DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 04/27/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 12, 16-18 and 20-21 have been amended.
Clams 4 and 15 are canceled.
Claims 1-3, 5-14 and 16-21 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1, the applicant argued that even when Takahashi is combined with Ganesan, the cited references fail to disclose or suggest (i) the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information, and (ii) transmitting an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted after transmitting the SL-PRS configuration to avoid interference during the transmission of the SL-PRS.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1A-D&3, newly added Hoang clearly discloses that the resource reservation information is including reserved time-frequency of SL-PRS resource information since the WTRU is determining the time-frequency resources e.g., the number of time-frequency resources for each type of transmission and/or reception
(e.g., resource for SL-PRS transmission, reception, and/or measurement reporting) based on one or more of the number of WTRUs in the group, the multiplexing rules, and/or the number (e.g., the maximum number) of frequency multiplexing resources for a (e.g., one) slot (see Hoang, Fig.1A-D [0098][0364], Fig.1A-D&3 [0113][0248][0249], Fig.1A-D&2 [0126][0128][0299] and Fig.1A-D&13 [0084][0424]-[0425]).
Hoang also discloses that the processor of the anchor WTRU 1208 is transmitting an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information e.g., SL-PRS density in time and/or frequency domain at step 1216, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted after transmitting one or more SL-PRS configurations at step 1212 to eliminate self-interference i.e., avoid interference during the transmission of the SL-PRS via either hardware e.g., a choke or signal processing via a processor (see Hoang, Fig.1A-D&12 [0049][0417]).
Additionally, Takahashi discloses that the resource reservation information is including reserved - a number of bits configured by sl-NumReservedBits for time and frequency resource elements information e.g., the horizontal axis indicates time domain (OFDM symbol index Isym) and the vertical axis indicates frequency domain since the reserved Bits is used for time and frequency resource information (see Takahashi, Fig.7&12-13 [0137]-[0138][0217] and Fig.11&12-13 [0205]).
Takahashi also discloses that the processing unit 14 of anchor UE 5 in a terminal device 1 transmission user equipment (Tx UE) is determining and signaling/transmitting the resource reservation for SL-PRS transmission on data channel PSSCH or PSCCH control channel to other target UEs 4 reception user equipment (Rx UEs) since the resource reservation information includes reserved - a number of bits configured by sl-NumReservedBits for time and frequency resource elements information e.g., the horizontal axis indicates time domain (OFDM symbol index Isym) and the vertical axis indicates frequency domain and, reservedBits are for time and frequency resource information (see Takahashi, Fig.7&12-13 [0137]-[0138][0217], Fig.11&12-13 [0205], Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], and Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0329]-[0340]).
Claims 12, 20 and 21, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 1. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. [hereinafter as Takahashi] WO 2024/034548 A1 in view of Hoang et al. (provisional application No. 63/308307 filed on 02/09/2022, provisional application No. 63/334815 filed on 04/26/2022, provisional application No. 63/395945 filed on 08/08/2022) [hereinafter as Hoang], US 2025/0142292 A1 further in view of Ganesan et al. [hereinafter as Ganesan] U.S 12,096,241 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses wherein a method (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], a method), comprising:
determining, by a processor of a transmission user equipment (Tx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], processing unit 14 of anchor UE 5 in a terminal device 1 transmission user equipment (Tx UE)), a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], sidelink RRC (PC5-RRC) procedure is described, the sidelink RRC procedure is performed to modify a PC5-RRC connection, e.g. to establish/modify/ release sidelink DRB, to (re-) configure NR sidelink measurement and reporting, to (re-)configure sidelink CSI reference signal resources and CSI reporting latency bound, to (re-)configure NR sidelink positioning measurement and reporting, and to (re-)configure sidelink PRS resources and other configuration of sidelink PRS i.e., determining a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration), wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier (Fig.21 [0329], nr-SL-PRS-AssistanceData field provides the SL-PRS configuration for one or more anchor UEs 5 and Fig.21 [0335], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID and Fig.21 [0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the information which specifies the resource element (RE) spacing in each symbol of the SLPRS resource and the RE offset in frequency domain for the first symbol in a SL-PRS resource and Fig.21 [0340], sl-PRS-ResourceBandwidth specifies the number of PRBs allocated for the SL-PRS Resource (allocated SL-PRS bandwidth). All SL-PRS Resources of the SL-PRS Resource Set have the same bandwidth. All SL-PRS Resource Sets belonging to the same frequency layer and /or the same resource pool for SL-PRS have the same value of SLPRS Bandwidth and Start PRB), and
