Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/30/23 has been considered by the examiner.
Amendment Entered
In response to the amendment filed on August 25, 2025, amended claims 1 and 6 have been entered. Claim 20 has been cancelled. New claim 21 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks and amendments with respect to the double patenting rejections are acknowledged. Applicant appears to hold these rejections in abeyance. As such, Examiner maintains the double patenting rejections.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections raised in the previous office action were fully considered, but are moot in view of the current combination of references that were necessitated by amendment. Please see prior art section below for more detail, updated citations (Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey references), and updated obviousness rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 1023 as being unpatentable over Palmer
(US Patent Application Document 2016/0022225) and in further view of Esfandiari (US Patent Application Document 2015/0285799), Lenigk (US Patent Application Document 2016/0023209) and Frey (US Patent Application Document 2013/0296664)
Palmer and Frey were applied in the previous office action
Regarding claim 1, Palmer teaches a bodily fluid indicator device comprising: a substrate [fig. 3A,
element 18; par. 69]; and an absorbent material covering a portion of the substrate [fig. 3A, element 16; par. 69], wherein the absorbent material comprises at least one of a graduated scale and/or a reactive feature [par. 77].
However, Palmer does not teach wherein the absorbent material comprises at least one of a graduated scale and/or a reactive feature printed on the absorbent material: and one or more bendable tabs extending from the substrate, wherein the tabs are movable between a first position being substantially coplanar with the substrate and a second position being non-coplanar with the substrate, and wherein the tabs, when in the second position are configured to prevent a distal end of the absorbent material from contacting the source of the bodily fluid during collection.
Esfandiari teaches the absorbent material comprising at least one of a graduated scale and a
visual reactive feature printed directly on the second absorbent material [par. 41]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary
skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Palmer, to incorporate the absorbent material comprising at least one of a graduated scale and a visual reactive feature printed directly on the absorbent material, for providing a test line to compare results, as evidence by Esfandiari [par. 41]
Lenigk teaches one or more bendable tabs extending from the substrate, wherein the tabs are movable between a first position being substantially coplanar with the substrate and a second position being non-coplanar with the substrate [fig. 5A, 5B; par. 65]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Palmer, to incorporate one or more bendable tabs extending from the substrate, wherein the tabs are movable between a first position being substantially coplanar with the substrate and a second position being non-coplanar with the substrate, for protection of the substrate, as evidence by Lenigk [par. 65].
Frey teaches and wherein the tabs, when in the second position are configured to prevent a distal end of the absorbent material from contacting the source of the bodily fluid during collection [fig. 3a, 3b; par. 143].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Palmer, to incorporate and wherein the tabs, when in the second position are configured to prevent a distal end of the absorbent material from contacting the source of the bodily fluid during collection, for ensuring the fluid only contacts the electrodes, as evidence by Frey [par. 143].
Regarding claim 2, Palmer further teaches the absorbent material is configured to collect and
evaluate bodily fluid of a subject [par. 52].
Regarding claim 3, Palmer further teaches the bodily fluid indicator device is configured to determine the presence of at least one of pathogens, viruses, enzymes, hormones, metabolites, metals, or microbial contamination in collected bodily fluid of a subject [par. 52].
Regarding claim 5, Palmer further teaches the device is configured to collect bodily fluid from a domestic animal [par. 7, 52]
Regarding claim 6, Lenigk further teaches wherein the one or more bendable tabs are angled relative to the substrate for placement of the device with respect to a subject [par. 65].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art
when the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as taught by Palmer, to incorporate wherein the one or more bendable tabs are angled relative to the substrate for placement of the device with respect to a subject, for exposing the sample substrate, as evidence by Lenigk [par. 65]
Regarding claim 7, Palmer further teaches wherein collected bodily fluid of a subject on the absorbent material is exposed to one or more testing materials [par. 66].
Regarding claim 8, Palmer further teaches wherein collected bodily fluid of a subject on the absorbent material exhibits a visible change when exposed to natural, fluorescent, and/or UV illumination [par. 55].
Regarding claim 12, Palmer further teaches the absorbent material comprises a cellulose-based material [par. 69].
Regarding claim 13, Palmer further teaches the absorbent material comprises an inorganic material [par. 69].
