DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The examiner hereby acknowledges the applicant’s amendment to claim 1 which includes claim language which was previously cited as being allowable (ie: formerly claims 5 & 17), however upon further updated examination it has been determined that the previously cited allowable claim limitations are not novel and is herein reflected in the present office action and thus this action is being made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10, 12-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2017206305 (WO ‘305) in view of Zhu et al (CN 209524638) and further in view of Ma et al (CN 110207378). WO ‘305 discloses a water tank assembly (100) of a heating device, the water tank assembly includes a tank body (10) having a smoke inlet (104) and a smoke outlet (105), the tank body includes a first side plate (41) and a second side plate (41) opposite to the first side plate (SEE Figure 7); a condenser pipe (31) assembly disposed in the tank body and located at a side of the tank body, wherein the side of the tank body faces towards the smoke outlet; a main heat exchange pipe assembly (21) disposed in the tank body, heat exchange pipes of the main heat exchange pipe assembly closest to the smoke inlet being a first heat exchange pipe layer (Figure 7), the heat exchange pipes of the first heat exchange pipe layer being in communication with one another to form a serial water passageway; and a heat exchange fin assembly (22), the main heat exchange pipe assembly and the condenser pipe assembly at least partially passing through the heat exchange fin assembly (SEE page 8, lines 28-32). WO ‘305 further discloses front and rear plates (11 & 12) which are engaged with and connected to the first and second side plates (41) but does not specifically specify that they are insulated. Zhu et al teaches a water tank assembly including a combustion heat exchange assembly and further teaches that it was commonly known in the art to provide heat insulation plates (5-2, 6-2, for example) (SEE Figures 3 & 4) which reduces heat dissipation thus improving heating efficiency. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the subject matter pertains to have modified the front and rear plates of WO ‘305 to be heat insulation plates as was commonly known in the art and taught by Zhu et al for the purpose of improving the tank body by reducing heat dissipation. WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al does not provide a teaching of a smoke baffle which is engaged with the side plates of the tank body, however the inclusion of smoke baffles engaged with and connected to both first and second side plates and related structures was commonly known in the art and taught by Ma et al in Figures 3-4, as smoke baffles (52 & 53) (SEE Claim 4) for the purpose of providing a blocking affect on the flue gas to slow down the flow of smoke. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the subject matter pertains to have modified the water tank assembly of WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al by including smoke baffles in the side plates of the tank body as was already known in the art and taught by Ma et al and arrived at the applicants claimed invention for the known purpose of providing a blocking affect on the flue gas to slow down the flow of smoke and improve heat exchange between the smoke and water.
In re claim 2, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 further discloses a water tank assembly having a plurality of first water boxes (13) (SEE Figure 4) are disposed on the first side plate; a plurality of second water boxes (14) are disposed on the second side plate; and each of a water inlet (61) and a water outlet (62) of the water tank assembly is formed on the first side plate (Figure 4), and is in communication with one, corresponding to each of the water inlet and the water outlet, of the plurality of first water boxes (SEE Figure 7). In re claim 3, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 discloses that the plurality of first water boxes (13) and the plurality of second water boxes (14) are in communication with each other via the main heat exchange pipe assembly (21) and the condenser pipe assembly (31);the main heat exchange pipe assembly comprises a plurality of first heat exchange pipes; the condenser pipe assembly comprises a plurality of second heat exchange pipes (as per Figure 7); and the plurality of first heat exchange pipes or the plurality of second heat exchange pipes are arranged in layers in a direction from the smoke inlet to the smoke outlet (as per Figures 1, 6 and 7) (SEE page 3, lines 20-28). In re claim 8 (further limits claim 3), WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 discloses that the plurality of first heat exchange pipes of the main heat exchange pipe assembly (21) are arranged in two layers in the direction from the smoke inlet to the smoke outlet (SEE Figure 7). In re claim 10 (further limits claim 3), WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 discloses that the heat exchange fin assembly (22) includes a plurality of first fins arranged sequentially in a length direction of each of the plurality of first heat exchange pipes, each of the plurality of first fins having a through hole, and the first heat exchange pipe passing through the through hole (SEE Figures 6 & 8).
In re claim 6, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 further discloses that each of the plurality of first water boxes has an open side (106); each of the plurality of second water boxes has an open side (106) (SEE Figures 5, 7 and 11); and the tank body further comprises a first bottom plate (41) and a second bottom plate (41), the first bottom plate cooperating with the first side plate to cover the open side of each of the plurality of first water boxes, and the second bottom plate cooperating with the second side plate to cover the open side of each of the plurality of second water boxes (SEE Figure 7). In re claim 7, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 discloses in Figures 6-8 that at least one of the plurality of first heat exchange pipes has an elliptic cross section; or at least one of the plurality of second heat exchange pipes has an elliptic cross section. In re claim 12, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since the resulting structure of a heating device consisting of first and second side plates (as disclosed by WO ‘305) connected with the first and second heat insulation plates (as taught by Zhu et al) would be an obvious integral enclosure since it has been held that the term “integral” is sufficiently broad to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding. In re Hotte. In re claim 13, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 discloses a heating device (a fuel gas water heater) including the water tank assembly according to claim 1. In re claim 14, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 further discloses a water tank assembly having a plurality of first water boxes (13) (SEE Figure 4) are disposed on the first side plate; a plurality of second water boxes (14) are disposed on the second side plate; and each of a water inlet (61) and a water outlet (62) of the water tank assembly is formed on the first side plate (Figure 4), and is in communication with one, corresponding to each of the water inlet and the water outlet, of the plurality of first water boxes (SEE Figure 7). In re claim 15, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 discloses that the plurality of first water boxes (13) and the plurality of second water boxes (14) are in communication with each other via the main heat exchange pipe assembly (21) and the condenser pipe assembly (31); the main heat exchange pipe assembly comprises a plurality of first heat exchange pipes; the condenser pipe assembly comprises a plurality of second heat exchange pipes (as per Figure 7); and the plurality of first heat exchange pipes or the plurality of second heat exchange pipes are arranged in layers in a direction from the smoke inlet to the smoke outlet (as per Figures 1, 6 and 7) (SEE page 3, lines 20-28). In re claim 18, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 further discloses that each of the plurality of first water boxes has an open side (106); each of the plurality of second water boxes has an open side (106) (SEE Figures 5, 7 and 11); and the tank body further comprises a first bottom plate (41) and a second bottom plate (41), the first bottom plate cooperating with the first side plate to cover the open side of each of the plurality of first water boxes, and the second bottom plate cooperating with the second side plate to cover the open side of each of the plurality of second water boxes (SEE Figure 7). In re claim 19, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 discloses in Figures 6-8 that at least one of the plurality of first heat exchange pipes has an elliptic cross section; or at least one of the plurality of second heat exchange pipes has an elliptic cross section. In re claim 20, WO ‘305 as modified by Zhu et al and Ma et al would meet the limitations of the applicants claimed invention since WO ‘305 discloses that the plurality of first heat exchange pipes of the main heat exchange pipe assembly (21) are arranged in two layers in the direction from the smoke inlet to the smoke outlet (SEE Figure 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/GREGORY A WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 September 8, 2026