DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing dated 29 August 2023. Claims 1-3 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 2 recites “the legal file is configured to sent to an official government depository.” Examiner suggests “the legal file is configured to be sent to an official government depository”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3 recite the limitation “the notarization event”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1-3 recite the limitation “the visual person” within the biometric data analysis step. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the official legal mark”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims Interpreted as Invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f)/Sixth Paragraph
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “liveliness engine configured to”, “analysis system to obtain”, “DNA analyzer to determine”, “hand geometry analyzer to determine”, “signature analyzer to determine” and “AI system to generate” in claims 1-3.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawson et al. (US 2022/0021528 A1) in view of Silverstein et al. (US 2023/0254300 A1) and further in view of Sant Anselmo (US 2011/0213700 A1).
As for independent claim 1, Dawson teaches a system comprising:
an enrollment system, comprising: a liveness test engine driven by artificial intelligence, wherein the liveness engine is configured to test whether a real person is communicating with the automatic system, wherein the liveness test engine is configured to tell a real person from an AI-generated person via a liveness test, wherein the liveness test is configured to utilize facial features, image and video analysis, facial expressions and micro movement analysis, voice verification, and behavior analysis to tell a real person from an AI-generated person, wherein the liveness test is configured to utilize questioning and answering, or gesture judgment or body language response to tell a real person from any AI-generated person, wherein the liveness test engine is configured to ask a person before a screen communicating with the liveness test engine to perform certain gestures, body poses or facial expressions, and via video recognition to determine whether performances of the person before the screen exceeds a pre-determined threshold, wherein when the performances exceed the pre-determined threshold, the person before the screen will be deemed a real person [(e.g. see Dawson paragraphs 0053, 0095, 0125, 0127) ”the user device 104 may receive instructions from the onboarding system 108 that direct the user to turn their head to show their face from a different angle at a particular time, which may increase the reliability of determining the identity of the user (e.g., decreasing the risk of spoofing). In some embodiments, the artificial intelligence module may determine whether the person depicted is the same person … the application on the user device may lead a “liveliness” test to capture the images, which may be in the form of continuous image frames sampled at a suitable rate or non-continuous frames sampled at a predefined slower rate. During the liveliness test, the user may be instructed to change their face by winking, blinking, opening mouth, etc. to demonstrate that the user is indeed active and participating in with the onboarding process … the application may use a camera on the user device to capture one or more “live” images of the user to perform a liveliness test. This may include opening their mouth, blinking their eyes, etc. to capture different images of the user to avoid spoofing using an image of the user. The service provider may use the livestream sequence of images and the image from the passport to verify that the user is the same. UI 810 depicts that the liveliness test has been passed and that a user identifier (“ID”) has been generated for the user … utilize an artificial intelligence model to compare the identity image and the plurality of images to confirm that the same person is depicted in all of the images. If this is the case, the service provider 102 may confirm that the user has passed the liveliness test. If not, the test may fail and the user may be informed”].
a biometric data analysis system including a data input interface to obtain, for a user who already passes the liveness test to generate the visual person to execute the legal event, biometric data of the user to identify the user according to information of the user using any one or combination of: [(e.g. see Dawson paragraphs 0053, 0095) ”UI 810 depicts that the liveliness test has been passed and that a user identifier (“ID”) has been generated for the user. In some embodiments, the user identifier may further indicate that one or more cryptographic keys have also been generated, in association with the user account. Thus, in this example, the user's face is depicted, the ID, and a message … the onboarding system 108 may be configured to receive other user biometric data in addition to or instead of the user image data. For example, a fingerprint, a faceprint, eye scan, body scan, or other biometric data may be used to confirm the identity of the user”].
a DNA analyzer to determine unique blood patterns, a hand geometry analyzer to determine unique hand patterns, a fingerprint scanner to determine unique fingerprint patterns, a signature analyzer to determine unique signature patterns, a facial recognizer to capture unique facial characteristics, a voice analyzer to determine unique vocal patterns, and an electro-optical photographic system including a static image photographic system, and a dynamic video image photographic system, to record physical images of the user [(e.g. see Dawson paragraphs 0046, 0053) ”Some non-limiting examples include the user showing their face from different angles via a livestream video (e.g., upon receiving one or more instructions), recording and verifying the user's voice, saying, “I approve,” verifying the user's signature, etc. In some embodiments, the system may regularly update user identity information (e.g., images of the user, biometric data (e.g., fingerprints, voice recordings, video feeds, etc.). Accordingly, the system improves upon accuracy and reliability when verifying a person's identity when conducting a transaction … a fingerprint, a faceprint, eye scan, body scan, or other biometric data may be used to confirm the identity of the user”]. Examiner notes the use of “any one of:” language in the claim.
a legal document generator including at least one processor configured to obtain global positioning system (GPS) coordinates corresponding to a location of the legal event would occur [(e.g. see Dawson paragraph 0068) ”The user device 306 may also include geo-location devices (e.g., a global positioning system (GPS) device or the like) for providing and/or recording geographic location information associated with the user device 306”].
