Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claims 1, 8, and 14 are independent claims.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to for lack of antecedent support or for redundancies. The Examiner recommends the following changes:
Claim 1, line 5, insert “from” before “said enclosed space”.
Claim 11, line 3, insert “and” before “a second panel”.
Claim 14, line 9, replace “a first ambient sensor” with “a second ambient sensor”.
Appropriate correction is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-11, 13, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barber (US Patent Publication No. 2009/0124189 A1) (“Barber”) in view of Yang (US Patent No. 10,001,288 B1) (“Yang”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Barber teaches:
An exhaust system for an enclosed space comprising: Barber: Paragraph [0005] (“The invention relates to the ventilation of enclosures, such as but not limited to, garages that are usually closed so as to admit a minimal amount of ambient atmospheric air and tending to retain odors, vapors, and hot air therein when closed.”)
a panel capable of being operably mounted on a door, the at least one panel comprising: Barber: Paragraph [0020] (“The system may be installed in a garage or other similar enclosed area, and may be incorporated into a kit form so that all of the necessary parts, and special tools, are provided so that a person with reasonable skills can easily install it in his or her own garage.”) Barber: Paragraph [0034] (“While the invention is shown as being installed in a garage that is attached to a residential house, it is also very useful with free-standing garages or other storage buildings.”) [FIGS. 1 and 6 show the panels.]
…
a plurality of fans mounted on said one panel and capable of at least one of selectively draw air into said enclosed space functionality, selectively expel air outside said enclosed space functionality; Barber: Abstract (“The system includes one or more fans installed in the upper section of the garage door, ...”) Barber: Paragraph [0038] (“The garage upper panel 48 has two motorized fan units 48 and 50 installed in it.”) Barber: Abstract (“…fan or fans used to move air into and out of the garage when the garage door is closed.”) [FIGS. 1 and 6 show the fans installed on panels of the garage door.]
…
… capable of receiving data; Barber: Paragraph [0044] (“For example the switch 114 is normally on, but is connected to receive a signal that turns it off when a sensor senses that the interior temperature in the garage is lower than the outside temperature, so that if the fan units 48 and 50 are allowed to run, they would actually cause the garage interior temperature to go higher, and that is not a desirable result.”)
a first ambient sensor for measuring ambient data positioned outdoor and capable of measuring at least one of a temperature data, a humidity data, a CO data, a fumes concentration data, a CO2 data, a Hydrogen data, and an air pressure data; Barber: Paragraph [0044] and FIG. 3 (“For example, there are sensors 120 and 122 to sense the inside and outside temperatures of the air respectively in the garage 22 or similar storage space, and the ambient open air temperature. It is desirable to introduce outside air into the garage interior only when it is cooler that the inside air.”) [Outdoor temperature sensor reads on “a first ambient sensor”.]
a second ambient sensor for measuring ambient data positioned inside said enclosed space and capable of measuring at least one of a temperature data, a humidity data, a CO data, a fumes concentration data, a CO2 data, a Hydrogen data, and an air pressure data; Barber: Paragraph [0044] and FIG. 3 (“For example, there are sensors 120 and 122 to sense the inside and outside temperatures of the air respectively in the garage 22 or similar storage space, and the ambient open air temperature. It is desirable to introduce outside air into the garage interior only when it is cooler that the inside air.”) Barber: Paragraph [0018] (“…provision of sensors that sense the temperature within the garage and the ambient air temperature outside of the garage, and controlling the activation of the exhaust fan motor so that the fan is not energized when the garage temperature is very near to, or definitely greater than, the ambient air temperature outside of the garage, so that the garage interior is not unintentionally heated to an even higher temperature by warmer ambient air outside of the garage. Once these sensors have comparative readings showing that the air in the garage is warmer than the ambient air temperature outside of the garage, they may no longer prevent the actuation of the exhaust fan motor.”) Barber: Paragraph [0019] (“There may, at times the presence of certain noxious fumes that become such a potential danger that they have to be removed as safely as possible. Sensors can be provided for the more dangerous ones of such noxious or dangerous fumes as carbon monoxide, gasoline and other fuel and oil fumes, as well as more natural smells and fumes, such as those from garbage that has been stored inside the garage, or the possibility of a dead animal in the garage creating a very undesirable stench. Such sensors can cause the fans be actuated whether or not the outside air is at a higher temperature than the temperature is in the garage, or they may be either manually actuated or manually overridden when it becomes apparent that it is more desirable to circulate outside atmospheric air into and through the garage, even though it is warmer than the air in the garage at the time.”) [Typical inside sensors 118 and sensor 120 read on “a second ambient sensor”.]
