DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 9, 20 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 lines 8, the occurrence of “the- sequence” should be amended to --- “the sequence”---
In claim 3 lines 1, the occurrence of “the transmission” should be amended to --- “the transmission of the sequence identifier”---
In claim 9 lines 2, the occurrence of “an SL-PRS” should be amended to --- “the SL-PRS”---
In claim 20 lines 5, the occurrence of “during operation” should be amended to --- “during the operation”---
In claim 21 lines 5, the occurrence of “during operation” should be amended to --- “during the operation”---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. [hereinafter as Takahashi] WO 2024/034548 A1 in view of Ganesan et al. [hereinafter as Ganesan] U.S 12,096,241 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses wherein a method (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], a method), comprising:
determining, by a processor of a transmission user equipment (Tx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], processing unit 14 of a target UE 4 in a terminal device 1 transmission user equipment (Tx UE)), a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], sidelink RRC (PC5-RRC) procedure is described, the sidelink RRC procedure is performed to modify a PC5-RRC connection, e.g. to establish/modify/ release sidelink DRB, to (re-) configure NR sidelink measurement and reporting, to (re-)configure sidelink CSI reference signal resources and CSI reporting latency bound, to (re-)configure NR sidelink positioning measurement and reporting, and to (re-)configure sidelink PRS resources and other configuration of sidelink PRS i.e., determining a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration), wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier (Fig.21 [0329], nr-SL-PRS-AssistanceData field provides the SL-PRS configuration for one or more anchor UEs 5 and Fig.21 [0335], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may includea SL-PRS Resource Set ID and Fig.21 [0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the information which specifies the resource element (RE) spacing in each symbol of the SLPRS resource and the RE offset in frequency domain for the first symbol in a SL-PRS resource and Fig.21 [0340], sl-PRS-ResourceBandwidth specifies the number of PRBs allocated for the SL-PRS Resource (allocated SL-PRS bandwidth). All SL-PRS Resources of the SL-PRS Resource Set have the same bandwidth. All SL-PRS Resource Sets belonging to the same frequency layer and /or the same resource pool for SL-PRS have the same value of SLPRS Bandwidth and Start PRB); and
transmitting, by the processor, the SL-PRS configuration to at least one reception user equipment (Rx UE) (Fig.21 [0335]-[0337], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID, the information of periodicity and resource set slot offset for the SL-PRS Resource Set, the repetition factor for the SL-PRS resource in the SL-PRS Resource Set, the number of symbols per SL-PRS resource in the SL-PRS Resource Set within a slot, and a list of the configurations of one or more SL-PRS resources (NR-SLPRS-Resource) within the SL-PRS Resource Set, the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource,
sl-PRS-ID may be provided only when the corresponding SL positioning method is performed with more than one anchor UE 5),
wherein the- sequence identifier is transmitted in a higher layer message by a data channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0230][0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH i.e., data channel on sidelink), and
the resource reservation information is transmitted by the data channel or a control channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0329]-[0340], the resource reservation for SLPRS is transmitted on data channel PSSCH or PSCCH control channel).
Even though Takahashi discloses the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches wherein the- sequence identifier is transmitted in a higher layer message by a data channel (Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID is inserted in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/ relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teaching of Ganesan in order to provide for individual resource pool configurations.
