This communication is in response to application No. 18/239,349 Tool-less Neutral Release Mechanism for Outdoor Power Equipment; filed on 08/29/2023. Claims 1 - 22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 4a shows a rotation limiting slot 22, but the Specification describes feature 22 as a complementary spline feature, which is shown in fig. 4a but is not named. The rotation limiting slots are not numbered in the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 12-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karambelas (US 20020112934 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Karambelas discloses;
A neutral release mechanism configured to switch one of a gearbox or a transmission of a drive wheel between a neutral mode and a drive mode, comprising: (Karambelas, paragraphs 1-2 describe a mechanism for locking and unlocking a wheel hub from a driven axle of a vehicle.)
a user input (dial 56; fig. 6, paragraph 27) configured to be rotated between a first angular position and a second angular position; (paragraphs 29-30 describe the user input as rotating between two positions engaging or disengaging the hub.)
a plunger (plunger 16; fig. 6) coupled to the user input and to a neutral release pin (end 18 of the plunger), wherein the plunger and the neutral release pin are configured to move parallel to an axis of the drive wheel between a first axial position of the neutral release pin and a second axial position of the neutral release pin, (paragraphs 29-30 and figs. 4-5 illustrate the axial movement of the plunger between a first position in fig. 4 and a second position in fig. 5)
wherein the neutral release pin is configured to be at the first axial position when the user input is at the first angular position and at the second axial position when the user input is at the second axial position, (figs. 4-5 illustrate the two positions of the neutral release pin/plunger (16) which corresponds to the position of cross pin (50) as determined by the rotation of dial (56) and cam (58).)
wherein the neutral release pin is configured to place the one of the gearbox or the transmission in the drive mode when the neutral release pin is at the first axial position, (Fig. 5 illustrates the release pin / plunger (16) in the engaged, drive position.)
wherein the neutral release pin is configured to place the one of the gearbox or the transmission in the neutral mode when the neutral release pin is at the second axial position. (Fig. 4 illustrates the release pin / plunger (16) in the disengaged, neutral position.)
Regarding claim 2, Karambelas discloses;
further comprising a release mechanism housing (hub cap 52 and body 36; fig. 6) configured to secure the neutral release mechanism to a gearbox housing of the drive wheel,
wherein the release mechanism housing and the gearbox housing are configured to restrict axial movement of the user input. (Fig. 8 illustrates the hub cap with camming member (54) and face (78) which limits the axial rotation of the user input.)
Regarding claim 3, Karambelas discloses;
further comprising a plurality of fasteners (bolts 38; fig. 1, paragraph 23) configured to secure the release mechanism housing to the gearbox housing. (Fig. 1 illustrates a different user input feature, but the release mechanism and the fasteners are the same as illustrated in fig. 6)
Regarding claim 5, Karambelas discloses;
wherein the first angular position is separated from the second angular position by approximately 90°. (Fig. 8 illustrates the camming member (54) with two position stops at the vertical and horizontal orientations, 90 degrees apart.)
Regarding claim 6, Karambelas discloses;
wherein the user input comprises an input helix (camming member 58; fig. 7), wherein the plunger comprises an output helix (camming member 54),
wherein the user input is coupled to the plunger via the input helix being coupled to the output helix. (Paragraph 27 describes the helix of the user input causing the cross pin (50) of the plunger to travel along the helix of the hub cap.)
Regarding claim 7, Karambelas discloses;
wherein each of the user input, the plunger, and the neutral release pin is coaxial with the drive wheel. (Figs. 4 and 5 illustrates the user input (56), plunger (18) and release pin (end of plunger 18) coaxial with the hub cap and hub body.)
Regarding claim 8, Karambelas discloses;
wherein the user input comprises a rotation limiting pin (cross pin 50; fig. 6) configured to align with a rotation limiting slot (positions 62/72; figs. 7/8) that limit rotation of the user input to between the first angular position and the second angular position. (Paragraph 29 and figs. 7 and 8 illustrate the cross pin (50) as bearing against surface s 62 and 72 to limit the travel of the user interface, dial (56) and the plunger.)
Regarding claim 9, Karambelas discloses;
further comprising one or more springs (spring 12; fig. 6) configured to couple with one or more spring engagement features of the user input to bias the user input toward the first angular position when the user input is between the first angular position and the second angular position. (figs. 4 and 5 illustrate the spring (12) as fastened to the plunger (16) with a bolt. The spring applies a force to the clutch ring (10) to urge it into engagement with the axle collar (32) depending on the position of the dial (56). This spring force, along with the camming members 54/58 (figs. 7-8) would bias the user input towards the first position (disengaged, with the cross pin (50) to the furthest right) if the dial was between the first and second positions.)