… causing execution of a functionality of at least one of selectively turning on said plurality of fans functionality, selectively turning off said plurality of fans functionality, selectively directing said plurality of fans to rotate clockwise functionality, selectively directing said plurality of fans to rotate anti clockwise functionality, selectively draw air into said enclosed space functionality, and selectively expel air outward and outdoor functionality; … causes said execution according to data based on differential readings between corresponding ambient data that are received from said first ambient sensor and said second ambient sensor. Barber: Paragraphs [0018] and [0019] [As described above.] Barber: Abstract (“…fan or fans used to move air into and out of the garage when the garage door is closed.”) Barber: Paragraph [0017] (“the system can cause the fan motor or motors to be energized, yet to still be subject to the sensing of a higher temperature in the garage than the temperature outside of the garage to stop the fan motors.” Which reads on “selectively turning off said plurality of fans functionality”.) Barber: Paragraph [0043] (“The vents 58 and 60 are in the bottom full-sized garage door panel 42, and the same hole boring tool in the kit can be used for forming the openings for these vents.”) Barber: Paragraph [0044] and FIG. 3 (“There is a wall switch 81 for the fan motors that can be manually operated to be sure that those motors cannot be energized when that switch is in its "off" position. It can usually be left in its "on" position... For example the switch 114 is normally on, but is connected to receive a signal that turns it off when a sensor senses that the interior temperature in the garage is lower than the outside temperature, so that if the fan units 48 and 50 are allowed to run, they would actually cause the garage interior temperature to go higher, and that is not a desirable result…There is a block 118 that represents various sensors that can be employed in the system to sense and generate signals reflecting the condition sensed. For example, there are sensors 120 and 122 to sense the inside and outside temperatures of the air respectively in the garage 22 or similar storage space, and the ambient open air temperature. It is desirable to introduce outside air into the garage interior only when it is cooler that the inside air. Therefore there is a comparator 124 that receives the signals representing the two temperatures, compares the two, and sends a signal 126 to switch 114 when the comparison shows that the outside air temperature is higher than the garage's inside air temperature, and then switch will be changed to its “off” position so that such an undesirable result cannot take place.”) [When the wall switch is “on” and the difference between the inside sensor 118 and the outside sensor 122 determine that the outside air is cooler, controlling the activation of the exhaust fan motor, and/or the sensors causing the activation of the fans based on the temperature difference and/or the presence of certain noxious fumes or moving air out of the garage door reads on “causing execution of a functionality of at least one of selectively turning on said plurality of fans functionality, … selectively draw air into said enclosed space functionality, and selectively expel air outward and outdoor functionality; … causes said execution according to data based on differential readings between corresponding ambient data that are received from said first ambient sensor and said second ambient sensor”.]
Barber does not expressly teach that the panel comprises a memory module, a solar panel power supply being operationally coupled to said panel, a communication module mounted on said one panel, and a control module being operationally coupled to said plurality of fans, wherein said control module causes said execution according to data. However, Yang describes monitoring and controlling ventilation in, a structure, and more particularly, to circulation of airflow in an interior space, an exterior space, and an exchange of air between an interior space and an exterior space. Yang teaches:
…a memory module; … Yang: Column 4, line 64, to Column 5, line 4 (“The housing 101 includes a controller 114 to control the operation of the fan 103, to activate, deactivate, reverse, or control its speed of operation. The controller 114 may include a processor, memory, network interface, wireless controller, wireless module, antenna, etc. The SFV device 100 may include wireless connectivity for remotely controlling the fan 103 speed, cover 107, and monitoring power or fan 103 usage, etc.”) Yang: Column 14, lines 25-29 and FIG. 4 (“The memory/storage 403 may include a dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) and/or a read-only memory (ROM). Memory/storage 403 may provide a temporary location to store data 405 and instructions 404 retrieved and processed by processor 402.”)
…a solar panel power supply being operationally coupled to said panel; Yang: Column 5, lines 18-24 (“The SFV device 100 may include at least one sensor module 111 having various sensor components, for example, sensors for sensing temperature, humidity, smoke, CO, CO2, an quality or particulate, ambient light, motion sensors, etc. The sensor module 111 is communicably coupled to the controller 114 for transmitting sensed environmental conditions to the SFV device 100. The sensor module 111 may be fixed to the housing 101, detachably coupled to the housing 101, or remotely connected to the housing 101.”) Yang: Column 5, lines 48-56 (“The sensor module 111 may include its own controller for controlling the sensor components and processing data collected by the sensors... The power supply may also supply power to the sensor module 111 by, for example, solar panels/cell, or any other renewable/alternative power supply source.”) Yang: Column 5, line 60, to Column 6, line 7 (“The SFV device 100 may be powered by a power supply, for example... The power supply may also supply power to the SFV device 100 by, for example… a solar panels/cell, or any other renewable/alternative power supply source. The SFV device 100 may connect to an exterior power source such as a solar panel or wind turbine.”)
