DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Final action is in response to the applicant’s amendment/response of April 23, 2026.
Claims 7, 11, 18, 27 have been canceled.
Claims 30 and 31 have been newly added.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, 16, 17, 19, 21-23, 25, 26, 28, 30, and 31 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the objection to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection to the claims as presented in the Office Action of January 30, 2026 has been withdrawn. However, new objection to the claims is presented below based on the amendments to the claims presented in the Amendment of 23 April 2026.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC §112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC §112(b) as presented in the Office Action of January 30, 2026 has been withdrawn. However, new rejection of claims under 35 USC §112(b) is presented below based on the amendments to the claims presented in the Amendment of 23 April 2026.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Clear support or antecedent basis for the new claim terminology “host vehicle” and “remote vehicle” denoting different vehicles should be provided in the specification, in order that the meaning of the new claim terminology in the claim contexts may be ascertainable by reference to the description.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 12, 21, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 5, “the at lest one set” appears to be a typographical error and should read “the at least one set”.
Claim 12, line 5, “at least one processor configured to, according to the one or more programs stored in the memory, perform; …” appears to be a typographical error and should read “at least one processor configured to, according to the one or more programs stored in the memory, perform: …”.
Claim 12, line 17, “at least one set of the surround view image data” is grammatically confusing. While the scope of the claim is reasonably ascertainable, the Examiner recommends amending “at least one set of the surround view image data” to “the at least one set of the surround view digital image data”.
Claim 12, line 25, “generates modified digital map data of the HD digital map data …” should read “generating modified digital map data of the HD digital map data …”.
Claim 21, line 31, “generate modified digital map data of the HD digital map data …” should read “generating modified digital map data of the HD digital map data …”.
Claim 30, line 17, “a first in-map mark” appears to be a typographical error. The Examiner assumes that it should read “a first in-map lane mark”.
Claim 30, lines 18-19, “a second in-map mark” appears to be a typographical error. The Examiner assumes that it should read “a second in-map lane mark”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, 16, 17, 19, 21-23, 25, 26, 28, 30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “a method performed in a host vehicle that wirelessly receives front view digital image data, point cloud data, and surround view digital image data from at least one remote vehicle, and performs an HD digital map data updating operation” that are not supported by the original description, which constitute new matter to the original disclosure. For example, the paragraphs that appear to somewhat address the concept that is similar to what is described in the claim are found in paragraphs [0017], [0051], [0053], [0066], and [0103] of the specification. However, these paragraphs are largely limited to saying that apparatus 100 receives sensor data from vehicle 200 through a wireless communication network, and that the method of updating an HD map using heterogeneous sensor map matching may be performed by an electronic control unit (ECU) mounted in the vehicle 200, and the specification does not describe the limitations in as provided in the amended claim. Specifically, apparatus 100 is not identified as being installed in a separate host vehicle, and the specification does not describe the ECU receiving the recited sensor datasets from another vehicle. As such, the specification appears to contradict that the recited limitations in claim 1. Therefore, the limitations directed to this particular host-remote vehicle interaction are new matter.
As to claim 12, claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 21, claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, 22, 23, 25, 26, 28, 30, and 31 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claims 12-14, 16, 17, 19, 21-23, 25, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 12, the limitation “the host vehicle” at line 24 is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “a host vehicle”.
As to claim 21, the limitation “the host vehicle” at line 29 is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “a host vehicle”.
Claims 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, 22, 23, 25, 26, and 28 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, 16, 17, 19, 21-23, 25, 26, 28, 30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arditi, US 2019/0147331 A1, hereinafter referred to as Arditi, in view of JIANG et al., US 2023/0316635 A1, hereinafter referred to as JIANG, in view of SHASHUA et al., US 2017/0010618 A1, hereinafter referred to as SHASHUA, and further in view of GOKHALE et al., US 2020/0263996 A1, hereinafter referred to as GOKHALE, respectively.
As to claim 1, Arditi teaches a method performed in a host vehicle, the method of updating a high-definition (HD) digital map data stored in the host vehicle (see at least paragraph 47 regarding accessing the HD map stored on the autonomous vehicle for map data associated with the particular location (e.g., x, y coordinates). … the system may proceed with a map-updating operation, Arditi), comprising:
performing an HD digital map data updating operation (see at least paragraphs 44-49 regarding proceeding with a map-updating operation, Arditi), which comprises:
processing a portion of the HD digital map data including an in-map lane mark stored in the host vehicle, to generate digital image processing comparison data (see at least paragraphs 44-49 regarding accessing the HD map stored on the autonomous vehicle for map data associated with the particular location (e.g., x, y coordinates). Then at step 740, the computing system may compare the map data associated with the location (e.g., x, y coordinates) with the object detected in step 720 to determine whether the detected objects exist in the map data. For example, for each detected object, the system may check whether that object exists in the map data, Arditi).
Arditi teaches one vehicle 940 may communicate with another vehicle data regarding their respective location, condition, status, sensor reading, and any other suitable information. In particular embodiments, vehicle-to-vehicle communication may take place over direct short-range wireless connection (e.g., WI-FI, Bluetooth, NFC) and/or over a network (e.g., the Internet or via the transportation management system 960 or third-party system 970) (see at least paragraphs 73-74, Arditi), however, Arditi does not explicitly teach wirelessly receiving, from at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of front view digital image data captured by a front view image sensor of the at least one remote vehicle; wirelessly receiving, from the at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of point cloud data captured by a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor of the at least one remote vehicle; wirelessly receiving, from the at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of surround view digital image data captured by a surround view monitor (SVM) image sensor of the at least one remote vehicle, the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including a side lane mark positioned laterally next to the at least one remote vehicle; or processing the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including the side lane mark from the at least one remote vehicle.
