DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/14/2025 and 04/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/29/2023 are accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure filed on 08/29/2023 is accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 10, the recitation in line 1 of claim 10 “comprising” seems to be improper because it seems to be improperly constructed (see claim 1 line 1 and claim 16 line 1); it is suggested to be changed to “comprising:”
Regarding claims 11-15, they are objected to because they depend directly from claim 10 and claim 10 is objected to.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner agrees with the European search opinion dated 01/30/2025 for EP24196896 attached to the present Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation "one of the tracked devices" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation "one of the tracked devices and a first communication module" in lines 6-7. It is indefinite if it defines two alternatives, tracking device or the first communication module, or that both entities send the information.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites the limitation "the tracked" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if it refers to the tracked device or something else.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites the limitation "the estimated location" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if it refers to the current estimated location of claim 1 or something else.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites the limitation "one of the tracked device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites the limitation "the estimated location" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if it refers to the current estimated location of claim 1 or something else.
Regarding claims 2-9, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 1, and claim 1 is rejected
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites the limitation "a tracked device" in lines 9 and 11. It is not clear if the tracked device in line 11 is the same or nor that the tracking device in line 9 or de devices of line 2 or something else
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites the limitation "a tracked device" in line 3. It is not clear if it refers to the tracked device of claim 10 or something else
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites the limitation "the tracked device" in line 4. It is not clear if it refers to the tracked device of claim 10 or the tracked device of claim 12 line 3.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites the limitation "the server" in line 1. It is not clear if it refers to the one or more servers or something else
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites the limitation "the tracked device" in line 2. It is not clear if it refers to the tracked device of claim 10 or the tracked device of claim 13 line 3 or something else.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites the limitation "a tracked device" in line 4. It is not clear if it refers to the tracked device of claim 10 or something else.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites the limitation "the tracked device" in line 8. It is not clear if it refers to the tracked device of claim 10 or the tracked device of claim 15 line 4 or something else.
Regarding claims 11-15, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 10, and claim 10 is rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Altman (US 20130217332 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Altman discloses receiving, by one or more servers, an identifier associated with a tracked device, accessing, by the one or more servers, a profile for the tracked device, the profile associated with the identifier and pairing, by the one or more servers, the tracked device with the profile (abstract paragraphs [0092] [0120]-[0156] , [0188]-[0196], [0202]-[0203], [0292]. [381]-[0385] and [0529]-[0530] [0121] “Upon receive of the sighting message, the central server may determine that the wireless identity transmitter belongs to the retail store based on the profile that corresponds to a rolling identifier and that the mobile proximity broadcast receiver is associated with a user profile based on an identifier of the proximity broadcast receiver included within metadata in the sighting message.” "The central server 120 may also include a user portal component 109 that may store user account data and perform registration, account management and search routines associated with users, such as persons associated with wireless identity transmitters 110"; [0155]: "The central server 120 may associate the identifier within the sighting message with an account registered/created by a user. Associating the identifier with a particular wireless identity transmitter 110 or user account may be accomplished by comparing the identifier with a database of codes corresponding to the wireless identity transmitter 110 or user accounts to determine the database record in which information from the sighting message (e.g. location info) should be stored”); receiving, by the one or more servers, from one of the tracked devices and a first communications module, and in response to wireless communications between the tracked device and the first communications module, a presence data associated with the identifier, the presence data including a first unique location identifier and a first radio wave signal strength between the tracked device and the first communications module (abstract, paragraphs [0092] [0150]: "The proximity broadcast receiver 142 may receive the broadcast message from the wireless identity transmitter 110...the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit a sighting message to the central server 120, the presence data including a first unique location identifier and a first radio wave signal strength between the tracked device and the first communications module [0150]:"…sighting message to the central server 120 including the identifier, location information, and time corresponding to the receipt of the broadcast message"; [0151]: "the sighting message may include signal strength information of the received broadcast message"); determining, by the one or more servers, a first estimated location of a user based on the first unique location identifier, the first radio wave signal strength, and the identifier ([0382]: "The proximity may be estimated locally on the proximity broadcast receiver 138, 138’ ; or alternately by the central server if the proximity broadcast receiver 138, 138' includes the power level in a sighting message": based on the location information of the receiver and the distance the server can estimate a location for the wireless identity transmitter); and updating, by the one or more servers, a current estimated location of the tracked device to the first estimated location ([0155]: "the central server 120 may store data from the sighting message in a database, such as location information and time data"; [0007]: "the central server can maintain a location track (like a trail of bread crumbs) for wireless identity transmitters")