a communication module mounted on said one panel and capable of receiving data; …Yang: Column 14, lines 42-62 (“SFV device 401 couples to a network through a network interface 413... The network interface 413 may include cellular interfaces, WiFi™ interfaces, Infrared interfaces, RFID interfaces, ZigBee interfaces, Bluetooth interfaces, Ethernet interfaces, coaxial interfaces, optical interfaces, or generally any communication interface that may be used for device communication.” Which reads on “a communication module mounted on said one panel”.)
a control module being operationally coupled to said plurality of fans… wherein said control module causes said execution according to data… Yang: Column 4, line 64, to Column 5, line 4 (“The housing 101 includes a controller 114 to control the operation of the fan 103, to activate, deactivate, reverse, or control its speed of operation. The controller 114 may include a processor, memory, network interface, wireless controller, wireless module, antenna, etc. The SFV device 100 may include wireless connectivity for remotely controlling the fan 103 speed, cover 107, and monitoring power or fan 103 usage, etc.”) Yang: Column 20, lines 12-17 (“In block 615, the processor 402 or server 511 compares the one or more interior and/or exterior environmental conditions of the space 300, building, or structure with stored environmental conditions in a storage/memory device 502 of the one or more SFV devices 100, or a storage device 512 of the server 511.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Barber and Yang before them, for the panel of Barber to include a smart fan and ventilation device of Yang including a memory module, a solar panel power supply being operationally coupled to said panel, a communication module mounted on said one panel, and a control module being operationally coupled to said plurality of fans, wherein said control module causes said execution according to data because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on improving environmental parameters within an enclosed space.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide an automated, cost effective, and convenient control of cooling, heating, and ventilation within their building or home. Yang Column 1, lines 36-40. The combination would measure air quality (smoke and particulate) and condition (humidity and temperature) for operating as an intake fan or exhaust fan, and for determining an operating schedule for improving room conditions. Yang Column 5, lines 31-34.
Regarding claim 2, Barber and Yang teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. Yang further teaches:
The exhaust system as in claim 1, wherein said solar panel power supply being operationally coupled to said panel Yang: Column 5, lines 48-56, and Column 5, line 60, to Column 6, line 7 [As described in claim 1] is …
Barber and Yang do not expressly teach that the solar panel power supply is mechanically orientable. However, Snyder describes a utility structure coupled to a solar panel power supply. Snyder teaches:
…mechanically orientable and capable of sealing said plurality of fans mounted on said panel. Snyder: Paragraph [0040] (“The utility structure 100 is also electrically coupled to an energy source, which within the depicted example is a solar panel 107 that includes a plurality of solar cells or photovoltaic cells 109. The solar panel 107 may be a tracking solar panel configured to orient the solar cells toward the sun to increase the efficiency of the solar panel 107 (e.g., to expose the solar panel 107 a maximum amount of sun as the earth rotates relative to the sun).”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Barber, Yang, and Snyder before them, for the panel to be mechanically orientable because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would increase the efficiency of the solar panel 107 (e.g., to expose the solar panel 107 a maximum amount of sun as the earth rotates relative to the sun). Snyder: Paragraph [0040]
Regarding claim 3, Barber and Yang teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 3 depends. Barber further teaches:
The exhaust system as in claim 1, further including a probe that is operationally mounted on said panel such that when said door is in a closed position said exhaust system is connected to an electric grid. Barber: Paragraph [0016] (“The fan motor or motors each have electrical wiring connecting them with the connection box so that they are capable of receiving electrical power through the power cord when the power cord is energized with electrical power. The spring acts much like a door spring that was so common for many years, but is acting to keep the power cord sufficiently taut that there is no adverse lack in it at any time.”) Barber: Abstract (“Those fans have a power cord that extends from a power supply position generally near the garage door opener that is secured to the garage ceiling and powers the garage door from its closed position to its open position, and vice versa, and that power cord is also secured to the garage door in the vicinity of the fan or fans used to move air into and out of the garage when the garage door is closed.”)