However, JIANG teaches wirelessly receiving, from at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of front view digital image data captured by a front view image sensor of the at least one remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 246-250 regarding the representation streaming system 3200 includes an object 3201, which may be an ego-object such as a vehicle, robot, or person; a stationary object such as a sign, pole, wall, or bridge. The object 3201 may be stationary or traverse through an environment, and a representation streaming engine 3205 associated with the object 3201 may use one or more sensors (e.g., such as cameras, microphones, ultrasonic sensors, RADAR sensors, LiDAR sensors, infrared sensors) to capture sensor data representing the environment and stream a representation of the sensor data to a remote device 3270 via a network 3260 that includes at least one wireless communication channel. The representation streaming engine 3205 may include or receive sensor data generating using any number and type of sensor, such as global navigation satellite systems (“GNSS”) sensor(s) 3558 (e.g., Global Positioning System sensor(s)), RADAR sensor(s) 3560, ultrasonic sensor(s) 3562, LIDAR sensor(s) 3564, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor(s) 3566 (e.g., accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetic compass(es), magnetometer(s), etc.), microphone(s) 3596, stereo camera(s) 3568, wide-view camera(s) 3570 (e.g., fisheye cameras), infrared camera(s) 3572, surround camera(s) 3574 (e.g., 360° cameras), long-range and/or mid-range camera(s) 3598, speed sensor(s) 3544 (e.g., for measuring the speed of the vehicle 3500), vibration sensor(s) 3542, steering sensor(s) 3540, brake sensor(s) (e.g., as part of the brake sensor system 3546), and/or other sensor types. See also at least paragraphs 284-286 regarding any number of stereo cameras 3568 may also be included in a front-facing configuration); wirelessly receiving, from the at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of point cloud data captured by a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor of the at least one remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 246-254 regarding the representation streaming engine 3205 may include or receive sensor data generating using any number and type of sensor, such as global navigation satellite systems (“GNSS”) sensor(s) 3558 (e.g., Global Positioning System sensor(s)), RADAR sensor(s) 3560, ultrasonic sensor(s) 3562, LIDAR sensor(s) 3564, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor(s) 3566 (e.g., accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetic compass(es), magnetometer(s), etc.), microphone(s) 3596, stereo camera(s) 3568, wide-view camera(s) 3570 (e.g., fisheye cameras), infrared camera(s) 3572, surround camera(s) 3574 (e.g., 360° cameras), long-range and/or mid-range camera(s) 3598, speed sensor(s) 3544 (e.g., for measuring the speed of the vehicle 3500), vibration sensor(s) 3542, steering sensor(s) 3540, brake sensor(s) (e.g., as part of the brake sensor system 3546), and/or other sensor types); wirelessly receiving, from the at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of surround view digital image data captured by a surround view monitor (SVM) image sensor of the at least one remote vehicle, the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including a side lane mark positioned laterally next to the at least one remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 246-254 regarding the representation streaming engine 3205 may include or receive sensor data generating using any number and type of sensor, such as global navigation satellite systems (“GNSS”) sensor(s) 3558 (e.g., Global Positioning System sensor(s)), RADAR sensor(s) 3560, ultrasonic sensor(s) 3562, LIDAR sensor(s) 3564, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor(s) 3566 (e.g., accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetic compass(es), magnetometer(s), etc.), microphone(s) 3596, stereo camera(s) 3568, wide-view camera(s) 3570 (e.g., fisheye cameras), infrared camera(s) 3572, surround camera(s) 3574 (e.g., 360° cameras), long-range and/or mid-range camera(s) 3598, speed sensor(s) 3544 (e.g., for measuring the speed of the vehicle 3500), vibration sensor(s) 3542, steering sensor(s) 3540, brake sensor(s) (e.g., as part of the brake sensor system 3546), and/or other sensor types. See also at least FIG. 20 and paragraphs 287 and 361 regarding LDW systems provide visual, audible, and/or tactile warnings, such as steering wheel or seat vibrations, to alert the driver when the vehicle 3500 crosses lane markings); and processing the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including the side lane mark from the at least one remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 246-254 and 266-268 regarding receiving, from the ego-object, by the remote device, a stream of representations of the physical environment that were generated by the ego-object based at least on the remote command. See also at least FIG. 20 and paragraphs 287 and 361).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of JIANG which teaches wirelessly receiving, from at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of front view digital image data captured by a front view image sensor of the at least one remote vehicle; wirelessly receiving, from the at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of point cloud data captured by a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor of the at least one remote vehicle; wirelessly receiving, from the at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of surround view digital image data captured by a surround view monitor (SVM) image sensor of the at least one remote vehicle, the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including a side lane mark positioned laterally next to the at least one remote vehicle; and processing the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including the side lane mark from the at least one remote vehicle with the system of Arditi as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating representations of surrounding environment of the vehicle based on the sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of wirelessly receiving, from at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of front view digital image data captured by a front view image sensor of the at least one remote vehicle; wirelessly receiving, from the at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of point cloud data captured by a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor of the at least one remote vehicle; wirelessly receiving, from the at least one remote vehicle, at least one set of surround view digital image data captured by a surround view monitor (SVM) image sensor of the at least one remote vehicle, the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including a side lane mark positioned laterally next to the at least one remote vehicle; and processing the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including the side lane mark from the at least one remote vehicle and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi.
Arditi, as modified by JIANG, does not explicitly teach generating modified digital map data of the HD digital map data to update a size and a location of the in-map lane mark in the HD digital map data stored in the host vehicle based on the digital image processing comparison data; or autonomously driving the host vehicle based on the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data reflecting the updated size and location of the in-map lane mark stored in the host vehicle.
However, SHASHUA teaches generating modified digital map data of the HD digital map data to update a size and a location of the in-map lane mark in the HD digital map data stored in the host vehicle based on the digital image processing comparison data (see at least paragraphs 511-515 regarding receiving, from the one or more sensors, outputs indicative of a motion of vehicle 1205. Based on analysis of images output from camera 122, processor 1715 may identify landmarks along road segment 1200. Landmarks may include traffic signs (e.g., speed limit signs), directional signs (e.g., highway directional signs pointing to different routes or places), and general signs (e.g., a rectangular business sign that is associated with a unique signature, such as a color pattern). The identified landmark may be compared with the landmark stored in sparse map 800. Processor 1715 may analyze the at least one environmental image to determine information associated with at least one navigational constraint. The navigational constraint may include at least one of a barrier (e.g., a lane separating barrier), an object (e.g., a pedestrian, a lamppost, a traffic light post), a lane marking (e.g., a solid yellow lane marking), a sign (e.g., a traffic sign, a directional sign, a general sign), or another vehicle (e.g., a leading vehicle, a following vehicle, a vehicle that is traveling on the side of vehicle 1205). See also at least paragraphs 525-539. See also at least paragraphs 550-552 regarding receiving an identifier associated with a landmark (step 2810). For example, processor 2232 may receive at least one identifier associated with a landmark from autonomous vehicle 2201 or 2202. Process 2800 may include associating the landmark with a corresponding road segment (step 2820). For example, processor 2232 may associate landmark 2206 with road segment 2200. Process 2800 may include updating an autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include the identifier associated with the landmark (step 2830). For example, processor 2232 may update the autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include an identifier (including, e.g., position information, size, shape, pattern) associated with landmark 2205 in the model. In some embodiments, processor 2232 may also update sparse map 800 to include the identifier associated with landmark 2205. See also at least paragraphs 581-583); and autonomously driving the host vehicle based on the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data reflecting the updated size and location of the in-map lane mark stored in the host vehicle (see at least paragraphs 472 and 511-513 regarding the portion of the model transmitted from server 1230 to vehicle 1205 may include an updated portion of the model. The at least one processor 1715 may cause at least one navigational maneuver (e.g., steering such as making a turn, braking, accelerating, passing another vehicle, etc.) by vehicle 1205 based on the received autonomous vehicle road navigation model or the updated portion of the model. See also at least paragraphs 525-539. See also at least paragraphs 550-552 regarding processor 2232 may also update sparse map 800 to include the identifier associated with landmark 2205. Process 2800 may include distributing the updated model to a plurality of autonomous vehicles (step 2840). For example, processor 2232 may distribute the updated model to autonomous vehicles 2201, 2202, and other vehicles that travel on road segment 2200 at later times. The update model may provide updated navigation guidance to autonomous vehicles. See also at least paragraphs 581-583).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of SHASHUA which teaches generating modified digital map data of the HD digital map data to update a size and a location of the in-map lane mark in the HD digital map data stored in the host vehicle based on the digital image processing comparison data; and autonomously driving the host vehicle based on the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data reflecting the updated size and location of the in-map lane mark stored in the host vehicle with the system of Arditi, as modified by JIANG, as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and updating map data using sensor data to support autonomous vehicle navigation, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of generating modified digital map data of the HD digital map data to update a size and a location of the in-map lane mark in the HD digital map data stored in the host vehicle based on the digital image processing comparison data; and autonomously driving the host vehicle based on the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data reflecting the updated size and location of the in-map lane mark stored in the host vehicle and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi as modified by JIANG.
