Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 17 December 2025. These drawings are accepted.
In view of the amendments to the drawings, the previous objection to the drawings is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 6 of the remarks, filed 17 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0380893) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Park does not disclose that the through holes and optical holes can be disposed in the non-active region NAR.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. While the drawings show the through holes being in the display region (AAR), Park explicitly states that the holes can be located in the non-display region (NAR) (see paragraph [0046], which states “the hole area HLA may correspond to the non-active region NAR where no display is performed”).
Therefore, the rejections of claims 1, 9, and 13-14 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) in view of Park are maintained.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 7-8 of the remarks, filed 17 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) in view of Jiao et al. (US 2014/0118826) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the unpolarized windows 84 and the opening 94 are provided along a first direction, but the orthographic projections of the camera opening 22 and the opening 30 on a plane perpendicular to the first direction are offset from each other and do not overlap the orthographic projections of the unpolarized windows 84 and the opening 94.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The plurality of functional holes correspond to openings in the opaque masking layer, such as opening 94 (see Fig. 7). The plurality of light transmission holes in the first polarizer are represented by 84 (see Fig. 7). It is understood that the “first direction” is the direction going down through the display (see paragraph [0017] of the present specification). Jiao also discloses that the functional holes align with the light transmission holes (see paragraph [0061] and Fig. 7), thus Jiao discloses that an orthographic projection of each of the light transmission holes on a reference plane overlaps an orthographic projection of a corresponding functional hole of the functional holes on the reference plane and that the reference plane is perpendicular to the first direction.
The rejections of claims 1-7 and 15-16 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) in view of Jiao are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2020/0380893) of record (hereafter Park).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display panel, comprising: a display module comprising a non-display area (see at least Fig. 13 and paragraph [0136], where 20_13 is a display module), and a plurality of functional holes being arranged in the non-display area in a first direction (see at least Fig. 1, where HLE1, HLE2, and HLE3 are a plurality of holes in non-display areas); and a first polarizer arranged on a display side of the display module in the first direction, wherein the first polarizer is provided with a plurality of light transmission holes independent of each other in the first direction, and the light transmission holes correspond to the functional holes one by one (see at least Fig. 13 and paragraph [0134], where POL_13 is a polarizer comprising a light transmission hole corresponding to each hole of the display module), wherein the plurality of light transmission holes are located in the non-display area (see at least paragraph [0046], where the hole area HLA may correspond to the non-active region NAR where no display is performed); wherein an orthographic projection of each of the light transmission holes on a reference plane overlaps an orthographic projection of a corresponding functional hole of the functional holes on the reference plane; and wherein the reference plane is perpendicular to the first direction (see at least Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park also discloses that an orthographic projection of each of the light transmission holes on a reference plane is positioned within an orthographic projection of the corresponding functional hole on the reference plane (see at least Fig. 13, where the light transmission hole through polarizer POL_13 is smaller than the functional hole through display module 20_13).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park also discloses a display device comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (see at least Fig. 1 and paragraph [0007], where the foldable display device is a display device).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park also discloses an electronic device comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (see at least Fig. 1 and paragraph [0007], where the foldable display device is an electronic device).
Claims 1-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiao et al. (US 2014/0118826) of record (hereafter Jiao).
Regarding claim 1¸ Jiao discloses a display panel, comprising: a display module comprising a non-display area (see at least Figs. 2 and 7 and paragraph [0037], where 14 is a display module), and a plurality of functional holes being arranged in the non-display area in a first direction (see at least Figs. 2 and 7 and paragraph [0010], where a camera and other internal components are mounted beneath unpolarized windows); and a first polarizer arranged on a display side of the display module in the first direction, wherein the first polarizer is provided with a plurality of light transmission holes independent of each other in the first direction, and the light transmission holes correspond to the functional holes one by one (see at least Fig. 7 and paragraph [0057], where unpolarized window 84 is a light transmission hole), wherein the plurality of light transmission holes are located in the non-display area (see at least Fig. 2); wherein an orthographic projection of each of the light transmission holes on a reference plane overlaps an orthographic projection of a corresponding functional hole of the functional holes on the reference plane; and wherein the reference plane is perpendicular to the first direction (see at least Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Jiao also discloses that the polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer, and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in a first direction and the light transmission hole extends through the bonding layer, the polarizing layer and the protection layer in the first direction (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0091], where the polarizer 62 can include adhesive layers 64, polarizing PVA layer 68, and protective TAC layer 80 and has a light transmission hole 84 through all of these layers).
Regarding claims 3-4, Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Jiao also discloses an anti-reflection layer arranged across the entire device, and thus in each of the light transmission holes as well (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0053], where 72 can be an antireflection layer), the anti-reflection layer is bonded to the display side of the display module (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0092], where anti-reflection layer 72 is bonded to the display side of the color filter CF via the protective layer 188) and that in the first direction, a plane where a side of the anti-reflection layer away from the display module is positioned, is located upstream of a plane where a side of the protective layer away from the display module is positioned (see at least Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 5, Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Jiao also discloses that a transparent filling layer is filled in each of the light transmission holes (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0092], where protective layer 188 fills opening 103).