Regarding claim 5, Barber and Yang teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 5 depends. Yang further teaches:
The exhaust system as in claim 1, wherein said control module causes extraction of CO2 from said enclosed environment after said communication module has received data from a fire extinguishing system indicating that said enclosed space has been saturated with CO2. Yang: Column 11, line 49, to Column 12, line 2 (“In addition to sensor module 315, SFV devices 313 and 317 may each include sensor modules 111 installed on or within housing as described in FIG. 1. The sensor modules 111 of each SFV device 313, 317, and 323 may be configured to share and substantiate detect environmental conditions with other sensor modules, thermostats, smart fans, and SFV devices. For example, if smoke or air pollution is detected in subspace 311 by sensor module 111 of SFV device 317, the SFV device 317 may communicate with other SFV devices 313 and 323, sensor modules 315, 325, and 328, one or more thermostats 327, remote computing devices 531, server 511, etc., to function collectively to detect abnormal temperatures in the subspaces 311 and/or 321 that may signal a fire. If a fire is detected, SFV devices 313 and 317 may close to cut off oxygen to the building to prevent a fire from spreading. If a fire is not detected, SFV devices 313 and 317 may open to move the smoke or air pollution to an exterior environment. In certain circumstances, SFV devices 313 and 317 may be configure to move smoke out of a building to aid firefighters in entering the building and residents from exiting the building.”) [Moving smoke detected out reads on “causes extraction of CO2 from said enclosed environment”.]
The motivation to combine Barber and Yang as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 6, Barber and Yang teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 6 depends. Yang further teaches:
The exhaust system as in claim 1, wherein at least one of said ambient data that is measured by said second ambient sensor is associated to a target value ambient data stored in said memory module and thus operation of said plurality of fans mounted on said one panel is such that said control module operates said plurality of fans to minimize a difference value between said target value ambient data and said ambient data that is measured by said second ambient sensor. Yang: Column 2, line 64, to Column 3, line 3 (“The method may further include a second action including moving both the one or more louvers of the cover and the movable portions of the grille to an open position, or a closed position. The method may further include comparing the environmental condition acquired by the one or more sensors to user preferences stored in a database prior to performing a second action.”) Yang: Column 4, line 66, to Column 5, line 4 (“The controller 114 may include a processor, memory, network interface, wireless controller, wireless module, antenna, etc. The SFV device 100 may include wireless connectivity for remotely controlling the fan 103 speed, cover 107, and monitoring power or fan 103 usage, etc.”) Yang: Column 11, lines 16-26 (“For example, sensor module 315 may, upon determining interior environmental conditions in subspace 311 to be above a threshold humidity or temperature (e.g. 86° F.), communicate detected environmental conditions to SFV device 313 and SFV device 317. The SFV devices 313 and 317 may be configured to both open and operate in exhaust mode to move the humid and warm air out to an exterior environment. After a predetermined period of time, or once sensor module 315 determines the temperature and humidity in subspace 311 to be at a certain user defined, level, SFV devices 313 and 317 close and turn off.”)
The motivation to combine Barber and Yang as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding independent claim 8, Barber teaches:
An apparatus for operating an exhaust system, comprising: Barber: Paragraph [0005] (“The invention relates to the ventilation of enclosures, such as but not limited to, garages that are usually closed so as to admit a minimal amount of ambient atmospheric air and tending to retain odors, vapors, and hot air therein when closed.”)
…
control a plurality of fans mounted on a panel and capable of at least one of selectively draw air into an enclosed space, selectively expel air from said enclosed space; Barber: Abstract (“The system includes one or more fans installed in the upper section of the garage door, ...”) Barber: Paragraph [0038] (“The garage upper panel 48 has two motorized fan units 48 and 50 installed in it.”) Barber: Abstract (“…fan or fans used to move air into and out of the garage when the garage door is closed.”) Barber: Paragraph [0020] (“The system may be installed in a garage or other similar enclosed area, and may be incorporated into a kit form so that all of the necessary parts, and special tools, are provided so that a person with reasonable skills can easily install it in his or her own garage.”) Barber: Paragraph [0034] (“While the invention is shown as being installed in a garage that is attached to a residential house, it is also very useful with free-standing garages or other storage buildings.”) [FIGS. 1 and 6 show the fans installed on panels of the garage door.]
…
… capable of receiving data; Barber: Paragraph [0044] (“For example the switch 114 is normally on, but is connected to receive a signal that turns it off when a sensor senses that the interior temperature in the garage is lower than the outside temperature, so that if the fan units 48 and 50 are allowed to run, they would actually cause the garage interior temperature to go higher, and that is not a desirable result.”)
receive data from a first ambient sensor for measuring ambient data positioned outdoor and capable of measuring at least one of a temperature data, a humidity data, a CO data, a smoke data, a CO2 data, a Hydrogen data, and air pressure data; Barber: Paragraph [0044] and FIG. 3 (“For example, there are sensors 120 and 122 to sense the inside and outside temperatures of the air respectively in the garage 22 or similar storage space, and the ambient open air temperature. It is desirable to introduce outside air into the garage interior only when it is cooler that the inside air.”) [Outdoor temperature sensor reads on “a first ambient sensor”.]