Arditi, as modified by JIANG and SHASHUA, does not explicitly teach matching the at least one set of the point cloud data captured by the LiDAR sensor to the HD digital map data; or performing feature matching by comparing a first point obtained from the at least one set of the point cloud data with a second point obtained from the HD digital map data using a map matching algorithm, the map matching algorithm being normal distributions transform (NDT) or iterative closest point (ICP).
However, GOKHALE teaches matching the at least one set of the point cloud data captured by the LiDAR sensor to the HD digital map data (see at least paragraphs 31-39 regarding the vehicle may use information received from multiple on-board sensors in combination of GPS and map data. Sensors such as lasers, cameras, radars, sonars are commonly used by vehicles to perceive environment. This environmental perception information is then compared with High Definition (HD) map information. See also at least paragraphs 43-61 regarding the camera and laser detect features of the well-structured objects from the environment. At 200, sensor points are obtained. The ICP matching algorithm is used to match the points from the HD map to the current sensor data at 214); and performing feature matching by comparing a first point obtained from the at least one set of the point cloud data with a second point obtained from the HD digital map data using a map matching algorithm, the map matching algorithm being normal distributions transform (NDT) or iterative closest point (ICP) (see at least paragraphs 31-39. See also at least paragraphs 43-61 regarding the camera and laser detect features of the well-structured objects from the environment. At 200, sensor points are obtained. The ICP matching algorithm is used to match the points from the HD map to the current sensor data at 214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of GOKHALE which teaches matching the at least one set of the point cloud data captured by the LiDAR sensor to the HD digital map data; and performing feature matching by comparing a first point obtained from the at least one set of the point cloud data with a second point obtained from the HD digital map data using a map matching algorithm, the map matching algorithm being normal distributions transform (NDT) or iterative closest point (ICP) with the system of Arditi, as modified by JIANG and SHASHUA, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigational guidance based on sensor data and HD map data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of matching the at least one set of the point cloud data captured by the LiDAR sensor to the HD digital map data; and performing feature matching by comparing a first point obtained from the at least one set of the point cloud data with a second point obtained from the HD digital map data using a map matching algorithm, the map matching algorithm being normal distributions transform (NDT) or iterative closest point (ICP) and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi as modified by JIANG and SHASHUA.
As to claim 2, Arditi teaches wherein the HD digital map data updating operation comprises generating the digital image processing comparison data based on position values measured by a satellite-based positioning module mounted in the at least one remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 45-47 and 73-74 regarding a computing system of an autonomous vehicle driving on a road may obtain sensor data at a particular location (e.g., corresponding to an x latitude and y longitude). The sensor data may be the aforementioned camera data, LiDAR data, radar data, and/or any other types of sensor data. The vehicle 940 may have wheel sensors for, e.g., measuring velocity; global positioning system (GPS) for, e.g., determining the vehicle's current geolocation; and/or inertial measurement units, accelerometers, gyroscopes, and/or odometer systems for movement or motion detection, Arditi).
As to claim 3, Arditi, as modified by JIANG and SHASHUA, does not explicitly teach generating the digital image processing comparison data using the at least one set of the front view digital image data, the at least one set of the point cloud data, and the at least one set of the surround view digital image data based on the position values.
However, such matter is taught by GOKHALE (see at least paragraphs 31-39 regarding the system can involve a PC/ECU 100, stereo camera 101, surround view camera 102, LIDAR 103, GPS receiver 104, vehicle odometer data 105, database (DB) 106, and network interface (UF) 107. See also at least paragraphs 43-61 regarding the camera and laser detect features of the well-structured objects from the environment. At 200, sensor points are obtained. The ICP matching algorithm is used to match the points from the HD map to the current sensor data at 214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of GOKHALE which teaches generating the digital image processing comparison data using the at least one set of the front view digital image data, the at least one set of the point cloud data, and the at least one set of the surround view digital image data based on the position values with the system of Arditi, as modified by JIANG and SHASHUA, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigational guidance based on sensor data and HD map data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of generating the digital image processing comparison data using the at least one set of the front view digital image data, the at least one set of the point cloud data, and the at least one set of the surround view digital image data based on the position values and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi as modified by JIANG and SHASHUA.
As to claim 5, Arditi teaches wherein the HD digital map data updating operation further comprises matching the at least one set of the front view digital image data captured by the front view image sensor to the HD digital map data based on the position values and performing lane matching by comparing a first lane obtained from the at lest one set of the front view digital image data with a second lane obtained from the HD digital map data (see at least paragraphs 46-47 regarding at step 720, the computing system of the autonomous vehicle may process the sensor data to identify any objects of interest. In particular embodiments, the autonomous vehicle may use an object classifier to process the sensor data to detect and identify objects. Using the scenario depicted in FIG. 6 as an example, the object classifier, based on the sensor data (e.g., camera or LiDAR data), may detect the existence of the objects (i.e., the box 620 and the pothole 630) in the road, as well as other objects such as buildings, road dividers, sidewalks, etc. In particular embodiments, the object classifier may further label the detected objects by classification type (e.g., the box 620 and pothole 630 may be specifically labeled as such, or generally labeled as debris). At step 730, the computing system may access the HD map stored on the autonomous vehicle for map data associated with the particular location (e.g., x, y coordinates). Then at step 740, the computing system may compare the map data associated with the location (e.g., x, y coordinates) with the object detected in step 720 to determine whether the detected objects exist in the map data. See also at least paragraphs 74-77, Arditi).