It would have been beneficial to insert the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel as taught by Ganesan to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi to improve the reliability of the transmission. (Ganesan, Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43 and Fig.7 Col 24 line 38-49).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the SL-PRS configuration further includes at least one UE identification of the at least one Rx UE (Fig.6&21 [0089][0335]-[0337], the SL-PRS configuration further includes at least one UE identification of anchor UE 5).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the transmission by the data channel is transmitted by broadcasting, groupcasting or unicasting (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0228], the transmission by the PSCCH/ PSSCH data channel is transmitted by broadcasting, groupcasting or unicasting).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the resource reservation information includes time and frequency resource information (Fig.14 [0260]-[0262], the resource reservation information includes time and/or frequency resource information).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 4 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the time and frequency resource information includes a unit of set of symbol within slot, a slot index or a set of consecutive slots for a transmission (Fig.14 [0267]-[0268], the time and/or frequency resource information includes a number of symbols and/or slot i.e., unit of set of symbol within slot contained in the higher-layer parameter resource mapping).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 4 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the resource reservation information further includes a time domain behavior information which includes a periodic transmission indication or a semi-persistent transmission indication (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0335]-[0336], the resource reservation information further includes a time domain behavior information which includes a periodicity of a SL-PRS process).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 6 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the periodic transmission indication includes a periodicity and the semi-persistent transmission indication includes a number of transmission and a periodicity (Fig.12-13 [0256]-[0257], the periodic transmission indication includes a periodicity and the semi-persistent SL-PRS transmission indication includes a number of transmission and a periodicity).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses performing, by the processor, an operation of sensing and resource selection within a time window (Fig.11&12-13 [0204]-[0205][0234], performing the sensing capabilities i.e., operation of sensor and the set of preferred/non-preferred resources i.e., resource selection within a time slot).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 7 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses transmitting, by the processor, an SL-PRS after the operation of sensing and resource selection (Fig.13-14&15 [0251][0292][0303], performing the SL-PRS transmission after the operation of sensing and resource selection).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the control channel of a slot indicates SL-PRS transmission information within the slot (Fig.12-13&21 [0256][0335]-[0336], the PSCCH control channel of a slot indicates SL-PRS transmission information within the slot), and wherein the SLPRS transmission information includes a set of symbols for transmission (Fig.12-13&21 [0221][0335]-[0336], the SLPRS transmission information includes sl-LengthSymbols consecutive symbols/ a set of symbols for transmission).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the data channel includes physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and wherein the control channel includes physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Fig.12-13&21 [0221][0315]-[0319], the data channel includes physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and the control channel includes physical sidelink control channel).
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi discloses wherein a method (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], a method), comprising:
receiving, by a processor of a reception user equipment (Rx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], processing unit 14 of anchor UE 5 a reception user equipment (Rx UE)), a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration from a transmission user equipment (Tx UE) (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], sidelink RRC (PC5-RRC) procedure is described, the sidelink RRC procedure is performed to modify a PC5-RRC connection, e.g. to establish/modify/release sidelink DRB, to (re-) configure NR sidelink measurement and reporting, to (re-)configure sidelink CSI reference signal resources and CSI reporting latency bound, to (re-)configure NR sidelink positioning measurement and reporting, and to (re-)configure sidelink PRS resources and other configuration of sidelink PRS i.e., receiving a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration from a target UE 4 of a terminal device 1 transmission user equipment (Tx UE)),
wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier (Fig.21 [0329], nr-SL-PRS-AssistanceData field provides the SL-PRS configuration for one or more anchor UEs 5 and Fig.21 [0335], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID and Fig.21 [0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the information which specifies the resource element (RE) spacing in each symbol of the SLPRS resource and the RE offset in frequency domain for the first symbol in a SL-PRS resource and Fig.21 [0340], sl-PRS-ResourceBandwidth specifies the number of PRBs allocated for the SL-PRS Resource (allocated SL-PRS bandwidth). All SL-PRS Resources of the SL-PRS Resource Set have the same bandwidth. All SL-PRS Resource Sets belonging to the same frequency layer and /or the same resource pool for SL-PRS have the same value of SLPRS Bandwidth and Start PRB),
wherein the sequence identifier is received in a higher layer message by a data channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0230][0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH i.e., data channel on sidelink), and
the resource reservation information is received by the data channel or a control channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0329]-[0340], the resource reservation for SLPRS is received on data channel PSSCH or PSCCH control channel).
Even though Takahashi discloses the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches wherein the sequence identifier is received in a higher layer message by a data channel (Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID is inserted in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/ relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teaching of Ganesan in order to provide for individual resource pool configurations.
It would have been beneficial to insert the RS sequence ID of the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel as taught by Ganesan to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi to improve the reliability of the transmission. (Ganesan, Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43 and Fig.7 Col 24 line 38-49).
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the SL-PRS configuration further includes a UE identification of the Rx UE (Fig.6&21 [0089][0335]-[0337], the SL-PRS configuration further includes at least one UE identification of anchor UE 5).
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the resource reservation information includes time and frequency resource information (Fig.14 [0260]-[0262], the resource reservation information includes time and/or frequency resource information).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the time and frequency resource information includes a unit of set of symbol within slot, a slot index or a set of consecutive slots for a transmission (Fig.14 [0267]-[0268], the time and/or frequency resource information includes a number of symbols and/or slot i.e., unit of set of symbol within slot contained in the higher-layer parameter resource mapping).
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the resource reservation information further includes a time domain behavior information which includes a periodic transmission indication or a semi-persistent transmission indication (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0335]-[0336], the resource reservation information further includes a time domain behavior information which includes a periodicity of a SL-PRS process).
