DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 24, 2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paragraph 0047, 5th line --inserted-- is suggested to replace “inset”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,5,7-9,16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz et al. in view of Alcoe.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 19, Dietz teaches a human-machine interface assembly (interactive control panel 100; see at least paragraph 0014 and fig. 1A), comprising: a fascia (101); and a printed circuit board (PCB 107; paragraph 0017).
Dietz teaches the claimed invention except for the backer selectively flexible between a first curved state and a second flexed state, and attached to the fascia in the second flexed state to bias the PCB against the fascia.
Alcoe teaches the use of the normally curved backer (“32”; see figs. 6 and 7) for the purpose of applying pressure to the circuit board (“20”) to improve thermal conduction and reliability (col. 4, line 43 to col. 5, line 12).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alcoe with Dietz, since the flexed backer taught by Alcoe improves the mechanical reliability and thermal conductance of the interface device of Dietz.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Dietz teaches the claimed invention except for the backer includes a material that reduces relative movement of the backer and the PCB, and wherein the backer includes a light-sealant material.
Alcoe teaches the backer including a material comprising of boron nitride filled silicone elastomer (“42”) attached to the backer to prevent movement between the backer and the PCB. The material also functions as light-sealant (boron nitride-filled silicone prevents visible light and ultraviolet light from passing through).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alcoe with Dietz, since the material taught by Alcoe prevents movement between the PCB and the backer, and to further prevent visible light from passing through.
Regarding claims 7-9, Dietz teaches the claimed invention except for the PCB including an alignment feature, the alignment feature being configured to align the fascia and the PCB.
Alcoe teaches the alignment feature for the PCB (through holes for the PCB; see fig. 6) for the purpose of aligning and holding the PCB in place. Alcoe further teaches that, the portion (34) of the backer (32) being inserted through the through holes formed on the PCB.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alcoe with Dietz, since the alignment feature taught by Alcoe aligns and holds the PCB in place for the interface device of Dietz.
Regarding claim 16, Dietz teaches the claimed invention except for backer including one or more light cups.
Alcoe teaches the backer including the light cup (aluminum cup 28) for the purpose of reflecting light.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective claimed date to combine the teachings of Alcoe with Dietz, since the light cup taught by Alcoe allows for light reflection so as to guide a light to a specific direction.
Regarding claim 18, Dietz teaches the claimed invention except for the fascia
including an extension or ledge engaged with the PCB.
Alcoe teaches the extension (34) extending from the fascia (38) for the purpose of holding the PCB in place (see at least col. 4, line 43 to col. 5, line 12).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alcoe with Dietz, since the extension taught by Alcoe allows for alignment of the PCB within the interface device of Dietz.
Regarding claim 20, Dietz teaches the claimed invention except for the method of assembling the human-machine interface assembly.
Alcoe teaches the method comprising:
placing a middle portion of the backer (32) against a middle portion of the PCB (20) while the backer is in the first curved state (see fig. 6);
moving ends of the backer (32) toward the fascia to transition the backer from the first
curved state to the second flexed state (see fig. 7); and
engaging the ends of the backer with the fascia to secure the backer, the fascia,
and the PCB together (with the use of posts 34 and nuts 36).
Alcoe teaches the use of the normally curved backer (“32”; see figs. 6 and 7) for the purpose of applying pressure to the circuit board (“20”) to improve thermal conduction and reliability (col. 4, line 43 to col. 5, line 12).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alcoe with Dietz, since the method of assembly taught by Alcoe allows for pressure to be placed on the circuit board to further improve thermal conduction and reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 10-11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 depends on claim 10.
Conclusion
/KYUNG S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831