receive data from a second ambient sensor for measuring ambient data positioned inside said enclosed space and capable of measuring at least one of a temperature data, a humidity data, a CO data, a smoke data, a CO2 data, a Hydrogen data, and air pressure data; Barber: Paragraph [0044] and FIG. 3 (“For example, there are sensors 120 and 122 to sense the inside and outside temperatures of the air respectively in the garage 22 or similar storage space, and the ambient open air temperature. It is desirable to introduce outside air into the garage interior only when it is cooler that the inside air.”) Barber: Paragraph [0018] (“…provision of sensors that sense the temperature within the garage and the ambient air temperature outside of the garage, and controlling the activation of the exhaust fan motor so that the fan is not energized when the garage temperature is very near to, or definitely greater than, the ambient air temperature outside of the garage, so that the garage interior is not unintentionally heated to an even higher temperature by warmer ambient air outside of the garage. Once these sensors have comparative readings showing that the air in the garage is warmer than the ambient air temperature outside of the garage, they may no longer prevent the actuation of the exhaust fan motor.”) Barber: Paragraph [0019] (“There may, at times the presence of certain noxious fumes that become such a potential danger that they have to be removed as safely as possible. Sensors can be provided for the more dangerous ones of such noxious or dangerous fumes as carbon monoxide, gasoline and other fuel and oil fumes, as well as more natural smells and fumes, such as those from garbage that has been stored inside the garage, or the possibility of a dead animal in the garage creating a very undesirable stench. Such sensors can cause the fans be actuated whether or not the outside air is at a higher temperature than the temperature is in the garage, or they may be either manually actuated or manually overridden when it becomes apparent that it is more desirable to circulate outside atmospheric air into and through the garage, even though it is warmer than the air in the garage at the time.”) [Typical inside sensors 118 and sensor 120 read on “a second ambient sensor”.]
cause execution of at least one functionality of selectively turning said plurality of fans on functionality, selectively turning said plurality of fans off functionality, selectively directing said plurality of fans to rotate clockwise functionality, selectively directing said plurality of fans to rotate anti clockwise functionality, selectively draw air into said enclosed space functionality, and selectively expel air from said enclosed space functionality; … causing said execution according to data based on differential readings between corresponding ambient data that are received from said first ambient sensor and said second ambient sensor. Barber: Paragraphs [0018] and [0019] [As described above.] Barber: Abstract (“…fan or fans used to move air into and out of the garage when the garage door is closed.”) Barber: Paragraph [0017] (“the system can cause the fan motor or motors to be energized, yet to still be subject to the sensing of a higher temperature in the garage than the temperature outside of the garage to stop the fan motors.” Which reads on “selectively turning said plurality of fans off functionality”.) Barber: Paragraph [0043] (“The vents 58 and 60 are in the bottom full-sized garage door panel 42, and the same hole boring tool in the kit can be used for forming the openings for these vents.”) Barber: Paragraph [0044] and FIG. 3 (“There is a wall switch 81 for the fan motors that can be manually operated to be sure that those motors cannot be energized when that switch is in its "off" position. It can usually be left in its "on" position... For example the switch 114 is normally on, but is connected to receive a signal that turns it off when a sensor senses that the interior temperature in the garage is lower than the outside temperature, so that if the fan units 48 and 50 are allowed to run, they would actually cause the garage interior temperature to go higher, and that is not a desirable result…There is a block 118 that represents various sensors that can be employed in the system to sense and generate signals reflecting the condition sensed. For example, there are sensors 120 and 122 to sense the inside and outside temperatures of the air respectively in the garage 22 or similar storage space, and the ambient open air temperature. It is desirable to introduce outside air into the garage interior only when it is cooler that the inside air. Therefore there is a comparator 124 that receives the signals representing the two temperatures, compares the two, and sends a signal 126 to switch 114 when the comparison shows that the outside air temperature is higher than the garage's inside air temperature, and then switch will be changed to its “off” position so that such an undesirable result cannot take place.”) [When the wall switch is “on” and the difference between the inside sensor 118 and the outside sensor 122 determine that the outside air is cooler, controlling the activation of the exhaust fan motor, and/or the sensors causing the activation of the fans based on the temperature difference and/or the presence of certain noxious fumes or moving air out of the garage door reads on “cause execution of at least one functionality of selectively turning said plurality of fans on functionality, … selectively draw air into said enclosed space functionality, and selectively expel air from said enclosed space functionality, … causing said execution according to data based on differential readings between corresponding ambient data that are received from said first ambient sensor and said second ambient sensor”.]