the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information (Fig.7&12-13 [0137]-[0138][0217], the resource reservation information includes reserved – a number of bits configured by sl-NumReservedBits for time and frequency resource elements information e.g., the horizontal axis indicates time domain (OFDM symbol index Isym) and the vertical axis indicates frequency domain and Fig.11&12-13 [0205], reservedBits for time and frequency resource information);
transmitting, by the processor, the SL-PRS configuration to at least one reception user equipment (Rx UE) (Fig.21 [0335]-[0337], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID, the information of periodicity and resource set slot offset for the SL-PRS Resource Set, the repetition factor for the SL-PRS resource in the SL-PRS Resource Set, the number of symbols per SL-PRS resource in the SL-PRS Resource Set within a slot, and a list of the configurations of one or more SL-PRS resources (NR-SLPRS-Resource) within the SL-PRS Resource Set, the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource,
sl-PRS-ID may be provided only when the corresponding SL positioning method is performed with more than one anchor UE 5);
wherein the sequence identifier is transmitted in a higher layer message by a data channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0230][0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH i.e., data channel on sidelink), and
the resource reservation information is transmitted by the data channel or a control channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0329]-[0340], the resource reservation for SLPRS is transmitted on data channel PSSCH or PSCCH control channel).
Even though Takahashi discloses wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier, and the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information but Takahashi does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting, by the processor, an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted after transmitting the SL-PRS configuration to avoid interference during the transmission of the SL-PRS.
In the same field of endeavor, Hoang teaches wherein the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information (Fig.1A-D [0098][0364], the resource reservation information includes reserved time-frequency of SL-PRS resource information; Fig.1A-D&3 [0113][0248][0249], Fig.1A-D&2 [0126][0128][0299], Fig.1A-D&13 [0084][0424]-[0425]); and
transmitting, by the processor, an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted after transmitting the SL-PRS configuration to avoid interference during the transmission of the SL-PRS (Fig.1A-D&12 [0049][0417], at step 1216 the processor of the anchor WTRU 1208 is transmitting an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information e.g., SL-PRS density in time and/or frequency domain, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted after transmitting one or more SL-PRS configurations at step 1212 to eliminate self-interference i.e., avoid interference during the transmission of the SL-PRS via either hardware e.g., a choke or signal processing via a processor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teaching of Hoang in order to provide for more accurate location and reducing the latency.
It would have been beneficial to use the processor of the anchor WTRU 1208 at step 1216 which is transmitting an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information e.g., SL-PRS density in time and/or frequency domain, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted after transmitting one or more SL-PRS configurations at step 1212 to eliminate self-interference i.e., avoid interference during the transmission of the SL-PRS via either hardware e.g., a choke or signal processing via a processor as taught by Hoang to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi to provide for improving data throughput. (Hoang, Fig.1A-D [0070] and Fig.1A-D&12 [0049][0417]).
Even though Takahashi and Hoang disclose the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches wherein the- sequence identifier is transmitted in a higher layer message by a data channel (Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID is inserted in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/ relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi and Hoang to incorporate the teaching of Ganesan in order to provide for individual resource pool configurations.
