DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A and subspecies II in the reply filed on 1/16/2026 is acknowledged. Newly submitted claims 62-67 are directed to inventions that are independent or distinct, each from the originally claimed invention because: t he inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because: Inventions I (claims 1-12, 17, 20-23) and II (claims 62-67) are related as subcombinations disclosed as usable together in a single combination. The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable. In the instant case, subcombination II has separate utility such a phase change material, the metallic material comprising ferrous metal particles / a thermal expansion sleeve coupled to the top closure plate . See MPEP § 806.05(d). There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 11-12, the limitations of “ the top sheet” lack antecedent basis. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1- 2, 17 , 20 -2 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108286732A) in view of DE2012103544U1, hereinafter FOR1. Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a green boiler (see Fig. 1-6) comprising: a thermal energy storage vessel (tank 2) defining an internal space containing a thermal mass composition (heat accumulating medium 7) operable to store thermal energy, the thermal mass composition comprising a metallic material; at least one heat source (heating rod 6) embedded in the thermal mass composition, the at least one heat source configured and operable to heat the thermal mass composition; and at least one heat exchanger (elements 3,4,5) comprising a tube bundle ( tubes 5) including a plurality of heat exchanger tubes embedded in the thermal mass composition, the heat exchanger tubes configured to convey a heat transfer fluid through the thermal mass composition which heats the heat transfer fluid , a top header (4) defining a top flow plenum in fluid communication with the tube bundle; a bottom header (3) defining a bottom flow plenum in fluid communication with the tube bundle; and a downcomer located outside the thermal energy storage vessel, the downcomer (9) in fluid communication with the top flow plenum and the bottom flow plenum and configured to recirculate a portion of the heat transfer fluid from the top flow plenum to bottom flow plenum. Liu does not teach the thermal mass composition comprising a metallic material and a phase change material . FOR1 teaches the thermal mass composition (3; Fig. 2) comprising a metallic material and a phase change material (see Page 4, in which the storage material 3 may be solids including metal in combination with phase change material, or two phase change materials, one of which is metal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to include wherein the thermal storage composition includes a phase change material and a metallic material , as it has been held obvious to provide a s imple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143). In the instant case, such a combination is known for high temperature thermals storage in such a heat exchanger (see Page 3). Regarding claim 2 , Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Liu further teaches the thermal energy storage vessel and heat exchanger are physically integrated into a single self-supporting housing (elements 3,4,5 & tank 2). Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Liu further teaches the heat transfer fluid comprises water (water – Page 8). Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and FOR1 further teaches the thermal mass composition comprises a mixture of a metallic material and a phase change material each in the form of solid particles at ambient temperature (see Page 4, in which the storage material 3 may include cast iron and lead, for example). Regarding claim 2 1 , Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and FOR1 further teaches the the metallic material has a higher melting temperature than the phase change material (see Page 4, in which the storage material 3 may include cast iron and lead, for example). Regarding claim 22, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 3, and FOR1 further teaches the the at least one heater comprises heat exchanger tubes (5) which extend into the thermal mass composition in the vessel, the heat exchanger tubes flowing a heated second heat transfer fluid through the tubes which heats the thermal mass composition , t herefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to include the indirect heating of FOR1, in order to provide additional means to heat the heat storage material via an external energy source via indirect heating (Page 7-8). Claim(s) 3- 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108286732A) in view of DE2012103544U1, hereinafter FOR1 , and in further view of Erb (US3989927A). Regarding claims 3-8, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Liu does not teach the housing comprises a top closure plate, a bottom closure plate, and a plurality of sidewalls extending therebetween ; the housing comprises a support base configured for placement on a flat concrete foundation slab ; the housing is vertically elongated and has a rectangular cuboid configuration ; the top header is supported on the top closure plate and the bottom header is supported on the bottom closure plate ; the heat exchanger further comprises a top tubesheet supported on the top closure plate inside the top flow plenum, and a bottom tubesheet supported on the bottom closure plate inside the bottom flow plenum ; t op ends of the tubes are coupled to and extend through the top tubesheet , and bottom ends of the heat exchanger tubes are coupled to and extend through the bottom tubesheet . Erb teaches (see annotated Fig. 1 & Col. 7, lines 40-45, Col. 5, lines 35-40 , & Fig. 2 ) the housing comprises a top closure plate, a bottom closure plate, and a plurality of sidewalls extending therebetween ; the housing comprises a support base configured for placement on a flat concrete foundation slab (see bottom thereof, capable of being placed on a concrete slab) ; the housing is vertically elongated and has a rectangular cuboid configuration (see shape, as also seen in Fig. 2) ; the top header is supported on the top closure plate and the bottom header is supported on the bottom closure plate; the heat exchanger further comprises a top tubesheet supported on the top closure plate inside the top flow plenum, and a bottom tubesheet supported on the bottom closure plate inside the bottom flow plenum; top ends of the tubes are coupled to and extend through the top tubesheet , and bottom ends of the heat exchanger tubes are coupled to and extend through the bottom tubesheet . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to include the housing configuration as taught by Erb , in order to provide a cost effective, yet structurally rigid housing (Col. 4, lines 0-15). Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 8, and Liu further teaches the top tubesheet further comprises a plurality of upwardly protruding extension tubes (see extension of 5 through and above 8) , each extension tube being fluidly coupled to and associated with a respective one of the heat exchanger tubes (5) Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 9, and Liu further teaches top ends of the extension tubes terminate at an elevation greater than a surface level of a condensate pool P formed in the top flow plenum inside the top header (see extension of 5 above 8). Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108286732A) in view of DE2012103544U1, hereinafter FOR1, and in further view of Erb (US3989927A) and Ingraham (US3317223A). Regarding claims 11 -12, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 8, and Liu does not teach the housing further comprises an annular thermal expansion sleeve fixedly coupled to the top closure plate, the sleeve circumferentially surrounding the top sheet and a lower portion of top header which are slideably disposed inside the sleeve , wherein when the heat exchanger tubes are heated and expand in length, the top sheet and top header move upwards with the top ends of the heat exchanger tubes relative to the top closure plate which remains stationary. Ingraham teaches (see Fig. 4) the housing further comprises an annular thermal expansion sleeve (36) fixedly coupled to the top closure plate (24), the sleeve circumferentially surrounding the top sheet and a lower portion of top header (27) which are slideably disposed inside the sleeve, wherein when the heat exchanger tubes (22) are heated and expand in length, the top sheet and top header move upwards with the top ends of the heat exchanger tubes relative to the top closure plate which remains stationary. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to include the thermal expansion sleeve of Ingraham, in order to preclude leakage while permitting variations in thermal expansion (Col. 1, lines 25-40). Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108286732A) in view of DE2012103544U1, hereinafter FOR1, and in further view of Jiang (CN104843369A). Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 22, and Liu does not teach the heaters are removably coupled to an opposing pair of the sidewalls of the housing, the heaters being slideably insertable into and retractable from the internal cavity of the vessel in a horizontal direction. Jiang teaches the heaters (heaters 4) are removably coupled to an opposing pair of the sidewalls of the housing, the heaters being slideably insertable into and retractable from the internal cavity of the vessel (5) in a horizontal direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to include the heater configuration of Jiang, in order to easily remove and replace the heaters (Page 6). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ERIC S RUPPERT whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9911 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 8 am - 4 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Len Tran can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1184 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERIC S RUPPERT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763