Regarding claim 18, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 17 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses receiving, by the processor, an SL-PRS after an operation of sensing and resource selection performed by the Tx UE (Fig.13-14&15 [0251][0292][0303], performing the SL-PRS transmission after the operation of sensing and resource selection), wherein the control channel of a slot indicates SL-PRS transmission information within the slot (Fig.12-13&21 [0256][0335]-[0336], the PSCCH control channel of a slot indicates SL-PRS transmission information within the slot), and wherein the SL-PRS transmission information includes a set of symbols for transmission (Fig.12-13&21 [0221][0335]-[0336], the SLPRS transmission information includes sl-LengthSymbols consecutive symbols/ a set of symbols for transmission).
Regarding claim 19, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the data channel includes physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and wherein the control channel includes physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Fig.12-13&21 [0221][0315]-[0319], the data channel includes physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and the control channel includes physical sidelink control channel).
Regarding claim 20, Takahashi discloses wherein a transmission user equipment (Tx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], target UE 4 of a terminal device 1/transmission user equipment (Tx UE)), comprising:
a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with at least one reception user equipment (Rx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], a wireless transmission/reception unit 10/transceiver wirelessly communicates with at least one anchor UE 5/reception user equipment (Rx UE) during operation); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising (Fig.6 [0089]-[0091], a processing unit 14 communicatively coupled to the wireless transmission/reception unit 10/transceiver such that during operation, the processor performs operation):
determining a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], sidelink RRC (PC5-RRC) procedure is described, the sidelink RRC procedure is performed to modify a PC5-RRC connection, e.g. to establish/modify/ release sidelink DRB, to (re-) configure NR sidelink measurement and reporting, to (re-) configure sidelink CSI reference signal resources and CSI reporting latency bound, to (re-)configure NR sidelink positioning measurement and reporting, and to (re-)configure sidelink PRS resources and other configuration of sidelink PRS i.e., determining a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration), wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier (Fig.21 [0329], nr-SL-PRS-AssistanceData field provides the SL-PRS configuration for one or more anchor UEs 5 and Fig.21 [0335], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID and Fig.21 [0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the information which specifies the resource element (RE) spacing in each symbol of the SLPRS resource and the RE offset in frequency domain for the first symbol in a SL-PRS resource and Fig.21 [0340], sl-PRS-ResourceBandwidth specifies the number of PRBs allocated for the SL-PRS Resource (allocated SL-PRS bandwidth). All SL-PRS Resources of the SL-PRS Resource Set have the same bandwidth. All SL-PRS Resource Sets belonging to the same frequency layer and /or the same resource pool for SL-PRS have the same value of SLPRS Bandwidth and Start PRB); and
transmitting, via the transceiver, the SL-PRS configuration to the at least one Rx UE (Fig.21 [0335]-[0337], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID, the information of periodicity and resource set slot offset for the SL-PRS Resource Set, the repetition factor for the SL-PRS resource in the SL-PRS Resource Set, the number of symbols per SL-PRS resource in the SL-PRS Resource Set within a slot, and a list of the configurations of one or more SL-PRS resources (NR-SLPRS-Resource) within the SL-PRS Resource Set, the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, sl-PRS-ID may be provided only when the corresponding SL positioning method is performed with more than one anchor UE 5),
wherein the sequence identifier is transmitted through a data channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0230][0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH i.e., data channel on sidelink), and
wherein the resource reservation information is transmitted through the data channel or a control channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0329]-[0340], the resource reservation for SLPRS is transmitted on data channel PSSCH or PSCCH control channel).
Even though Takahashi discloses the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches wherein the sequence identifier is transmitted through a data channel (Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID is inserted in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teaching of Ganesan in order to provide for individual resource pool configurations.
It would have been beneficial to insert the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel as taught by Ganesan to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi to improve the reliability of the transmission. (Ganesan, Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43 and Fig.7 Col 24 line 38-49).