Barber does not expressly teach at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium including a computer program code; the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor... monitor a solar panel power supply being operationally coupled to said panel; operate a communication module operably mounted on said one panel and capable of receiving data; … wherein said processor is causing said execution according to data. However, Yang describes monitoring and controlling ventilation in, a structure, and more particularly, to circulation of airflow in an interior space, an exterior space, and an exchange of air between an interior space and an exterior space. Yang teaches:
at least one processor; and Yang: Column 4, line 64, to Column 5, line 4 (“The housing 101 includes a controller 114 to control the operation of the fan 103, to activate, deactivate, reverse, or control its speed of operation. The controller 114 may include a processor, memory, network interface, wireless controller, wireless module, antenna, etc. The SFV device 100 may include wireless connectivity for remotely controlling the fan 103 speed, cover 107, and monitoring power or fan 103 usage, etc.”) at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium including a computer program code; the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform at least the following: Yang: Column 14, lines 2-5 (“The SFV device 401 may include various types of computer readable media (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable medium) and interfaces for various other types of computer readable media.”)
…monitor a solar panel power supply being operationally coupled to said panel; Yang: Column 5, lines 18-24 (“The SFV device 100 may include at least one sensor module 111 having various sensor components, for example, sensors for sensing temperature, humidity, smoke, CO, CO2, an quality or particulate, ambient light, motion sensors, etc. The sensor module 111 is communicably coupled to the controller 114 for transmitting sensed environmental conditions to the SFV device 100. The sensor module 111 may be fixed to the housing 101, detachably coupled to the housing 101, or remotely connected to the housing 101.”) Yang: Column 5, lines 48-56 (“The sensor module 111 may include its own controller for controlling the sensor components and processing data collected by the sensors... The power supply may also supply power to the sensor module 111 by, for example, solar panels/cell, or any other renewable/alternative power supply source.”) Yang: Column 5, line 60, to Column 6, line 7 (“The SFV device 100 may be powered by a power supply, for example... The power supply may also supply power to the SFV device 100 by, for example… a solar panels/cell, or any other renewable/alternative power supply source. The SFV device 100 may connect to an exterior power source such as a solar panel or wind turbine.”)
operate a communication module operably mounted on said one panel and capable of receiving data; …Yang: Column 14, lines 42-62 (“SFV device 401 couples to a network through a network interface 413... The network interface 413 may include cellular interfaces, WiFi™ interfaces, Infrared interfaces, RFID interfaces, ZigBee interfaces, Bluetooth interfaces, Ethernet interfaces, coaxial interfaces, optical interfaces, or generally any communication interface that may be used for device communication.” Which reads on “operate a communication module operably mounted on said one panel”.)
… wherein said processor is causing said execution according to data... Yang: Column 4, line 64, to Column 5, line 4 (“The housing 101 includes a controller 114 to control the operation of the fan 103, to activate, deactivate, reverse, or control its speed of operation. The controller 114 may include a processor, memory, network interface, wireless controller, wireless module, antenna, etc. The SFV device 100 may include wireless connectivity for remotely controlling the fan 103 speed, cover 107, and monitoring power or fan 103 usage, etc.”) Yang: Column 20, lines 12-17 (“In block 615, the processor 402 or server 511 compares the one or more interior and/or exterior environmental conditions of the space 300, building, or structure with stored environmental conditions in a storage/memory device 502 of the one or more SFV devices 100, or a storage device 512 of the server 511.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Barber and Yang before them, to include at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium including a computer program code; the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor... monitor a solar panel power supply being operationally coupled to said panel; operate a communication module operably mounted on said one panel and capable of receiving data; … wherein said processor is causing said execution according to data because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on improving environmental parameters within an enclosed space.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide an automated, cost effective, and convenient control of cooling, heating, and ventilation within their building or home. Yang Column 1, lines 36-40. The combination would measure air quality (smoke and particulate) and condition (humidity and temperature) for operating as an intake fan or exhaust fan, and for determining an operating schedule for improving room conditions. Yang Column 5, lines 31-34.
Regarding claim 9, Barber and Yang teach all the claimed features of claim 8, from which claim 9 depends. Yang further teaches:
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein said communication module operably mounted on said panel communicates to an associated smartphone at least one of ambient data from said second ambient sensor, ambient data from said first ambient sensor, status data pertaining to said plurality of fans mounted on said panel. Yang: Column 14, lines 42-62 [As described in claim 8.] Yang: Column 17, line 35, to Column 18, line 8 (“FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of the SFV device 501 wirelessly communicating with other electronic devices through, for example, a wireless router 521. The electronic devices may be, for example, smart thermostats 541, laptops 533, portable devices 534, smart phones 532, and server 511 and/or server storage 512. SFV device may also connect to other smart home devices comprising of electronic door locks, light bulbs, smart switches, smart outlets. IP cameras, smoke detectors, smart refrigerators, smart washer/dryer, smart devices powered on solar energy, etc.”)