As to claim 6, Arditi teaches wherein the HD digital map data updating operation further comprises matching the at least one set of the surround view digital image data captured by the SVM image sensor to the HD digital map data based on the position values and performing road marker matching by comparing a first road marker obtained from the at least one set of the surround view digital image data with a second road marker obtained from the HD digital map data (see at least paragraphs 46-47 regarding at step 720, the computing system of the autonomous vehicle may process the sensor data to identify any objects of interest. In particular embodiments, the autonomous vehicle may use an object classifier to process the sensor data to detect and identify objects. Using the scenario depicted in FIG. 6 as an example, the object classifier, based on the sensor data (e.g., camera or LiDAR data), may detect the existence of the objects (i.e., the box 620 and the pothole 630) in the road, as well as other objects such as buildings, road dividers, sidewalks, etc. In particular embodiments, the object classifier may further label the detected objects by classification type (e.g., the box 620 and pothole 630 may be specifically labeled as such, or generally labeled as debris). At step 730, the computing system may access the HD map stored on the autonomous vehicle for map data associated with the particular location (e.g., x, y coordinates). Then at step 740, the computing system may compare the map data associated with the location (e.g., x, y coordinates) with the object detected in step 720 to determine whether the detected objects exist in the map data. See also at least paragraphs 74-77, Arditi).
As to claim 8, Arditi, as modified by JIANG, does not explicitly teach wherein the generating the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data is performed based on a result of the lane matching, a result of the road marker matching, and a result of the feature matching.
However, such matter is taught by SHASHUA (see at least paragraphs 511-515 regarding receiving, from the one or more sensors, outputs indicative of a motion of vehicle 1205. Based on analysis of images output from camera 122, processor 1715 may identify landmarks along road segment 1200. Landmarks may include traffic signs (e.g., speed limit signs), directional signs (e.g., highway directional signs pointing to different routes or places), and general signs (e.g., a rectangular business sign that is associated with a unique signature, such as a color pattern). The identified landmark may be compared with the landmark stored in sparse map 800. Processor 1715 may analyze the at least one environmental image to determine information associated with at least one navigational constraint. The navigational constraint may include at least one of a barrier (e.g., a lane separating barrier), an object (e.g., a pedestrian, a lamppost, a traffic light post), a lane marking (e.g., a solid yellow lane marking), a sign (e.g., a traffic sign, a directional sign, a general sign), or another vehicle (e.g., a leading vehicle, a following vehicle, a vehicle that is traveling on the side of vehicle 1205). See also at least paragraphs 525-539. See also at least paragraphs 550-552 regarding receiving an identifier associated with a landmark (step 2810). For example, processor 2232 may receive at least one identifier associated with a landmark from autonomous vehicle 2201 or 2202. Process 2800 may include associating the landmark with a corresponding road segment (step 2820). For example, processor 2232 may associate landmark 2206 with road segment 2200. Process 2800 may include updating an autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include the identifier associated with the landmark (step 2830). For example, processor 2232 may update the autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include an identifier (including, e.g., position information, size, shape, pattern) associated with landmark 2205 in the model. In some embodiments, processor 2232 may also update sparse map 800 to include the identifier associated with landmark 2205. See also at least paragraphs 581-583).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of SHASHUA which teaches wherein the generating the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data is performed based on a result of the lane matching, a result of the road marker matching, and a result of the feature matching with the system of Arditi, as modified by JIANG, as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and updating map data using sensor data to support autonomous vehicle navigation, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the generating the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data is performed based on a result of the lane matching, a result of the road marker matching, and a result of the feature matching and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi as modified by JIANG.
As to claim 10, Arditi teaches wherein the generating the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data comprises: updating the second lane on the HD digital map data using the first lane obtained from the at least one set of the front view digital image data captured by the front view image sensor based on the result of the lane matching; updating the second road marker on the HD digital map data using the first road marker obtained from the at least one set of the surround view digital image data captured by the SVM image sensor based on the result of the road marker matching; and updating the second point on the HD digital map data corresponding to a feature using the first point corresponding to the feature obtained from the at least one set of the point cloud data captured by the LiDAR sensor based on the result of the feature matching (see at least paragraphs 46-47 regarding at step 720, the computing system of the autonomous vehicle may process the sensor data to identify any objects of interest. In particular embodiments, the autonomous vehicle may use an object classifier to process the sensor data to detect and identify objects. Using the scenario depicted in FIG. 6 as an example, the object classifier, based on the sensor data (e.g., camera or LiDAR data), may detect the existence of the objects (i.e., the box 620 and the pothole 630) in the road, as well as other objects such as buildings, road dividers, sidewalks, etc. In particular embodiments, the object classifier may further label the detected objects by classification type (e.g., the box 620 and pothole 630 may be specifically labeled as such, or generally labeled as debris). At step 730, the computing system may access the HD map stored on the autonomous vehicle for map data associated with the particular location (e.g., x, y coordinates). Then at step 740, the computing system may compare the map data associated with the location (e.g., x, y coordinates) with the object detected in step 720 to determine whether the detected objects exist in the map data. Then at step 740, the computing system may compare the map data associated with the location (e.g., x, y coordinates) with the object detected in step 720 to determine whether the detected objects exist in the map data. For example, for each detected object, the system may check whether that object exists in the map data. In particular embodiments, the system may generate a confidence score representing the likelihood of the detected object being accounted for in the map data. The confidence score may be based on, for example, a similarity comparison of the measured size, dimensions, classification, and/or location of the detected object with known objects in the map data. At step 745, if the comparison results in a determination that the detected object(s) exists or is known in the HD map (e.g., the confidence score in the object existing in the map is higher than a threshold), then the system may not perform any map-updating operation and return to obtaining sensor data (e.g., step 710). On the other hand, if the comparison results in a determination that at least one detected object does not exist or is not known in the HD map (e.g., the confidence score in the object existing in the map is lower than a threshold), then the system may proceed with a map-updating operation. See also at least paragraphs 74-77, Arditi).
