DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-17 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20210132723 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a touch display device, comprising: a display area in which a plurality of subpixels are arranged in a first direction and a second direction; (fig. 1 and 10 shows a plurality of subpixels are arranged in a first direction and a second direction. Para 36-37, 123. Each EA is one subpixel)
a reference voltage line extending along the first direction in a first line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 8: RVL. Para 108)
a data line extending along the first direction in a second line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 1 and 8: DL. Para 101)
a driving voltage line extending along the first direction in a third line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 8: DVL. Para 99)
a touch electrode pattern that overlaps the reference voltage line or the driving voltage line; (Para 37-39. Fig. 1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. Fig 3 shows touch electrodes 320. Fig 8 shows the subpixels which is part of the display panel with DVL and RVL. This means the electrode pattern overlaps with the reference voltage line or the driving voltage line)
and a touch driving circuit configured to apply a touch driving signal to the touch electrode pattern through a touch line and detect a touch according to a change in capacitance of the touch electrode pattern. (Para 53-54, 57-58, 83-84. Fig. 3 and 6 show mutual capacitive touch panel with driving and sensing electrodes 320, touch line 220 and 230.)
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the touch display device of claim 1,
And Kim further teaches wherein the touch electrode pattern includes an opaque electrode in a mesh type in which a plurality of openings correspond to the plurality of subpixels. (Fig.6 shows the mesh electrode. OA is the opening. Para 83-84, 138)
Regarding claim 3, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the touch line overlaps the data line in the second line area. (Para 37-39, 54. Fig. 1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. This means the touch lines overlaps the data line)
Regarding claim 7, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the reference voltage line is electrically connected to a transistor positioned in the plurality of subpixels via an active layer that is on the reference voltage line. (Fig. 8: RVL. Connecting to DRT. Para 108. The layer that is on the refence voltage line is the active layer. Please note that there will inherently be an active layer in the semiconductor device which is the display pixel).
Regarding claim 10, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the driving voltage line is electrically connected to a transistor positioned in the plurality of subpixels via an active layer that is on the driving voltage line. (Fig. 8: DVL, connecting to DRT. Para 99. Please note that there will inherently be an active layer in the semiconductor device which is the display pixel).
Regarding claim 11, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the touch line is between a plurality of data lines. (Para 37-39, 54. Fig. 1 and 3 show the overlap of display panel and touch panel. This means the touch lines is between the data line)
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches A display panel, comprising: a display area in which a plurality of subpixels are arranged in a first direction and a second direction; (fig. 1 and 10 shows a plurality of subpixels are arranged in a first direction and a second direction. Para 36-37, 123. Each EA is one subpixel)
a reference voltage line extending along the first direction in a first line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 8: RVL. Para 108)
a data line extending along the first direction in a second line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 1 and 8: DL. Para 101)
a driving voltage line extending along the first direction in a third line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 8: DVL. Para 99)
and a touch electrode pattern that overlaps the reference voltage line or the driving voltage line. (Para 37-39. Fig. 1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. Fig 3 shows touch electrodes 320. Fig 8 shows the subpixels which is part of the display panel with DVL and RVL. This means the electrode pattern overlaps with the reference voltage line or the driving voltage line)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210132723 A1), hereon Kim-1, further in view of Kim et al. (US 20210249451 A1), hereon Kim-2.
Regarding claim 4, Kim-1 already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, However Kim-1 does not teach further comprising: a reference voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in an upper area of the plurality of subpixels from the reference voltage line, the reference voltage bridge line supplying a reference voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels.
However Kim-2 teaches comprising: a reference voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in an upper area of the plurality of subpixels from the reference voltage line, the reference voltage bridge line supplying a reference voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels. (Para 113-114. Fig. 3. Reference voltage bridge line of RVL extending in the second direction. The area occupied by that RVL is an upper area of the plurality of subpixels.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach comprising: a reference voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in an upper area of the plurality of subpixels from the reference voltage line, the reference voltage bridge line supplying a reference voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels in order to improve image display quality using constant reference voltage for threshold voltage compensation.
