DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-13 in the reply filed on March 31, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 31, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of species B in the reply filed on March 31, 2026 is found persuasive. The species restriction is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an electrical signal” is repeated in line 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: insert “the” in line 15 between “while plasma”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: delete “a” in line 3 Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: insert “the” before gas control unit in lines 1 and 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: delete “gas flow” in line 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the indicated gaseous pressure" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted “an indicated gaseous pressure”. Claims 2-13 are rejected at least because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the parameters" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “the one or more parameters”. Claims 2-13 are rejected at least because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 2 lines 3-7 recite method steps of using the system, “operates” and “adjusts”. MPEP 2173.05(p) recites that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. For purposes of examination, line 3 is interpreted “the pump is configured to evacuate…”, and line 5 is interpreted “the gas control unit is configured to adjust…”.
Claim 3 line 2 recites a method step of using the system, “operates”. MPEP 2173.05(p) recites that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. For purposes of examination, line 2 is interpreted “is configured to establish…”.
Claim 3 line 7 recites a method step of using the system, “regulating”. MPEP 2173.05(p) recites that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. For purposes of examination, line 7 is interpreted “valve configured to regulate flow…”.
Claim 3 line 9 recites a method step of using the system, “adjusts”. MPEP 2173.05(p) recites that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. For purposes of examination, line 9 is interpreted “and the at least one valve is further configured to adjust the rate…”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the rate of exhaust of gasses" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “the rate of gas outflow”.
Claim 5 is phrased such that Examiner is unable to determine the intended scope of the claim.
Claim 6 line 1 recites a method step of using the system, “maintains”. MPEP 2173.05(p) recites that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. For purposes of examination, line 1 is interpreted “wherein the gas control unit is configured to maintain the targeted range…”.
Claim 8 lines 3-4 recites a method step of using the system, “adjustment”. MPEP 2173.05(p) recites that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. For purposes of examination, lines 3-4 are interpreted “wherein the gas control unit is configured to maintain the new pressure…”.
Claim 9 line 3 recites a method step of using the system, “adjusts”. MPEP 2173.05(p) recites that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. For purposes of examination, line 3 is interpreted “gas control unit is configured to adjust the indicated…”.
Claim 9 is phrased such that Examiner is unable to determine the intended scope of the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the rate of gas flow" in line3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as “the rate of gas outflow”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trivedi US 2019/02010171 A1 in view of Milford et al. (Milford) US 2023/0126287 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Trivedi discloses a system for controlling luminal pressure during plasma dosage to a luminal space within tissue (this is being interpreted as an intended use, wherein MPEP 2111.02(II) recites “During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art”, and here the intended use does not result in a structural difference because Trivedi teaches controlling pressure within a luminal space resulting from a gas in being provided into the luminal space, see P0032 and Fig. 7), the system comprising: at least one evacuation conduit (evacuation lumen 922, P0033), sized for insertion to the luminal space (Fig. 7); a pressure transducer (pressure sensor 807, P0032), configured to indicate gaseous pressure in the luminal space (P0032); and a gas control unit (bi-directional pump 810, P0033), coupled to the at least one evacuation conduit (Fig. 7).
Trivedi does not teach a plasma inputs generator, configured to provide to a plasma probe an ionization gas flow according to one or more parameters, the ionization gas flow sufficient to maintain the luminal space in an insufflated state; the plasma probe, sized for insertion to the luminal space, and configured to receive the ionization gas flow, along with an electrical signal delivering power for plasma generation, to generate plasma within the luminal space.
