Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the ink layer having a multi-layer structure and hole sizes of the functional holes gradually increasing or decreasing in the first direction” (claim 1) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of the remarks, filed 5 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102(a) in view of US 2020/0380893 to Park et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of US 2020/0380893 to Park et al., of record, and US 2016/0370512 to Yamamoto et al..
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of the remarks, filed 5 June 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102(a) in view of US 2014/0118826 to Jiao et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of US 2014/0118826 to Jiao et al., of record, and US 2016/0370512 to Yamamoto et al..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0380893 to Park et al., of record (hereafter Park), in view of US 2016/0370512 to Yamamoto et al. (hereafter Yamamoto).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display panel, comprising: a display module comprising a non-display area (see at least Fig. 13 and paragraph [0136], where 20_13 is a display module), and a plurality of functional holes being arranged in the non-display area in a first direction (see at least Fig. 1, where HLE1, HLE2, and HLE3 are a plurality of holes in non-display areas); and a first polarizer arranged on a display side of the display module in the first direction, wherein the first polarizer is provided with a plurality of light transmission holes independent of each other in the first direction, and the light transmission holes correspond to the functional holes one by one (see at least Fig. 13 and paragraph [0134], where POL_13 is a polarizer comprising a light transmission hole corresponding to each hole of the display module), wherein the display module includes an ink layer, the functional holes are positioned on the ink layer (see at least Fig. 13 and paragraph [0078], where the print layer is an ink layer), wherein the display panel has a multi-layer structure, and hole sizes of the functional holes gradually increase or decrease in the first direction (see at least Fig. 13, where the size of the hole in each layer from 402 to 11_13 increases in size in the first direction).
Park does not specifically disclose that the ink layer has a multi-layer structure and hole sizes of the functional holes gradually increase or decrease in the first direction.
However, Yamamoto teaches a display device (see at least paragraph [0001]) comprising an ink layer that has a multi-layer structure and contains holes with sizes that gradually increase in a first direction (see at least Fig. 4 and paragraph [0065], where the wavelength control layer 41 can be a multilayer film composed of a black ink and tapers along with the portions 40 adjacent the wavelength control layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park to include the teachings of Yamamoto so that the ink layer has a multi-layer structure and hole sizes of the functional holes gradually increase or decrease in the first direction for the purpose of guiding light through the ink layer.
Regarding claim 9, Park as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park also discloses that an orthographic projection of each of the light transmission holes on a reference plane is positioned within an orthographic projection of the corresponding functional hole on the reference plane (see at least Fig. 13, where the light transmission hole through polarizer POL_13 is smaller than the functional hole through display module 20_13).
Regarding claim 10, Park as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 9.
Park also discloses that the orthographic projection of each of the light transmission holes on the reference plane has a first contour, and the orthographic projection of each of the functional holes on the reference plane has a second contour (see at least Figs. 13 and 14) and that the diameter of the holes is 4 mm or less (see at least paragraph [0136]).
Park as modified by Yamamoto does not specifically disclose that a distance between the first contour and the corresponding second contour is 0.5 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Among the benefits of a distance between the first contour and the corresponding second contour being 0.5 mm include obtaining a desired diameter of each of the functional holes and the light transmission holes such that sufficient light is allowed to pass while blocking undesirable light.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Yamamoto so that a distance between the first contour and the corresponding second contour is 0.5 mm for the purpose of obtaining a desired diameter of each of the functional holes and the light transmission holes such that sufficient light is allowed to pass while blocking undesirable light.
Regarding claim 13, Park as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park also discloses a display device comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (see at least Fig. 1 and paragraph [0007], where the foldable display device is a display device).
Regarding claim 14, Park as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park also discloses an electronic device comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (see at least Fig. 1 and paragraph [0007], where the foldable display device is an electronic device).
Claims 2-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0380893 to Park et al., of record (hereafter Park), in view of US 2016/0370512 to Yamamoto et al. (hereafter Yamamoto) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2014/0118826 to Jiao et al., of record (hereafter Jiao).
Regarding claim 2, Park as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park as modified by Yamamoto does not specifically disclose that the first polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the light transmission holes extend through the bonding layer, the polarizing layer and the protection layer in the first direction.
