Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and Species B in the reply filed on 4/6/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 8, 13-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and Species A, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gima et al (US WO 2020129420 using US 20210307123) in view of Furuhasi et al (US 20190002338) and Goda et al (US 20010016253).
Regarding claim 1, Gima discloses a windshield (Figure 8A using Figure 9D for the area of 30 and 50. Paragraph 0105. 31B and 32B in Figure 8A correspond to 31 and 32 in Figure 9D, respectively) for vehicle (Paragraph 0003) comprising a laminated glass (Figure 9D) in which a first glass plate (Figure 9D; 21) and a second glass plate (Figure 9D; 22) are bonded together with an intermediate film (Figure 9D; 23) interposed therebetween, wherein
the laminated glass comprises a glass plate (Figure 9D; 21, 31, 25, 30, 31) with a terminal (Figure 9D; 31), comprising the first glass plate, a conductor (Figure 9D; 30, 31) formed on an interior surface (The bottom side of Figure 9D; 21. Paragraph 0027) of the first glass plate, and the terminal, the conductor being made of a material containing silver (Paragraph 0072), and comprising a terminal joint portion (The top surface of Figure 9D; 31) to which the terminal is joined,
the conductor comprises an electric function portion (Figure 9D; 30 is an electric function portion) or is electrically connected to an electric function portion,
the conductor comprises a feeding portion (The portion of Figure 8A; 31B connected to 33B and the top surface of Figure 9D; 31) for feeding electricity to the electric function portion (Functional Language, the feeding portion feeds electricity to the electric function portion), and the feeding portion comprises the terminal joint portion, and
the glass plate with the terminal further comprises a thin film (Figure 9D; 25) between the first glass plate and the terminal joint portion, the thin film having a single-layer structure (The fin film is a single-later structure) or a laminated structure, and at least an outermost surface (The top surface of Figure 9D; 25) of the inorganic thin film having an insulating property (Paragraph 0121, the materials listed have insulating properties).
Gima does not disclose the conductor being made of a material containing glass frit, comprising a terminal joint portion to which the terminal is joined, the terminal being joined to the terminal joint portion of the conductor through lead- free solder;
the thin film being inorganic, the inorganic thin film including at least one metal compound layer, having an overall thickness of 1,000 nm or smaller.
However, Furuhasi teaches a windshield (Figure 1) comprising: a conductor (Figure 1; 15, 14, 13) being made of a material containing silver and glass frit (Paragraph 0041), comprising a terminal joint portion (The bottom of Figure 1; 15a) to which a terminal (The bottom of Figure 1; 13) is joined, the terminal being joined to the terminal joint portion of the conductor through lead- free solder (Figure 1; 14 is a lead-free solder).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Gima wherein the conductor being made of a material containing glass frit, comprising a terminal joint portion to which the terminal is joined, the terminal being joined to the terminal joint portion of the conductor through lead- free as taught by and suggested by Furuhasi in order to bind the conductor to another component (Paragraph 0030, 0041, The modification makes the Figure 9D; 30 of Gima from silver and glass frit) and to reduce the influence of lead on the environment (Paragraph 0002, The modification adds a lead free solder connecting Figure 9D; 31 to 25 of Gima).
Gima in view of Furuhasi does not teach the thin film being inorganic, the inorganic thin film including at least one metal compound layer, having an overall thickness of 1,000 nm or smaller.
However, Goda teaches a glass (Figure 2) comprising: inorganic thin film (Figure 2; 2, 3, 4, Paragraph 0010, 0011, 0029) being inorganic, the inorganic thin film including at least one metal compound layer, having an overall thickness of 1,000 nm or smaller (Paragraph 0032, 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Gima in view of Furuhasi wherein the thin film being inorganic, the inorganic thin film including at least one metal compound layer, having an overall thickness of 1,000 nm or smaller as taught by and suggested by Goda in order to prevent diffusion of metal ions and be cost effective (Paragraph 0010, 0032, 0036, the modification has the thin film being at least partially made of indium oxide and/or tin oxide and partially of titanium oxide).
Regarding claim 2, Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda teaches the invention as claimed.
Gima in view of Furuhasi does not teach wherein the inorganic thin film is a vapor deposition film.
However, Goda teaches wherein the inorganic thin film is a vapor deposition film (Paragraph 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Gima in view of Furuhasi wherein the inorganic thin film is a vapor deposition film as taught by and suggested by Goda in order to prevent diffusion of metal ions and be cost effective (Paragraph 0010, 0032, 0036 this is the same modification of claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda teaches the invention as claimed.
Gima in view of Furuhasi does not teach wherein the inorganic thin film includes at least one metal compound layer containing at least one metal compound selected from the group consisting of an oxide, a nitride, and an oxynitride of at least one metal element selected from the group consisting of B, Al, Si, Ti, Cr, Ni, Zn, Ga, Y, Zr, Nb, In, Sn, Hf, Ta and W.
