DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11-12, 16, 18, and 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, Park et al. (KR20210076477, with reference made to provided machine translation, Park) teaches As per claim 9, Park teaches (in figures 7A-7H and 9) a method of manufacturing a light path control device, the method comprising: forming a first electrode (first electrode 22) and an adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 2') on a first substrate (first base film 21) sequentially (figure 7e and paragraph 89); forming a second electrode (second electrode 32) on a second substrate (second base film 31) (figures 7a-7b and paragraphs 79-80); forming a light conversion layer (load pattern mold 5 and space CS); and bonding the first substrate and the second substrate while the light conversion layer is interposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (figure 7e and paragraph 89), wherein the forming the light conversion layer comprises: forming an optical curable resin layer (paragraphs 86-87) on the second substrate (figure 7c and paragraph 83-87); forming a barrier part of a tooth shape (portion of patter mold between spaces CS) and a receptacle part (spaces CS) arranged alternately with the barrier part by patterning the optical curable resin layer; forming an insulation thin film (non-conductive layer 8) on the barrier part (paragraph 108-110) wherein the barrier part comprises an insulating resin material (UV resin) containing ionic impurities (conductivity-enhancing additive comprising quaternary ammonium cation and fluorinated imide anions) (see paragraphs 57-59), wherein, during the bonding, at least a part of the adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 2') is embedded inward of the receptacle part (spaces CS in) (see paragraph 111), wherein the insulation thin film (non-conductive layer 8) is interposed between the barrier part (load pattern mold 5) and the embedded adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 2') on a part of the outer wall of the barrier part (portion of load pattern mold 5 covered with portion 82 of non-conductive layer 8) (see paragraph 111), and wherein the embedded adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 2') has a first height from the bottom surface of the barrier part, and the insulation thin film disposed on the outer wall of the barrier part (portion 82 of non-conductive layer 8) has a second height from the bottom surface of the barrier part (portion of load pattern mold 5 covered with portion 81 of non-conductive layer 8), the first height being equal to or less than the second height (see paragraph 111).
Rogers et al. (USP 6337761, Rogers) teaches (in figures 5A-5D) that forming a barrier part (sealed chamber 30 comprising mechanical members 34 and enclosed cells 28) on a parent substrate, transferring to the final substrate and removing the parent substrate is a functionally equivalent method to forming the barrier part direction on the final substrate (see Col. 6 line 54- Col.7 line 4).
Fujii et al. (USP 5676804, Fujii) teaches (in figure 4) forming a thin film (4) on an inclined surface structure (2) by sputtering firstly by injecting a liquid or gas as a material of the thin film from the bottom while the inclined structure is tilted to one side (when a first side is tilted towards 41); and sputtering secondly by injecting the liquid or gas as the material of the insulation thin film from the bottom while the light conversion layer is tilted to the opposite side (when a second side is tilted towards 41 after rotation) in order to ensure that both side of the inclined surfaces are covered (see Col. 10 lines 7-26).
However, the prior art taken alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing a method in which without using a photomask during the first sputtering and the second sputtering, the material of the insulation thin film is blocked by a neighboring barrier part, wherein the tilt angle is determined such that a second height of the insulation thin film to be formed is equal to or greater than a first height of the adhesive layer embedded inward of the receptacle part in combination with the other required elements of claim 9.
Claims 11-12, 16, 18, and 20 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7-8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (KR20210076477, with reference made to provided machine translation, Park).
