DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramseyer, C. (US Pat. No. 2,389,636, hereinafter Ramseyer) in view of Goebel, F. (US Pat. No. 3,650,697, hereinafter Goebel).
In regards to Claim 1, Ramseyer discloses a hydrogen production apparatus, comprising:
a first heating furnace including:
a first accommodating tank (#49) in which a moving bed of a catalyst (#14 metal particles) is formed (see figure and page 2, left column, lines 69-70 and page 2, right column, lines 56-64); and
a heating tube (#52, #54), which is provided in the first accommodating tank (#49), and through which a heat medium passes (see figure and page 2, right column, line 65 to page 3, left column, line 4);
a second heating furnace including:
a burner (#30 burner) that burns fuel (#26, #27 methane) to generate an exhaust gas (see figure and page 2, right column, lines 14-30); and
a second accommodating tank (#10) in which a fluidized bed of the catalyst (#14) discharged from the first heating furnace is formed with the exhaust gas (see figure and page 2, left column, line 57 to right column, line 2 and page 2, right column, lines 32-38); and
a furnace for pyrolysis including a third accommodating tank (#18) in which a fluidized bed of the catalyst (#14) discharged from the second heating furnace is formed with a raw material gas containing hydrocarbon (#26, #24 methane) (see figure and page 2, right column, lines 3-18).
Examiner notes that although Ramseyer does not explicitly disclose wherein the heating tube is provided in the first accommodating tank, relocating the heating tube to be provided in the first accommodating tank is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improved direct heating efficiency within the tank, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
Ramseyer is silent in regards to wherein the metal catalyst particles contain any one or more of iron, nickel, copper, and aluminum.
However, Goebel teaches an apparatus and system for the production of hydrogen from a hydrocarbon by the reaction of the hydrocarbon with steam in the presence of a catalyst. The catalyst consists essentially of a mixture of activated Raney nickel, iron, activated Raney cobalt, zirconium and aluminum (see abstract). A reactor tube containing a catalyst for the decomposition of hydrocarbon gas to hydrogen gas comprises alumina and a catalyst composition of granular or particle form consisting of a uniform mixture of Raney nickel, iron, activated cobalt, zirconium and aluminum, and a supply of gas comprising methane is mixed with steam and carried to the reactor tube for the decomposition of the methane to hydrogen gas (see figure and column 1, line 69 to column 2, line 32).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the hydrogen production apparatus as disclosed by Ramseyer by substituting a known metal catalyst particle for another known metal catalyst particle, such as the metal catalyst particle containing any one or more of iron, nickel, copper, and aluminum, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Goebel teaches an apparatus and system for the production of hydrogen from a hydrocarbon by the reaction of the hydrocarbon with steam in the presence of a catalyst, wherein a reactor tube contains a catalyst for the decomposition of hydrocarbon gas to hydrogen gas comprises alumina and a catalyst composition of granular or particle form consisting of a uniform mixture of Raney nickel, iron, activated cobalt, zirconium and aluminum, and a supply of gas comprising methane is mixed with steam and carried to the reactor tube for the decomposition of the methane to hydrogen gas (see figure and column 1, line 69 to column 2, line 32).
In regards to Claim 3, Ramseyer discloses wherein the burner (#30) of the second heating furnace uses the raw material gas (#26, #27 methane) as the fuel (see figure and page 2, right column 14-30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774