DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of 16/612,211 filed 11/08/2019 which is a 371 of PCT/IB17/53229 filed 06/01/2017.
Claims 1-20 receive priority to the prior-filed application, filed on 06/01/2017.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The gas exchanger is referred to by an incorrect reference number (para. 0035).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claims require an insulating chamber configured to receive insulating fluid. This is interpreted to be any chamber of the oxygenator comprising fluid that may allow for heat exchange with another portion of the oxygenator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation "a heat exchanger disposed within the housing, the heat exchanger including a heat-exchange fluid inlet, a heat-exchange fluid outlet, and a bundle of gas-exchange fibers through which a heat-exchange fluid is configured to flow from a fluid inlet end of the bundle of heat-exchange fibers to a fluid outlet end of the bundle of heat-exchange fibers" in ln. 5-9. This limitation is indefinite in that it is unclear how heat-exchange fluid is flowing through a bundle of gas-exchange fibers, such that the heat-exchange fluid flows from a fluid inlet to a fluid outlet of a bundle of heat-exchange fibers. For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner is treating the claims as though they read “a heat exchanger disposed within the housing, the heat exchanger including a heat-exchange fluid inlet, a heat-exchange fluid outlet, and a bundle of heat-exchange fibers through which a heat-exchange fluid is configured to flow from a fluid inlet end of the bundle of heat-exchange fibers to a fluid outlet end of the bundle of heat-exchange fibers”.
Claims 2-11 and 13-20 are rejected for depending upon rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Ex. Fig. 1 of Leonard Fig. 4
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent no. 6,113,782 A to Leonard.
Regarding claim 1, Leonard discloses an oxygenator configured to oxygenate blood flowing therethrough (Fig. 4; col. 3 ln. 54-67 and col. 4 ln. 1-3), the oxygenator comprising: a housing (Fig. 4) having a blood inlet (20) and a blood outlet (22), the blood inlet and the blood outlet in fluid communication with an interior of the housing (Fig. 4).
Leonard also discloses a heat exchanger disposed within the housing (col. 6 ln. 66-67 and col. 7 ln. 1-25), the heat exchanger including a heat-exchange fluid inlet (28), a heat-exchange fluid outlet (30), and a bundle of heat-exchange fibers through which a heat-exchange fluid is configured to flow from a fluid inlet end of the bundle of heat-exchange fibers to a fluid outlet end of the bundle of heat-exchange fibers (52).
Leonard further discloses a gas exchanger disposed within the housing (col. 6 ln. 34-65), the gas exchanger including a gas-exchange fluid inlet (24), a gas-exchange fluid outlet (26), and a bundle of gas-exchange fibers through which a gas-exchange fluid is configured to flow from a gas inlet end of the bundle of gas-exchange fibers to a gas outlet end of the bundle of gas-exchange fibers (44); and an insulating chamber configured to receive an insulating fluid to thermally insulate at least the gas outlet end of the bundle of gas-exchange fibers proximate the gas-exchange fluid outlet (Ex. Fig. 1, insulating chambers including insulating chamber (66) configured to receive heat-exchange fluid, insulating chamber (62) configured to receive gas, and third insulating fluid chamber configured to receive blood; col. 4 ln. 53-59; col. 6 ln. 34-65 and col. 7 ln. 1-25).
Regarding claim 3, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 1, Leonard further discloses: wherein the oxygenator includes an insulating fluid inlet and an insulating fluid outlet configured to facilitate circulation of the insulating fluid through the insulating chamber (Ex. Fig. 1, insulating chambers including insulating chamber (66) including insulating fluid inlet and insulating fluid outlets at the fluid inlet end of heat-exchange fibers (52), insulating chamber (62) including insulating fluid inlets at the fluid outlet end of gas-exchange fibers (44), and third insulating fluid chamber including insulating fluid inlet and insulating fluid outlet; col. 4 ln. 53-59; col. 6 ln. 34-65 and col. 7 ln. 1-25).
