DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the auxiliary element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakeley US 941,476.
Wakeley discloses a crowbar comprising: a grip (see annotated figure); a bar (B) comprising: a connective portion (B) connected to the grip (A and B); a bifurcated end (b, b’, b2) extending opposite to the connective portion; and a bent portion (b3) extending between the bifurcated end and the connective portion at an angle; and an auxiliary element (C) connected to the grip (via bar B) so that the auxiliary element is pivotable into contact with the bar (via pivotal connection B2 and C2).
As for claim 2, Wakeley discloses wherein the auxiliary element comprises an arched portion (bottom portion of C, see Fig. 2 and 4) for contact with the bar.
As for claim 5, Wakeley discloses a connector (B2, C2, D) for connecting the grip to the auxiliary element (C) and the bar (B).
As for claim 8, Wakeley discloses a crowbar comprising: a grip (A); and a bar (B) comprising: a connective portion (end of B) connected to the grip; a bifurcated end (b, b’, b2); and a bent portion (b3) extending between the bifurcated end and the connective portion at an angle (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 11, Wakeley discloses a connector (B2, C2, D) for connecting the grip (A) to the auxiliary element (C) and the bar (B).
As for claim 14, Wakeley discloses a crowbar comprising: a grip (A); a bifurcated end (b, b’, b2); and a bent portion (b3) extending between the grip and the bifurcated end at an angle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 9-10 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakeley US 941,476.
As for claim 3, Wakeley discloses wherein the bent portion extending between the bifurcated end and the connective portion is at an angle (see annotated Figure 2 above) but does not specifically state wherein the angle is 95 to 145 degrees. However, it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, through routine engineering to modify the angle of the ben portion from 95 to 145 degrees because Applicant has not disclosed that the stated angle provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the disclosed angle of Wakeley, and applicant' s invention, to perform equally well because both angles would perform the same function of providing leverage to remove an object and/or fastener from another object.
As for claim 4, Wakeley discloses wherein the angle is 105 to 135 degrees (see claim 3 rejection).
As for claim 9, Wakeley discloses the angle is 95 to 145 degrees (see claim 3 rejection above).
As for claim 10, Wakeley discloses the angle is 105 to 135 degrees (see claim 3 rejection above).
As for claim 15, Wakeley discloses wherein the angle is 95 degrees to 145 degrees (see claim 3 rejection).
As for claim 16, Wakeley discloses wherein the angle is 105 degrees to 135 degrees (see claim 3 rejection).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 12-13 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakeley US 941476 in view of Mitchell US 281,110.
As for claims 6 and 12, Wakeley discloses a first fastener (E) for connecting the connector (B2 and C2) to the auxiliary element (C) and the bar (B). Wakeley further illustrates wherein the bar (B) is integrally connected to the grip (A). Wakeley does not specify a second fastener for connecting the connector to the grip. However, the use of connectors and/or tool holders for retaining a connection between a tool and a handle is well known in the tool art as evidence by Mitchell. Mitchell teaches tool having a grip (K), a tool head (G) having a bar (I) and a connector (A) for connecting the tool head to the grip. The connector (A) is provided with a first fastener (F) for connecting the connector to the bar (I) and a second fastener (L) for connecting the connector (A) to the grip (K). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the integral connector of Wakeley to a separate connector that includes a second fastener as taught by Mitchell as an alternative means of connecting the connector to the tool grip and tool.
As for claims 7 and 13, the modified Wakeley teaches wherein the connector (Mitchell, A) comprises a rear plate, a front plate and two lateral plates (Mitchell discloses tapered socket walls B, see pg. 1, lines 28-37) formed between the rear and front plates, wherein the first fastener (Mitchell, F) is connected to the lateral plates, wherein the second fastener (Mitchell, L) is connected to the lateral plates. The modified Wakeley does not specify wherein the second fastener is connected to the front and rear plates as claimed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, through routine engineering, to modify the position of the second fastener to extend between the front and rear plates because Applicant has not specified that the position of the fasteners provides any advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem other than for securing the connector and tool to the grip. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the positioning of the first and second fasteners as taught by Mitchell and as claimed by Applicant to perform the same function of securing the tool to the grip.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723