Regarding claim 12, Karambelas discloses;
An outdoor power equipment, comprising: a frame; one or more drive wheels coupled to the frame; (Karambelas, paragraph 2 discloses a vehicle with a drivetrain and drive wheels, which would constitute an outdoor, power equipment. A vehicle frame as a basis for a powertrain and support for the vehicle wheels would have been well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.)
a prime mover (drivetrain; paragraph 2) configured to drive rotation of at least one of an associated gearbox or an associated transmission for each drive wheel of the one or more drive wheels; (Paragraph 2 describes a drivetrain, which would include an prime mover and a transmission for transferring the power from the prime mover to the vehicle wheels.)
a first neutral release mechanism coupled to a first drive wheel of the one or more drive wheels, comprising: (Karambelas, paragraphs 1-2 describe a mechanism for locking and unlocking a wheel hub from a driven axle of a vehicle.)
a user input (dial 56; fig. 6, paragraph 27) configured to be rotated between a first angular position and a second angular position; (paragraphs 29-30 describe the user input as rotating between two positions engaging or disengaging the hub.)
a plunger (plunger 16; fig. 6) coupled to the user input and to a neutral release pin (end 18 of the plunger), wherein the plunger and the neutral release pin are configured to move parallel to an axis of the first drive wheel between a first axial position of the neutral release pin and a second axial position of the neutral release pin, (paragraphs 29-30 and figs. 4-5 illustrate the axial movement of the plunger between a first position in fig. 4 and a second position in fig. 5)
wherein the neutral release pin is configured to be at the first axial position when the user input is at the first angular position and at the second axial position when the user input is at the second axial position, (figs. 4-5 illustrate the two positions of the neutral release pin/plunger (16) which corresponds to the position of cross pin (50) as determined by the rotation of dial (56) and cam (58).)
wherein, when the neutral release pin is at the first axial position, the first drive wheel is coupled to and configured to rotate with the associated gearbox or the associated transmission of the first drive wheel, (Paragraph 29 and fig. 5 illustrate the release pin / plunger (16) in the left-most position with the clutch ring (10) engaged, establishing the drive position.)
wherein, when the neutral release pin is at the second axial position, the neutral release pin is configured to decouple the first drive wheel from the one of the associated gearbox or the associated transmission of the first drive wheel, such that the first drive wheel is configured to rotate independently of the one of the associated gearbox or the associated transmission of the first drive wheel. (Paragraph 29 and fig. 4 illustrate the release pin / plunger (16) in the right-most position with the clutch ring (10) disengaged, establishing the neutral position.)
Regarding claim 13, Karambelas discloses;
wherein the first neutral release mechanism further comprises a release mechanism housing (hub cap 52 and body 36; fig. 6) configured to secure the neutral release mechanism to an associated gearbox housing of the first drive wheel,
wherein the release mechanism housing and the associated gearbox housing of the first drive wheel are configured to restrict axial movement of the user input. (Fig. 8 illustrates the hub cap with camming member (54) and face (78) which limits the axial rotation of the user input.)
Regarding claim 14, Karambelas discloses;
wherein the first neutral release mechanism further comprises a plurality of fasteners (bolts 38; fig. 1, paragraph 23) configured to secure the release mechanism housing to the gearbox housing. (Fig. 1 illustrates a different user input feature, but the release mechanism and the fasteners are the same as illustrated in fig. 6)
Regarding claim 16, Karambelas discloses;
wherein the first angular position is separated from the second angular position by approximately 90°. (Fig. 8 illustrates the camming member (54) with two position stops at the vertical and horizontal orientations, 90 degrees apart.)
Regarding claim 17, Karambelas discloses;
The outdoor power equipment of claim 12, wherein the user input comprises an input helix (camming member 58; fig. 7), wherein the plunger comprises an output helix (camming member 54),
wherein the user input is coupled to the plunger via the input helix being coupled to the output helix. (Paragraph 27 describes the helix of the user input causing the cross pin (50) of the plunger to travel along the helix of the hub cap.)
Regarding claim 18, Karambelas discloses;
wherein each of the user input, the plunger, and the neutral release pin is coaxial with the drive wheel. (Figs. 4 and 5 illustrates the user input (56), plunger (18) and release pin (end of plunger 18) coaxial with the hub cap and hub body.)