As to claim 12, Examiner notes claim 12 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 13, Examiner notes claim 13 recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 14, Examiner notes claim 14 recites similar limitations to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 16, Examiner notes claim 16 recites similar limitations to claim 5 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 17, Examiner notes claim 17 recites similar limitations to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 19, Examiner notes claim 19 recites similar limitations to claim 8 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 21, Arditi teaches a high-definition (HD) digital map data management system comprising:
at least one remote vehicle, each of the at least one remote vehicle equipped with: a remote wireless communication network interface, a satellite-based positioning module configured to measure a position value of the each of the at least one remote vehicle (see at least paragraph 14 regarding a data-gathering vehicle 201 with a mounted sensor 210. The types of sensors used for gathering data may include, for example, Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensors, optical cameras, infrared cameras, radars, ultra sound sensors, wheel sensors (e.g., for measuring distance), global positioning systems (GPS), inertial measurement units, accelerometers, gyroscopes, odometer systems, and/or any other suitable sensor types. See also at least paragraphs 45-47 and 73-74 regarding one vehicle 940 may communicate with another vehicle data regarding their respective location, condition, status, sensor reading, and any other suitable information. In particular embodiments, vehicle-to-vehicle communication may take place over direct short-range wireless connection (e.g., WI-FI, Bluetooth, NFC) and/or over a network (e.g., the Internet or via the transportation management system 960 or third-party system 970), Arditi),
a host vehicle system comprising (see at least paragraphs 73-74, Arditi):
a memory configured to store a HD digital map data (see at least paragraphs 47 and 75 regarding accessing the HD map stored on the autonomous vehicle for map data associated with the particular location (e.g., x, y coordinates). The autonomous vehicle 940 may be equipped with a processing unit (e.g., one or more CPUs and GPUs), memory, and storage, Arditi);
a host wireless communication network interface configured to wirelessly receive the position value of the at least one remote vehicle, the at least one set of the front view digital image data, the at least one set of the point cloud data, and the at least one set of the surround view digital image data from the at least one remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 73-74 regarding one vehicle 940 may communicate with another vehicle data regarding their respective location, condition, status, sensor reading, and any other suitable information, Arditi), and
at least one processor configured to perform an HD digital map data updating operation (see at least paragraphs 44-49 regarding the system may proceed with a map-updating operation, Arditi),
wherein the HD digital map data updating operation include:
selecting a portion from the HD digital map data, corresponding to the position value of the at least one remote vehicle, which includes an in-map lane mark (see at least paragraphs 44-49 regarding if the comparison results in a determination that at least one detected object does not exist or is not known in the HD map (e.g., the confidence score in the object existing in the map is lower than a threshold), then the system may proceed with a map-updating operation, Arditi),
processing the selected portion of the HD digital map data including the in-map lane mark stored in the host vehicle, to generate digital image processing comparison data (see at least paragraphs 44-49 regarding accessing the HD map stored on the autonomous vehicle for map data associated with the particular location (e.g., x, y coordinates). Then at step 740, the computing system may compare the map data associated with the location (e.g., x, y coordinates) with the object detected in step 720 to determine whether the detected objects exist in the map data. For example, for each detected object, the system may check whether that object exists in the map data, Arditi).
Arditi teaches one vehicle 940 may communicate with another vehicle data regarding their respective location, condition, status, sensor reading, and any other suitable information. In particular embodiments, vehicle-to-vehicle communication may take place over direct short-range wireless connection (e.g., WI-FI, Bluetooth, NFC) and/or over a network (e.g., the Internet or via the transportation management system 960 or third-party system 970) (see at least paragraphs 73-74, Arditi), however, Arditi does not explicitly teach a front view image sensor configured to capture at least one set of front view digital image data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle; a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor configured to capture at least one set of point cloud data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle; a surround view monitor (SVM) image sensor configured to capture at least one set of surround view digital image data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle including a side lane mark positioned laterally next to the each of the at least one remote vehicle; or processing the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including the side lane mark.
However, JIANG teaches a front view image sensor configured to capture at least one set of front view digital image data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 246-250 regarding the representation streaming system 3200 includes an object 3201, which may be an ego-object such as a vehicle, robot, or person; a stationary object such as a sign, pole, wall, or bridge. The object 3201 may be stationary or traverse through an environment, and a representation streaming engine 3205 associated with the object 3201 may use one or more sensors (e.g., such as cameras, microphones, ultrasonic sensors, RADAR sensors, LiDAR sensors, infrared sensors) to capture sensor data representing the environment and stream a representation of the sensor data to a remote device 3270 via a network 3260 that includes at least one wireless communication channel. The representation streaming engine 3205 may include or receive sensor data generating using any number and type of sensor, such as global navigation satellite systems (“GNSS”) sensor(s) 3558 (e.g., Global Positioning System sensor(s)), RADAR sensor(s) 3560, ultrasonic sensor(s) 3562, LIDAR sensor(s) 3564, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor(s) 3566 (e.g., accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetic compass(es), magnetometer(s), etc.), microphone(s) 3596, stereo camera(s) 3568, wide-view camera(s) 3570 (e.g., fisheye cameras), infrared camera(s) 3572, surround camera(s) 3574 (e.g., 360° cameras), long-range and/or mid-range camera(s) 3598, speed sensor(s) 3544 (e.g., for measuring the speed of the vehicle 3500), vibration sensor(s) 3542, steering sensor(s) 3540, brake sensor(s) (e.g., as part of the brake sensor system 3546), and/or other sensor types. See also at least paragraphs 284-286 regarding any number of stereo cameras 3568 may also be included in a front-facing configuration); a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor configured to capture at least one set of point cloud data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 246-254 regarding the representation streaming engine 3205 may include or receive sensor data generating using any number and type of sensor, such as global navigation satellite systems (“GNSS”) sensor(s) 3558 (e.g., Global Positioning System sensor(s)), RADAR sensor(s) 3560, ultrasonic sensor(s) 3562, LIDAR sensor(s) 3564, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor(s) 3566 (e.g., accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetic compass(es), magnetometer(s), etc.), microphone(s) 3596, stereo camera(s) 3568, wide-view camera(s) 3570 (e.g., fisheye cameras), infrared camera(s) 3572, surround camera(s) 3574 (e.g., 360° cameras), long-range and/or mid-range camera(s) 3598, speed sensor(s) 3544 (e.g., for measuring the speed of the vehicle 3500), vibration sensor(s) 3542, steering sensor(s) 3540, brake sensor(s) (e.g., as part of the brake sensor system 3546), and/or other sensor types); a surround view monitor (SVM) image sensor configured to capture at least one set of surround view digital image data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle including a side lane mark positioned laterally next to the each of the at least one remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 246-254 regarding the representation streaming engine 3205 may include or receive sensor data generating using any number and type of sensor, such as global navigation satellite systems (“GNSS”) sensor(s) 3558 (e.g., Global Positioning System sensor(s)), RADAR sensor(s) 3560, ultrasonic sensor(s) 3562, LIDAR sensor(s) 3564, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor(s) 3566 (e.g., accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetic compass(es), magnetometer(s), etc.), microphone(s) 3596, stereo camera(s) 3568, wide-view camera(s) 3570 (e.g., fisheye cameras), infrared camera(s) 3572, surround camera(s) 3574 (e.g., 360° cameras), long-range and/or mid-range camera(s) 3598, speed sensor(s) 3544 (e.g., for measuring the speed of the vehicle 3500), vibration sensor(s) 3542, steering sensor(s) 3540, brake sensor(s) (e.g., as part of the brake sensor system 3546), and/or other sensor types. See also at least FIG. 20 and paragraphs 287 and 361 regarding LDW systems provide visual, audible, and/or tactile warnings, such as steering wheel or seat vibrations, to alert the driver when the vehicle 3500 crosses lane markings); and processing the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including the side lane mark (see at least paragraphs 246-254 and 266-268 regarding receiving, from the ego-object, by the remote device, a stream of representations of the physical environment that were generated by the ego-object based at least on the remote command. See also at least FIG. 20 and paragraphs 287 and 361).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of JIANG which teaches a front view image sensor configured to capture at least one set of front view digital image data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle; a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor configured to capture at least one set of point cloud data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle; a surround view monitor (SVM) image sensor configured to capture at least one set of surround view digital image data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle including a side lane mark positioned laterally next to the each of the at least one remote vehicle; and processing the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including the side lane mark with the system of Arditi as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating representations of surrounding environment of the vehicle based on the sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having a front view image sensor configured to capture at least one set of front view digital image data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle; having a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) sensor configured to capture at least one set of point cloud data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle; having a surround view monitor (SVM) image sensor configured to capture at least one set of surround view digital image data of the each of the at least one remote vehicle including a side lane mark positioned laterally next to the each of the at least one remote vehicle; and processing the at least one set of the surround view digital image data including the side lane mark and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi.
