DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 2, 2026 has been entered.
Claim 1, 8, and 14 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Sishtla et al (US 2022/0082687 A1) in view Lue et al (US 11181634 B1) and Sishtla (US 9019145 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sishtla ‘687 teaches a computer apparatus comprising [0026]:
an electronically scanned array (ESA) antenna [0026];
a data storage element [0029 for memory];
and at least one processor in data communication with the ESA antenna, the data storage element, and a memory storing processor executable code for configuring the at least one processor to [0026, 0029]:
retrieve geolocation coordinate data [0050-0051 fur using precomputed historically successfully tapers stored in memory (retrieving data)];
determine a relative location of the ground clutter source with respect to the ESA antenna based at least in part on the geolocation coordinate data and aircraft state data from one or more sensors [0033-0034];
determine an electronic configuration to produce a null in a radiation pattern of the ESA corresponding to the relative location of the ground clutter source [0008 for location relative to aircraft using ESA to manipulate the radiation pattern, 0033-0034].
Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach retrieve geolocation coordinate data associated with a ground clutter source from the data storage element.
Lue has a weather radar system includes a radio frequency receiver (abstract) and teaches retrieve geolocation coordinate data associated with a ground clutter source from the data storage element [col 8, lines 50-67 for having a training database with radar data mapped (location) to ground clutter].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Lue for the purpose to more accurately identifies the particular radar data as representing ground clutter (Lue, col 9, lines 1-10).
Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach and continuously recalculate the relative location and continuously recalculate and apply the amplitude taper or the non-uniform phase distribution while the relative location of the ground clutter source changes, to maintain side lobe levels toward the ground clutter source.
Sishtla ‘145 has a weather radar system is coupled to a weather radar antenna (abstract) and teaches and continuously recalculate the relative location and continuously recalculate and apply the amplitude taper or the non-uniform phase distribution while the relative location of the ground clutter source changes, to maintain side lobe levels toward the ground clutter source [col 5, lines 55 to col 6, line 10 for applying a tuning vector to the radar return data to achieve desired nulls in different ranges].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the null steering calculations as taught by Sishtla ‘145 for the purpose to optimize nulls for a given range (Sishtla ‘145, col 5, lines 55-67).
Regarding Claim 8, Sishtla ‘687 teaches method comprising [0026, 0029]:
retrieving geolocation coordinate data [0050-0051 fur using precomputed historically successfully tapers stored in memory (retrieving data)]:
determining a relative location of the ground clutter source with respect to an electronically scanned array (ESA) antenna based at least in part on the geolocation coordinate data and aircraft state data from one or more sensors [0033-0034];
determining an electronic configuration to adjust an amplitude taper or non-uniform phase distribution along an aperture of the ESA antenna to create a radiation pattern of the ESA to manipulate side lobe levels at a location corresponding to the relative location of the ground clutter source [0008 for location relative to aircraft using ESA to manipulate the radiation pattern, 0033-0034].
Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach retrieve geolocation coordinate data associated with a ground clutter source from the data storage element.
Lue has a weather radar system includes a radio frequency receiver (abstract) and teaches retrieve geolocation coordinate data associated with a ground clutter source from the data storage element [col 8, lines 50-67 for having a training database with radar data mapped (location) to ground clutter].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Lue for the purpose to more accurately identifies the particular radar data as representing ground clutter (Lue, col 9, lines 1-10).
Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach and continuously recalculate the relative location and continuously recalculate and apply the amplitude taper or the non-uniform phase distribution while the relative location of the ground clutter source changes, to maintain side lobe levels toward the ground clutter source.
Sishtla ‘145 has a weather radar system is coupled to a weather radar antenna (abstract) and teaches and continuously recalculate the relative location and continuously recalculate and apply the amplitude taper or the non-uniform phase distribution while the relative location of the ground clutter source changes, to maintain side lobe levels toward the ground clutter source [col 5, lines 55 to col 6, line 10 for applying a tuning vector to the radar return data to achieve desired nulls in different ranges].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the null steering calculations as taught by Sishtla ‘145 for the purpose to optimize nulls for a given range (Sishtla ‘145, col 5, lines 55-67).
