Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 9 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the multiple groups can be searched and examined together with no burden. This is not found persuasive because the formation methods and structural features of the all-solid-state battery are in fact different invention which will require separate searches and rejections as prior art applicable to one invention may not be applicable to another. The inventions have separate classifications in the art as applied in the restriction requirement. While appearing to be similar in scope at the current time, claim amendments may make the scope of the two groups very different during prosecution which will present a serious burden on examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 or 2) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US Pub 2021/0202936 newly cited).
In regard to claim 1-5, Oh et al. teach an all-solid-state battery (100, 200, 300 – battery 300 in figure 3a reproduced below) comprising: a negative electrode current collector 150; a negative electrode layer (layers 310-350) disposed on the negative electrode current collector; a solid electrolyte layer 130 disposed on the negative electrode layer; a positive electrode layer 120 disposed on the solid electrolyte layer; and a positive electrode current collector 110 disposed on the positive electrode layer,
wherein the negative electrode layer comprises:
a first lithiophilic layer 350 disposed on the negative electrode current collector 150 and comprising a first metal (such as tin – in regard to claim 2) capable of alloying with lithium;
a first negative electrode active material layer 340 disposed on the first lithiophilic layer and comprising a first negative electrode active material such as a silicon-based materials (per claim 3);
a second lithiophilic layer 330 disposed on the first negative electrode active material layer and comprising a second metal (such as tin – in regard to claim 4) capable of alloying with lithium; and a second negative electrode active material layer disposed on the second lithiophilic layer and comprising a second negative electrode active material such as a silicon-based materials (per claim 5 – see paragraphs [0018-0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
In regard to claim 6, Oh et al. teach the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, and teaches in paragraph [0026]:
“Although indicated in FIGS. 1A-3B as lamellar structures, it is well known that other shapes and configurations of solid-state electrochemical cells are possible. Most generally, a lithium solid-state battery may be produced by providing a cathode, a solid electrolyte layer, and a silicon and/or tin layer sequentially layered and pressed between electrodes and provided within a housing. Although specific stackings of tin and/or silicon layers are shown in the associated figures, additional configurations may include alternate arrangements of the tin and silicon layers and/or include more layers of tin and/or silicon than shown and described.”
Further, tin particles up to 5 microns may be included (paragraph [0024]).
Therefore, while no overall thickness is explicitly disclosed by the prior art, changes to size and shape of the prior art electrode are an obvious modification absent evidence to the contrary (see MPEP 2144.04 Part IV) and the claimed range of the negative electrode layer has a thickness in a range of about 70 μm to 150 μm is taken to be an obvious modification depending on the desired properties and number of layers in the prior art electrode.
In regard to claim 7, Oh et al. teach the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein the negative electrode layer comprises: a first main surface 350 being in contact with the negative electrode current collector 140; and a second main surface 310 being in contact with the solid electrolyte layer 130, and appears to show schematically that the second lithiophilic layer 330 is positioned in a space between a first plane spaced from the first main surface toward the solid electrolyte layer by a distance corresponding to about 40% of the thickness of the negative electrode layer along a direction of the thickness and a second plane spaced from the second main surface toward the negative electrode current collector by a distance corresponding to about 40% of the thickness of the negative electrode layer along a direction of the thickness (each layer is shown as about 20% of the thickness of the electrode, specification discloses comparable thicknesses for tin and silicon layers).
The schematic representation above taken in combination with the thicknesses described in the prior art overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
In regard to claim 8, Oh et al. teach sputtering the lithiophilic tin layers for different durations to form layers such as 2.5 micron or 1.25 micron (paragraph [0030]), which overlaps or is close enough to the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05). In any event, changes to size and shape of the prior art electrode are an obvious modification absent evidence to the contrary (see MPEP 2144.04 Part IV).
In regard to claim 20, while no specific application is disclosed by Oh et al, the prior art was made with support from the US Missile Defense Agency (paragraph [0002]) and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed that the battery of Oh et al. would be usable in a missile intercepting vehicle such as a drone or similar missile.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhao et al. (US Pub 2014/0045058 newly cited) teaches similar hybrid layered anodes including lithiophilic and active material layers (see figures).
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723