DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In an amendment filed 02/04/2026, claims 1, 2, 5, 8-9, 11 and 17 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20210132723 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a touch display device, comprising: a display area in which a plurality of subpixels are arranged in a first direction and a second direction; (fig. 1 and 10 shows a plurality of subpixels are arranged in a first direction and a second direction. Para 36-37, 123. Each EA is one subpixel)
a reference voltage line extending along the first direction in a first line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 8: RVL. Para 108)
a data line extending along the first direction in a second line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 1 and 8: DL. Para 101)
a driving voltage line extending along the first direction in a third line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 8: DVL. Para 99)
a touch electrode pattern including a plurality of openings and a plurality of touch electrodes that surround the plurality of openings, at least some touch electrodes of the plurality of touch electrodes extending along the first direction overlap the reference voltage line in the first line area or the driving voltage line in the third line area; (Para 37-39, 83-84. Fig. 1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. Figs 3 and 6 shows touch electrodes 320. Fig 8 shows the subpixels which is part of the display panel with DVL and RVL. This means the electrode pattern overlaps with the reference voltage line or the driving voltage line. touch electrode pattern with electrodes 320 form a mesh with plurality of openings where subpixels are located as shown in fig. 6 )
and a touch driving circuit configured to apply a touch driving signal to the touch electrode pattern through a touch line and detect a touch according to a change in capacitance of the touch electrode pattern. (Para 53-54, 57-58, 83-84. Fig. 3 and 6 show mutual capacitive touch panel with driving and sensing electrodes 320, touch line 220 and 230.)
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the touch display device of claim 1,
And Kim further teaches wherein each of the plurality of opening corresponds to a respective subpixel of the plurality of subpixels. (Para 37-39, 83-84. Fig. 1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. Figs 3 and 6 shows touch electrodes 320. Fig 8 shows the subpixels which is part of the display panel with DVL and RVL. This means the electrode pattern overlaps with the reference voltage line or the driving voltage line. touch electrode pattern with electrodes 320 form a mesh with plurality of openings where subpixels are located )
Regarding claim 3, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the touch line overlaps the data line in the second line area. (Para 37-39, 54. Fig. 1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. This means the touch lines overlaps the data line)
Regarding claim 7, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the reference voltage line is electrically connected to a transistor positioned in the plurality of subpixels via an active layer that is on the reference voltage line. (Fig. 8: RVL. Connecting to DRT. Para 108. The layer that is on the refence voltage line is the active layer. Please note that there will inherently be an active layer in the semiconductor device which is the display pixel).
Regarding claim 10, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the driving voltage line is electrically connected to a transistor positioned in the plurality of subpixels via an active layer that is on the driving voltage line. (Fig. 8: DVL, connecting to DRT. Para 99. Please note that there will inherently be an active layer in the semiconductor device which is the display pixel).
Regarding claim 11, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the touch line is between a plurality of data lines in the second line area. (Para 37-39, 54. Fig. 1 and 3 show the overlap of display panel and touch panel. This means the touch lines is between the data line)
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches A display panel, comprising: a display area in which a plurality of subpixels are arranged in a first direction and a second direction; (fig. 1 and 10 shows a plurality of subpixels are arranged in a first direction and a second direction. Para 36-37, 123. Each EA is one subpixel)
a reference voltage line extending along the first direction in a first line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 8: RVL. Para 108)
a data line extending along the first direction in a second line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 1 and 8: DL. Para 101)
a driving voltage line extending along the first direction in a third line area between the plurality of subpixels; (Fig. 8: DVL. Para 99)
and a touch electrode pattern including a plurality of openings and a plurality of touch electrodes that surround the plurality of openings, at least some touch electrodes of the plurality of touch electrodes extending along the first direction overlap the reference voltage line in the first line area or the driving voltage line in the third line area. (Para 37-39, 83-84. Fig. 1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. Figs 3 and 6 shows touch electrodes 320. Fig 8 shows the subpixels which is part of the display panel with DVL and RVL. This means the electrode pattern overlaps with the reference voltage line or the driving voltage line. touch electrode pattern with electrodes 320 form a mesh with plurality of openings where subpixels are located)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210132723 A1), hereon Kim-1, further in view of Kim et al. (US 20210249451 A1), hereon Kim-2.
Regarding claim 4, Kim-1 already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, However Kim-1 does not teach further comprising: a reference voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in an upper area of the plurality of subpixels from the reference voltage line, the reference voltage bridge line supplying a reference voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels.