Regarding claim 10, Altman discloses a plurality of devices; (abstract paragraphs [0150], [0529]: "proximity broadcast receiver 142"); a plurality of communication modules ([0529]: "shortrange radio 4004") configured to form a network of physical reference points in at least a portion of a venue, each communications module in the plurality of communication modules coupled to a respective device in the plurality of devices, each communications module in the plurality of communication modules including one of a receiver and a transmitter (abstract paragraphs [0152]: "sighting messages may include location information of the proximity broadcast receiver 142" in combination with [0188]: "proximity broadcast receivers may include stationary proximity broadcast receivers, such as dedicated devices placed around a building"); and one or more servers in electronic communication with the plurality of devices, the one or more servers configured to track a location of a tracked device relative to the network of physical reference points based on data received in response to a wireless connection between a tracked device and at least one communication module in the plurality of communication modules (abstract paragraphs [0150]: "the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may receive the broadcast message from the wireless identity transmitter 110…the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit a sighting message to the central server 120 including the identifier, location information, and time corresponding to the receipt of the broadcast message"; [0151]: "the sighting message may include signal strength information of the received broadcast message"; [0382]: "The proximity may be estimated locally on the proximity broadcast receiver 138, 138' or alternately by the central server if the proximity broadcast receiver 138, 138' includes the power level in a sighting message": the server uses the sightseeing message to estimate the location of a wireless identity transmitter and track its movements in a venue, wherein the receivers are fixed on predefined points of the venue, e.g. a building).
Regarding claim 16, Altman discloses a device ([0150], [0529]: "proximity broadcast receiver 142"), comprising a communications module configured for use in a network of communication modules, the communications module comprising a receiver ([0529]: "shortrange radio 4004"); and a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by a processor ([0529]: "processor 4002'), cause the processor to perform operations comprising receiving, by the processor and through the receiver, a radio signal from a tracked device (abstract paragraphs [0150]: "the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may receive the broadcast message from the wireless identity transmitter 110'); and transmitting, by the processor and to one or more servers ([0150]: "the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit a sighting message to the central server 120including the identifier, location information, and time corresponding to the receipt of the broadcast message"), an identifier associated with the tracked device ([0195]: "the sighting message may include an identifier specific to the wireless identity transmitter that transmitted the received broadcast message, such as a rolling identifier(i.e., an encoded device identifier), MAC address, or other unique code that may be used to identify the particular wireless identity transmitter'') and a unique location identifier associated with a physical reference point corresponding to the communications module, the physical reference point further corresponding to a predetermined physical location of the device in at least a portion of a venue ([0152]: "sighting messages may include location information of the proximity broadcast receiver 142'in combination with [0188]: "proximity broadcast receivers may include stationary proximity broadcast receivers, such as dedicated devices placed around a building").
Regarding claim 2, Altman discloses claim 1, Altman also discloses receiving, by the one or more servers, from one of the tracked device and a second communications module, and in response to wireless communications between the tracked device and the first communications module, a second unique location identifier, a second radio wave signal strength between the tracked device and the second communications module, and the identifier (abstract, paragraphs [0092] [0150]: "The proximity broadcast receiver 142 may receive the broadcast message from the wireless identity transmitter 110...the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit a sighting message to the central server 120, the presence data including a first unique location identifier and a first radio wave signal strength between the tracked device and the first communications module ([0150]:"…sighting message to the central server 120 including the identifier, location information, and time corresponding to the receipt of the broadcast message"; [0151]: "the sighting message may include signal strength information of the received broadcast message"); and updating, by the one or more servers, the current estimated location of the tracked to a second estimated location based on the second unique location identifier, the second radio wave signal strength, and the identifier, wherein: the first unique location identifier corresponds to a first physical location within a venue, and the second unique location identifier corresponds to a second physical location within the venue ([0155]: "the central server 120 may store data from the sighting message in a database, such as location information and time data"; [0007]: "the central server can maintain a location track (like a trail of bread crumbs) for wireless identity transmitters")
Regarding claim 3, Altman discloses claim 1, Altman also discloses the presence data is received from the tracked device in response to the tracked device detecting data packets transmitted from the first communications module (abstract paragraph [0319] “In general, sighting messages may be received via long-range communications, such as packets transmitted via a cellular network over the Internet. If the central server does not receive a sighting message (i.e., determination block 2102="No"), the central server may continue with the operations in determination block 2102”)
Regarding claim 4, Altman discloses claim 1, Altman also discloses the presence data is received from the first communications module in response to the first communications module receiving radio signals from the tracked device (abstract paragraph [0154] “Sighting messages may be transmitted via a wireless or wired communication link, such as a wireless cellular network, a local area network configured to communicate via Internet protocols, a long-range radio communication link, or a short-range radio. For example, the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit sighting messages over a cellular network via the Internet to the central server. As another example, the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit sighting messages via a wired Ethernet connection.”)