Arditi, as modified by JIANG, does not explicitly teach generating modified digital map data of the HD digital map data to update a size and a location of the in-map lane mark in the HD digital map data stored in the host vehicle based on the digital image processing comparison data.
However, such matter is taught by SHASHUA (see at least paragraphs 511-515 regarding receiving, from the one or more sensors, outputs indicative of a motion of vehicle 1205. Based on analysis of images output from camera 122, processor 1715 may identify landmarks along road segment 1200. Landmarks may include traffic signs (e.g., speed limit signs), directional signs (e.g., highway directional signs pointing to different routes or places), and general signs (e.g., a rectangular business sign that is associated with a unique signature, such as a color pattern). The identified landmark may be compared with the landmark stored in sparse map 800. Processor 1715 may analyze the at least one environmental image to determine information associated with at least one navigational constraint. The navigational constraint may include at least one of a barrier (e.g., a lane separating barrier), an object (e.g., a pedestrian, a lamppost, a traffic light post), a lane marking (e.g., a solid yellow lane marking), a sign (e.g., a traffic sign, a directional sign, a general sign), or another vehicle (e.g., a leading vehicle, a following vehicle, a vehicle that is traveling on the side of vehicle 1205). See also at least paragraphs 525-539. See also at least paragraphs 550-552 regarding receiving an identifier associated with a landmark (step 2810). For example, processor 2232 may receive at least one identifier associated with a landmark from autonomous vehicle 2201 or 2202. Process 2800 may include associating the landmark with a corresponding road segment (step 2820). For example, processor 2232 may associate landmark 2206 with road segment 2200. Process 2800 may include updating an autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include the identifier associated with the landmark (step 2830). For example, processor 2232 may update the autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include an identifier (including, e.g., position information, size, shape, pattern) associated with landmark 2205 in the model. In some embodiments, processor 2232 may also update sparse map 800 to include the identifier associated with landmark 2205. See also at least paragraphs 581-583).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of SHASHUA which teaches generating modified digital map data of the HD digital map data to update a size and a location of the in-map lane mark in the HD digital map data stored in the host vehicle based on the digital image processing comparison data with the system of Arditi, as modified by JIANG, as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and updating map data using sensor data to support autonomous vehicle navigation, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of generating modified digital map data of the HD digital map data to update a size and a location of the in-map lane mark in the HD digital map data stored in the host vehicle based on the digital image processing comparison data and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi as modified by JIANG.
Arditi, as modified by JIANG and SHASHUA, does not explicitly teach matching the at least one set of the point cloud data captured by the LiDAR sensor to the HD digital map data; or performing feature matching by comparing a first point obtained from the at least one set of the point cloud data with a second point obtained from the HD digital map data using a map matching algorithm, the map matching algorithm being normal distributions transform (NDT) or iterative closest point (ICP).
However, GOKHALE teaches matching the at least one set of the point cloud data captured by the LiDAR sensor to the HD digital map data (see at least paragraphs 31-39 regarding the vehicle may use information received from multiple on-board sensors in combination of GPS and map data. Sensors such as lasers, cameras, radars, sonars are commonly used by vehicles to perceive environment. This environmental perception information is then compared with High Definition (HD) map information. See also at least paragraphs 43-61 regarding the camera and laser detect features of the well-structured objects from the environment. At 200, sensor points are obtained. The ICP matching algorithm is used to match the points from the HD map to the current sensor data at 214); and performing feature matching by comparing a first point obtained from the at least one set of the point cloud data with a second point obtained from the HD digital map data using a map matching algorithm, the map matching algorithm being normal distributions transform (NDT) or iterative closest point (ICP) (see at least paragraphs 31-39. See also at least paragraphs 43-61 regarding the camera and laser detect features of the well-structured objects from the environment. At 200, sensor points are obtained. The ICP matching algorithm is used to match the points from the HD map to the current sensor data at 214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of GOKHALE which teaches matching the at least one set of the point cloud data captured by the LiDAR sensor to the HD digital map data; and performing feature matching by comparing a first point obtained from the at least one set of the point cloud data with a second point obtained from the HD digital map data using a map matching algorithm, the map matching algorithm being normal distributions transform (NDT) or iterative closest point (ICP) with the system of Arditi, as modified by JIANG and SHASHUA, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigational guidance based on sensor data and HD map data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of matching the at least one set of the point cloud data captured by the LiDAR sensor to the HD digital map data; and performing feature matching by comparing a first point obtained from the at least one set of the point cloud data with a second point obtained from the HD digital map data using a map matching algorithm, the map matching algorithm being normal distributions transform (NDT) or iterative closest point (ICP) and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi as modified by JIANG and SHASHUA.