Regarding claim 4, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 3, Leonard further discloses: wherein the insulting chamber is configured to receive a portion of the heat-exchange fluid from the heat exchanger as the insulating fluid (Ex. Fig. 1, insulating chamber (66) including insulating fluid inlet at end of heat-exchanger fluid inlet (28); col. 6 ln. 34-65 and col. 7 ln. 1-25).
Regarding claim 5, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 1, Leonard further discloses: wherein the insulating fluid is a fluid other than blood flowing through the oxygenator (Ex. Fig. 1, insulating chambers including insulating chamber (66) configured to receive heat-exchange fluid, insulating chamber (62) configured to receive gas; col. 6 ln. 34-65 and col. 7 ln. 1-25).
Regarding claim 6, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 1, Leonard further discloses: wherein ends of the heat-exchange fibers are embedded in a potting material (38b-c; col. 7 ln. 26-31).
Regarding claim 7, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 1, Leonard further discloses: wherein ends of the gas-exchange fibers are embedded in a potting material (38a and 38d; col. 7 ln. 26-31).
Regarding claim 8, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 1, Leonard further discloses: wherein at least a portion of the insulating chamber is disposed radially outward of the potting material upstream of the gas outlet end of the gas-exchange fibers (Ex. Fig. 1, third insulating fluid chamber configured to receive blood; col. 4 ln. 53-59).
Regarding claim 9, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 1, Leonard further discloses: wherein the heat-exchange fibers are woven into mats arranged in a criss-cross configuration (Fig. 3; col. 5 ln. 45-64).
Regarding claim 10, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 1, Leonard further discloses: wherein the gas-exchange fibers are woven into mats arranged in a criss-cross configuration (Fig. 3; col. 5 ln. 45-64).
Regarding claim 12, Leonard discloses an oxygenator configured to oxygenate blood flowing therethrough (Fig. 4; col. 3 ln. 54-67 and col. 4 ln. 1-3), the oxygenator comprising: a housing (Fig. 4) having a blood inlet (20) and a blood outlet (22), the blood inlet and the blood outlet in fluid communication with an interior of the housing (Fig. 4).
Leonard also discloses a heat exchanger disposed within the housing (col. 6 ln. 66-67 and col. 7 ln. 1-25), the heat exchanger including a heat-exchange fluid inlet (28), a heat-exchange fluid outlet (30), and a bundle of heat-exchange fibers through which a heat-exchange fluid is configured to flow from a fluid inlet end of the bundle of heat-exchange fibers to a fluid outlet end of the bundle of heat-exchange fibers.
Leonard further discloses a gas exchanger disposed within the housing (col. 6 ln. 34-65), the gas exchanger including a gas-exchange fluid inlet (24), a gas-exchange fluid outlet (26), and a bundle of gas-exchange fibers through which a gas-exchange fluid is configured to flow from a gas inlet end of the bundle of gas-exchange fibers to a gas outlet end of the bundle of gas-exchange fibers (44); and an insulating chamber configured to receive an insulating fluid therein, the chamber in fluid communication with an insulating fluid inlet and an insulating fluid outlet, such that the insulating fluid is configured to flow through the insulating chamber from the insulating fluid inlet to the insulating fluid outlet (Ex. Fig. 1, insulating chambers including insulating chamber (66) including insulating fluid inlet and insulating fluid outlets at the fluid inlet end of heat-exchange fibers (52) configured to receive heat-exchange fluid, insulating chamber (62) including insulating fluid inlets at the fluid outlet end of gas-exchange fibers (44) configured to receive gas, and third insulating fluid chamber including insulating fluid inlet and insulating fluid outlet configured to receive blood; col. 4 ln. 53-59; col. 6 ln. 34-65 and col. 7 ln. 1-25).
Regarding claim 14, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 12, Leonard further discloses: wherein the insulting chamber is configured to receive a portion of the heat-exchange fluid from the heat exchanger as the insulating fluid (Ex. Fig. 1, insulating chamber (66) including insulating fluid inlet at end of heat-exchanger fluid inlet (28); col. 6 ln. 34-65 and col. 7 ln. 1-25).
