Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 6-10 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 208938923).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Chen discloses in Figure 15, a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (103) comprising a top side and a bottom side, a substrate dielectric structure (113), and a substrate conductive structure (portions of 123 in 113), wherein the bottom side is an external side of the substrate (103);
an electronic component (107) over the top side of the substrate (103) and coupled with the substrate conductive structure (portions of 123 in 113);
an interconnect structure (106) on the top side of the substrate (103) and coupled with the substrate conductive structure (portions of 123 in 113), wherein the interconnect structure (106) is external to the substrate (103) and entirely outside a footprint of the electronic component (107);
a first antenna conductive structure (124, 125, 144, portions of 123 on bottom surface of 113) external to the substrate (103) and below the bottom side of the substrate (103) and coupled with the substrate conductive structure; and
a first antenna pattern (145) below the bottom side of the substrate (103) and coupled with the first antenna conductive structure (124, 125, 144, portions of 123 on bottom surface of 113);
wherein the first antenna conductive structure (124, 125, 144, horizontal portions of 123 on bottom surface of 113) comprises a first plurality of horizontal traces (144, portion of 123 on bottom surface of 113) and a first plurality of vertical vias (124, 125), and wherein a first vertical via (125) is above a second vertical via (124), and a first horizontal trace (144) is coupled between the first vertical via (125) and the second vertical via (124);
wherein the first antenna conductive structure (124, 125, 144, horizontal portions of 123 on bottom surface of 113) has a first width and the first antenna pattern (145) has a second width greater than the first width; and
wherein the interconnect structure (106) is within a footprint of the first antenna pattern (145).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 14-16, as applied to claims 2 and 10, Chen discloses in Figure 15,
wherein: the first antenna pattern (145) is configured to radiate in a direction perpendicular to the bottom side of the substrate (103);
an insulating body (134) surrounding the first antenna conductive structure;
a second antenna conductive structure (see Fig. 15) external to the substrate (103) and below the bottom side of the substrate (103) and coupled with the substrate conductive structure, wherein the second antenna conductive structure comprises a second plurality of horizontal traces and a second plurality of vertical vias; and
a second antenna pattern (145) below the bottom side of the substrate (103) and coupled with the second antenna conductive structure.
Regarding claims 9 and 17, as applied to claim 2 and 10, Chen discloses in Figure 15,
wherein: the first antenna conductive structure comprises a horizontal conductive structure and a vertical conductive structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 208938923) in view of Ueda (US 2020/0035626).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Chen discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 2 and 10, except for a shield covering the electronic component.
Ueda discloses in Figure 1a, a shield covering (20a) the electronic component (13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the electronic component of Chen with the electronic
component having a shield as taught by Ueda to reduce electrical noise from affecting the signals and
reduce electromagnetic radiation that may interfere with other devices. Therefore, to employ having a
shield as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Chen discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claims 2 and 10, except for the first antenna pattern configured to radiate in a direction parallel to the bottom side of the substrate.
Ueda discloses in Figure 2, the first antenna pattern (36) configured to radiate in a direction
parallel to the bottom side of the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of claimed invention to modify the first antenna pattern of Chen with the antenna pattern having
radiating direction as taught by Ueda by changing or rearranging direction of the antenna pattern to
radiate electromagnetic wave in horizontal polarization or in direction parallel to bottom surface of the
substrate. Therefore, to employ having the first antenna pattern as claimed invention would have been
obvious to person skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-10, and 12-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845