Regarding claim 5, Altman discloses claim 1, Altman also discloses receiving, by the one or more servers, a plurality of presence data, each presence data in the plurality of presence data associated with a respective profile in a plurality of profiles and tracking, by the one or more servers, the current estimated location of each user with the respective profile in the plurality of profiles based on the presence data (abstract, paragraphs [0092] [0150]: "The proximity broadcast receiver 142 may receive the broadcast message from the wireless identity transmitter 110...the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit a sighting message to the central server 120, the presence data including a first unique location identifier and a first radio wave signal strength between the tracked device and the first communications module ([0150]:"…sighting message to the central server 120 including the identifier, location information, and time corresponding to the receipt of the broadcast message"; [0151]: "the sighting message may include signal strength information of the received broadcast message").
Regarding claim 6, Altman discloses claim 1, Altman also discloses determining, by the one or more servers and based on the plurality of presence data corresponding to a predefined region, an estimated number of individuals within the predefined region, comparing, by the one or more servers, an occupancy threshold of the predefined region to the estimated number of individuals and generating, by the one or more servers and through a graphical user interface, an occupancy status of the predefined region based on the comparing ([0389]-[0391]: " A central server may calculate the number of devices (i.e., wireless identity transmitters and/or proximity broadcast receivers) in the defined area in block 2904. For example, the central server may calculate the number of devices based on recent sighting messages received from proximity broadcast receivers or responses to pings transmitted to proximity broadcast receivers. The central server may determine whether the calculated number of devices exceeds a threshold number in determination block 2907. This threshold may be a predefined number of proximity broadcast receivers, wireless identity transmitters, or combined number of wireless identity transmitters and proximity broadcast receivers. Alternately, the threshold may vary based on user input or system conditions. Further, the threshold may depend upon the size or type of tracking area defined in block 2901 (e.g., the threshold may increase as the area increases). Still further, there may be more than one threshold to which the number of devices is compared in determination block 2907, and the greatest threshold exceeded may define the action that is taken as discussed below with reference to block 2910” … “If the calculated number of devices exceeds the threshold (i.e., determination step 1707="Yes"), the central server may activate a tracking configuration for the defined area in block 2910. V”).
Regarding claim 7, Altman discloses claim 1, Altman also discloses determining, by the one or more servers, the estimated location of the user is within a predetermined region defined to automatically generate an action, the action including one of a notification, a message, billing charge; and automatically generating, by the one or more servers, the action (abstract, paragraphs [0005]-[0007] [0152]: "Because the wireless identity transmitter broadcasts its identifier using short-range wireless signals, a proximity broadcast receiver's own location provides an approximate location for the wireless identity transmitter when a broadcast message is received. Using long range wireless networks and/or the Internet, proximity broadcast receivers may report or upload received identifiers along with other associated information, such as time and receiver location, to a central server as sighting messages. The collection and storage of such sighting messages by a central server may form a database of recorded sightings that may can be use to provide current information regarding wireless identity transmitter proximities to receivers and approximate locations, as well as historical information regarding the sightings of wireless identity transmitter” … “Additionally, sighting messages may include location information of the proximity broadcast receiver 142. In particular, sighting messages may indicate network-specific information that relates to a location”).
Regarding claim 8, Altman discloses claim 1, Altman also discloses generating, by the one or more servers, a graphical user interface including a data input field; receiving, by the one or more servers, a data input in the data input field, the data input associated with the profile identifying, by the one or more servers, the identifier based on the data input and displaying, by the one or more servers and through the graphical user interface, the current estimated location of a user based on one of a real-time presence data or a last received presence data (abstract, paragraphs [0143]-[0144] [0244]-[0247] :” Of course, information gathered and stored in proximity broadcast receivers 138, 142 or in a database of the central server in the passive mode may be used upon initiation of an active search, such as to identify an initial search location or sector, track recent locations and movements, and to provide/display a history of locations reported by sighting messages that may be combined with near-real time search reports.” … " In an embodiment, the proximity broadcast receiver may display a map of the last known location for all associated wireless identity transmitters. The last known location may not be near the proximity broadcast receiver, and may include a large area, such as a location several miles from the proximity broadcast receiver's current location. For example, a smartphone configured to operate as a mobile proximity broadcast receiver may display a graphical map showing indicators for each of the wireless identity transmitters the smartphone may track within the state”).