However, Goda teaches wherein the inorganic thin film includes at least one metal compound layer containing at least one metal compound selected from the group consisting of an oxide, a nitride, and an oxynitride of at least one metal element selected from the group consisting of B, Al, Si, Ti, Cr, Ni, Zn, Ga, Y, Zr, Nb, In, Sn, Hf, Ta and W (The inorganic film is partially made from indium oxide and/or tin oxide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Gima in view of Furuhasi wherein the inorganic thin film includes at least one metal compound layer containing at least one metal compound selected from the group consisting of an oxide, a nitride, and an oxynitride of at least one metal element selected from the group consisting of B, Al, Si, Ti, Cr, Ni, Zn, Ga, Y, Zr, Nb, In, Sn, Hf, Ta and W as taught by and suggested by Goda in order to prevent diffusion of metal ions and be cost effective (Paragraph 0010, 0032, 0036 this is the same modification of claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda teaches the invention as claimed.
Gima in view of Furuhasi does not teach wherein the inorganic thin film includes at least one insulating metal compound layer containing at least one insulating metal compound selected from the group consisting of an oxide, a nitride, and an oxynitride of at least one metal element selected from the group consisting of B, Al, Si, Ti, Cr, Ni, Ga, Y, Zr, Nb, Hf, Ta and W, and
when the inorganic thin film has the laminated structure, at least the outermost surface layer of the inorganic thin film is the insulating metal compound layer.
However, Goda teaches wherein the inorganic thin film includes at least one insulating metal compound layer (Figure 2; 3) containing at least one insulating metal compound selected from the group consisting of an oxide, a nitride, and an oxynitride of at least one metal element selected from the group consisting of B, Al, Si, Ti, Cr, Ni, Ga, Y, Zr, Nb, Hf, Ta and W (Paragraph 0036), and
when the inorganic thin film has a laminated structure (The inorganic thin film has a laminated structure), at least the outermost surface layer of the inorganic thin film is the insulating metal compound layer (Figure 2; 3 is the outermost layer on at least the left and right sides of Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Gima in view of Furuhasi wherein the inorganic thin film includes at least one insulating metal compound layer containing at least one insulating metal compound selected from the group consisting of an oxide, a nitride, and an oxynitride of at least one metal element selected from the group consisting of B, Al, Si, Ti, Cr, Ni, Ga, Y, Zr, Nb, Hf, Ta and W, and when the inorganic thin film has the laminated structure, at least the outermost surface layer of the inorganic thin film is the insulating metal compound layer as taught by and suggested by Goda in order to prevent diffusion of metal ions and be cost effective (Paragraph 0010, 0032, 0036 this is the same modification of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda teaches the invention as claimed.
Gima in view of Furuhasi does not teach the inorganic thin film includes at least one insulating metal compound layer and at least one conductor layer containing at least one substance selected from the group consisting of a metal and a conductive metal compound, and
at least the outermost surface layer of the inorganic thin film is the insulating metal compound layer.
However, Goda teaches wherein the inorganic thin film includes at least one insulating metal compound layer (Figure 2; 3) and at least one conductor layer (Figure 2; 2. Paragraph 0029) containing at least one substance selected from the group consisting of a metal and a conductive metal compound (Paragraph 0029), and
at least the outermost surface layer of the inorganic thin film is the insulating metal compound layer (Figure 2; 3 is the outermost layer on at least the left and right sides of Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Gima in view of Furuhasi wherein the inorganic thin film includes at least one insulating metal compound layer and at least one conductor layer containing at least one substance selected from the group consisting of a metal and a conductive metal compound, and at least the outermost surface layer of the inorganic thin film is the insulating metal compound layer as taught by and suggested by Goda in order to prevent diffusion of metal ions and be cost effective (Paragraph 0010, 0032, 0036 this is the same modification of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda teaches the invention as claimed.
Gima in view of Furuhasi does not teach wherein the inorganic thin film is a functional film having at least one function selected from the group consisting of a low reflection function, a low emission function, a water repellent function, an electric heating function, an antifogging function, an antifouling function, an infrared-light blocking function, an ultraviolet-light blocking function, and a p-polarized-light reflection function.
However, Goda teaches wherein the inorganic thin film is a functional film (The inorganic film is a functional film) having at least one function selected from the group consisting of a low reflection function, a low emission function, a water repellent function, an electric heating function, an antifogging function, an antifouling function (Functional Language, Paragraph 0007), an infrared-light blocking function, an ultraviolet-light blocking function, and a p-polarized-light reflection function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Gima in view of Furuhasi wherein the inorganic thin film is a functional film having at least one function selected from the group consisting of a low reflection function, a low emission function, a water repellent function, an electric heating function, an antifogging function, an antifouling function, an infrared-light blocking function, an ultraviolet-light blocking function, and a p-polarized-light reflection function as taught by and suggested by Goda in order to prevent diffusion of metal ions and be cost effective (Paragraph 0010, 0032, 0036 this is the same modification of claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda teaches the invention as claimed.
Gima further discloses wherein the interior surface of the first glass plate is a surface on a side (The interior surface is a surface on a side opposite an intermediate film side) of the first glass plate opposite to an intermediate film side (The side of Figure 9D; 21 contacting 23) thereof.
