times in typical wireless communication systems); perform channel estimation based on the downlink signal based on determining that there is the downlink signal (Section 0049, signals can transmitted during a variety of times in typical wireless communication systems); select the changed analog transmission beam based on the result of the channel estimation (Section 0049); and randomly select the changed analog transmission beam based on determining that there is no downlink signal (Section 0048, preferred beam, no channel estimation thus a downlink signal is not required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Kim658 for the purpose of providing wider coverage and higher data rates, which are benefits of the multistage beamforming taught in Kim658.
Regarding Claim 17, Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 16. Ly further teaches the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted (Section 0094, the TTIs available for repetitions will be used for uplink transmission).
Ly combination does not teach wherein the processor is configured to change the precoding matrix and the analog transmission beam when the uplink signals is repeatedly transmitted, wherein the changed precoding matrix is randomly selected from among a plurality of precoding matrices, or selected based on a result of channel estimation, and
wherein the changed analog transmission beam is randomly selected or selected based on the result of the channel estimation, from among a plurality of analog transmission beams.
Kim658, which also teaches selection of precoding matrices, teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine to change the analog transmission beam and the precoding matrix when the uplink signal is transmitted (Sections 0039, 0049, signals can transmitted during a variety of times in typical wireless communication systems); wherein the changed precoding matrix is randomly selected from among a plurality of precoding matrices, or selected based on a result of channel estimation (Section 0039), and
wherein the changed analog transmission beam is randomly selected or selected based on the result of the channel estimation, from among a plurality of analog transmission beams (Section 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Kim658 for the purpose of providing wider coverage and higher data rates, which are benefits of the multistage beamforming taught in Kim658.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0361198) in view of Xu et al. (US 2009/0046800) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0045971), as applied to Claims 1, 8, 16 set forth above, and further in view of Farag et al. (US 2022/0416977) in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (US 2021/0250871)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claim 6, The Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Ly combination does not teach monitoring a path loss and a block error rate; and changing a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring based on the determined repeated transmission mode comprising a mode for changing the transmission power.
Farag, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches monitoring a path loss (Section 0179, PLRS is monitored); and changing a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring based on the determined repeated transmission mode comprising a mode for changing the transmission power (Section 0179, transmission power takes into account the MPR and thus will be adjusted based on said MPR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Farag for the purpose of providing improved beam selection and tracking, which is a benefit of the beam measurement reporting taught in Farag.
Ly combination does not teach monitoring a block error rate (BLER) and changing a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring based on the determined repeated transmission mode comprising a mode for changing the transmission power.
Rico Alvarino, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches monitoring a block error rate (BLER) (Section 0069, looking to achieve a particular BLER); and changing a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring based on the determined repeated transmission mode comprising a mode for changing the transmission power (Section 0069, transmission power takes into account the MPR and thus will be adjusted based on said MPR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Rico Alvarino for the purpose of enabling a UE to autonomously modify one or more transmission parameters, other than a transmit power, for uplink communications after detecting a change in pathloss as taught by Rico Alvarino.
Regarding Claims 7, 14, The Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 6, 13. Ly combination does not teach wherein the changing the MPR value comprises: in response to detection of increases in the path loss and the block error rate, decreasing the MPR value; and, in response to detection of decreases in the path loss and the block error rate, increasing the MPR value.
Farag, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches in response to detection of increases in the path loss, decreasing the MPR value; and, in response to detection of decreases in the path loss, increasing the MPR value (Section 0179, MPR is associated with the PLRS thus rendering a variety of scenarios such as the decreasing the MPR when the PL increases and increasing the MPR when the PL decreases).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Farag for the purpose of providing improved beam selection and tracking, which is a benefit of the beam measurement reporting taught in Farag.
Ly combination does not teach in response to detection of increases in the block error rate, decreasing the MPR value; and, in response to detection of decreases in the block error rate, increasing the MPR value.
Rico Alvarino, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches in response to detection of increases in the block error rate, decreasing the MPR value; and, in response to detection of decreases in the block error rate, increasing the MPR value (Section 0069, MPR is associated with the BLER thus rendering a variety of scenarios such as the decreasing the MPR when the BLER increases and increasing the MPR when the BLER decreases).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Rico Alvarino for the purpose of enabling a UE to autonomously modify one or more transmission parameters, other than a transmit power, for uplink communications after detecting a change in pathloss as taught by Rico Alvarino.
Regarding Claim 13, The Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 8. Ly further teaches the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted (Section 0094, the TTIs available for repetitions will be used for uplink transmission).
Ly combination does not teach determine to change the transmission power when the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted; monitor a path loss and a block error rate in real time; change a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring; and transmit the uplink signal using the changed transmission power obtained by subtracting the MPR value from a predetermined transmission power value.