The motivation to combine Barber and Yang as provided in claim 8 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 10, Barber and Yang teach all the claimed features of claim 8, from which claim 10 depends. Barber further teaches:
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein at least one of said plurality of fans mounted on said panel is associated to a duct so that warmer air is drawn from a uppermost part of said enclosed space and expelled outdoor. Barber: Paragraph [0044] [As described in claim 8.] Barber: Paragraph [0043] (“As shown in FIG. 6, supports 110 are provided for each fan and motor unit 48 and 50. Filters 68 can be installed in one side or the other of these supports. These air filters are also supplied in the kit.”) [As illustrated in FIG. 6, the fans are mounted at the uppermost part of the garage door with opening provisions.]
Regarding claim 11, Barber and Yang teach all the claimed features of claim 8, from which claim 11 depends. Yang further teaches:
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein said communication module mounted on said panel receives data from at least one of a battery charger system, a fire extinguishing system, an electric generator system, a second panel comprising a second plurality of fans. Yang: Column 11, line 49, to Column 12, line 2 (“In addition to sensor module 315, SFV devices 313 and 317 may each include sensor modules 111 installed on or within housing as described in FIG. 1. The sensor modules 111 of each SFV device 313, 317, and 323 may be configured to share and substantiate detect environmental conditions with other sensor modules, thermostats, smart fans, and SFV devices. For example, if smoke or air pollution is detected in subspace 311 by sensor module 111 of SFV device 317, the SFV device 317 may communicate with other SFV devices 313 and 323, sensor modules 315, 325, and 328, one or more thermostats 327, remote computing devices 531, server 511, etc., to function collectively to detect abnormal temperatures in the subspaces 311 and/or 321 that may signal a fire. If a fire is detected, SFV devices 313 and 317 may close to cut off oxygen to the building to prevent a fire from spreading. If a fire is not detected, SFV devices 313 and 317 may open to move the smoke or air pollution to an exterior environment. In certain circumstances, SFV devices 313 and 317 may be configure to move smoke out of a building to aid firefighters in entering the building and residents from exiting the building.”) Yang: Column 20, lines 25-30 (“In block 621, the one or more other SFV devices 100 communicate to another one or more other SFV devices 100 to operate one or more louvers 207 a, operate one or more movable portions 106 c of the grille 106 b, or operate one or more fans 103.”) [The SFV devices along with the sensor module detecting smoke and cutting off oxygen to the building to prevent a fire reads on “fire extinguishing system”.]
The motivation to combine Barber and Yang as provided in claim 8 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 13, Barber and Yang teach all the claimed features of claim 8, from which claim 13 depends. Barber further teaches:
The apparatus of claim 8, further comprising at least one of a camera module, a lamp module, a motion sensor module, a loudspeaker module. Barber: Paragraph [0044] (“Smoke would be an indication of a fire in there, and such a condition should be sensed, also, and when present should send a signal to switch 114 to prevent the fan units 48 and 50 from being turned on, possibly just fanning the fire, and also to the signal warning light board 128 to energize the smoke indicator light 140. This signal can also set off an audible alarm 142 because the presence of smoke in the garage should be known by someone immediately.”)
Regarding independent claim 14, Barber teaches:
A method for operating an exhaust system comprising: Barber: Paragraph [0005] (“The invention relates to the ventilation of enclosures, such as but not limited to, garages that are usually closed so as to admit a minimal amount of ambient atmospheric air and tending to retain odors, vapors, and hot air therein when closed.”)
controlling a plurality of fans mounted on one panel and capable of at least one of selectively draw air into an enclosed space functionality, selectively expel air from said enclosed space functionality, Barber: Abstract (“The system includes one or more fans installed in the upper section of the garage door, ...”) Barber: Paragraph [0020] (“The system may be installed in a garage or other similar enclosed area, and may be incorporated into a kit form so that all of the necessary parts, and special tools, are provided so that a person with reasonable skills can easily install it in his or her own garage.”) Barber: Paragraph [0034] (“While the invention is shown as being installed in a garage that is attached to a residential house, it is also very useful with free-standing garages or other storage buildings.”) Barber: Paragraph [0038] (“The garage upper panel 48 has two motorized fan units 48 and 50 installed in it.”) Barber: Abstract (“…fan or fans used to move air into and out of the garage when the garage door is closed.”) [FIGS. 1 and 6 show the fans installed on panels of the garage door.]
