DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 17, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108286732A) in view of Ambrosek (US20120319410A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a green boiler (see Fig. 1-6) comprising: a thermal energy storage vessel (tank 2) defining an internal space containing a thermal mass composition (heat accumulating medium 7) operable to store thermal energy, the thermal mass composition comprising a metallic material; at least one heat source (heating rod 6) embedded in the thermal mass composition, the at least one heat source configured and operable to heat the thermal mass composition; and at least one heat exchanger (elements 3,4,5) comprising a tube bundle (tubes 5) including a plurality of heat exchanger tubes embedded in the thermal mass composition, the heat exchanger tubes configured to convey a heat transfer fluid through the thermal mass composition which heats the heat transfer fluid, a top header (4) defining a top flow plenum in fluid communication with the tube bundle; a bottom header (3) defining a bottom flow plenum in fluid communication with the tube bundle; and a downcomer located outside the thermal energy storage vessel, the downcomer (9) in fluid communication with the top flow plenum and the bottom flow plenum and configured to recirculate a portion of the heat transfer fluid from the top flow plenum to the bottom flow plenum.
Liu does not teach the thermal mass composition comprising a metallic material and a phase change material, the metallic material comprising ferrous metal particles, wherein the phase change material has a melting point at a first temperature and the ferrous metal particles have a melting point at a second temperature, the second temperature being greater than the first temperature, and wherein the green boiler is configured to operate at an operating temperature between the first temperature and the second temperature.
Ambrosek teaches (see Fig. 4 & 6) the thermal mass composition comprising a metallic material (434/634) and a phase change material (432), the metallic material comprising ferrous metal particles (stainless steel - ¶[0032]), wherein the phase change material has a melting point (approx. 500 C - ¶[0028]) at a first temperature and the ferrous metal particles have a melting point at a second temperature (stainless steel has a melting point of approx.. 1500 C), the second temperature being greater than the first temperature, and wherein the green boiler is configured to operate at an operating temperature between the first temperature and the second temperature.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to include the ferrous particles of Ambrosek to provide more efficient and rapid heat transfer from the heat-in source throughout the thermal storage media (¶[0028]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Liu further teaches the thermal energy storage vessel and heat exchanger are physically integrated into a single self-supporting housing (elements 3,4,5 & tank 2).
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Liu further teaches the heat transfer fluid comprises water (water – Page 8).
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Ambrosek further teaches the thermal mass composition comprises a mixture of a metallic material and a phase change material each in the form of solid particles at ambient temperature (see above).
Claim(s) 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108286732A) in view of Ambrosek (US20120319410A1), and in further view of Erb (US3989927A).
Regarding claims 3-8, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Liu does not teach the housing comprises a top closure plate, a bottom closure plate, and a plurality of sidewalls extending therebetween; the housing comprises a support base configured for placement on a flat concrete foundation slab; the housing is vertically elongated and has a rectangular cuboid configuration; the top header is supported on the top closure plate and the bottom header is supported on the bottom closure plate; the heat exchanger further comprises a top tubesheet supported on the top closure plate inside the top flow plenum, and a bottom tubesheet supported on the bottom closure plate inside the bottom flow plenum; top ends of the tubes are coupled to and extend through the top tubesheet, and bottom ends of the heat exchanger tubes are coupled to and extend through the bottom tubesheet.
Erb teaches (see annotated Fig. 1 & Col. 7, lines 40-45, Col. 5, lines 35-40, & Fig. 2) the housing comprises a top closure plate, a bottom closure plate, and a plurality of sidewalls extending therebetween; the housing comprises a support base configured for placement on a flat concrete foundation slab (see bottom thereof, capable of being placed on a concrete slab); the housing is vertically elongated and has a rectangular cuboid configuration (see shape, as also seen in Fig. 2); the top header is supported on the top closure plate and the bottom header is supported on the bottom closure plate; the heat exchanger further comprises a top tubesheet supported on the top closure plate inside the top flow plenum, and a bottom tubesheet supported on the bottom closure plate inside the bottom flow plenum; top ends of the tubes are coupled to and extend through the top tubesheet, and bottom ends of the heat exchanger tubes are coupled to and extend through the bottom tubesheet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to include the housing configuration as taught by Erb, in order to provide a cost effective, yet structurally rigid housing (Col. 4, lines 0-15).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 8, and Liu further teaches the top tubesheet further comprises a plurality of upwardly protruding extension tubes (see extension of 5 through and above 8), each extension tube being fluidly coupled to and associated with a respective one of the heat exchanger tubes (5)
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 9, and Liu further teaches top ends of the extension tubes terminate at an elevation greater than a surface level of a condensate pool P formed in the top flow plenum inside the top header (see extension of 5 above 8).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108286732A) in view of Ambrosek (US20120319410A1), and in further view of Erb (US3989927A) and Ingraham (US3317223A).
Regarding claims 11-12, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 8, and Liu does not teach the housing further comprises an annular thermal expansion sleeve fixedly coupled to the top closure plate, the sleeve circumferentially surrounding the top tubesheet and a lower portion of top header which are slideably disposed inside the sleeve, wherein when the heat exchanger tubes are heated and expand in length, the top sheet and top header move upwards with the top ends of the heat exchanger tubes relative to the top closure plate which remains stationary.
Ingraham teaches (see Fig. 4) the housing further comprises an annular thermal expansion sleeve (36) fixedly coupled to the top closure plate (24), the sleeve circumferentially surrounding the top sheet and a lower portion of top header (27) which are slideably disposed inside the sleeve, wherein when the heat exchanger tubes (22) are heated and expand in length, the top sheet and top header move upwards with the top ends of the heat exchanger tubes relative to the top closure plate which remains stationary.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to include the thermal expansion sleeve of Ingraham, in order to preclude leakage while permitting variations in thermal expansion (Col. 1, lines 25-40).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108286732A) in view of Ambrosek (US20120319410A1), Erb (US3989927A) and DE2012103544U1, hereinafter FOR1.
Regarding claim 22, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 3, and FOR1 teaches the
the at least one heater comprises heat exchanger tubes (5) which extend into the thermal mass composition in the vessel, the heat exchanger tubes flowing a heated second heat transfer fluid through the tubes which heats the thermal mass composition, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to include the indirect heating of FOR1, in order to provide additional means to heat the heat storage material via an external energy source via indirect heating (Page 7-8).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108286732A) in view of Ambrosek (US20120319410A1), Erb (US3989927A), and DE2012103544U1, hereinafter FOR1, and in further view of Jiang (CN104843369A).
Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 22, and Liu does not teach the heaters are removably coupled to an opposing pair of the sidewalls of the housing, the heaters being slideably insertable into and retractable from the internal cavity of the vessel in a horizontal direction.
Jiang teaches the heaters (heaters 4) are removably coupled to an opposing pair of the sidewalls of the housing, the heaters being slideably insertable into and retractable from the internal cavity of the vessel (5) in a horizontal direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to include the heater configuration of Jiang, in order to easily remove and replace the heaters (Page 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763