It would have been beneficial to insert the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel as taught by Ganesan to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi and Hoang to improve the reliability of the transmission. (Ganesan, Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43 and Fig.7 Col 24 line 38-49).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the SL-PRS configuration further includes at least one UE identification of the at least one Rx UE (Fig.6&21 [0089][0335]-[0337], the SL-PRS configuration further includes at least one UE identification of anchor UE 5).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the transmission of the sequence identifier or the resource reservation information by the data channel is transmitted by broadcasting, groupcasting or unicasting (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0228], the transmission of the sequence identifier by the PSCCH/ PSSCH data channel is transmitted by broadcasting, groupcasting or unicasting).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the reserved time and frequency resource information includes a unit of set of symbol within slot, a slot index or a set of consecutive slots for a transmission (Fig.12-13&14 [0217][0267]-[0268], the reserved time and/or frequency resource information includes a number of symbols and/or slot i.e., unit of set of symbol within slot contained in the higher-layer parameter resource mapping).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the resource reservation information further includes a time domain behavior information which includes a periodic transmission indication or a semi-persistent transmission indication (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0335]-[0336], the resource reservation information further includes a time domain behavior information which includes a periodicity of a SL-PRS process).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 6 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the periodic transmission indication includes a periodicity and the semi-persistent transmission indication includes a number of transmission and a periodicity (Fig.12-13 [0256]-[0257], the periodic transmission indication includes a periodicity and the semi-persistent SL-PRS transmission indication includes a number of transmission and a periodicity).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses performing, by the processor, an operation of sensing and resource selection within a time window (Fig.11&12-13 [0204]-[0205][0234], performing the sensing capabilities i.e., operation of sensor and the set of preferred/non-preferred resources i.e., resource selection within a time slot).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Hoang further discloses the SL-PRS is transmitted after the operation of sensing and resource selection (Fig.1A-D [0084][0110], the SL-PRS is transmitted after the operation of sensing and resource selection).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the control channel of a slot indicates SL-PRS transmission information within the slot (Fig.12-13&21 [0256][0335]-[0336], the PSCCH control channel of a slot indicates SL-PRS transmission information within the slot), and wherein the SLPRS transmission information includes a set of symbols for transmission (Fig.12-13&21 [0221][0335]-[0336], the SLPRS transmission information includes sl-LengthSymbols consecutive symbols/ a set of symbols for transmission).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the data channel includes physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and wherein the control channel includes physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Fig.12-13&21 [0221][0315]-[0319], the data channel includes physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and the control channel includes physical sidelink control channel).
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi discloses wherein a method (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], a method), comprising:
receiving, by a processor of a reception user equipment (Rx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], processing unit 14 of a target UE 4 reception user equipment (Rx UE)), a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration from a transmission user equipment (Tx UE) (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], sidelink RRC (PC5-RRC) procedure is described, the sidelink RRC procedure is performed to modify a PC5-RRC connection, e.g. to establish/modify/release sidelink DRB, to (re-) configure NR sidelink measurement and reporting, to (re-)configure sidelink CSI reference signal resources and CSI reporting latency bound, to (re-)configure NR sidelink positioning measurement and reporting, and to (re-)configure sidelink PRS resources and other configuration of sidelink PRS i.e., receiving a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration from the anchor UE 5 of a terminal device 1 transmission user equipment (Tx UE)),
wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier (Fig.21 [0329], nr-SL-PRS-AssistanceData field provides the SL-PRS configuration for one or more anchor UEs 5 and Fig.21 [0335], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID and Fig.21 [0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the information which specifies the resource element (RE) spacing in each symbol of the SLPRS resource and the RE offset in frequency domain for the first symbol in a SL-PRS resource and Fig.21 [0340], sl-PRS-ResourceBandwidth specifies the number of PRBs allocated for the SL-PRS Resource (allocated SL-PRS bandwidth). All SL-PRS Resources of the SL-PRS Resource Set have the same bandwidth. All SL-PRS Resource Sets belonging to the same frequency layer and /or the same resource pool for SL-PRS have the same value of SLPRS Bandwidth and Start PRB),
and the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information (Fig.7&12-13 [0137]-[0138][0217], the resource reservation information includes reserved – a number of bits configured by sl-NumReservedBits for time and frequency resource elements information e.g., the horizontal axis indicates time domain (OFDM symbol index Isym) and the vertical axis indicates frequency domain and Fig.11&12-13 [0205], reservedBits for time and frequency resource information);
wherein the sequence identifier is received in a higher layer message by a data channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0230][0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH i.e., data channel on sidelink), and
wherein the resource reservation information is received by the data channel or a control channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0329]-[0340], the resource reservation for SLPRS is received on data channel PSSCH or PSCCH control channel).
Even though Takahashi discloses wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier, and the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information, but Takahashi does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving, by the processor, an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information, wherein the SL-PRS is received after receiving the SL-PRS configuration to avoid interference during the reception of the SL-PRS.