However Kim-2 teaches comprising: a reference voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in an upper area of the plurality of subpixels from the reference voltage line, the reference voltage bridge line supplying a reference voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels. (Para 113-114. Fig. 3. Reference voltage bridge line of RVL extending in the second direction. The area occupied by that RVL is an upper area of the plurality of subpixels.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach comprising: a reference voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in an upper area of the plurality of subpixels from the reference voltage line, the reference voltage bridge line supplying a reference voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels in order to improve image display quality using constant reference voltage for threshold voltage compensation.
Regarding claim 5, Kim-1 and Kim-2 already teach he touch display device of claim 4,
However Kim-1 does not teach wherein at least some touch electrodes of the plurality of touch electrodes extending along the second direction overlaps the reference voltage bridge line.
However Kim-2 teaches wherein the touch electrodes overlaps the reference voltage bridge line.(Fig. 3: Kim-2 shows Reference voltage bridge line of RVL extending in the second direction. The reference voltage bridge is part of the display, therefore is overlapped with the touch electrode pattern of Kim-1.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach wherein at least some of the plurality of touch electrodes extending along the second direction overlaps the reference voltage bridge line in order to improve image display quality using constant reference voltage for threshold voltage compensation.
Regarding claim 8, Kim-1 already teaches the touch display device of claim 1, However Kim-1 does not teach further comprising a driving voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in a lower area of the plurality of subpixels from the driving voltage line, the driving voltage bridge line configured to supply a driving voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels.
However Kim-2 teaches further comprising a driving voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in a lower area of the plurality of subpixels from the driving voltage line, the driving voltage bridge line configured to supply a driving voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels. (Fig. 3: a driving voltage bridge line of ELVDL extending in the second direction. Para 112-113)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach further comprising a driving voltage bridge line extending along the second direction in a lower area of the plurality of subpixels from the driving voltage line, the driving voltage bridge line configured to supply a driving voltage to at least some subpixels among the plurality of subpixels in order produce the predictable result of image display with a power supply voltage line configuration as taught by Kim-2.
Regarding claim 9, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 8,
However Kim-1 does not teach wherein at least some touch electrode of the plurality of touch electrodes extending along the second direction overlaps the driving voltage bridge line.
However Kim-2 teaches wherein the touch electrodes overlaps the driving voltage bridge line. (Kim-2 of Fig. 3: shows driving voltage bridge line of ELVDLL extending in the second direction. The reference voltage bridge is part of the display. This means the touch electrode pattern of Kim-1 overlaps the driving voltage bridge line.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach wherein at least some touch electrode of the plurality of touch electrodes extending along the second direction overlaps the driving voltage bridge line in order produce the predictable result image result with a power supply voltage line configuration as taught by Kim-2.
Regarding claim 15, Kim-1 and Kim-2 already teach the touch display device of claim 4,
And Kim-1 further teaches wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned along the first line area in which the reference voltage line is disposed. (Para 37-39 of Kim-1. Fig. 1 of Kim-1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. Fig 3 shows touch electrodes 320. Fig 8 shows the subpixels which is part of the display panel with DVL and RVL. This means wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned along the first line area in which the reference voltage line is disposed.)
However Kim-1 does not teach wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned the reference voltage bridge line is disposed.
However Kim-2 teaches wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned the reference voltage bridge line is disposed. (Para 113-114. Fig. 3. Reference voltage bridge line of RVL extending in the second direction. This means the touch electrode pattern of Kim1 is positioned the reference voltage bridge line is disposed.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned the reference voltage bridge line is disposed in order to improve image display quality using constant reference voltage for threshold voltage compensation.
Regarding claim 16, Kim-1 and Kim-2 already teach the touch display device of claim 8,
And Kim-1 further teaches wherein the touch electrode pattern is positioned along the third line area in which the driving voltage line is disposed. (Para 37-39 of Kim-1. Fig. 1 of Kim-1 shows the overlap of display panel and touch panel. Fig 3 shows touch electrodes 320. Fig 8 shows the subpixels which is part of the display panel with DVL and RVL. This means wherein the touch electrode pattern of Kim-1 is positioned along the third line area in which the driving voltage line is disposed.)
However Kim-1 does not teach the touch electrode pattern is positioned along an area in which the driving voltage bridge line is disposed.
