DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, directed to a compound, and the species:
in the reply filed on 04/24/2026 is acknowledged. The election was made without traverse.
Since the elected species reads on claims 1, 2 and 4-5, these claims are under current examination and are only examined to the extent these claims read on the elected species. Accordingly, claims 3 and 6-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are under current examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because Claim 1 recites, “C2-15 amide containing at least one fluoro group, F---H”. Thus, F is a repetition and needs to be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho (US 2015/0255276 A1).
Cho discloses organometallic precursorXnMR1mR2k, wherein M is a central metal atom and can be Zr, Hf or Ti; X is a ligand and can be cyclopentadienyl (Cp), substituted Cp, indenyl or dimethylfulvenyl; R1 and R2 are ligands of M and are amino group, such as dimethylamino diethylamino and n+m+k=3 or 4, encompass genus and elected species when M=Hf; X=indenyl; X=Cp and R1=R2 = dimethyleneamino or diethyleneamino groups (entire application, especially abstract, paragraphs 0007-0029, 0061 and claims). The cited prior art further teaches
Since M is limited to only three species Zr, Hf and Ti, a person of ordinary would have been able to "at once envisage" the specific compound within the generic chemical formula. Thus, claims 1 and 2 are anticipated.
If one of ordinary skill in the art is able to "at once envisage" the specific compound within the generic chemical formula, the compound is anticipated. In In re Schauman, 572 F.2d 312, 197 USPQ 5 (CCPA 1978), claims to a specific compound were anticipated because the prior art taught a generic formula embracing a limited number of compounds closely related to each other in structure and the properties possessed by the compound class of the prior art was that disclosed for the claimed compound. The broad generic formula seemed to describe an infinite number of compounds but claim 1 was limited to a structure with only one variable substituent R. This substituent was limited to low alkyl radicals. One of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage the subject matter within claim 1 of the reference.
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1-2, these claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and elected species are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2015/0255276 A1) and Federico (EP0595390 A1) in combination.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Cho discloses organometallic precursorXnMR1mR2k, wherein M is a central metal atom and can be Zr, Hf or Ti; X is a ligand and can be cyclopentadienyl (Cp), substituted Cp, indenyl or dimethylfulvenyl; R1 and R2 are ligands of M and are amino group, such as dimethylamino diethylamino and n+m+k=3 or 4, encompass genus and elected species when M=Hf; X=indenyl; X=Cp and R1=R2 = dimethyleneamino or diethyleneamino groups (entire application, especially abstract, paragraphs 0007-0029, 0061 and claims). The cited prior art further teaches
Since M is limited to only three species Zr, Hf and Ti, a person of ordinary would have been able to "at once envisage" the specific compound within the generic chemical formula. Thus, claims 1 and 2 are anticipated.
If one of ordinary skill in the art is able to "at once envisage" the specific compound within the generic chemical formula, the compound is anticipated. In In re Schauman, 572 F.2d 312, 197 USPQ 5 (CCPA 1978), claims to a specific compound were anticipated because the prior art taught a generic formula embracing a limited number of compounds closely related to each other in structure and the properties possessed by the compound class of the prior art was that disclosed for the claimed compound. The broad generic formula seemed to describe an infinite number of compounds but claim 1 was limited to a structure with only one variable substituent R. This substituent was limited to low alkyl radicals. One of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage the subject matter within claim 1 of the reference.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Cho discloses organometallic precursorXnMR1mR2k, wherein M is a central metal atom and can be Zr, Hf or Ti; X is a ligand and can be cyclopentadienyl (Cp), substituted Cp, indenyl or dimethylfulvenyl; R1 and R2 are ligands of M and are amino group, such as dimethylamino diethylamino and n+m+k=3 or 4, encompass genus and elected species when M=Hf; X=indenyl; X=Cp and R1=R2 = dimethyleneamino or diethyleneamino groups and further give example of compound with indenyl as X, but fails to teach example of compound wherein compound has additional X as Cp and example of elected species.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regard to the difference of example of compound that has additional X as Cp and example of elected species-Cho discloses organometallic precursorXnMR1mR2k, wherein M is a central metal atom and can be Zr, Hf or Ti; X is a ligand and can be cyclopentadienyl (Cp), substituted Cp, indenyl or dimethylfulvenyl; R1 and R2 are ligands of M and are amino group, such as dimethylamino diethylamino and n+m+k=3 or 4, encompass genus and elected species when M=Hf; X=indenyl; X=Cp and R1=R2 = dimethyleneamino or diethyleneamino groups and further give example of compound with indenyl as X. Thus, based on the guidance provided by the cited prior art on X, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the compound may have additional X as Cp.
This deficiency is further cured by Federico.
Federico discloses organometallic precursor:
wherein M is a central metal atom and can be Zr, Hf or Ti; Cp is a ligand and can be cyclopentadienyl, indenyl or fluorenyl; R1-R4 are alkyl groups, encompass genus and elected species when M=Hf; Cp=indenyl; Cp=cyclopentadienyl and R1=R2 =dimethylamino groups (entire application):
Thus, based on the guidance provided by Cho and Federico, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that the compound may have indenyl and cyclopentadiene along with two dimethylamino and metal as Hf, Ti or Zr.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the combination of teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ compound.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Cho discloses organometallic precursorXnMR1mR2k, wherein M is a central metal atom and can be Zr, Hf or Ti; X is a ligand and can be cyclopentadienyl (Cp), substituted Cp, indenyl or dimethylfulvenyl; R1 and R2 are ligands of M and are amino group, such as dimethylamino diethylamino and n+m+k=3 or 4, encompass genus and elected species when M=Hf; X=indenyl; X=Cp and R1=R2 = dimethyleneamino or diethyleneamino groups and further give example of compound with indenyl as X. Federico discloses organometallic precursor with M as a central metal atom and can be Zr, Hf or Ti; two Cp ligand from a group cyclopentadienyl, indenyl or fluorenyl; two additional ligands dimethylamino groups.
So, the combination of prior art read applicants claims.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that organometallic precursor may have Hf as central metal atom ligated to indenyl, cyclopentadiene and two dimethylamino ligands and can be made by combination of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed compound with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623