Regarding claim 15, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 12, Leonard further discloses: wherein the insulating fluid is a fluid other than blood flowing through the oxygenator (Ex. Fig. 1, insulating chambers including insulating chamber (66) configured to receive heat-exchange fluid, insulating chamber (62) configured to receive gas; col. 6 ln. 34-65 and col. 7 ln. 1-25).
Regarding claim 16, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 12, Leonard further discloses: wherein ends of the heat-exchange fibers are embedded in a potting material (38b-c; col. 7 ln. 26-31).
Regarding claim 17, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 12, Leonard further discloses: wherein ends of the gas-exchange fibers are embedded in a potting material (38a and 38d; col. 7 ln. 26-31).
Regarding claim 18, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 17, Leonard further discloses: wherein at least a portion of the insulating chamber is disposed radially outward of the potting material upstream of the gas outlet end of the gas-exchange fibers (Ex. Fig. 1, third insulating fluid chamber configured to receive blood; col. 4 ln. 53-59).
Regarding claim 19, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 12, Leonard further discloses: wherein the heat-exchange fibers are woven into mats arranged in a criss-cross configuration (Fig. 3; col. 5 ln. 45-64).
Regarding claim 20, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 12, Leonard further discloses: wherein the gas-exchange fibers are woven into mats arranged in a criss-cross configuration (Fig. 3; col. 5 ln. 45-64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonard as applied above.
Regarding claim 2, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 1; however, Leonard fails to explicitly disclose wherein the insulating fluid facilitates maintaining the gas-exchange fluid at a certain temperature or within a certain temperature range.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the insulating fluid facilitates maintaining the gas-exchange fluid at a certain temperature or within a certain temperature range” as that the invention of Leonard discloses substantially identical structure to the claimed prior art, the claimed results are considered to be inherent. As supported in MPEP 2112.01, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” In either of the insulating chamber (66) or the third insulating chamber, it would be considered that some kind of heat transfer may be occurring either from the heat-exchange fluid through the potting material (38a) or from the blood that has passed by the heat-exchange fibers (52) through the potting material (38b).
Regarding claim 13, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 12; however, Leonard fails to explicitly disclose wherein the insulating fluid facilitates maintaining the gas-exchange fluid at a certain temperature or within a certain temperature range.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the insulating fluid facilitates maintaining the gas-exchange fluid at a certain temperature or within a certain temperature range” as that the invention of Leonard discloses substantially identical structure to the claimed prior art, the claimed results are considered to be inherent. As supported in MPEP 2112.01, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” In either of the insulating chamber (66) or the third insulating chamber, it would be considered that some kind of heat transfer may be occurring either from the heat-exchange fluid through the potting material (38a) or from the blood that has passed by the heat-exchange fibers (52) through the potting material (38b).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonard as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent no. 4,948,560 A to Deguchi.
Regarding claim 11, Leonard discloses the invention of claim 1; however, Leonard differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Leonard fails to explicitly disclose a conduit disposed outside of the housing and configured to provide the insulating fluid to the insulating chamber.
Deguchi teaches an oxygenator comprising an insulating medium passed through a serpentine pipe embedded in the potting material of the gas-exchange fibers at the gas-exchanger outlet end (col. 3 ln. 52-68 and col. 4 ln. 1-10).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the invention of Leonard to comprise a insulating fluid conduit configured to provide the insulating fluid to the insulating chamber as taught by Deguchi, because Deguchi teaches that this can provide direct insulation/heating to the potting material at the gas-exchange outlet end which is most susceptible to the phenomenon of wet lung (col. 3 ln. 52-68 and col. 4 ln. 1-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP/2012/135434 A to Muramoto discloses an oxygenator comprising a heat-exchanger, a gas-exchanger, and insulating chambers.
/Linnae E. Raymond/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 12 December 2025