Regarding claim 21, Takahashi discloses wherein a reception user equipment (Rx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], anchor UE 5 of a terminal device 1/reception user equipment (Rx UE)), comprising:
a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with a transmission user equipment (Tx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], a wireless transmission/reception unit 10/transceiver wirelessly communicates with at least one target UE 4 of a terminal device 1/transmission user equipment (Tx UE) during operation); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising (Fig.6 [0089]-[0091], a processing unit 14 communicatively coupled to the wireless transmission/reception unit 10/transceiver such that during operation, the processor performs operation):
receiving, via the transceiver, a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration from the Tx UE (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], sidelink RRC (PC5-RRC) procedure is described, the sidelink RRC procedure is performed to modify a PC5-RRC connection, e.g. to establish/modify/release sidelink DRB, to (re-) configure NR sidelink measurement and reporting, to (re-)configure sidelink CSI reference signal resources and CSI reporting latency bound, to (re-)configure NR sidelink positioning measurement and reporting, and to (re-)configure sidelink PRS resources and other configuration of sidelink PRS i.e., receiving a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration from a target UE 4 of a terminal device 1 transmission user equipment (Tx UE)),
wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier (Fig.21 [0329], nr-SL-PRS-AssistanceData field provides the SL-PRS configuration for one or more anchor UEs 5 and Fig.21 [0335], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID and Fig.21 [0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the information which specifies the resource element (RE) spacing in each symbol of the SLPRS resource and the RE offset in frequency domain for the first symbol in a SL-PRS resource and Fig.21 [0340], sl-PRS-ResourceBandwidth specifies the number of PRBs allocated for the SL-PRS Resource (allocated SL-PRS bandwidth). All SL-PRS Resources of the SL-PRS Resource Set have the same bandwidth. All SL-PRS Resource Sets belonging to the same frequency layer and /or the same resource pool for SL-PRS have the same value of SLPRS Bandwidth and Start PRB),
wherein the sequence identifier is received through a data channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0230][0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH i.e., data channel on sidelink), and
the resource reservation information is received through the data channel or a control channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0329]-[0340], the resource reservation for SLPRS is received on data channel PSSCH or PSCCH control channel).
Even though Takahashi discloses the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches wherein the sequence identifier is received through a data channel (Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID is inserted in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is received through the PSSCH i.e., data channel and Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teaching of Ganesan in order to provide for individual resource pool configurations.
It would have been beneficial to insert the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is received through the PSSCH i.e., data channel and, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel as taught by Ganesan to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi to achieve desirable sensing results. (Ganesan, Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43 and Fig.7 Col 24 line 38-49).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. [hereinafter as Takahashi] WO 2024/034548 A1 in view of Ganesan et al. [hereinafter as Ganesan] U.S 12,096,241 B2 further in view of Yoon [hereinafter as Yoon] U.S 2024/0357543 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses a value of the sequence identifier is between 0 to (219 - 1) (Fig.21 [0257], a value of the sequence identifier is between 0 to 4095).
Even though Takahashi and Ganesan disclose wherein a value of the sequence identifier is between 0 to (219 - 1), in the same field of endeavor, Yoon teaches wherein a value of the sequence identifier is between 0 to (219 - 1) (Fig.25-26 [0346], a value of the sequence identifier is between 0 to (219 - 1) when an SL PRS is generated based on Equation 3 and Equation 4, nID,seq PRS may be set to nID,seq PRS∈{0,1, . . . ,4095} as a sequence ID for SL PRS generation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi and Ganesan to incorporate the teaching of Yoon in order to provide for improvement of traffic environments, automatic driving and remote driving.
It would have been beneficial to use a value of the sequence identifier which is between 0 to (219 - 1) when an SL PRS is generated based on Equation 3 and Equation 4, nID,seq PRS may be set to nID,seq PRS∈{0,1, . . . ,4095} as a sequence ID for SL PRS generation as taught by Yoon to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi and Ganesan to provide for accuracy improvement, reduced latency and network efficiency. (Yoon, Fig.8 [0158] and Fig.25-26 [0346]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Keshavamurthy et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0267630 A1) teaches Method, Apparatus and System Relating to Requesting to use a First Resource for Transmitting a Second Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal.
Li et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0185039 A1) teaches Control Information Transmission Method and Communication Apparatus.
Gotoh et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0068115 A1) teaches Base Station Apparatus and Terminal Apparatus.
Lee et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 12335898 B2) teaches Method for Transmitting and Receiving Signal in Wireless Communication System, and Apparatus for Supporting Same.
Zheng et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0220630 A1) teaches Method and Apparatus of Resource Configuration for Sidelink Positioning and Device.
Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0056571 A1) teaches Positioning Methods and Apparatuses for Relative Location, Device and Medium.
Masal et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0089893 A1) teaches Methods of Determining Position of a Target Node in Side-link Communication System.
Takahashi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0267681 A1) teaches User Equipment and Method.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414