Regarding claim 9, Altman discloses claim 1, Altman also discloses receiving, by the one or more servers and from one of the tracked device or a connected network device, a location data and updating, by the one or more servers, the estimated location of the user based on the location data (abstract, paragraphs [0143]-[0144] [0244]-[0247] :” Of course, information gathered and stored in proximity broadcast receivers 138, 142 or in a database of the central server in the passive mode may be used upon initiation of an active search, such as to identify an initial search location or sector, track recent locations and movements, and to provide/display a history of locations reported by sighting messages that may be combined with near-real time search reports.”)
Regarding claim 11, Altman discloses claim 10, Altman also discloses a private branch exchange phone system, wherein: each device in the plurality of devices is a phone in the private branch exchange phone system, and a server in the one or more servers is a private branch exchange server in the private branch exchange phone system (abstract, paragraphs [0117]-[0144] [0244]-[0247] :” In various embodiments, proximity broadcast receivers may be configured to be plugged into telephone or Ethernet jacks, and may include dial-up modems or other networking adaptors to enable communicating with a central server via conventional telephone or network communications as well as be powered by these jacks” “FIG. 42A illustrates components of an embodiment proximity broadcast receiver 4200 that can be plugged into a common RJ-11 telephone jack. As described above, proximity broadcast receivers may be configured to listen for short-range radio broadcasts by wireless identity transmitters, and in response to receiving a broadcast, may relay the signal to a server, process the information within the signal, or ignore the signal entirely” … “Configuring the proximity broadcast receiver 4200 to be connected to telephone communication wires via a common telephone jack (i.e., wall-mounted) enables received broadcast messages to be relayed to a central server over telephone lines, as well as receiving power from the telephone lines”)
Regarding claim 12, Altman discloses claim 10, Altman also discloses each communications module in the plurality of communication modules comprises the transmitter, and the transmitter is configured to periodically transmit data packets including a unique location identifier associated with a physical reference point in the network of physical reference points (abstract, paragraphs [0143]-[0144] [0244]-[0247] ” When within proximity, a proximity broadcast receiver may receive broadcast messages from the wireless identity transmitter and relay location information along with the wireless identity transmitter's identification code to a central server as sighting messages. The proximity broadcast receiver's own location may provide an approximate location for the wireless identity transmitter. The central server may process sighting messages, which may include signal strength information, to accurately locate the wireless identity transmitter.”)
Regarding claim 13, Altman discloses claim 10, Altman also discloses receive, from a tracked device, the unique location identifier and an identifier in response to the tracked device detecting the data packets; and determine a user location based on the unique location identifier and the identifier (abstract, paragraphs [0092] [0150]: "The proximity broadcast receiver 142 may receive the broadcast message from the wireless identity transmitter 110...the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit a sighting message to the central server 120, the presence data including a first unique location identifier and a first radio wave signal strength between the tracked device and the first communications module ([0150]:"…sighting message to the central server 120 including the identifier, location information, and time corresponding to the receipt of the broadcast message"; [0151]: "the sighting message may include signal strength information of the received broadcast message")
Regarding claim 14, Altman discloses claim 13, Altman also discloses the server is further configured to receive a signal strength between the tracked device and the respective communication module and determine the user location at least partially based on the signal strength (abstract, paragraphs [0092] [0150]: "The proximity broadcast receiver 142 may receive the broadcast message from the wireless identity transmitter 110...the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit a sighting message to the central server 120, the presence data including a first unique location identifier and a first radio wave signal strength between the tracked device and the first communications module ([0150]:"…sighting message to the central server 120 including the identifier, location information, and time corresponding to the receipt of the broadcast message"; [0151]: "the sighting message may include signal strength information of the received broadcast message").
Regarding claim 15, Altman discloses claim 13, Altman also discloses each communications module in the plurality of communications modules comprises the receiver, the receiver is configured to receive a radio signal from a tracked device, and the one or more servers is further configured to receive, from the communications module, a unique location identifier associated with a physical reference point in the network of physical reference points and an identifier in response to the receiver receiving the radio signal from the tracked device (abstract, paragraphs [0092] [0150]: "The proximity broadcast receiver 142 may receive the broadcast message from the wireless identity transmitter 110...the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit a sighting message to the central server 120, the presence data including a first unique location identifier and a first radio wave signal strength between the tracked device and the first communications module ([0150]:"…sighting message to the central server 120 including the identifier, location information, and time corresponding to the receipt of the broadcast message"; [0151]: "the sighting message may include signal strength information of the received broadcast message").