However Kim-2 teaches the touch electrode pattern is positioned along an area in which the driving voltage bridge line is disposed. (Kim-2 of Fig. 3: shows driving voltage bridge line of ELVDLL extending in the second direction. The reference voltage bridge is part of the display. This means wherein the touch electrode pattern of Kim-1 is positioned along the third line area in which the driving voltage bridge line is disposed.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Kim-2 to teach the touch electrode pattern is positioned along an area in which the driving voltage bridge line is disposed in order produce the predictable result of image display with a power supply voltage line configuration as taught by Kim-2.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210132723 A1), hereon Kim-1, in view of Yang et al. (US 20230119909 A1), in view of Chen et al. (US 20210272513 A1), further in view of Kim et al. (US 20170102825 A1), hereon Kim-2.
Regarding claim 12, Kim-1 already teaches the touch display device of claim 1,
However Kim-1 does not teach (i) wherein the first line area is a constant voltage line area.
(ii) and the third line area is a constant voltage line area.
(iii) and the second line area is a pulse voltage line area.
However with regarding to aforementioned (i),
Yang teaches wherein the first line area is a constant voltage line area, (Para 108. Reference voltage is constant)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 with Yang to teach wherein the first line area is a constant voltage line area in order to improve image display quality using constant reference voltage for threshold voltage compensation.
However with regarding to aforementioned (ii),
Chen teaches and the third line area is a constant voltage line area. (Para 68. VDD is constant)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1 and Yang with Chen to teach and the third line area is a constant voltage line area in order produce the predictable result image result with a constant power supply voltage for the subpixel circuit.
However with regarding to aforementioned (iii),
Kim-2 teaches and the second line area is a pulse voltage line area. (Para 207)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim-1, Yang and Chen with Kim-2 to teach and the second line area is a pulse voltage line area in order produce the predictable result image result with a PWM data voltage.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210132723 A1), in view of Wang et al. (US 20210159299 A1), further in view of Chang (US 20210159250 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 7, However Kim does not teach (i) wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node comprising as same gate metal.
(ii) and the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned reference voltage line.
However with regarding to the aforementioned (i),
Wang teaches wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node comprising as same gate metal. (Para 40)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim with Wang to teach wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node comprising as same gate metal in order to produce the predictable of image display using pixels using transistors by adopting transistor composition material as taught by Wang.
With regarding to the aforementioned (i),
Chang teaches the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned reference voltage line. (Para 123. Fig. 5: ACT3 is the active layer which is the bridge line. RVT is the reference voltage line. And the gate is considered to be upper-positioned and the reference voltage line is considered to be lower-position depending on the device orientation.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim with Chang to teach the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned reference voltage line in order to improve image display quality using constant reference voltage for threshold voltage compensation with the connection configuration as taught by Chang.
Regarding claim 14, Kim already teaches the touch display device of claim 10,
However Kim does not teach (i) wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node including a same gate metal or a different gate metal.
(ii) and the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned driving voltage line.
However with regarding to the aforementioned (i),
Wang teaches wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node including a same gate metal or a different gate metal. (Para 40)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim with Wang to teach wherein the transistor includes a gate node, a source node, and a drain node including a same gate metal or a different gate metal in order to produce the predictable of image display using pixels using transistors by adopting transistor composition material as taught by Wang.
With regarding to the aforementioned (ii),
Chang teaches and the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned driving voltage line. (Para 119. Fig. 5. ACT1 is the active line which is the bridge line. And the gate is considered to be upper-positioned and the driving voltage line is considered to be lower-position depending on the device orientation.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim with Chang to teach the active layer is a bridge line that connects an upper-positioned gate metal and a lower-positioned driving voltage line in order produce the predictable result of image display with a power supply voltage line connecting configuration as taught by Chang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-10, applicant alleged that “At a minimum, it is respectfully submitted that Kim-1, Kim-2, Yang, Chen, Wang and Chang do not teach or suggest at least the above-emphasized features of amended claim 1.
In the present invention, some touch electrode TE may be positioned along an area in which the reference voltage line RVL extending in the vertical direction is disposed and an area in which the reference voltage bridge line RVBL extending in the horizontal direction is disposed.
These features are described in paragraph [0146] of the application as filed, "In this case, the touch electrode TE may be positioned along an area in which the reference voltage line RVL extending in the vertical direction is disposed and an area in which the reference voltage bridge line RVBL extending in the horizontal direction is disposed. In other words, the touch electrode TE may be patterned to be positioned along a first line area in which the reference voltage line RVL is disposed with respect to the vertical direction, and to be positioned along an area in which the reference voltage bridge line RVBL is disposed with respect to the horizontal direction."