In the same field of endeavor, Hoang teaches wherein the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information (Fig.1A-D [0098][0364], the resource reservation information includes reserved time-frequency of SL-PRS resource information; Fig.1A-D&3 [0113][0248][0249], Fig.1A-D&2 [0126][0128][0299], Fig.1A-D&13 [0084][0424]-[0425]); and
receiving, by the processor, an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information, wherein the SL-PRS is received after receiving the SL-PRS configuration to avoid interference during the reception of the SL-PRS (Fig.1A-D&12 [0049][0417], at step 1216 the processor of the target WTRU 1202 is receiving an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information e.g., SL-PRS density in time and/or frequency domain, wherein the SL-PRS is received after receiving one or more SL-PRS configurations at step 1212 to eliminate self-interference i.e., avoid interference during the reception of the SL-PRS via either hardware e.g., a choke or signal processing via a processor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teaching of Hoang in order to provide for more accurate location and reducing the latency.
It would have been beneficial to use the processor of the target WTRU 1202 which is receiving an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information e.g., SL-PRS density in time and/or frequency domain, wherein the SL-PRS is received after receiving one or more SL-PRS configurations at step 1212 to eliminate self-interference i.e., avoid interference during the reception of the SL-PRS via either hardware e.g., a choke or signal processing via a processor as taught by Hoang to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi to provide for improving data throughput. (Hoang, Fig.1A-D [0070] and Fig.1A-D&12 [0049][0417]).
Even though Takahashi and Hoang disclose the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches wherein the sequence identifier is received in a higher layer message by a data channel (Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID is inserted in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/ relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi and Hoang to incorporate the teaching of Ganesan in order to provide for individual resource pool configurations.
It would have been beneficial to insert the RS sequence ID of the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel as taught by Ganesan to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi and Hoang to improve the reliability of the transmission. (Ganesan, Fig.1 Col 8 lines 39-48, Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 lines 24-36, Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 lines 24-43 and Fig.7 Col 24 lines 38-49).
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the SL-PRS configuration further includes a UE identification of the Rx UE (Fig.6&21 [0089][0335]-[0337], the SL-PRS configuration further includes at least one UE identification of anchor UE 5).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the reserved time and frequency resource information includes a unit of set of symbol within slot, a slot index or a set of consecutive slots for a transmission (Fig.14 [0267]-[0268], the reserved time and/or frequency resource information includes a number of symbols and/or slot i.e., unit of set of symbol within slot contained in the higher-layer parameter resource mapping).
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the resource reservation information further includes a time domain behavior information which includes a periodic transmission indication or a semi-persistent transmission indication (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0335]-[0336], the resource reservation information further includes a time domain behavior information which includes a periodicity of a SL-PRS process).
Regarding claim 18, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 17 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses receiving, by the processor, the SL-PRS after an operation of sensing and resource selection performed by the Tx UE (Fig.13-14&15 [0251][0292][0303], performing the SL-PRS transmission after the operation of sensing and resource selection), wherein the control channel of a slot indicates SL-PRS transmission information within the slot (Fig.12-13&21 [0256][0335]-[0336], the PSCCH control channel of a slot indicates SL-PRS transmission information within the slot), and wherein the SL-PRS transmission information includes a set of symbols for transmission (Fig.12-13&21 [0221][0335]-[0336], the SLPRS transmission information includes sl-LengthSymbols consecutive symbols/ a set of symbols for transmission).
Regarding claim 19, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses the data channel includes physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and wherein the control channel includes physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Fig.12-13&21 [0221][0315]-[0319], the data channel includes physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and the control channel includes physical sidelink control channel).