Regarding claim 6, Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 5.
Jiao also discloses that a thickness of the transparent filling layer is less than or equal to a thickness of the first polarizer (see at least Fig. 15, where the transparent filling layer is equal to a thickness of the first polarizer).
Regarding claim 7, Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Jiao also discloses that the polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer, and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in a first direction and the light transmission hole extends through the bonding layer and the polarizing layer in the first direction (see at least Fig. 12 and paragraph [0091], where the polarizer 62 can include adhesive layers 64, polarizing PVA layer 68, and protective TAC layer 80 and has a light transmission hole 84 through all of the layers except for the protective layer 80).
Regarding claims 15-16, Jiao discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
Jiao also discloses a method of manufacturing the display panel according to claim 1, the method comprising: arranging the light transmission holes on the first polarizer (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 192 is arranging the light transmission holes by drilling through the polarizer), attaching the first polarizer to the display side of the display module in the first direction (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 198 is attaching the polarizer to a color filter of a display), and arranging a transparent filling layer or an anti-reflection layer in each of the light- transmitting holes (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 194 includes filling the though-hole with a transparent filler material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 and 15-16 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0380893) of record (hereafter Park) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiao et al. (US 2014/0118826) of record (hereafter Jiao).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park does not specifically disclose that the first polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the light transmission holes extend through the bonding layer, the polarizing layer and the protection layer in the first direction.
However, Jiao teaches a display device comprising a non-display area and a polarizer with a light transmission hole therethrough (see at least the abstract), wherein the polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer, and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in a first direction and the light transmission hole extends through the bonding layer, the polarizing layer and the protection layer in the first direction (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0091], where the polarizer 62 can include adhesive layers 64, polarizing PVA layer 68, and protective TAC layer 80 and has a light transmission hole 84 through all of these layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park to include the teachings of Jiao so that the first polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the light transmission holes extend through the bonding layer, the polarizing layer and the protection layer in the first direction for the purpose of substituting one known polarizer for another in order to obtain predictable results such as improving durability by providing a protective layer and improving lamination by providing an adhesive layer (see at least paragraph [0051] of Jiao).
Regarding claims 3-4, Park as modified by Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Jiao also teaches an anti-reflection layer arranged across the entire device, and thus in each of the light transmission holes as well (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0053], where 72 can be an antireflection layer), the anti-reflection layer is bonded to the display side of the display module (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0092], where anti-reflection layer 72 is bonded to the display side of the color filter CF via the protective layer 188) and that in the first direction, a plane where a side of the anti-reflection layer away from the display module is positioned, is located upstream of a plane where a side of the protective layer away from the display module is positioned (see at least Fig. 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Jiao to include the further teachings of Jiao so that an anti-reflection layer is arranged in each of the light transmission holes, the anti-reflection layer is bonded to the display side of the display module, and that in the first direction, a plane where a side of the anti-reflection layer away from the display module is positioned, is located upstream of a plane where a side of the protective layer away from the display module is positioned for the purpose of reducing the occurrence of glare.
Regarding claim 5, Park as modified by Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Jiao also teaches that a transparent filling layer is filled in each of the light transmission holes (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0092], where protective layer 188 fills opening 103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Jiao to include the further teachings of Jiao so that a transparent filling layer is filled in each of the light transmission holes for the purpose of providing a smooth, continuous outer surface for the polarizer (see at least paragraph [0092] of Jiao).
Regarding claim 6, Park as modified by Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 5.
Jiao also teaches that a thickness of the transparent filling layer is less than or equal to a thickness of the first polarizer (see at least Fig. 15, where the transparent filling layer is equal to a thickness of the first polarizer).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park does not specifically disclose that the first polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the light transmission holes extend through the bonding layer and the polarizing layer in the first direction.
However, Jiao teaches a display device comprising a non-display area and a polarizer with a light transmission hole therethrough (see at least the abstract), wherein the polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer, and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in a first direction and the light transmission hole extends through the bonding layer and the polarizing layer in the first direction (see at least Fig. 12 and paragraph [0091], where the polarizer 62 can include adhesive layers 64, polarizing PVA layer 68, and protective TAC layer 80 and has a light transmission hole 84 through all of the layers except for the protective layer 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park to include the teachings of Jiao so that the first polarizer comprises a bonding layer, a polarizing layer and a protective layer that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the light transmission holes extend through the bonding layer and the polarizing layer in the first direction for the purpose of substituting one known polarizer for another in order to obtain predictable results such as improving durability by providing a protective layer and improving lamination by providing an adhesive layer (see at least paragraph [0051] of Jiao).