As a result, the aperture ratio of the touch display device 100 of the present invention may be increased.
These features are further described in paragraph [0148] and FIG. 6 of the application as filed, "As described above, as the touch electrode TE is disposed to overlap the reference voltage line RVL and the reference voltage bridge line RVBL, the aperture ratio of the touch display device 100 of the disclosure may be increased."
FIG. 6 of the present invention In this regard, Kim-i discloses a touch display device including a touch panel TSP overlaps a display panel DJSP.
These features are described in paragraphs [0037], [0039] and FIG. 7 of Kim-i, "The touch display device according to embodiments of the disclosure may include a display panel DISP on which data lines and gate lines are disposed to display images and a display driving circuit to drive the display panel DISP" and "The touch display device according to embodiments of the disclosure may include a touch panel TSP on which a plurality of touch electrodes 320, as touch sensors, are disposed, and a touch sensing circuit TSC to perform driving and sensing processing of the touch panel TSP."
However, Kim-1 only discloses a touch panel TSP overlaps a display panel DISP, but does not disclose a specific structure in which some touch electrode TE in a mesh type touch electrode pattern may be positioned along an area in which the reference voltage line RVL extending in the vertical direction is disposed.
Also, Kim-2, Yang, Chen, Wang and Chang do not disclose a specific structure in which some touch electrode TE in a mesh type touch electrode pattern may be positioned along an area in which the reference voltage line RVL extending in the vertical direction is disposed.”
Examiner finds the argument not persuasive. IN this case, as shown in (Para 37-39, 83-84, and figures 1, 3, 6 and 8,. touch electrode pattern with electrodes 320 form a mesh with plurality of openings where subpixels are located as shown in fig. 6, and the pixel structure is shown in Fig. 8, which means all the elements of the touch screen overlap.
On page 11, applicant alleged that “Moreover, in the present invention, the touch line TL may overlap the driving voltage line DVL or may be disposed between the data lines DL to further increase the aperture ratio.
These features are described in paragraph [0137] and FIG. 7 of the application as filed, "The touch display device 100 according to the disclosure may increase the aperture ratio by disposing the touch electrode TE to overlap the reference voltage line RVL. In this case, the touch line TL may overlap the driving voltage line DVL or may be disposed between the data lines DL to further increase the aperture ratio."
FIG. 7 of the present invention In this regard, Kim-1, Kim-2, Yang, Chen, Wang and Chang do not disclose a specific structure in which the touch line TL may overlap the driving voltage line DVL or may be disposed between the data lines DL.”
Examiner finds the argument not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., increase the aperture ratio) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, Fig. 1 and 3 show the overlap of display panel and touch panel, and this means the touch lines is between the data line, as the touch lines would run between the data lines.
On page 12-14, applicant alleged that “Moreover, in the present invention, some touch electrodes of mesh type touch electrode pattern may overlap the reference voltage bridge line or the driving voltage bridge line in the horizontal direction.
These features are described in paragraph [0223] and FIG. 10 of the application as filed, "In this case, the touch electrode TE may be formed along the area in which the horizontal driving voltage bridge line DVBL is disposed. In other words, the touch electrode TE may be additionally formed along the area in which the driving voltage bridge lines DVBL1 and DVBL2 are disposed with respect to the horizontal direction."
In this regard, Kim-2 discloses a reference voltage line with a part that extends in a second direction.
These features are described in paragraph [0112] and FIG. 3 of Kim-2, "The data lines DTL and the reference voltage lines RVL may extend in a second direction DR2 that may intersect the first direction DR1. The first and second power supply lines ELVDL and ELVSL may include parts that extend in the second direction DR2. The first and second power supply lines ELVDL and ELVSL may include parts that extend in the first direction DR1. The first and second power lines ELVDL and ELVSL may have a mesh structure, but the disclosure is not limited thereto."
However, Kim-2 only discloses a reference voltage line with a part that extends in a second direction, but does not disclose a specific structure that some touch electrodes of mesh type touch electrode pattern may overlap the reference voltage bridge line or the driving voltage bridge line in the horizontal direction.
At a minimum, it is respectfully submitted that no combination of Kim-1, Kim-2, Yang, Chen, Wang and Chang teaches or suggests at least the above-emphasized features of independent claim 1.”
Examiner finds the argument not persuasive. In this case, as shown in fig. 3 of Kim-2, reference bridge line wire pads WPD_RV of RVL clearly located on the top portion of the display, and it is part of the display, therefore is overlapped with the touch electrode pattern of Kim-1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANG LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626