Regarding claim 19, Karambelas discloses;
The outdoor power equipment of claim 12, wherein the user input comprises a rotation limiting pin (cross pin 50; fig. 6) configured to align with a rotation limiting slot (positions 62/72; figs. 7/8) that limit rotation of the user input to between the first angular position and the second angular position. (Paragraph 29 and figs. 7 and 8 illustrate the cross pin (50) as bearing against surface s 62 and 72 to limit the travel of the user interface, dial (56) and the plunger.)
Regarding claim 20, Karambelas discloses;
wherein the first neutral release mechanism further comprises one or more springs (spring 12; fig. 6) configured to couple with one or more spring engagement features of the user input to bias the user input toward the first angular position when the user input is between the first angular position and the second angular position. (Figs. 4 and 5 illustrate the spring (12) as fastened to the plunger (16) with a bolt. The spring applies a force to the clutch ring (10) to urge it into engagement with the axle collar (32) depending on the position of the dial (56). This spring force, along with the camming members 54/58 (figs. 7-8) would bias the user input towards the first position (disengaged, with the cross pin (50) to the furthest right) if the dial was between the first and second positions.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karambelas (US 20020112934 A1) in view of Quilliam (US 4116320 A).
Regarding claim 4, Karambelas discloses splines but does not disclose spline which are configured to restrict rotational movement of the plunger. However, Quilliam teaches;
wherein the plunger (clutch member 13; fig. 3) comprises one or more spline features (splines 14) configured to align with one or more complementary spline features (splines 9) of the gearbox housing (body 6),
wherein the one or more spline features and the one or more complementary spline features are configured to restrict rotational movement of the plunger. (Col. 3, lines 26-33 and fig. 3 illustrate the splined clutch member which moves axially in the housing body (6) as a result of the rotation of the user interface (cover 22).)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Karambelas to include a plunger with one or more spline features configured to align with one or more complementary spline features of the gearbox housing, which are configured to restrict rotational movement of the plunger as taught by Quilliam, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to locking wheel hubs. As disclosed by Quilliam, it is well known for locking wheel hubs to include a plunger with one or more spline features configured to align with one or more complementary spline features of the gearbox housing, which are configured to restrict rotational movement of the plunger. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karambelas to include a plunger with one or more spline features configured to align with one or more complementary spline features of the gearbox housing, which are configured to restrict rotational movement of the plunger as taught by Quilliam, as such a modification would provide the ability to disengage drive power delivery from the drive axle to the vehicle wheel.
Regarding claim 15, Karambelas discloses splines but does not disclose spline which are configured to restrict rotational movement of the plunger. However, Quilliam teaches;
wherein the plunger (clutch member 13; fig. 3) comprises one or more spline features (splines 14) configured to align with one or more complementary spline features (splines 9) of the associated gearbox housing (body 6) of the first drive wheel,
wherein the one or more spline features and the one or more complementary spline features are configured to restrict rotational movement of the plunger. (Col. 3, lines 26-33 and fig. 3 illustrate the splined clutch member which moves axially in the housing body (6) as a result of the rotation of the user interface (cover 22).)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Karambelas to include a plunger with one or more spline features configured to align with one or more complementary spline features of the gearbox housing, which are configured to restrict rotational movement of the plunger as taught by Quilliam, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to locking wheel hubs. As disclosed by Quilliam, it is well known for locking wheel hubs to include a plunger with one or more spline features configured to align with one or more complementary spline features of the gearbox housing, which are configured to restrict rotational movement of the plunger. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karambelas to include a plunger with one or more spline features configured to align with one or more complementary spline features of the gearbox housing, which are configured to restrict rotational movement of the plunger as taught by Quilliam, as such a modification would provide the ability to disengage drive power delivery from the drive axle to the vehicle wheel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 21, and 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 10 and 21 describe a second spring configured to couple with the one or more spring engagement features of the user input to bias the user input toward the first angular position when the user input is between the second angular position and a fourth angular position approximately halfway between the first and second angular positions, wherein the third angular position is one of the fourth angular position or closer to the second angular position than the fourth angular position. The use of a second spring which urges the clutch towards an outward position well known, however, as seen in reference Telford (US 4775040) this second spring (42; Telford) bears on the clutch gear (36; Telford) itself rather than on the user input.
Regarding claims 11 and 22 none of the cited references either alone or in combination disclose the combination of limitations as claimed. Specifically, the references fail to disclose a first spring engagement feature of the one or more spring engagement features is configured to align with a rotation limiting slot that limit rotation of the user input to between the first angular position and the second angular position.
Conclusion
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614