Dawson does not specifically teach an Al system to generate a visual person via machine learning models trained on and associated with the biometric data of the user, a user interface to interact with the visual person, or wherein the legal document generator is configured to activate the visual person to execute the legal event. However, in the same field of invention, Silverstein teaches:
an Al system to generate a visual person via machine learning models trained on and associated with the biometric data of the user [(e.g. see Silverstein paragraphs 0022, 0032, 0033) ”avatar model engine 232 may be configured to create, store, update, and maintain a three-dimensional animation model of a subject, as disclosed herein. The three-dimensional animation model may include, in addition to encoders and decoders, tools such as a guide mesh tool 242 and a ray marching tool 244. In some embodiments, avatar model engine 232 may access one or more machine learning models stored in a training database 252. A database 252 includes training archives and other data files that may be used by avatar model engine 232 in the training of a machine learning model, according to the input of the user through application 222 … Guide mesh tool 242 determines facial expression parameters (z) based on input images, upon a classification scheme that is learned by training. In some embodiments, guide mesh tool 242 includes a head pose encoder to determine a rotation (e.g., a matrix, r) and a translation (e.g., a vector, t) of the head of a person in the input images … With the advent of modern bio-technologies such as DNA sequencing, iris pattern recognition, and fingerprint recognition, identification codes may also include biological data, perhaps established at birth. Accordingly, embodiments as disclosed herein include the processing and handling of the above identification techniques associated to a subject-based avatar”].
a user interface to interact with the visual person [(e.g. see Silverstein paragraph 0049 and Fig. 6) ”FIG. 6 illustrates a contractual scenario 600 with subject-based avatars 632A and 632B (hereinafter, collectively referred to as “subject-based avatars 632”) interacting in a virtual environment 651 by a virtual reality application 622, according to some embodiments. Network server 630, mobile devices 610-1A and 610-1B (hereinafter, collectively referred to as “mobile devices 610-1”), VR headsets 610-2A and 610-2B (hereinafter, collectively referred to as “headsets 610-2”), are as described heretofore (cf. client devices 110, 310, and 410 and servers 130, 330, and 430). Mobile devices 610-1 and headsets 610-2 will be referred to, collectively, as “client devices 610”). Subject-based avatar 632A (632B) is associated with a user 602A (602B), and the association may be verified via the authentication mechanisms and credentials described in this disclosure (cf. FIGS. 3-4)”].
wherein the legal document generator is configured to activate the visual person to execute the legal event [(e.g. see Silverstein paragraphs 0049, 0050 and Fig. 6) ”FIG. 6 illustrates a contractual scenario 600 with subject-based avatars 632A and 632B (hereinafter, collectively referred to as “subject-based avatars 632”) interacting in a virtual environment 651 by a virtual reality application 622, according to some embodiments. Network server 630, mobile devices 610-1A and 610-1B (hereinafter, collectively referred to as “mobile devices 610-1”), VR headsets 610-2A and 610-2B (hereinafter, collectively referred to as “headsets 610-2”), are as described heretofore (cf. client devices 110, 310, and 410 and servers 130, 330, and 430). Mobile devices 610-1 and headsets 610-2 will be referred to, collectively, as “client devices 610”). Subject-based avatar 632A (632B) is associated with a user 602A (602B), and the association may be verified via the authentication mechanisms and credentials described in this disclosure (cf. FIGS. 3-4) … virtual reality application 622 may include a “legal/administrative” flag 627A and 627B (hereinafter, collectively referred to as “flags 627”) in the display for each of users 602. Flags 627 may indicate that “the terms of the contract being signed by the parties is subject to the laws of [jurisdiction]” in virtual environment 651. Accordingly, flags 627 may prompt users 602 to accept the legal/administrative terms, in which case subject-based avatars 632 become legal entities protected by or under the obligations of, the specific jurisdiction”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Dawson and Silverstein, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an Al system to generate a visual person via machine learning models trained on and associated with the biometric data of the user, a user interface to interact with the visual person, and wherein the legal document generator is configured to activate the visual person to execute the legal event, as taught by Silverstein, to the teachings of Dawson because it allows a true digital representation of an individual to become authenticated as a legal entity (e.g. see Silverstein paragraph 0003, 0021, 0050).