Regarding Claim 14, Sishtla ‘687 teaches multi-mode radar system comprising: an electronically scanned array (ESA) antenna [0026, 0029];
a data storage element [0026, 0029];
and at least one processor in data communication with the ESA antenna, the data storage element, and a memory storing processor executable code for configuring the at least one processor to [0026, 0029]:
retrieve geolocation coordinate data [0050-0051 fur using precomputed historically successfully tapers stored in memory (retrieving data)];
determine a relative location of the ground clutter source with respect to the ESA antenna based at least in part on the geolocation coordinate data and aircraft state data from one or more sensors [0033-0034];
determine an electronic configuration to produce a null in a radiation pattern of the ESA corresponding to the relative location of the ground clutter source [0008 for location relative to aircraft using ESA to manipulate the radiation pattern, 0033-0034].
Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach retrieve geolocation coordinate data associated with a ground clutter source from the data storage element.
Lue has a weather radar system includes a radio frequency receiver (abstract) and teaches retrieve geolocation coordinate data associated with a ground clutter source from the data storage element [col 8, lines 50-67 for having a training database with radar data mapped (location) to ground clutter].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Lue for the purpose to more accurately identifies the particular radar data as representing ground clutter (Lue, col 9, lines 1-10).
Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach and continuously recalculate the relative location and continuously recalculate and apply the amplitude taper or the non-uniform phase distribution while the relative location of the ground clutter source changes, to maintain side lobe levels toward the ground clutter source.
Sishtla ‘145 has a weather radar system is coupled to a weather radar antenna (abstract) and teaches and continuously recalculate the relative location and continuously recalculate and apply the amplitude taper or the non-uniform phase distribution while the relative location of the ground clutter source changes, to maintain side lobe levels toward the ground clutter source [col 5, lines 55 to col 6, line 10 for applying a tuning vector to the radar return data to achieve desired nulls in different ranges].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the null steering calculations as taught by Sishtla ‘145 for the purpose to optimize nulls for a given range (Sishtla ‘145, col 5, lines 55-67).
Regrading Claims 2, 9, and 15, Sishtla ‘687 teaches the at least one processor is configured to retrieve a predetermined geolocation of the ground clutter source from the data storage element [0050-0051].
Regarding Claim 3, 10, and 16, Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach a plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a plurality of sensor streams from the plurality of sensors; collate the sensor streams based on time stamps and an aircraft location and altitude; and identify one or more ground clutter sources based on the sensor streams.
Lue has a weather radar system includes a radio frequency receiver (abstract) and teaches a plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to [col 8, lines 30-45]:
receive a plurality of sensor streams from the plurality of sensors [col 8, lines 30-50]; collate the sensor streams based on time stamps and an aircraft location and altitude [col 8, and col 10, lines 50-65];
and identify one or more ground clutter sources based on the sensor streams [col 10, lines 50-65].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Lue for the purpose to predict weather based on received radar entries (Lue, col 8, lines 30-50).
Regarding Claim 4, 11, and 17, Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach the at least one processor is configured as a trained neural network; and the trained neural network is configured to: receive at least the sensor streams; determine a current geolocation; determine that the neural network is trained for the current geolocation; and determine an I/Q adjustment to a radar return signal.
Lue has a weather radar system includes a radio frequency receiver (abstract) and teaches the at least one processor is configured as a trained neural network [col 9, lines 35-50 for using a CNN];
and the trained neural network is configured to: receive at least the sensor streams [col 9, lines 30-50 for using CNN for weather and other entries using radar data];
determine a current geolocation [col 10, lines 15-25];
determine that the neural network is trained for the current geolocation [col 16, lines 30-50 for using historical data with a CNN];
and determine an I/Q adjustment to a radar return signal [col 10, lines 50-65].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the sensor calculations as taught by Lue for the purpose to predict weather based on received radar entries (Lue, col 8, lines 30-50).