As to claim 22, Examiner notes claim 22 recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 23, Examiner notes claim 23 recites similar limitations to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 25, Examiner notes claim 25 recites similar limitations to claim 5 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 26, Examiner notes claim 26 recites similar limitations to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 28, Examiner notes claim 28 recites similar limitations to claim 8 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 30, Arditi does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one remote vehicle comprises at least two remote vehicles, including a first remote vehicle located at a first location and a second remote vehicle located at a second location; wherein the at least one set of front view digital image data includes a first set of front view digital image data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of front view digital image data from the second remote vehicle; wherein the at least one set of point cloud data includes a first set of point cloud data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of point cloud data from the second remote vehicle; or wherein the at least one set of surround view digital image data includes a first set of surround view digital image data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of surround view digital image data from the second remote vehicle.
However, JIANG teaches wherein the at least one remote vehicle comprises at least two remote vehicles, including a first remote vehicle located at a first location and a second remote vehicle located at a second location (see at least paragraphs 263-264 regarding any number of objects 3305a-n (e.g., different vehicles) in the physical environment may include corresponding representation stream engines 3310a-n that sense, stream, and/or use position and/or orientation of the objects 3305a-n to update the position and/or orientation of their corresponding virtual representations (e.g., digital twins) in an AR/VR representation of the physical environment, substantially in real-time); wherein the at least one set of front view digital image data includes a first set of front view digital image data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of front view digital image data from the second remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 246-254 regarding the representation streaming system 3200 includes an object 3201, which may be an ego-object such as a vehicle, robot, or person; a stationary object such as a sign, pole, wall, or bridge. The object 3201 may be stationary or traverse through an environment, and a representation streaming engine 3205 associated with the object 3201 may use one or more sensors (e.g., such as cameras, microphones, ultrasonic sensors, RADAR sensors, LiDAR sensors, infrared sensors) to capture sensor data representing the environment and stream a representation of the sensor data to a remote device 3270 via a network 3260 that includes at least one wireless communication channel. The representation streaming engine 3205 may include or receive sensor data generating using any number and type of sensor, such as global navigation satellite systems (“GNSS”) sensor(s) 3558 (e.g., Global Positioning System sensor(s)), RADAR sensor(s) 3560, ultrasonic sensor(s) 3562, LIDAR sensor(s) 3564, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor(s) 3566 (e.g., accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetic compass(es), magnetometer(s), etc.), microphone(s) 3596, stereo camera(s) 3568, wide-view camera(s) 3570 (e.g., fisheye cameras), infrared camera(s) 3572, surround camera(s) 3574 (e.g., 360° cameras), long-range and/or mid-range camera(s) 3598, speed sensor(s) 3544 (e.g., for measuring the speed of the vehicle 3500), vibration sensor(s) 3542, steering sensor(s) 3540, brake sensor(s) (e.g., as part of the brake sensor system 3546), and/or other sensor types. See also at least paragraphs 263-264. See also at least paragraphs 284-286 regarding any number of stereo cameras 3568 may also be included in a front-facing configuration); wherein the at least one set of point cloud data includes a first set of point cloud data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of point cloud data from the second remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 246-254 regarding the representation streaming engine 3205 may include or receive sensor data generating using any number and type of sensor, such as global navigation satellite systems (“GNSS”) sensor(s) 3558 (e.g., Global Positioning System sensor(s)), RADAR sensor(s) 3560, ultrasonic sensor(s) 3562, LIDAR sensor(s) 3564, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor(s) 3566 (e.g., accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetic compass(es), magnetometer(s), etc.), microphone(s) 3596, stereo camera(s) 3568, wide-view camera(s) 3570 (e.g., fisheye cameras), infrared camera(s) 3572, surround camera(s) 3574 (e.g., 360° cameras), long-range and/or mid-range camera(s) 3598, speed sensor(s) 3544 (e.g., for measuring the speed of the vehicle 3500), vibration sensor(s) 3542, steering sensor(s) 3540, brake sensor(s) (e.g., as part of the brake sensor system 3546), and/or other sensor types. See also at least paragraphs 263-264); wherein the at least one set of surround view digital image data includes a first set of surround view digital image data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of surround view digital image data from the second remote vehicle (see at least paragraphs 246-254 regarding the representation streaming engine 3205 may include or receive sensor data generating using any number and type of sensor, such as global navigation satellite systems (“GNSS”) sensor(s) 3558 (e.g., Global Positioning System sensor(s)), RADAR sensor(s) 3560, ultrasonic sensor(s) 3562, LIDAR sensor(s) 3564, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor(s) 3566 (e.g., accelerometer(s), gyroscope(s), magnetic compass(es), magnetometer(s), etc.), microphone(s) 3596, stereo camera(s) 3568, wide-view camera(s) 3570 (e.g., fisheye cameras), infrared camera(s) 3572, surround camera(s) 3574 (e.g., 360° cameras), long-range and/or mid-range camera(s) 3598, speed sensor(s) 3544 (e.g., for measuring the speed of the vehicle 3500), vibration sensor(s) 3542, steering sensor(s) 3540, brake sensor(s) (e.g., as part of the brake sensor system 3546), and/or other sensor types. See also at least FIG. 20 and paragraphs 287 and 361 regarding LDW systems provide visual, audible, and/or tactile warnings, such as steering wheel or seat vibrations, to alert the driver when the vehicle 3500 crosses lane markings. See also at least paragraphs 263-264).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of JIANG which teaches wherein the at least one remote vehicle comprises at least two remote vehicles, including a first remote vehicle located at a first location and a second remote vehicle located at a second location; wherein the at least one set of front view digital image data includes a first set of front view digital image data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of front view digital image data from the second remote vehicle; wherein the at least one set of point cloud data includes a first set of point cloud data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of point cloud data from the second remote vehicle; and wherein the at least one set of surround view digital image data includes a first set of surround view digital image data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of surround view digital image data from the second remote vehicle with the system of Arditi as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating representations of surrounding environment of the vehicle based on the sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the at least one remote vehicle comprises at least two remote vehicles, including a first remote vehicle located at a first location and a second remote vehicle located at a second location; having wherein the at least one set of front view digital image data includes a first set of front view digital image data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of front view digital image data from the second remote vehicle; having wherein the at least one set of point cloud data includes a first set of point cloud data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of point cloud data from the second remote vehicle; and having wherein the at least one set of surround view digital image data includes a first set of surround view digital image data from the first remote vehicle and a second set of surround view digital image data from the second remote vehicle and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi.
Arditi, as modified by JIANG, does not explicitly teach generating a first set of digital image processing comparison data corresponding to the first location and a second set of digital image processing comparison data corresponding to the second location; or updating a first set of size and location of a first in-map mark in the HD digital map data corresponding to the first location and a second set of size and location of a second in-map mark in the HD digital map data corresponding to the second location.