Regarding claim 17, Altman discloses claim 16, Altman also discloses receiving, by the processor and through the receiver, a signal strength associated with the radio signal; and transmitting, by the processor, the signal strength to the one or more servers (abstract, paragraphs [0092] [0150]: "The proximity broadcast receiver 142 may receive the broadcast message from the wireless identity transmitter 110...the proximity broadcast receiver 142 may transmit a sighting message to the central server 120, the presence data including a first unique location identifier and a first radio wave signal strength between the tracked device and the first communications module ([0150]:"…sighting message to the central server 120 including the identifier, location information, and time corresponding to the receipt of the broadcast message"; [0151]: "the sighting message may include signal strength information of the received broadcast message").
Regarding claim 18, Altman discloses claim 16, Altman also discloses a base and a handset operably coupled to the base, wherein the communications module is coupled to the base (abstract, paragraphs [0117]-[0144] [0244]-[0247] :” In various embodiments, proximity broadcast receivers may be configured to be plugged into telephone or Ethernet jacks, and may include dial-up modems or other networking adaptors to enable communicating with a central server via conventional telephone or network communications as well as be powered by these jacks” “FIG. 42A illustrates components of an embodiment proximity broadcast receiver 4200 that can be plugged into a common RJ-11 telephone jack. As described above, proximity broadcast receivers may be configured to listen for short-range radio broadcasts by wireless identity transmitters, and in response to receiving a broadcast, may relay the signal to a server, process the information within the signal, or ignore the signal entirely” … “Configuring the proximity broadcast receiver 4200 to be connected to telephone communication wires via a common telephone jack (i.e., wall-mounted) enables received broadcast messages to be relayed to a central server over telephone lines, as well as receiving power from the telephone lines”)
Regarding claim 19, Altman discloses claim 16, Altman also discloses near-field communication (abstract, paragraphs [0117]-[0159] [0244]-[0247] The term "mobile device" is used herein to refer to any one or all of cellular telephones, smart-phones (e.g., iPhone.RTM.), web-pads, tablet computers, Internet enabled cellular telephones, WiFi enabled electronic devices, personal data assistants (PDA's), laptop computers, personal computers, and similar electronic devices equipped with a short-range radio” … “Alternatively, incoming communications may include instructions for the wireless identity transmitter to shorten its broadcast signal range to emulate near field communications (NFC).”)
Regarding claim 20, Altman discloses claim 16, Altman also discloses indoor positioning system (abstract, paragraphs [0117]-[0144] [0244]-[0247] “Methods, systems and devices for locating a wireless identity transmitter with a central server connected with one or more proximity broadcast receivers, such as stationary receivers or mobile devices operating as wireless receivers.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mahmoud (US 20190380007 A1) discloses tracking device location determination in a communicatively-restricted environment.
Link (US 20230016774 A1) discloses method and system for determining the location of a tracking device.
Modi (US 20120009904 A1) discloses systems, methods, and computer program products for determining a location of a tracked device after a device or network failure.
Gupta (US 20140315580 A1) discloses methods and apparatuses for use in determining that a mobile station is at one or more particular indoor regions.
Mergen (US 20080233969 A1) discloses call routing based on physical location of called party.
Lévêque (US 20200236492 A1) discloses tracking device location identification.
Peters (US 20160217397 A1) discloses proximity reporting of an arriving guest to provide enhanced services upon guest arrival.
Wachter (US 20140162693 A1) discloses methods and systems for providing location-based services in a venue.
Hillier (US 20160262126 A1) discloses method and system for determining a location of a mobile device.
Gupta (US 20160143065 A1) discloses system and/or method of locating a portable service access transceiver.
Cattermole (US 20240373192 A1) discloses devices and methods for object location identification.
Edge (US 9578115 B2) discloses indoor location server provision and discovery.
Aoki (US 7519052 B2) discloses apparatus and method to provide current location information services in a network.
Edge (US 9402163 B2) discloses in-building location security and privacy.
DelloStritto (US 8543999 B2) discloses communication of information between a plurality of network elements
European search opinion dated 01/30/2025 for EP24196896.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634