However, Jiao teaches a display device comprising a non-display area and a polarizer with a light transmission hole therethrough (see at least the abstract), wherein the polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer, and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in a first direction and the light transmission hole extends through the bonding layer, the polarizing layer and the protection layer in the first direction (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0091], where the polarizer 62 can include adhesive layers 64, polarizing PVA layer 68, and protective TAC layer 80 and has a light transmission hole 84 through all of these layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Yamamoto to include the teachings of Jiao so that the first polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the light transmission holes extend through the bonding layer, the polarizing layer and the protection layer in the first direction for the purpose of substituting one known polarizer for another in order to obtain predictable results such as improving durability by providing a protective layer and improving lamination by providing an adhesive layer (see at least paragraph [0051] of Jiao).
Regarding claims 3-4, Park as modified by Yamamoto as modified by Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Jiao also teaches an anti-reflection layer arranged across the entire device, and thus in each of the light transmission holes as well (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0053], where 72 can be an antireflection layer), the anti-reflection layer is bonded to the display side of the display module (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0092], where anti-reflection layer 72 is bonded to the display side of the color filter CF via the protective layer 188) and that in the first direction, a plane where a side of the anti-reflection layer away from the display module is positioned, is located upstream of a plane where a side of the protective layer away from the display module is positioned (see at least Fig. 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Yamamoto and Jiao to include the further teachings of Jiao so that an anti-reflection layer is arranged in each of the light transmission holes, the anti-reflection layer is bonded to the display side of the display module, and that in the first direction, a plane where a side of the anti-reflection layer away from the display module is positioned, is located upstream of a plane where a side of the protective layer away from the display module is positioned for the purpose of reducing the occurrence of glare.
Regarding claim 5, Park as modified by Yamamoto and Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Jiao also teaches that a transparent filling layer is filled in each of the light transmission holes (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0092], where protective layer 188 fills opening 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Yamamoto and Jiao to include the further teachings of Jiao so that a transparent filling layer is filled in each of the light transmission holes for the purpose of providing a smooth, continuous outer surface for the polarizer (see at least paragraph [0092] of Jiao).
Regarding claim 6, Park as modified by Yamamoto and Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 5.
Jiao also teaches that a thickness of the transparent filling layer is less than or equal to a thickness of the first polarizer (see at least Fig. 15, where the transparent filling layer is equal to a thickness of the first polarizer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Yamamoto and Jiao to include the further teachings of Jiao so that a thickness of the transparent filling layer is less than or equal to a thickness of the first polarizer for the purpose of optimizing transparency of particular layers of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Park as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park as modified by Yamamoto does not specifically disclose that the first polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the light transmission holes extend through the bonding layer and the polarizing layer in the first direction.
However, Jiao teaches a display device comprising a non-display area and a polarizer with a light transmission hole therethrough (see at least the abstract), wherein the polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer, and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in a first direction and the light transmission hole extends through the bonding layer and the polarizing layer in the first direction (see at least Fig. 12 and paragraph [0091], where the polarizer 62 can include adhesive layers 64, polarizing PVA layer 68, and protective TAC layer 80 and has a light transmission hole 84 through all of the layers except for the protective layer 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Yamamoto to include the teachings of Jiao so that the first polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the light transmission holes extend through the bonding layer and the polarizing layer in the first direction for the purpose of substituting one known polarizer for another in order to obtain predictable results such as improving durability by providing a protective layer and improving lamination by providing an adhesive layer (see at least paragraph [0051] of Jiao).
Regarding claims 15-16, Park as modified by Yamamoto discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
Park as modified by Yamamoto does not specifically disclose a manufacturing method of a display panel, configured to manufacture the display panel according to claim 1; the manufacturing method comprising: arranging the light transmission holes on the first polarizer, attaching the first polarizer to the display side of the display module in the first direction and arranging a transparent filling layer or an anti-reflection layer in each of the light- transmitting holes.