However, Milford teaches a method and system for disinfecting a surgical site (P0007 and P0058 and Figs. 5A-B) including a plasma inputs generator (disinfecting system 102, P0058), configured to provide to a plasma probe (disinfecting instrument 108, P0058) an ionization gas flow (via gas tubes, P0058) according to one or more parameters (for disinfection, P0002), the ionization gas flow sufficient to maintain the luminal space in an insufflated state (the ionization gas flow is fully capable of maintaining the luminal space in an insufflated state because it is delivering gas to the luminal space); the plasma probe, sized for insertion to the luminal space (via the working channel of the laparoscope of Trivedi, see Milford P0007), and configured to receive the ionization gas flow, along with an electrical signal (via conductor wires to dispenser 142 that can comprise an electrode for a cold plasma applicator, P0058) delivering power for plasma generation, to generate plasma within the luminal space (P0058).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system of Trivedi with disinfecting system and disinfecting instrument of Milford for the purpose of preventing infection as taught by Milford P0002, wherein the gas control unit is configured to maintain the indicated gaseous pressure in the luminal space (first pressure, P0032) within a targeted range of pressures by adjusting a rate of gas outflow (on/off) from the luminal space through the at least one evacuation conduit, while the plasma inputs generator continues to produce ionization gas flow according to the one or more parameters (Trivedi, when the pressure sensor senses pressure below the first pressure, gas is pumped to the body cavity; when the pressure sensor senses pressure above the first pressure, air is evacuated from the body cavity, P0032).
Regarding claim 12, Trevedi in view of Milford teaches the system of claim 1, wherein gas control unit is configured to adjust the rate of gas outflow (Trevedi, on and off), based additionally on one or more sensed indications of the operation of at least one of an insufflator (Trevedi, pressure sensor 807 detects pressure from insufflation, P0032) or respiratory machine.
Regarding claim 13, The system of claim 1, comprising a conduit (Trevedi, insufflation lumen 920, P0033) configured for delivery of material into the luminal space without going through the plasma probe and under control of the gas control unit; wherein the gas control unit adjusts the rate of gas outflow to compensate for the delivered material (P0032).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 are potentially allowed, subject to the claim objections and §112(b) rejections above.
Reasons for Potential Allowance
The following is an Examiner's statement of reasons for potential allowance: the claims in this application are potentially allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose either singularly or in combination the claimed system.
The closest prior art is Trivedi US 2019/02010171 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Trivedi fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a system as claimed, which includes wherein: the gas control unit comprises a pump and at least one valve; the pump operates to evacuate gasses from the ionization gas flow mixed with gases from a second source bypassing the luminal space; and the gas control unit adjusts the rate of gas outflow from the luminal space by actuating the valve to adjust a relative amount of gasses from the ionization gas flow and from the second source, in combination with the total structure and function of the system as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Trivedi fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a system as claimed, which includes wherein the gas control unit: operates to establish a low-pressure region with an exhaust pressure below atmospheric pressure, in non-equilibrium pressure communication with: the luminal space, and a second source of gas, bypassing the luminal space and at a pressure above the exhaust pressure; comprises at least one valve regulating flow into the low-pressure region from at least one of the luminal space and the second source of gas; and adjusts the rate of gas outflow by operating the at least one valve, in combination with the total structure and function of the system as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Trivedi fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a system as claimed, which includes wherein the gas control unit maintains the targeted range of pressures by operation of a first pressure-control actuator and a second pressure-control actuator; wherein the first pressure-control actuator responds more rapidly than the second pressure-control actuator, and adjustment to the second pressure-control actuator has more controlled effects on pressure than adjustment of the first pressure-control actuator, in combination with the total structure and function of the system as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Trivedi fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a system as claimed, which includes a manual valve adjustable to modify gas outflow and change the gaseous pressure in the luminal space to a new pressure within the targeted range of pressures; wherein adjustment performed by the gas control unit corrects to allow the new pressure to remain, in combination with the total structure and function of the system as claimed.
Regarding claim 11, Trivedi fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a system as claimed, which includes wherein the at least one evacuation conduit comprises at least first and second conduits; wherein inlets to the first and second conduits are separated along their axis of elongation so that inlets of the second conduit are positioned to collect fluid before the fluid reaches inlets of the first conduit; and where the first conduit carries the majority of exhaust flux of the ionization gas flow from the luminal space, in combination with the total structure and function of the system as claimed.
Conclusion
/J.A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783