Claim(s) 3, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda as applied to claim 1, 9 above, and further in view of Kojima et al (US 20210237540)
Regarding claim 3, Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda teaches the invention as claimed.
Gima further discloses wherein the terminal joint portion is formed directly above the thin film (In the combined invention of Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda, the thin film is the inorganic thin film);
a first light-shielding layer (Figure 8B; 24) is formed between the interior surface of the first glass plate and at least a part of the conductor (The part of the conductor, Figure 8B; 30 shown in Figure 8B) other than the terminal joint portion.
Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda does not teach a second light-shielding layer covering the terminal joint portion of the conductor is formed, in a plan view, on an exterior surface of the first glass plate and at least one of two surfaces of the second glass plate.
However, Kojima teaches a first light-shielding layer (Figure 2; 4) is formed between an interior surface of a first glass plate (The bottom surface of Figure 2; 12) and a joint portion (The joint of Figure 2; 2, 6), and
a second light-shielding layer (Figure 2; 5) covering the joint portion is formed, in a plan view (The plan view of the second light-shielding layer covering the exterior surface of the first glass and a surface of a second glass), on an exterior surface (The top surface of Figure 2; 12) of the first glass plate and at least one of two surfaces of a second glass plate surfaces (The bottom surface of the top or bottom surfaces of Figure 2; 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda to include a second light-shielding layer covering the joint portion (In the combined invention of Gima in view of Furuashi and Goda and Kuwahara, the joint portion of Kojim ais the thermal joint portion of the conductor) is formed, in a plan view, on an exterior surface of the first glass plate and at least one of two surfaces of the second glass plate as taught by and suggested by Kojima in order to prevent vision from the outside of windshield (Paragraph 0196, the modification adds a second light-blocking layer).
Regarding claim 10, Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda teaches the invention as claimed.
Gima further discloses a first light-shielding layer (Figure 8B; 24) is formed between the interior surface of the first glass plate and at least a part of the conductor (The part of the conductor, Figure 8B; 30 shown in Figure 8B) other than the terminal joint portion.
Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda does not teach a second light-shielding layer covering the terminal joint portion of the conductor is formed, in a plan view, on a surface on the intermediate film side of the second glass plate.
However, Kojima teaches a first light-shielding layer (Figure 2; 4) is formed between an interior surface of a first glass plate (The bottom surface of Figure 2; 12) and a joint portion (The joint of Figure 2; 2, 6), and
a second light-shielding layer (Figure 2; 5) covering the joint portion is formed, in a plan view (The plan view of the second light-shielding layer covering the exterior surface of the first glass and a surface of a second glass), on a surface on an intermediate film side (The surface of Figure 2; 13 with 5) of a second glass plate (Figure 2; 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda to include a second light-shielding layer covering the joint portion (In the combined invention of Gima in view of Furuashi and Goda and Kuwahara, the joint portion of Kojim is the terminal joint portion of the conductor) is formed, in a plan view, on a surface on the intermediate film side of the second glass plate as taught by and suggested by Kojima in order to prevent vision from the outside of windshield (Paragraph 0196, the modification adds a second light-blocking layer).
Regarding claim 11, Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda teaches the invention as claimed.
Gima further discloses wherein the glass plate with the terminal includes a light-transmitting portion (Figure 8A; 50), and the light- transmitting portion being a portion through which external incident light (Functional Language, The light-transmitting portion is a portion through which external light enters Figure 8B; 300) entering an optical apparatus (Figure 8B; 300) and/or outgoing light exiting from the optical apparatus passes,
the first light-shielding layer is formed so as to surround, in the plan view, at least a part of the light-transmitting portion (The part of Figure 8B; 24 surrounding 50), and
the conductor comprises an electric heating line (Figure 8B; 30 is a heating line) formed inside the light- transmitting portion, the feeding portion formed outside the light-transmitting portion, and a connection line (The other portions of Figure 8A; 31B excluding the portion of Figure 8A; 31B connected to 33B and excluding the top surface of Figure 9D; 31) formed outside the light-transmitting portion and connecting the electric heating line and the feeding portion.
Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda does not teach the glass plate with the terminal includes an optical apparatus mounting area,
the optical apparatus mounting area being, in a plan view, an area in which an optical apparatus is mounted,
and the light- transmitting portion being a portion which is located inside the optical apparatus mounting area.
However, Kojima teaches the first glass plate includes an optical apparatus mounting area (The mounting around Figure 2; 43 for 6),
the optical apparatus mounting area being, in a plan view (The view in which the mounting area where Figure 2; 2 is mounted), an area in which an optical apparatus (Figure 2; 2) is mounted,
and a light- transmitting portion (Figure 2; 43) being a portion which is located inside the optical apparatus mounting area (Figure 2; 43 is inside the mounting area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Gima in view of Furuhasi and Goda wherein the glass plate with the terminal includes an optical apparatus mounting area, the optical apparatus mounting area being, in a plan view, an area in which an optical apparatus is mounted, and the light- transmitting portion being a portion which is located inside the optical apparatus mounting area as taught by and suggested by Kojima in order to take images outside of the vehicle (Paragraph 0110, the modification has the mounting area around the light-transmitting portion).
Conclusion
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741