Regarding claim 5, Kim-1 and Kim-2 already teach he touch display device of claim 4,
And Kim-1 further teaches wherein the touch electrode pattern overlaps the reference voltage line. (Para 37-39 of Kim-1. Fig. 1 of Kim-1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. Fig 3 shows touch electrodes 320. Fig 8 shows the subpixels which is part of the display panel with DVL and RVL. This means the electrode pattern overlaps with the reference voltage line or the driving voltage line.)
However Kim-1 does not teach wherein the touch electrode pattern overlaps the reference voltage bridge line.
However Kim-2 teaches wherein the touch electrode pattern overlaps the reference voltage bridge line.(Fig. 3: Kim-2 shows Reference voltage bridge line of RVL extending in the second direction. The reference voltage bridge is part of the display, therefore is overlapped with the touch electrode pattern of Kim-1.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach wherein the touch electrode pattern overlaps the reference voltage bridge line in order to improve image display quality using constant reference voltage for threshold voltage compensation.
Regarding claim 8, Kim-1 already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, However Kim-1 does not teach further comprising a driving voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in a lower area of the plurality of subpixels from the driving voltage line, the driving voltage bridge line configured to supply a driving voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels.
However Kim-2 teaches further comprising a driving voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in a lower area of the plurality of subpixels from the driving voltage line, the driving voltage bridge line configured to supply a driving voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels. (Fig. 3: a driving voltage bridge line of ELVDL extending in the second direction. Para 112-113)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach further comprising a driving voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in a lower area of the plurality of subpixels from the driving voltage line, the driving voltage bridge line configured to supply a driving voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels in order produce the predictable result of image display with a power supply voltage line configuration as taught by Kim-2.
Regarding claim 9, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 8, and Kim-1 further teach wherein the touch electrode pattern overlaps the driving voltage line. (Para 37-39, 54 of Kim-1. Fig 8 of Kim-1 shows DVL and RVL for each subpixel . and Fig. 1 and 3 of Kim-1show the overlap of display panel and touch panel.)
However Kim-1 does not teach wherein the touch electrode pattern overlaps the driving voltage bridge line.
However Kim-2 teaches wherein the touch electrode pattern overlaps the driving voltage bridge line. (Kim-2 of Fig. 3: shows driving voltage bridge line of ELVDLL extending in the second direction. The reference voltage bridge is part of the display. This means the touch electrode pattern of Kim-1 overlaps the driving voltage bridge line.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach wherein the touch electrode pattern overlaps the driving voltage bridge line in order produce the predictable result image result with a power supply voltage line configuration as taught by Kim-2.
Regarding claim 15, Kim-1 and Kim-2 already teach the touch display device of claim 4,
And Kim-1 further teaches wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned along the first line area in which the reference voltage line is disposed. (Para 37-39 of Kim-1. Fig. 1 of Kim-1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. Fig 3 shows touch electrodes 320. Fig 8 shows the subpixels which is part of the display panel with DVL and RVL. This means wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned along the first line area in which the reference voltage line is disposed.)
However Kim-1 does not teach wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned the reference voltage bridge line is disposed.
However Kim-2 teaches wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned the reference voltage bridge line is disposed. (Para 113-114. Fig. 3. Reference voltage bridge line of RVL extending in the second direction. This means the touch electrode pattern of Kim1 is positioned the reference voltage bridge line is disposed.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned the reference voltage bridge line is disposed in order to improve image display quality using constant reference voltage for threshold voltage compensation.
Regarding claim 16, Kim-1 and Kim-2 already teach the touch display device of claim 8,
And Kim-1 further teaches wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned along the third line area in which the driving voltage line is disposed. (Para 37-39 of Kim-1. Fig. 1 of Kim-1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. Fig 3 shows touch electrodes 320. Fig 8 shows the subpixels which is part of the display panel with DVL and RVL. This means wherein the touch electrode pattern of Kim-1 is positioned along the third line area in which the driving voltage line is disposed.)