As per claim 1, Park teaches (in figure 9) a light path control device comprising: a first substrate (first base film 21); a first electrode (first electrode 22) disposed on the first substrate; a second substrate (second base film 31) disposed on the first substrate; a second electrode (second electrode 32) disposed below the second substrate; an light conversion layer (load pattern mold 5 and spaces CS filled with load 4) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, and including a barrier part of a tooth shape (load pattern mold 5, see figures 1 and 9) and a receptacle part (spaces CS filled with load 4) arranged alternately therein; an adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 2') disposed between the first electrode and the light conversion layer; and an insulation thin film (non-conductive layer 8) interposed between the barrier part and the adhesive layer wherein the barrier part comprises an insulating resin material (UV resin) containing ionic impurities (conductivity-enhancing additive comprising quaternary ammonium cation and fluorinated imide anions) (see paragraphs 57-59 and 100) wherein at least a part of the adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 2') is embedded inward of the receptacle part (spaces CS filled with load 4) (see paragraph 111), wherein the insulation thin film (non-conductive layer 8) is interposed between the barrier part (load pattern mold 5) and the embedded adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 2') on a part of the outer wall of the barrier part (portion of load pattern mold 5 covered with portion 82 of non-conductive layer 8) (see paragraph 111), wherein the insulation thin film is formed by a mask-free process comprising: sputtering firstly from a bottom while the light conversion layer is tilted to one side by a tilt angle; and sputtering secondly from the bottom while the light conversion layer is tilted to an opposite side by the tilt angle, wherein, during the first sputtering and the second sputtering, an insulation thin film material is blocked by a neighboring barrier part, wherein the tilt angle is determined such that a second height of the insulation thin film to be formed (height of portion 82 of non-conductive layer 8) is equal to or greater than a first height of the adhesive layer embedded inward of the receptacle part (height of portion of the first adhesive layer 2’ formed inside of space CS, see paragraph 111), and wherein the embedded adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 2') has the first height from the bottom surface of the barrier part, and the insulation thin film disposed on the outer wall of the barrier part (portion 82 of non-conductive layer 8) has the second height from the bottom surface of the barrier part (portion of load pattern mold 5 covered with portion 81 of non-conductive layer 8), the first height being equal to or less than the second height (see paragraph 111).
It is noted that the limitation, "wherein the insulation thin film is formed by a mask-free process comprising: sputtering firstly from a bottom while the light conversion layer is tilted to one side by a tilt angle; and sputtering secondly from the bottom while the light conversion layer is tilted to an opposite side by the tilt angle, wherein, during the first sputtering and the second sputtering, an insulation thin film material is blocked by a neighboring barrier part, wherein the tilt angle is determined such that a second height of the insulation thin film to be formed is equal to or greater than a first height of the adhesive layer embedded inward of the receptacle part " is a product-by-process limitation. Even though product-by-process limitations are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Specifically, the patentability of a product in the product-by-process limitation does not depend on its method of production. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed Cir 1985). In this case, Park teaches that the insulation thin film is formed to have a height greater than the height of the adhesive layer embedded inward of the receptacle part and therefore meets all of the structural limitations of the claim. See also MPEP 2113.
As per claim 3, Park teaches (in figure 9) that the insulation thin film (non-conductive layer 8) is disposed on a region of the bottom surface (portion of load pattern mold 5 covered with portion 81 of non-conductive layer 8) and the outer wall of the barrier part (portion of load pattern mold 5 covered with portion 82 of non-conductive layer 8).
As per claim 7, Park teaches (in figure 9) that the receptacle part (spaces CS filled with load 4) comprises dispersion liquid (“oil”) and floating particles (“carbon particles”) dispersed in the dispersion liquid (see paragraph 36).
As per claim 8, Park teaches (in figure 9) that the receptacle part (spaces CS filled with load 4) is disposed to be spaced at a predetermined distance (distance from second electrode 32 to upper surface 42) apart from the second electrode (second electrode 32) in the light conversion layer (see figure 9).
As per claim 17, Park teaches (in figure 9) that the insulation thin film (non-conductive layer 8) has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 2') (see paragraph 111).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR20210076477, with reference made to provided machine translation, Park) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Wang (US Pub. 20210231978).
As per claim 2, Park teaches (in figure 9) that the insulation thin film (non-conductive layer 8) is formed of a material having high resistance (paragraph 102).
Park does not specifically teach that the insulation thin film includes at least one of silicon nitride (SiN), titanium dioxide (TiO2), and silicon dioxide (SiO2).
However, Wang teaches that it is known to form high resistance insulation films out of silicon nitride (paragraph 88).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the insulation thin film out of a silicon nitride since a prima facie case of obviousness exists for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (see MPEP 2144.07).
As per claim 19, Park does not specifically teach that the insulation thin film is transparent.
However, Park teaches that the barrier part is transparent to allow for light to transmit in both wine and narrow viewing modes (see figure 4).
Additionally, Wang teaches that it is known to form high resistance insulation films out of silicon nitride (paragraph 88) which is a transparent material.
It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (see MPEP 2144.07).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the barrier part out of silicon nitride the motivation would have been to ensure high resistance while maintaining transparency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 17, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-11 of applicant’s response, filed 06/26/2026, with respect to claims 9, 11-12, 16, 18, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 9, 11-12, 16, and 18 have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER P GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871