Regarding claim 20, Takahashi discloses wherein a transmission user equipment (Tx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], anchor UE 5 of a terminal device 1/transmission user equipment (Tx UE)), comprising:
a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with at least one reception user equipment (Rx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], a wireless transmission/reception unit 10/transceiver wirelessly communicates with at least one target UE 4/reception user equipment (Rx UE) during operation); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during the operation, the processor performs operations comprising (Fig.6 [0089]-[0091], a processing unit 14 communicatively coupled to the wireless transmission/reception unit 10/transceiver such that during the operation, the processor performs operation):
determining a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], sidelink RRC (PC5-RRC) procedure is described, the sidelink RRC procedure is performed to modify a PC5-RRC connection, e.g. to establish/modify/ release sidelink DRB, to (re-) configure NR sidelink measurement and reporting, to (re-) configure sidelink CSI reference signal resources and CSI reporting latency bound, to (re-)configure NR sidelink positioning measurement and reporting, and to (re-)configure sidelink PRS resources and other configuration of sidelink PRS i.e., determining a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration), wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier (Fig.21 [0329], nr-SL-PRS-AssistanceData field provides the SL-PRS configuration for one or more anchor UEs 5 and Fig.21 [0335], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID and Fig.21 [0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the information which specifies the resource element (RE) spacing in each symbol of the SLPRS resource and the RE offset in frequency domain for the first symbol in a SL-PRS resource and Fig.21 [0340], sl-PRS-ResourceBandwidth specifies the number of PRBs allocated for the SL-PRS Resource (allocated SL-PRS bandwidth). All SL-PRS Resources of the SL-PRS Resource Set have the same bandwidth. All SL-PRS Resource Sets belonging to the same frequency layer and /or the same resource pool for SL-PRS have the same value of SLPRS Bandwidth and Start PRB); and
the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information (Fig.7&12-13 [0137]-[0138][0217], the resource reservation information includes reserved – a number of bits configured by sl-NumReservedBits for time and frequency resource elements information e.g., the horizontal axis indicates time domain (OFDM symbol index Isym) and the vertical axis indicates frequency domain and Fig.11&12-13 [0205], reservedBits for time and frequency resource information);
transmitting, via the transceiver, the SL-PRS configuration to the at least one Rx UE (Fig.21 [0335]-[0337], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID, the information of periodicity and resource set slot offset for the SL-PRS Resource Set, the repetition factor for the SL-PRS resource in the SL-PRS Resource Set, the number of symbols per SL-PRS resource in the SL-PRS Resource Set within a slot, and a list of the configurations of one or more SL-PRS resources (NR-SLPRS-Resource) within the SL-PRS Resource Set, the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, sl-PRS-ID may be provided only when the corresponding SL positioning method is performed with more than one anchor UE 5),
wherein the sequence identifier is transmitted through a data channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0230][0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH i.e., data channel on sidelink), and
wherein the resource reservation information is transmitted through the data channel or a control channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0329]-[0340], the resource reservation for SLPRS is transmitted on data channel PSSCH or PSCCH control channel).
Even though Takahashi discloses wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier, and the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information, but Takahashi does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting, by the processor, an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted after transmitting the SL-PRS configuration to avoid interference during the transmission of the SL-PRS.
In the same field of endeavor, Hoang teaches wherein the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information (Fig.1A-D [0098][0364], the resource reservation information includes reserved time-frequency of SL-PRS resource information; Fig.1A-D&3 [0113][0248][0249], Fig.1A-D&2 [0126][0128][0299], Fig.1A-D&13 [0084][0424]-[0425]); and
transmitting, via the transceiver, an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted after transmitting the SL-PRS configuration to avoid interference during the transmission of the SL-PRS (Fig.1A-D&12 [0049][0417], at step 1216 the processor of the anchor WTRU 1208 is transmitting an SL-PRS via the transceiver 120 using the reserved time and frequency resource information e.g., SL-PRS density in time and/or frequency domain, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted after transmitting one or more SL-PRS configurations at step 1212 to eliminate self-interference i.e., avoid interference during the transmission of the SL-PRS via either hardware e.g., a choke or signal processing via a processor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teaching of Hoang in order to provide for more accurate location and reducing the latency.
It would have been beneficial to use the processor of the anchor WTRU 1208 at step 1216 which is transmitting an SL-PRS via the transceiver 120 using the reserved time and frequency resource information e.g., SL-PRS density in time and/or frequency domain, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted after transmitting one or more SL-PRS configurations at step 1212 to eliminate self-interference i.e., avoid interference during the transmission of the SL-PRS via either hardware e.g., a choke or signal processing via a processor as taught by Hoang to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi to provide for improving data throughput. (Hoang, Fig.1A-D [0070] and Fig.1A-D&12 [0049][0417]).