Dawson and Silverstein do not specifically teach wherein the legal document generator comprises a time stamp retriever that is configured to connect to an official time provider via a network and to retrieve an official current time corresponding to the notarization event or wherein the document of the legal event is recorded with biometric data of the user and the location and time of the legal event is recorded with the document via the legal document generator and the time stamp retriever. However, in the same field of invention, Sant Anselmo teaches:
wherein the legal document generator comprises a time stamp retriever that is configured to connect to an official time provider via a network and to retrieve an official current time corresponding to the notarization event [(e.g. see Sant Anselmo paragraphs 0005, 0017, 0019, 0022 and claims) ”wherein the target object is marked and notarized according to localized regulations … notarization applications include, but are not limited to: … legal documents … a request to electronically notarize a target object, electronically notarizing, by a second computer, the target object … such electronic notarization service that as a brief overview, provides an "Official Time Keeping Source" i.e., the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) for non-military time-related applications and the United States Naval Observatory (USNO) for military time-related applications to provide continuous unbiased time and date information to the time stamp enterprise for the various embodiments … a processor which includes a time retrieval unit to connect to an official time provider via a network and to retrieve an official current time”].
wherein the document of the legal event is recorded with biometric data of the user and the location and time of the legal event is recorded with the document via the legal document generator and the time stamp retriever [(e.g. see Sant Anselmo paragraphs 0022, 0236, 0341 and Figs. 6A-B and 8) ”a request to electronically notarize a target object, electronically notarizing, by a second computer, the target object … time stamping of transactional documents, either in physical hardcopy or in electronic versions, with machine-readable time stamp symbols containing the time, date, type and location of transaction … The example embodiments incorporate any number of biometric forms of digital identification represented into a machine-readable time stamp as shown in FIG. 6B and the time stamp can then be positively linked to an individual. Examples of biometric forms of identification are: Vital Identification Statistics, Physical Characteristics (604) etc., Photograph or Facial Image Recognition Technologies (605), Retina Scan patents (606), Digital Signature Technologies (607), Fingerprint or Handprint Recognition Technologies (608), DNA Sequence Technologies (609)”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Dawson, Silverstein and Sant Anselmo, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the legal document generator comprises a time stamp retriever that is configured to connect to an official time provider via a network and to retrieve an official current time corresponding to the notarization event and wherein the document of the legal event is recorded with biometric data of the user and the location and time of the legal event is recorded with the document via the legal document generator and the time stamp retriever, as taught by Sant Anselmo, to the teachings of Dawson and Silverstein because it provides the user working from their home, office, library or field location, with a fast, convenient, automatic and extremely accurate means for notarization (e.g. see Sant Anselmo paragraph 0005).
As for independent claim 2, Dawson, Silverstein and Sant Anselmo teach a system. Claim 2 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1. Further, Dawson teaches:
data storage to store a legal file associated with the legal mark, wherein the legal file is configured to sent to an official government depository [(e.g. see Dawson paragraphs 0050, 0061, 0100) ”an organization that may typically store large amounts of data (e.g., a bank, an investment firm, a government organization) may have flexible options for storing the data. For example, data may be stored to any suitable location (e.g., local storage within the organization … the user may have authored a new document and may upload the document to the service provider 1403 via the application … the data storage and validation system 114 may be configured to store data (e.g., documents”].
Dawson and Silverstein do not specifically teach a marking system to mark the legal document with the official legal mark. However, Sant Anselmo teaches:
a marking system to mark the legal document with the official legal mark [(e.g. see Sant Anselmo paragraphs 0005, 0022 and claims) ”wherein the target object is marked and notarized according to localized regulations … notarization applications include, but are not limited to: … legal documents … a request to electronically notarize a target object, electronically notarizing, by a second computer, the target object”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 1.
As for independent claim 3, Dawson, Silverstein and Sant Anselmo teach a system. Claim 3 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1. Further, while independent claim 1 recites “utilize questioning and answering, or gesture judgment or body language response”, claim 3 recites “utilize questioning and answering, gesture judgement and body language response”. Dawson teaches all three methods in paragraphs 0053, 0088, 0125 [” may also include questions and/or answers (Q/A) to security questions (e.g., place of birth, mother's maiden name, etc.) … the user device 104 may receive instructions from the onboarding system 108 that direct the user to turn their head to show their face from a different angle at a particular time, which may increase the reliability of determining the identity of the user (e.g., decreasing the risk of spoofing). In some embodiments, the artificial intelligence module may determine whether the person depicted is the same person … the application on the user device may lead a “liveliness” test to capture the images, which may be in the form of continuous image frames sampled at a suitable rate or non-continuous frames sampled at a predefined slower rate. During the liveliness test, the user may be instructed to change their face by winking, blinking, opening mouth, etc.”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 10,360,464 B1 issued to McKay et al. on 23 July 2019. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-3 (e.g. liveness detection and biometric authentication).
Contact Information
/CHRISTOPHER J FIBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174