However Kim-1 does not teach the touch electrode pattern is positioned along an area in which the driving voltage bridge line is disposed.
However Kim-2 teaches the touch electrode pattern is positioned along an area in which the driving voltage bridge line is disposed. (Kim-2 of Fig. 3: shows driving voltage bridge line of ELVDLL extending in the second direction. The reference voltage bridge is part of the display. This means wherein the touch electrode pattern of Kim-1 is positioned along the third line area in which the driving voltage bridge line is disposed.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach the touch electrode pattern is positioned along an area in which the driving voltage bridge line is disposed in order produce the predictable result of image display with a power supply voltage line configuration as taught by Kim-2.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210132723 A1), hereon Kim-1, in view of Yang et al. (US 20230119909 A1), in view of Chen et al. (US 20210272513 A1), further in view of Kim et al. (US 20170102825 A1), hereon Kim-2.
Regarding claim 12, Kim-1 already teaches the touch display device of claim 1,
However Kim-1 does not teach (i) wherein the first line area is a constant voltage line area.
(ii) and the third line area is a constant voltage line area.
(iii) and the second line area is a pulse voltage line area.
However with regarding to aforementioned (i),
Yang teaches wherein the first line area is a constant voltage line area, (Para 108. Reference voltage is constant)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Yang to teach wherein the first line area is a constant voltage line area in order to improve image display quality using constant reference voltage for threshold voltage compensation.
However with regarding to aforementioned (ii),
Chen teaches and the third line area is a constant voltage line area. (Para 68. VDD is constant)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 and Yang with Chen to teach and the third line area is a constant voltage line area in order produce the predictable result image result with a constant power supply voltage for the subpixel circuit.
However with regarding to aforementioned (iii),
Kim-2 teaches and the second line area is a pulse voltage line area. (Para 207)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1, Yang and Chen with Kim-2 to teach and the second line area is a pulse voltage line area in order produce the predictable result image result with a PWM data voltage.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210132723 A1), in view of Wang et al. (US 20210159299 A1), further in view of Chang (US 20210159250 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 7, However Kim does not teach (i) wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node comprising as same gate metal.
(ii) and the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned reference voltage line.
However with regarding to the aforementioned (i),
Wang teaches wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node comprising as same gate metal. (Para 40)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim with Wang to teach wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node comprising as same gate metal in order to produce the predictable of image display using pixels using transistors by adopting transistor composition material as taught by Wang.
With regarding to the aforementioned (i),
Chang teaches the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned reference voltage line. (Para 123. Fig. 5: ACT3 is the active layer which is the bridge line. RVT is the reference voltage line. And the gate is considered to be upper-positioned and the reference voltage line is considered to be lower-position depending on the device orientation.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim with Chang to teach the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned reference voltage line in order to improve image display quality using constant reference voltage for threshold voltage compensation with the connection configuration as taught by Chang.
Regarding claim 14, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 10,
However Kim does not teach (i) wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node including a same gate metal or a different gate metal.
(ii) and the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned driving voltage line.
However with regarding to the aforementioned (i),
Wang teaches wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node including a same gate metal or a different gate metal. (Para 40)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim with Wang to teach wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node including a same gate metal or a different gate metal in order to produce the predictable of image display using pixels using transistors by adopting transistor composition material as taught by Wang.
With regarding to the aforementioned (ii),
Chang teaches and the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned driving voltage line. (Para 119. Fig. 5. ACT1 is the active line which is the bridge line. And the gate is considered to be upper-positioned and the driving voltage line is considered to be lower-position depending on the device orientation.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim with Chang to teach the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned driving voltage line in order produce the predictable result of image display with a power supply voltage line connecting configuration as taught by Chang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HANG LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626