However, SHASHUA teaches generating a first set of digital image processing comparison data corresponding to the first location and a second set of digital image processing comparison data corresponding to the second location (see at least paragraphs 511-515 regarding receiving, from the one or more sensors, outputs indicative of a motion of vehicle 1205. Based on analysis of images output from camera 122, processor 1715 may identify landmarks along road segment 1200. Landmarks may include traffic signs (e.g., speed limit signs), directional signs (e.g., highway directional signs pointing to different routes or places), and general signs (e.g., a rectangular business sign that is associated with a unique signature, such as a color pattern). The identified landmark may be compared with the landmark stored in sparse map 800. Processor 1715 may analyze the at least one environmental image to determine information associated with at least one navigational constraint. The navigational constraint may include at least one of a barrier (e.g., a lane separating barrier), an object (e.g., a pedestrian, a lamppost, a traffic light post), a lane marking (e.g., a solid yellow lane marking), a sign (e.g., a traffic sign, a directional sign, a general sign), or another vehicle (e.g., a leading vehicle, a following vehicle, a vehicle that is traveling on the side of vehicle 1205). See also at least paragraphs 525-539. See also at least paragraphs 550-552 regarding receiving an identifier associated with a landmark (step 2810). For example, processor 2232 may receive at least one identifier associated with a landmark from autonomous vehicle 2201 or 2202. Process 2800 may include associating the landmark with a corresponding road segment (step 2820). For example, processor 2232 may associate landmark 2206 with road segment 2200. Process 2800 may include updating an autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include the identifier associated with the landmark (step 2830). For example, processor 2232 may update the autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include an identifier (including, e.g., position information, size, shape, pattern) associated with landmark 2205 in the model. In some embodiments, processor 2232 may also update sparse map 800 to include the identifier associated with landmark 2205. See also at least paragraphs 581-583); and updating a first set of size and location of a first in-map mark in the HD digital map data corresponding to the first location and a second set of size and location of a second in-map mark in the HD digital map data corresponding to the second location (see at least paragraphs 511-515. See also at least paragraphs 525-539. See also at least paragraphs 550-552 regarding receiving an identifier associated with a landmark (step 2810). For example, processor 2232 may receive at least one identifier associated with a landmark from autonomous vehicle 2201 or 2202. Process 2800 may include associating the landmark with a corresponding road segment (step 2820). For example, processor 2232 may associate landmark 2206 with road segment 2200. Process 2800 may include updating an autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include the identifier associated with the landmark (step 2830). For example, processor 2232 may update the autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include an identifier (including, e.g., position information, size, shape, pattern) associated with landmark 2205 in the model. In some embodiments, processor 2232 may also update sparse map 800 to include the identifier associated with landmark 2205. See also at least paragraphs 581-583).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of SHASHUA which teaches generating a first set of digital image processing comparison data corresponding to the first location and a second set of digital image processing comparison data corresponding to the second location; or updating a first set of size and location of a first in-map mark in the HD digital map data corresponding to the first location and a second set of size and location of a second in-map mark in the HD digital map data corresponding to the second location with the system of Arditi, as modified by JIANG, as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and updating map data using sensor data to support autonomous vehicle navigation, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of generating a first set of digital image processing comparison data corresponding to the first location and a second set of digital image processing comparison data corresponding to the second location; or updating a first set of size and location of a first in-map mark in the HD digital map data corresponding to the first location and a second set of size and location of a second in-map mark in the HD digital map data corresponding to the second location and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi as modified by JIANG.
As to claim 31, Arditi, as modified by JIANG, does not explicitly teach wherein the generating the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data is performed only when a result of the lane matching is greater than a lane discrepancy threshold and a result of the road marker matching is greater than a road marker discrepancy threshold.
However, such matter is taught by SHASHUA (see at least paragraphs 511-515 regarding receiving, from the one or more sensors, outputs indicative of a motion of vehicle 1205. Based on analysis of images output from camera 122, processor 1715 may identify landmarks along road segment 1200. Landmarks may include traffic signs (e.g., speed limit signs), directional signs (e.g., highway directional signs pointing to different routes or places), and general signs (e.g., a rectangular business sign that is associated with a unique signature, such as a color pattern). The identified landmark may be compared with the landmark stored in sparse map 800. Processor 1715 may analyze the at least one environmental image to determine information associated with at least one navigational constraint. The navigational constraint may include at least one of a barrier (e.g., a lane separating barrier), an object (e.g., a pedestrian, a lamppost, a traffic light post), a lane marking (e.g., a solid yellow lane marking), a sign (e.g., a traffic sign, a directional sign, a general sign), or another vehicle (e.g., a leading vehicle, a following vehicle, a vehicle that is traveling on the side of vehicle 1205). See also at least paragraphs 525-539. See also at least paragraphs 550-552 regarding receiving an identifier associated with a landmark (step 2810). For example, processor 2232 may receive at least one identifier associated with a landmark from autonomous vehicle 2201 or 2202. Process 2800 may include associating the landmark with a corresponding road segment (step 2820). For example, processor 2232 may associate landmark 2206 with road segment 2200. Process 2800 may include updating an autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include the identifier associated with the landmark (step 2830). For example, processor 2232 may update the autonomous vehicle road navigation model to include an identifier (including, e.g., position information, size, shape, pattern) associated with landmark 2205 in the model. In some embodiments, processor 2232 may also update sparse map 800 to include the identifier associated with landmark 2205. See also at least paragraphs 581-583. See also at least paragraphs 991-992 regarding for example, like the geographic region example, certain road segments, local maps, and/or geographic regions may be associated with a confidence level indicative of, for example, a level of refinement of sparse data map 800 in those areas. The server may restrict transmission of road information from vehicles traveling on any roads, local map areas, or geographic regions associated with a confidence level above a predetermined threshold. For example, in some cases, the server may preclude all automatic transmissions of road data from vehicles traveling in regions with a confidence level above a predetermined threshold. In other cases, the server may enable transmission of data from only a portion of vehicles traveling in those regions (e.g., 1 of 2 vehicles, 1 of 5, 1 of 100, etc.). In other cases, the server may receive transmissions from only those vehicles in a high-confidence area (one including a confidence level above a predetermined threshold) that the server identifies and queries for updated road information. The server can use information received from any portion of the vehicles from a high-confidence level region to verify and/or update any aspect of sparse data model 800).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of SHASHUA which teaches wherein the generating the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data is performed only when a result of the lane matching is greater than a lane discrepancy threshold and a result of the road marker matching is greater than a road marker discrepancy threshold with the system of Arditi, as modified by JIANG, as both systems are directed to a system and method for generating and updating map data using sensor data to support autonomous vehicle navigation, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the generating the modified digital map data of the HD digital map data is performed only when a result of the lane matching is greater than a lane discrepancy threshold and a result of the road marker matching is greater than a road marker discrepancy threshold and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Arditi as modified by JIANG.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.S.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666