DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9, 11-15 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites determining a second physiological parameter of the patient by analyzing the first physiological parameter; outputting the second physiological parameter on a display associated with a medical device; determining that the second physiological parameter is below a threshold level for a threshold period of time; and in response to determining that the second physiological parameter is below the threshold level for the threshold period of time, outputting the first physiological parameter on the display.
The limitation of determining a second physiological parameter and determining the second physiological parameter is below a threshold, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a processor” and a “display”, the claims are direct to concepts relating to organizing information in a way that can be performed mentally or analogous to human mental work and nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the processor and the display, “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually calculating a parameter and observing if the data crosses a threshold. Similarly, the displaying could be considered as organizing human activity as the user could change the display based on the calculations. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of capnography sensor. This sensor involves mere data gathering and amount to insignificant extra-solutional activity, specifically pre-solutional activity. Additionally, the processor and display are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Similarly, the dependent claims do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept and well-understood, routine and conventional activity is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 11-15 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meador et al. US 2018/0289338 in view of Colman et al. US 2013/0289364 and Addison et al. US 2018/0177463.
Regarding claim 1, 4 and 13, Meador discloses a capnography monitoring device, comprising:
a capnography sensor configured to detect a capnograph of a patient ([¶80] CO2 probe);
a respiration sensor configured to detect a respiration rate of the patient ([¶80] respiration rate probe);
a display ([¶56] screen 218);
a processor ([¶244] a processor used to control the monitor device 200) electrically coupled to the capnography sensor, the respiration sensor, and the display, the processor being configured to:
determine an end-tidal carbon dioxide of the patient by analyzing the capnograph ([¶200,206]);
cause the display to visually output an indication of the end-tidal carbon dioxide ([FIG10A-10B][¶206] the end tidal carbon can be displayed with or without the capnogram) with an indication of the respiration rate ([¶210] the respiration rate can also be displayed);
determine that the respiration rate is below a threshold level for a threshold period of time ([¶238] the threshold can be certain breath rates over a period of time), and
Meador does not specifically disclose switching the display. Addison teaches a similar vital monitoring device that in response to determining that the respiration rate is below the threshold level for the threshold period of time, cause the display to switch from visually outputting the indication of the end-tidal carbon dioxide with the respiration rate to visually outputting a waveform indicating the capnograph without the indication of the end-tidal carbon dioxide ([¶59,62,64-65] when there is an irregularity the capnogram waveform is displayed to show the disturbance). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Meador with the display of Addison in order to show and identify the irregularities ([¶64-65]).
Meador does not specifically disclose the threshold level being in a range of zero to five breaths per minute, the threshold period of time being in a range of ten to thirty seconds. Colman teaches a similar capnogram device that has a threshold of no breaths over a period of time ([¶93,95] the breaths and time are used to determine apnea or periods of zero breaths). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Meador with the teachings of Colman as Colman teaches particular thresholds that allow for different levels of information to be displayed (¶95).
Regarding claim 2, 8 and 14, Addison teaches the processor is further configured to cause the display to alter a feature in response to determining that the respiration is below the threshold level for the threshold period of time cause the display to alter a feature comprising: a color output by the display; a brightness output by the display; or a portion of a label output by the display ([¶64] the display can change colors and output various symbols to alert to health conditions).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Addison teaches the second physiological parameter is determined using a first subset of data representing the first physiological parameter ([¶18,38-40] the parameters are determined from the same signal).
Regarding claim 6, Meador discloses the indication of the first physiological parameter indicates a second subset of the data representing the first physiological parameter, the second subset being different from the first subset ([¶200,206] the etCO2 is determined from the capnogram but the capnogram is a broader subset of the signal data).
Regarding claims 7, 12 and 15, Meador discloses the processor is configured to cause the display to visually output the indication of the second physiological parameter at a location on the display and to cause the display to visually output the indication of first physiological ([¶206] the same box on screen shows the etCO2 or the capnogram or is configured with other sections for additional parameters on screen).
Regarding claims 11 and 17, Meador discloses the first physiological parameter comprises: an oxygenation of blood of the patient; a capnograph of the patient; or an electrocardiogram (ECG) of the patient ([¶200,206] a capnogram).
Regarding claim 20, Meador discloses the second physiological parameter comprises a heart rate, a respiration rate, or an end-tidal carbon dioxide of the patient ([¶200,206] etCO2 is determined from the capnogram which is the first physiological signal collected).
Regarding claim 21, Meador discloses the indication of the second physiological parameter is an indication of a numeric value, and wherein the indication of the first physiological parameter comprises a waveform ([¶206] the etCO2 is a numeric value and capnogram is a waveform).
Regarding claim 22, Meador discloses the sensor being a first sensor ([¶80] carbon dioxide sensor), the medical device further comprising: a second sensor configured to detect the third physiological parameter of the patient ([¶80] SpO2 probe and respiration rate probe).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meador et al. US 2018/0289338 in view of Colman et al. US 2013/0289364 and Addison et al. US 2018/0177463 further in view of Walker et al. US 20180303411.
Regarding claim 23, in the combined device Colman teaches that capnography is useful with CPR ([¶5]) but does not disclose a chest compression device configured to administer chest compressions to the patient, wherein the processor is further configured to: output, to the chest compression device, an instruction to alter a characteristic of the chest compressions based on the first physiological parameter. Walker teaches an automated compression device that alters its compressions based on capnogram data it receives ([¶48]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Addison with the compression device of Walker as capnography is widely used with CPR and Walker teaches tracking airway CO2 with compression is important for tracking hypoxia and tissue oxygenation ([¶48]).
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meador et al. US 2018/0289338 in view of Colman et al. US 2013/0289364 and Addison et al. US 2018/0177463 further in view of Al-Ali et al. US 2005/0203352.
Regarding claim 3 and 9, Meador discloses a speaker and generating audio alarms but does not disclose the speaker in response to causing the display to visually output the indication of the end-tidal carbon dioxide cause the speaker to output an audio signal with a first pitch and in response to causing the display to visually output the waveform indicating the capnograph cause the speaker to output the audio signal with a second pitch, the second pitch being different than the first pitch. Al-Ali teaches a similar physiological monitoring system using a capnometer that can change the tone or modulation of the alerts and sounds ([¶20]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Addison with the tone modulation of Al-Ali in order to signal priority ([¶20]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments against the 101 rejection, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the 101 rejection does not address why “in response to determining that the respiration rate is below the threshold level for the threshold period of time, cause the display to visually output a waveform indicating the capnograph” does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more, the recited step is part of the abstract idea that falls under the mental concepts grouping. It is a determination that could be performed in the mind. Similarly, the outputting the information does not add significantly more as it is post-solutional to the mental concept of making the determination. The step also only nominally links the abstract idea to the technical field of use of physiological monitoring displays and systems.
As per the argument the claims provide a patent-eligible improvement to a technical field, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that displaying the capnogram when the respiration rate is low allows the clinician to determine if breathing is actually low or if the sensor itself is malfunction. Examiner does not dispute this. However, it is not clear how the claims provide a technological improvement as it relates to displaying the capnogram waveform and removing the display of the etCO2. The prior art teaches switching between the waveform and numeric readings or displaying them both which seem to provide the same advantage so it is not clear how either the automation of that change or displaying the waveform while not displaying the numeric value provides a technical advantage over the other displays. More specifically, Addison teaches displaying the waveform when irregularities in the breathing are detected to provide more information and identify the components of the waveform that are erroneous and Meador discloses displaying the respiration rate with a reliability indicator as well.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9-10, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9, 11-15 and 17-23 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with a different interpretation of the previously cited references.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A CATINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791