However, Jiao teaches a method of manufacturing a display panel, wherein light transmission holes are arranged on a first polarizer (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 192 is arranging the light transmission holes by drilling through the polarizer), attaching the first polarizer to the display side of the display module in the first direction (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 198 is attaching the polarizer to a color filter of a display), and arranging a transparent filling layer or an anti-reflection layer in each of the light- transmitting holes (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 194 includes filling the though-hole with a transparent filler material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Park as modified by Yamamoto to include the teachings of Jiao so that the manufacturing method comprises: arranging the light transmission holes on the first polarizer, attaching the first polarizer to the display side of the display module in the first direction and arranging a transparent filling layer or an anti-reflection layer in each of the light- transmitting holes for the purpose of obtaining a desired display panel such that the outer surface is smooth and continuous (see at least paragraph [0092] of Jiao).
Regarding claim 17¸ Park as modified by Yamamoto and Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 15
Park also discloses that the plurality of light transmission holes are located in the non-display area (see at least paragraph [0046], where the hole area HLA may correspond to the non-active region NAR where no display is performed); wherein an orthographic projection of each of the light transmission holes on a reference plane overlaps an orthographic projection of a corresponding functional hole of the functional holes on the reference plane; and wherein the reference plane is perpendicular to the first direction (see at least Fig. 13).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0380893 to Park et al., of record (hereafter Park), in view of US 2016/0370512 to Yamamoto et al. (hereafter Yamamoto), and US 2014/0118826 to Jiao et al., of record (hereafter Jiao) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 2020/0117034 to Yin et al., of record (hereafter Yin).
Regarding claim 8, Park as modified by Yamamoto and Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 7.
Jiao also teaches that an anti-reflection layer is arranged in each of the light-transmitting holes (see at least Fig. 12 and paragraph [0053], where 72 can be an antireflection layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Yamamoto and Jiao to include the further teachings of Jiao so that an anti-reflection layer is arranged in each of the light transmission holes for the purpose of reducing the occurrence of glare.
Park as modified by Yamamoto and Jiao does not specifically disclose that the anti-reflection layer is bonded to a side of the protection layer facing the display module.
However, Yin teaches a display device comprising a display panel and a polarizer, each having a light transmission hole arranged therethrough (see at least the abstract and Fig. 15), wherein an antireflection layer is bonded to a side of a protection layer facing the display module (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0091], where antireflective film 411 is bonded to the lower surface of the cover glass 400).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Yamamoto and Jiao to include the teachings of Yin so that the anti-reflection layer is bonded to a side of the protection layer facing the display module for the purpose of improving transmittance of light and providing a good optical basis for an optical component such as a camera (see at least paragraph [0091] of Yin).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0380893 to Park et al., of record (hereafter Park), in view of US 2016/0370512 to Yamamoto et al. (hereafter Yamamoto) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2020/0117034 to Yin et al., of record (hereafter Yin).
Regarding claims 11-12, Park as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park as modified by Yamamoto does not specifically disclose that the display module comprises an array substrate, an ink layer and a color filter that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the functional holes are positioned in the ink layer, and the first polarizer is arranged on a side of the color filter away from the ink layer and that the display module further comprises a second polarizer arranged on a side of the array substrate away from the ink layer; and wherein the second polarizer is positioned in a display area of the display module.
The ink layer is interpreted as a liquid crystal layer.
However, Yin teaches a display device comprising a display module and a polarizer, each having a light transmission hole arranged therethrough (see at least the abstract and Fig. 15), wherein the display module comprises an array substrate, an ink layer and a color filter that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the functional holes are positioned in the ink layer, and the first polarizer is arranged on a side of the color filter away from the ink layer (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0078], where thin film transistor 406 is an array substrate, liquid crystal layer 405 is an ink layer, and color film 404 is a color filter), and wherein the display module further comprises a second polarizer arranged on a side of the array substrate away from the ink layer; and wherein the second polarizer is positioned in a display area of the display module (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0078], where 402b is a second polarizer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Yamamoto to include the teachings of Yin so that the display module comprises an array substrate, an ink layer and a color filter that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the functional holes are positioned in the ink layer, and the first polarizer is arranged on a side of the color filter away from the ink layer, and wherein the display module further comprises a second polarizer arranged on a side of the array substrate away from the ink layer; and wherein the second polarizer is positioned in a display area of the display module for the purpose of substituting one known display module for another in order to obtain predictable results such as the ability to display a color image.
Claims 1-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0118826 to Jiao et al., of record (hereafter Jiao), in view of US 2016/0370512 to Yamamoto et al. (hereafter Yamamoto).