Even though Takahashi and Hoang disclose the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches wherein the sequence identifier is transmitted through a data channel (Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID is inserted in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi and Hoang to incorporate the teaching of Ganesan in order to provide for individual resource pool configurations.
It would have been beneficial to insert the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is transmitted by the PSSCH i.e., data channel and, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel as taught by Ganesan to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi and Hoang to improve the reliability of the transmission. (Ganesan, Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43 and Fig.7 Col 24 line 38-49).
Regarding claim 21, Takahashi discloses wherein a reception user equipment (Rx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], target UE 4 of a terminal device 1/reception user equipment (Rx UE)), comprising:
a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with a transmission user equipment (Tx UE) (Fig.6 [0089], a wireless transmission/reception unit 10/transceiver wirelessly communicates with at least one anchor UE 5 of a terminal device 1/transmission user equipment (Tx UE) during operation); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during the operation, the processor performs operations comprising (Fig.6 [0089]-[0091], a processing unit 14 communicatively coupled to the wireless transmission/reception unit 10/transceiver such that during the operation, the processor performs operation):
receiving, via the transceiver (Fig.6 [0089]-[0091], the wireless transmission/reception unit 10/transceiver), a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration from the Tx UE (Fig.12-13 [0227]-[0230], sidelink RRC (PC5-RRC) procedure is described, the sidelink RRC procedure is performed to modify a PC5-RRC connection, e.g. to establish/modify/release sidelink DRB, to (re-) configure NR sidelink measurement and reporting, to (re-)configure sidelink CSI reference signal resources and CSI reporting latency bound, to (re-)configure NR sidelink positioning measurement and reporting, and to (re-)configure sidelink PRS resources and other configuration of sidelink PRS i.e., receiving a sidelink-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration from anchor UE 5 of a terminal device 1 transmission user equipment (Tx UE)),
wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier (Fig.21 [0329], nr-SL-PRS-AssistanceData field provides the SL-PRS configuration for one or more anchor UEs 5 and Fig.21 [0335], nr-SL-PRS-Info specifies the SL-PRS configuration of the anchor UE 5, nrSL-PRS-Info may include the list of configuration of SL Resource Set which may include a SL-PRS Resource Set ID and Fig.21 [0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the information which specifies the resource element (RE) spacing in each symbol of the SLPRS resource and the RE offset in frequency domain for the first symbol in a SL-PRS resource and Fig.21 [0340], sl-PRS-ResourceBandwidth specifies the number of PRBs allocated for the SL-PRS Resource (allocated SL-PRS bandwidth). All SL-PRS Resources of the SL-PRS Resource Set have the same bandwidth. All SL-PRS Resource Sets belonging to the same frequency layer and /or the same resource pool for SL-PRS have the same value of SLPRS Bandwidth and Start PRB), and the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information (Fig.7&12-13 [0137]-[0138][0217], the resource reservation information includes reserved – a number of bits configured by sl-NumReservedBits for time and frequency resource elements information e.g., the horizontal axis indicates time domain (OFDM symbol index Isym) and the vertical axis indicates frequency domain and Fig.11&12-13 [0205], reservedBits for time and frequency resource information); and
wherein the sequence identifier is received through a data channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0230][0336], the configuration of SL-PRS resources NR-SL-PRS-Resource may include the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH i.e., data channel on sidelink), and
the resource reservation information is received through the data channel or a control channel (Fig.12-13&21 [0217][0329]-[0340], the resource reservation for SLPRS is received on data channel PSSCH or PSCCH control channel).
Even though Takahashi discloses wherein the SL-PRS configuration includes resource reservation information and a sequence identifier, and the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information, but Takahashi does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving, via the transceiver, an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information, wherein the SL-PRS is received after receiving the SL-PRS configuration to avoid interference during the reception of the SL-PRS.