Regarding claims 15-16, Park discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
Park does not specifically disclose a manufacturing method of a display panel, configured to manufacture the display panel according to claim 1; the manufacturing method comprising: arranging the light transmission holes on the first polarizer, attaching the first polarizer to the display side of the display module in the first direction and arranging a transparent filling layer or an anti-reflection layer in each of the light- transmitting holes.
However, Jiao teaches a method of manufacturing a display panel, wherein light transmission holes are arranged on a first polarizer (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 192 is arranging the light transmission holes by drilling through the polarizer), attaching the first polarizer to the display side of the display module in the first direction (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 198 is attaching the polarizer to a color filter of a display), and arranging a transparent filling layer or an anti-reflection layer in each of the light- transmitting holes (see at least figs. 15-17 and paragraphs [0094]-[0101], where step 194 includes filling the though-hole with a transparent filler material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Park to include the teachings of Jiao so that the manufacturing method comprises: arranging the light transmission holes on the first polarizer, attaching the first polarizer to the display side of the display module in the first direction and arranging a transparent filling layer or an anti-reflection layer in each of the light- transmitting holes for the purpose of obtaining a desired display panel such that the outer surface is smooth and continuous (see at least paragraph [0092] of Jiao).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0380893) of record (hereafter Park), in view of Jiao et al. (US 2014/0118826) of record (hereafter Jiao) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yin et al. (US 2020/0117034) of record (hereafter Yin).
Regarding claim 8, Park as modified by Jiao discloses all of the limitations of claim 7.
Jiao also discloses that an anti-reflection layer is arranged in each of the light-transmitting holes (see at least Fig. 12 and paragraph [0053], where 72 can be an antireflection layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Jiao to include the further teachings of Jiao so that an anti-reflection layer is arranged in each of the light transmission holes for the purpose of reducing the occurrence of glare.
Park as modified by Jiao does not specifically disclose that the anti-reflection layer is bonded to a side of the protection layer facing the display module.
However, Yin teaches a display device comprising a display panel and a polarizer, each having a light transmission hole arranged therethrough (see at least the abstract and Fig. 15), wherein an antireflection layer is bonded to a side of a protection layer facing the display module (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0091], where antireflective film 411 is bonded to the lower surface of the cover glass 400).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park as modified by Jiao to include the teachings of Yin so that the anti-reflection layer is bonded to a side of the protection layer facing the display module for the purpose of improving transmittance of light and providing a good optical basis for an optical component such as a camera (see at least paragraph [0091] of Yin).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0380893) of record (hereafter Park).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses all of the limitations of claim 9.
Park also discloses that the orthographic projection of each of the light transmission holes on the reference plane has a first contour, and the orthographic projection of each of the functional holes on the reference plane has a second contour (see at least Figs. 13 and 14) and that the diameter of the holes is 4 mm or less (see at least paragraph [0136]).
Park does not specifically disclose that a distance between the first contour and the corresponding second contour is 0.5 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Among the benefits of a distance between the first contour and the corresponding second contour being 0.5 mm include obtaining a desired diameter of each of the functional holes and the light transmission holes such that sufficient light is allowed to pass while blocking undesirable light.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park so that a distance between the first contour and the corresponding second contour is 0.5 mm for the purpose of obtaining a desired diameter of each of the functional holes and the light transmission holes such that sufficient light is allowed to pass while blocking undesirable light.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0380893) of record (hereafter Park) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yin et al. (US 2020/0117034) of record (hereafter Yin).
Regarding claims 11-12, Park discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Park does not specifically disclose that the display module comprises an array substrate, an ink layer and a color filter that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the functional holes are positioned in the ink layer, and the first polarizer is arranged on a side of the color filter away from the ink layer and that the display module further comprises a second polarizer arranged on a side of the array substrate away from the ink layer; and wherein the second polarizer is positioned in a display area of the display module.
The ink layer is interpreted as a liquid crystal layer.
However, Yin teaches a display device comprising a display module and a polarizer, each having a light transmission hole arranged therethrough (see at least the abstract and Fig. 15), wherein the display module comprises an array substrate, an ink layer and a color filter that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the functional holes are positioned in the ink layer, and the first polarizer is arranged on a side of the color filter away from the ink layer (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0078], where thin film transistor 406 is an array substrate, liquid crystal layer 405 is an ink layer, and color film 404 is a color filter), and wherein the display module further comprises a second polarizer arranged on a side of the array substrate away from the ink layer; and wherein the second polarizer is positioned in a display area of the display module (see at least Fig. 15 and paragraph [0078], where 402b is a second polarizer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park to include the teachings of Yin so that the display module comprises an array substrate, an ink layer and a color filter that are sequentially arranged in the first direction; and the functional holes are positioned in the ink layer, and the first polarizer is arranged on a side of the color filter away from the ink layer, and wherein the display module further comprises a second polarizer arranged on a side of the array substrate away from the ink layer; and wherein the second polarizer is positioned in a display area of the display module for the purpose of substituting one known display module for another in order to obtain predictable results such as the ability to display a color image.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.W.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872