DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s arguments and amendments dated 3/19/26 have been received and entered in the application.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-15 are currently pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 11, 14-15 are currently amended.
Withdrawn Objections & Rejections
The objections and rejections presented herein represent the full set of objections and rejections currently pending in this application. Any objections rejections not specifically reiterated are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hiroshi et al., EP 3187580 A1 (cited on IDS dated 8/30/23, hereinafter Hiroshi) in view of R. Ian Freshney, “Culture of Tumor Cells.” In: Culture of Animal Cell: A Manual of Basic Technique and Specialized Applications. (Hoboken, NJ, John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2010), pp. 463-479. QH585.2.F74 2010 (cited on IDS dated 8/30/23, hereinafter Freshney).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 8, 14, Hiroshi discloses methods of constructing an artificial peritoneal tissue useful for investigating peritoneal metastasis ([0005]-[0007]). The artificial peritoneal tissue construct is composed of an extracellular matrix (ECM), vascular endothelial cells, lymphatic endothelial cells, and fibroblasts ([0012]-[0014]). The construct may further contain a mesothelial cell layer deposited on an upper surface of the construct ([0025], [0040]-[0042]). In some embodiments, the construct contains additional cell types ([0022]). Hiroshi discloses that each of the cell types may be derived from a primary cultured cell, a passaged cell, or a cell line ([0025]-[0026], [0028], [0068]). In some embodiments, the construct may be used for evaluating behavior of a cancer cell in the peritoneal tissue ([0031]). Cancer cells may be placed on the construct and cultured ([0043]-[0047]).
The ECM may be composed of multiple extracellular matrix components, including fibronectin and heparin ([0024], [0061]; consistent with applicant’s specification at [0068] heparin is interpreted as a strong polyelectrolyte is interpreted as a cationic buffer solution). Fibronectin is preferably prepared as a liquid in a Tris-hydrochloride buffer ([0063]-[0067] ; consistent with applicant’s specification at [0068] Tris-hydrochloride buffer is interpreted as a cationic buffer solution).
In one embodiment, Hiroshi discloses alternately seeding ECM coated human dermal fibroblasts (hDFs) and ECM coated human umbilical vein endothelial cells (HUVECs) on a porous polyester membrane culture insert in a 24 well plate to form a layered cell construct ([0037], [0053]-[0061], [0068]).
Regarding claims 5, 15, Hiroshi discloses that the HUVECs cells form a lumen similar in structure to that of a blood vessel in native tissues ([0016]-[0017]). The lymphatic endothelial cells likewise form a lumen similar in structure to that of lymphatic vessels in native tissues ([0018).
Regarding claim 6, Hiroshi discloses that the resultant construct may have a thickness of 45 µm ([0079]).
Regarding claims 7 and 11, Hiroshi does not disclose that the cell structure may have a thickness of 150 µm or more.
However, changes in size or proportion are considered routine expedients requiring only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the thickness of the construct could be increased.
Hiroshi does not explicitly disclose that the second cells are primary cells recovered from a tissue collected from a living body. Regarding claim 10, Hiroshi also does not disclose that the isolated second cells are sorted using certain methodologies, and seeding on the construct.
Freshney discloses methods for the culture of tumor cells (Chp 24). Freshney explains that known methods for the isolation and culture include obtaining a tumor biopsy from a primary tissue, fractionating, enzymatically digesting, and density gradient (Section 24.8). Freshney further states that protocols for the isolation and culture may be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art (Section 24.8).
As Hiroshi discloses that cancer cells may be utilized in the construct for evaluating behavior of a cancer cell in the peritoneal tissue ([0031], [0043]-[0047]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that known methods for preparation of the cancer cells could be utilized as disclosed in Freshney. A skilled artisan would be motivated to use the methods disclosed by Freshney as they are well known, and would lead to a reasonable expectation of successfully isolating cancer cells from a primary tissue.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments dated 3/19/26 have been fully considered are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARA D JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632