Regarding claim 1¸ Jiao discloses a display panel, comprising: a display module comprising a non-display area (see at least Figs. 2 and 7 and paragraph [0037], where 14 is a display module), and a plurality of functional holes being arranged in the non-display area in a first direction (see at least Figs. 2 and 7 and paragraph [0010], where a camera and other internal components are mounted beneath unpolarized windows); and a first polarizer arranged on a display side of the display module in the first direction, wherein the first polarizer is provided with a plurality of light transmission holes independent of each other in the first direction, and the light transmission holes correspond to the functional holes one by one (see at least Fig. 7 and paragraph [0057], where unpolarized window 84 is a light transmission hole), wherein the display module includes an ink layer, the functional holes are positioned on the ink layer, wherein the ink layer has a multi-layer structure (see at least Fig. 7 and paragraph [0060], where the device may be provided with one or more layers of opaque masking material 92, the opaque masking layer may be formed from colored ink).
Jiao does not specifically disclose that hole sizes of the functional holes gradually increase or decrease in the first direction.
However, Yamamoto teaches a display device (see at least paragraph [0001]) comprising an ink layer that has a multi-layer structure and contains holes with sizes that gradually increase in a first direction (see at least Fig. 4 and paragraph [0065], where the wavelength control layer 41 can be a multilayer film composed of a black ink and tapers along with the portions 40 adjacent the wavelength control layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Jiao to include the teachings of Yamamoto so that the ink layer has a multi-layer structure and hole sizes of the functional holes gradually increase or decrease in the first direction for the purpose of guiding light through the ink layer.
Regarding claim 2, Jiao as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Jiao also discloses that the polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer, and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in a first direction and the light transmission hole extends through the bonding layer, the polarizing layer and the protection layer in the first direction (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0091], where the polarizer 62 can include adhesive layers 64, polarizing PVA layer 68, and protective TAC layer 80 and has a light transmission hole 84 through all of these layers).
Regarding claims 3-4, Jiao as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Jiao also discloses an anti-reflection layer arranged across the entire device, and thus in each of the light transmission holes as well (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0053], where 72 can be an antireflection layer), the anti-reflection layer is bonded to the display side of the display module (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0092], where anti-reflection layer 72 is bonded to the display side of the color filter CF via the protective layer 188) and that in the first direction, a plane where a side of the anti-reflection layer away from the display module is positioned, is located upstream of a plane where a side of the protective layer away from the display module is positioned (see at least Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 5, Jiao as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Jiao also discloses that a transparent filling layer is filled in each of the light transmission holes (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0092], where protective layer 188 fills opening 103).
Regarding claim 6, Jiao as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 5.
Jiao also discloses that a thickness of the transparent filling layer is less than or equal to a thickness of the first polarizer (see at least Fig. 15, where the transparent filling layer is equal to a thickness of the first polarizer).
Regarding claim 7, Jiao as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Jiao also discloses that the polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer, and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in a first direction and the light transmission hole extends through the bonding layer and the polarizing layer in the first direction (see at least Fig. 12 and paragraph [0091], where the polarizer 62 can include adhesive layers 64, polarizing PVA layer 68, and protective TAC layer 80 and has a light transmission hole 84 through all of the layers except for the protective layer 80).
Regarding claims 15-16, Jiao as modified by Yamamoto discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
Jiao also discloses a method of manufacturing the display panel according to claim 1, the method comprising: arranging the light transmission holes on the first polarizer (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 192 is arranging the light transmission holes by drilling through the polarizer), attaching the first polarizer to the display side of the display module in the first direction (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 198 is attaching the polarizer to a color filter of a display), and arranging a transparent filling layer or an anti-reflection layer in each of the light- transmitting holes (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 194 includes filling the though-hole with a transparent filler material).
Regarding claim 17, Jiao as modified by Yamamoto discloses all of the limitations of claim 15.
Jiao also discloses that the plurality of light transmission holes are located in the non-display area (see at least Fig. 2); wherein an orthographic projection of each of the light transmission holes on a reference plane overlaps an orthographic projection of a corresponding functional hole of the functional holes on the reference plane; and wherein the reference plane is perpendicular to the first direction (see at least Fig. 7).
Conclusion
/A.W.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872