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 18, Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach the plurality of sensors includes one or more of GPS/GNSS receivers, Precision Navigation Timing (PNT), weather radar relative navigation, radar landing altimeter, Electro-optic runway landing imagers, TACAN, LORAN and glide slope/localizer landing systems.
Sishtla ‘145 has a weather radar system is coupled to a weather radar antenna (abstract) and teaches the plurality of sensors includes one or more of GPS/GNSS receivers, Precision Navigation Timing (PNT), weather radar relative navigation, radar landing altimeter, Electro-optic runway landing imagers, TACAN, LORAN and glide slope/localizer landing systems [col 5, lines 15-25 for using GPS receivers].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the null steering calculations as taught by Sishtla ‘145 for the purpose to determine range and relative altitude (Sishtla ‘145, col 5, lines 15-25).
Regarding Claims 6, 13, and 19, Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach the null is at least 70 dB below a main lobe in the radiation pattern.
Sishtla ‘145 has a weather radar system is coupled to a weather radar antenna (abstract) and teaches the null is at least 70 dB below a main lobe in the radiation pattern [col 3, lines 40-55 for using 70dB of clutter rejection for null steering].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the null steering calculations as taught by Sishtla ‘145 for the purpose to ensure the null effectively rejects ground clutter (Sishtla ‘145, col 3, lines 40-55).
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Sishtla et al (US 2022/0082687 A1) in view Lue et al (US 11181634 B1) and Sishtla (US 9019145 B1) as applied to claims 8 and 14 above, and in further view of Vacanti (US 2021/0132219 A1).
Regarding Claim 7 and 20, Sishtla ‘687 fails to explicitly teach the at least one processor comprises a processor configured to determine the relative location and a field programmable gate array configured to produce the electronic configuration.
Vacanti has a weather radar with a transmission antenna array that outputs a high aspect ratio FMCW transmission beam (abstract) and teaches the at least one processor comprises a processor configured to determine the relative location and a field programmable gate array configured to produce the electronic configuration [0106 for using FPGAs to control scanning].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the weather scanning techniques, as disclosed by Sishtla ‘687, further including the FPGA calculations as taught by Vacanti for the purpose to reduce a magnitude of radiation from the transmit array (Vacanti, 0106).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On page 9, last paragraph applicant argues that the rejection does not teach geolocation coordinate data with a ground clutter source. Examiner respectfully disagrees: Lue teaches using mapped radar data for determining ground clutter with a training database [Lue, col 8, lines 50-65].
On page 10, 1st paragraph applicant argues that rejection does not teach continuously recalculating the amplitude tape. Examiner respectfully disagrees: New reference Shishtla (‘145) teaches continuously recalculate and apply the amplitude taper or the non-uniform phase distribution while the relative location of the ground clutter source changes [Sishtla ‘145, col 5, lines 55 to col 6, line 10].
On page 10, last paragraph applicant argues that references do not teach the limitations for claims 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees: the new combination of references teaches the geolocation of clutter data and tuning of the amplitude nulls [Lue, col 8, lines 50-65, and Sishtla ‘145, col 5, lines 55 to col 6, line 10].
On page 11, second paragraph applicant argues that references do not teach the limitations for claims 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees: Sishtla teaches using the aircraft altitude and radar range to determine the angle to aim the beam towards the ground clutter [Sishtla ‘145, col 5, lines 15-35].
On page 12, last paragraph and page 13, first paragraph the applicant suggests that the references do not cover the limitations of claim 8. The examiner respectfully disagrees, please see paragraphs 17 and 18 above.
On page 14, second paragraph the applicant suggests that the references do not cover the limitations of claim 14. The examiner respectfully disagrees, please see paragraphs 17 and 18 above.
Conclusion
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648