Farag, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches determine to change the transmission power when the uplink signal is transmitted (Section 0179, PLRS is monitored, a dynamic power control is taught in Section 0179 thus a determination to change the transmission power can occur when an uplink signal is transmitted); monitor a path loss in real time (Section 0179, PLRS is monitored); change a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring; and transmit the uplink signal using the changed transmission power obtained by subtracting the MPR value from a predetermined transmission power value (Section 0179, transmission power takes into account the MPR, which is effectively subtracting the MPR, and thus will be adjusted based on said MPR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Farag for the purpose of providing improved beam selection and tracking, which is a benefit of the beam measurement reporting taught in Farag.
Ly combination does not teach monitor a block error rate in real time; change a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring; and transmit the uplink signal using the changed transmission power obtained by subtracting the MPR value from a predetermined transmission power value.
Rico Alvarino, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches monitor a block error rate in real time (Section 0069, looking to achieve a particular BLER); change a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring; and transmit the uplink signal using the changed transmission power obtained by subtracting the MPR value from a predetermined transmission power value (Section 0069, transmission power takes into account the MPR, which is effectively subtracting the MPR, and thus will be adjusted based on said MPR)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Rico Alvarino for the purpose of enabling a UE to autonomously modify one or more transmission parameters, other than a transmit power, for uplink communications after detecting a change in pathloss as taught by Rico Alvarino.
Claims 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2022/0361198) in view of Xu et al. (US 2009/0046800) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0045971), as applied to Claim 8 set forth above, and further in view of Bai et al. (US 2022/0109550) in view of Farag et al. (US 2022/0416977) in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (US 2021/0250871)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claim 19, The Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 8. Ly further teaches the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted (Section 0094, the TTIs available for repetitions will be used for uplink transmission).
Ly combination does not teach change the precoding matrix and the transmission power when the uplink signal is repeatedly transmitted, wherein the changed precoding matrix is randomly selected from among a plurality of precoding matrices, or selected based on a result of channel estimation, and wherein the changed transmission power is determined based on a path loss and a block error rate.
Bai further teaches change the precoding matrix when the uplink signal is transmitted (Section 0004, full duplex or half duplex renders a transmission of uplink signals), wherein the changed precoding matrix is randomly selected from among a plurality of precoding matrices, or selected based on a result of channel estimation (Section 0004, no channel estimation is required in order to select precoding matrices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ly with the above features of Bai for the purpose of promoting higher reliability and lower latency duplex communications as taught by Bai.
Ly combination does not teach determine to change the transmission power when the uplink signal is transmitted; monitor a path loss in real time; change the transmission power based on the pathloss.
Farag, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches determine to change the transmission power when the uplink signal is transmitted (Section 0179, PLRS is monitored, a dynamic power control is taught in Section 0179 thus a determination to change the transmission power can occur when an uplink signal is transmitted); monitor a path loss in real time (Section 0179, PLRS is monitored); change the transmission power based on the pathloss (Section 0179 transmission power takes into account the MPR and thus will be adjusted based on said MPR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Farag for the purpose of providing improved beam selection and tracking, which is a benefit of the beam measurement reporting taught in Farag.
Ly combination does not teach monitor a block error rate in real time; change the transmission power based on the BLER.
Rico Alvarino, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches monitor a block error rate in real time (Section 0069, looking to achieve a particular BLER); change the transmission power based on the BLER (Section 0069, transmission power takes into account the MPR and thus will be adjusted based on said MPR)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Rico Alvarino for the purpose of enabling a UE to autonomously modify one or more transmission parameters, other than a transmit power, for uplink communications after detecting a change in pathloss as taught by Rico Alvarino.
Regarding Claim 20, The Ly combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 19. Ly combination does not teach monitor a path loss and a block error rate in real time; change a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring; and determine the changed transmission power obtained by subtracting the MPR value from a predetermined transmission power value.
Farag, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches monitor a path loss in real time (Section 0179, PLRS is monitored); change a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring; and determine the changed transmission power obtained by subtracting the MPR value from a predetermined transmission power value (Section 0179, transmission power takes into account the MPR, which is effectively subtracting the MPR, and thus will be adjusted based on said MPR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Farag for the purpose of providing improved beam selection and tracking, which is a benefit of the beam measurement reporting taught in Farag.
Ly combination does not teach monitor a block error rate in real time; change a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring; and determine the changed transmission power obtained by subtracting the MPR value from a predetermined transmission power value.
Rico Alvarino, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches monitor a block error rate in real time (Section 0069, looking to achieve a particular BLER); change a maximum power reduction (MPR) value based on a result of the monitoring; and determine the changed transmission power obtained by subtracting the MPR value from a predetermined transmission power value (Section 0069, transmission power takes into account the MPR, which is effectively subtracting the MPR, and thus will be adjusted based on said MPR)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ly combination with the above features of Rico Alvarino for the purpose of enabling a UE to autonomously modify one or more transmission parameters, other than a transmit power, for uplink communications after detecting a change in pathloss as taught by Rico Alvarino.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
February 26, 2026