In the same field of endeavor, Hoang teaches wherein the resource reservation information includes reserved time and frequency resource information (Fig.1A-D [0098][0364], the resource reservation information includes reserved time-frequency of SL-PRS resource information; Fig.1A-D&3 [0113][0248][0249], Fig.1A-D&2 [0126][0128][0299], Fig.1A-D&13 [0084][0424]-[0425]); and
receiving, via the transceiver, an SL-PRS using the reserved time and frequency resource information, wherein the SL-PRS is received after receiving the SL-PRS configuration to avoid interference during the reception of the SL-PRS (Fig.1A-D&12 [0049][0417], at step 1216 the processor of the target WTRU 1202 is receiving an SL-PRS via the transceiver 120 using the reserved time and frequency resource information e.g., SL-PRS density in time and/or frequency domain, wherein the SL-PRS is received after receiving one or more SL-PRS configurations at step 1212 to eliminate self-interference i.e., avoid interference during the reception of the SL-PRS via either hardware e.g., a choke or signal processing via a processor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi to incorporate the teaching of Hoang in order to provide for more accurate location and reducing the latency.
It would have been beneficial to use the processor of the target WTRU 1202 which is receiving an SL-PRS via the transceiver 120 using the reserved time and frequency resource information e.g., SL-PRS density in time and/or frequency domain, wherein the SL-PRS is received after receiving one or more SL-PRS configurations at step 1212 to eliminate self-interference i.e., avoid interference during the reception of the SL-PRS via either hardware e.g., a choke or signal processing via a processor as taught by Hoang to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi to provide for improving data throughput. (Hoang, Fig.1A-D [0070] and Fig.1A-D&12 [0049][0417]).
Even though Takahashi and Hoang disclose the information of a sequence ID of the SL-PRS used on the SL-PRS resource, the sequence ID in configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC on PSSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Ganesan teaches wherein the sequence identifier is received through a data channel (Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID is inserted in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is received through the PSSCH i.e., data channel and Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi and Hoang to incorporate the teaching of Ganesan in order to provide for individual resource pool configurations.
It would have been beneficial to insert the RS sequence ID based on the panel-ID/SL-RS ID/beam ID in the SL-MAC CE header information i.e., higher layer message is received through the PSSCH i.e., data channel and, higher-layer only signaling is used to provide the resource configurations and, the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE for indicating the location information/relative location information like a zone id either via PSSCH data channel or PSCCH control channel as taught by Ganesan to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi and Hoang to achieve desirable sensing results. (Ganesan, Fig.1 Col 8 line 39-48, Fig.3A-B&4 Col 16 line 24-36, Fig.3A-B&7 Col 23 line 24-43 and Fig.7 Col 24 line 38-49).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. [hereinafter as Takahashi] WO 2024/034548 A1 in view of Hoang et al. (provisional application No. 63/308307 filed on 02/09/2022, provisional application No. 63/334815 filed on 04/26/2022, provisional application No. 63/395945 filed on 08/08/2022) [hereinafter as Hoang], US 2025/0142292 A1 in view of Ganesan et al. [hereinafter as Ganesan] U.S 12,096,241 B2 further in view of Yoon [hereinafter as Yoon] U.S 2024/0357543 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Takahashi further discloses a value of the sequence identifier is between 0 to (219 - 1) (Fig.21 [0257], a value of the sequence identifier is between 0 to 4095).
Even though Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan disclose wherein a value of the sequence identifier is between 0 to (219 - 1), in the same field of endeavor, Yoon teaches wherein a value of the sequence identifier is between 0 to (219 - 1) (Fig.25-26 [0346], a value of the sequence identifier is between 0 to (219 - 1) when an SL PRS is generated based on Equation 3 and Equation 4, nID,seq PRS may be set to nID,seq PRS∈{0,1, . . . ,4095} as a sequence ID for SL PRS generation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan to incorporate the teaching of Yoon in order to provide for improvement of traffic environments, automatic driving and remote driving.
It would have been beneficial to use a value of the sequence identifier which is between 0 to (219 - 1) when an SL PRS is generated based on Equation 3 and Equation 4, nID,seq PRS may be set to nID,seq PRS∈{0,1, . . . ,4095} as a sequence ID for SL PRS generation as taught by Yoon to have incorporated in the system of Takahashi, Hoang and Ganesan to provide for accuracy improvement, reduced latency and network efficiency. (Yoon, Fig.8 [0158] and Fig.25-26 [0346]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414