…
receiving ambient data from a first ambient sensor that is positioned outdoor wherein said ambient data is at least one of a temperature data, a humidity data, a CO data, a fumes concentration data, a CO2 data, a Hydrogen data, and an air pressure data; Barber: Paragraph [0044] and FIG. 3 (“For example, there are sensors 120 and 122 to sense the inside and outside temperatures of the air respectively in the garage 22 or similar storage space, and the ambient open air temperature. It is desirable to introduce outside air into the garage interior only when it is cooler that the inside air.”) [Outdoor temperature sensor reads on “a first ambient sensor”.]
receiving ambient data from a first ambient sensor that is positioned within said enclosed space wherein said ambient data is at least one of a temperature data, a humidity data, a CO data, a fumes concentration data, a CO2 data, a Hydrogen data, and an air pressure data; Barber: Paragraph [0044] and FIG. 3 (“For example, there are sensors 120 and 122 to sense the inside and outside temperatures of the air respectively in the garage 22 or similar storage space, and the ambient open air temperature. It is desirable to introduce outside air into the garage interior only when it is cooler that the inside air.”) Barber: Paragraph [0018] (“…provision of sensors that sense the temperature within the garage and the ambient air temperature outside of the garage, and controlling the activation of the exhaust fan motor so that the fan is not energized when the garage temperature is very near to, or definitely greater than, the ambient air temperature outside of the garage, so that the garage interior is not unintentionally heated to an even higher temperature by warmer ambient air outside of the garage. Once these sensors have comparative readings showing that the air in the garage is warmer than the ambient air temperature outside of the garage, they may no longer prevent the actuation of the exhaust fan motor.”) Barber: Paragraph [0019] (“There may, at times the presence of certain noxious fumes that become such a potential danger that they have to be removed as safely as possible. Sensors can be provided for the more dangerous ones of such noxious or dangerous fumes as carbon monoxide, gasoline and other fuel and oil fumes, as well as more natural smells and fumes, such as those from garbage that has been stored inside the garage, or the possibility of a dead animal in the garage creating a very undesirable stench. Such sensors can cause the fans be actuated whether or not the outside air is at a higher temperature than the temperature is in the garage, or they may be either manually actuated or manually overridden when it becomes apparent that it is more desirable to circulate outside atmospheric air into and through the garage, even though it is warmer than the air in the garage at the time.”) [Typical inside sensors 118 and sensor 120 read on “a second ambient sensor”.]
controlling said plurality of fans by causing execution of a functionality of at least one of selectively turning on said plurality of fans functionality, selectively turning off said plurality of fans functionality, selectively directing said plurality of fans to rotate clockwise functionality, selectively directing said plurality of fans to rotate anti clockwise functionality, selectively draw air into said enclosed space functionality, and selectively expel air from said enclosed space functionality;… causes said execution according to data based on differential readings between corresponding ambient data that are received from said first ambient sensor and said second ambient sensor. Barber: Paragraphs [0018] and [0019] [As described above.] Barber: Abstract (“…fan or fans used to move air into and out of the garage when the garage door is closed.”) Barber: Paragraph [0017] (“the system can cause the fan motor or motors to be energized, yet to still be subject to the sensing of a higher temperature in the garage than the temperature outside of the garage to stop the fan motors.” Which reads on “selectively turning off said plurality of fans functionality”.) Barber: Paragraph [0043] (“The vents 58 and 60 are in the bottom full-sized garage door panel 42, and the same hole boring tool in the kit can be used for forming the openings for these vents.”) Barber: Paragraph [0044] and FIG. 3 (“There is a wall switch 81 for the fan motors that can be manually operated to be sure that those motors cannot be energized when that switch is in its "off" position. It can usually be left in its "on" position... For example the switch 114 is normally on, but is connected to receive a signal that turns it off when a sensor senses that the interior temperature in the garage is lower than the outside temperature, so that if the fan units 48 and 50 are allowed to run, they would actually cause the garage interior temperature to go higher, and that is not a desirable result…There is a block 118 that represents various sensors that can be employed in the system to sense and generate signals reflecting the condition sensed. For example, there are sensors 120 and 122 to sense the inside and outside temperatures of the air respectively in the garage 22 or similar storage space, and the ambient open air temperature. It is desirable to introduce outside air into the garage interior only when it is cooler that the inside air. Therefore there is a comparator 124 that receives the signals representing the two temperatures, compares the two, and sends a signal 126 to switch 114 when the comparison shows that the outside air temperature is higher than the garage's inside air temperature, and then switch will be changed to its “off” position so that such an undesirable result cannot take place.”) [When the wall switch is “on” and the difference between the inside sensor 118 and the outside sensor 122 determine that the outside air is cooler, controlling the activation of the exhaust fan motor, and/or the sensors causing the activation of the fans based on the temperature difference and/or the presence of certain noxious fumes or moving air out of the garage door reads on “causing execution of a functionality of at least one of selectively turning on said plurality of fans functionality, … selectively draw air into said enclosed space functionality, and selectively expel air outward and outdoor functionality; … causes said execution according to data based on differential readings between corresponding ambient data that are received from said first ambient sensor and said second ambient sensor”.]
Barber does not expressly teach that the panel comprises a solar panel is operationally coupled to said panel and