Regarding claim 14, Palmer further teaches configured to collect bodily fluid comprising at least one of saliva, sweat, urine, nasal fluid, breast milk, breast discharge, vaginal fluid, and/or rectal fluid [par. 52].
Regarding claim 15, Palmer further teaches the substrate further comprises at least one of a biosensor, sensor, and/or electrode [par. 77].
Regarding claim 16, Palmer further teaches the at least one biosensor, sensor, and/or electrode is in operable communication with the absorbent material [par. 77].
Regarding claim 17, Palmer further teaches the at least one biosensor, sensor, and/or electrode is configured to produce a signal that is colorimetric and/or electronic [par. 77]
Regarding claim 18, Palmer further teaches the signal corresponds to an indication of the presence of at least one of pathogens, viruses, enzymes, hormones, metabolites, metals or microbial contaminates [par. 52].
Regarding claim 19, Palmer further teaches the device is configured to produce a plurality of signals corresponding to a plurality of pathogens, viruses, enzymes, hormones, metabolites, metals or microbial contaminates [par. 14, 52]
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk
and Frey and in further view of Kobayashi (US Patent Application Document 2017/0122853)
Kobayashi was applied in the previous office action
Regarding claim 4, Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey teach a bodily fluid indicator device, as disclosed above.
However, Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey do not teach the presence of a pharmaceutical contamination is detected in collected bodily fluid of a subject.
Kobayashi teaches the presence of a pharmaceutical contamination is detected in collected bodily fluid of a subject [par. 136, 142]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art
when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey, to incorporate the presence of a pharmaceutical contamination is detected in collected bodily fluid of a subject, for performing detection of contaminants to ensure the contaminant is decreasing, as evidence by Kobayashi [par. 136, 142]
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk
and Frey and in further view of Hanselle (US Patent Application Document 2010/0317051)
Hanselle was applied in the previous office action
Regarding claim 9, Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey teach a bodily fluid indicator device, as disclosed above.
However, Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey do not teach bodily fluid of a subject is collected from a subject that is not living and/or recently deceased.
Hanselle teaches bodily fluid of a subject is collected from a subject that is not living and/or recently deceased [par. 97]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art
when the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as taught by Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey, to incorporate bodily fluid of a subject is collected from a subject that is not living and/or recently deceased, for detection of dead animals to allow for the determination of cause of death, as evidence by Hanselle [par. 97]
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk
and Frey and in further view of Everett (US Patent Application Document 2014/0349005)
Everett was applied in the previous office action
Regarding claim 10, Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey teach a bodily fluid indicator device, as disclosed above.
However, Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey do not teach the bodily fluid of a subject is collected from the central nervous system of the subject.
Everett teaches the bodily fluid of a subject is collected from the central nervous system of the subject [par. 36]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art
when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey, to incorporate the bodily fluid of a subject is collected from the central nervous system of the subject, for detection of central nervous system injury, as evidence by Everett [par. 36]
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk
and Frey and in further view of Goldstein (US Patent Application Document 2015/0216471)
Goldstein was applied in the previous office action
Regarding claim 11, Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey teach a bodily fluid indicator device, as disclosed above.
However, Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey do not teach the absorbent material comprises one or more nanoparticle reactive agents.
Goldstein teaches the absorbent material comprises one or more nanoparticle reactive agents [par. 91]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art
when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Palmer, Esfandiari, Lenigk and Frey, to incorporate the absorbent material comprises one or more nanoparticle reactive agents, for allowing for colorization to indicate the amount of analyte, as evidence by Goldstein [par. 93]
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer and in further
view of Lenigk and Frey
Regarding claim 21, Palmer teaches a bodily fluid indicator device comprising: a substrate [[fig. 3A, element 18; par. 69]; an absorbent material covering a portion of the substrate [fig. 3A, element 16; par. 69], wherein the absorbent material is configured to contact a source of bodily fluid so that bodily fluid migrates toward a distal end of the absorbent material [par. 52]; and at least one fluid characterization feature attached to or printed onto the substrate [par. 66].
However, Palmer does not teach one or more bendable tabs extending from the substrate, wherein the tabs are movable between a first position being substantially coplanar with the substrate and a second position being non-coplanar with the substrate, and wherein the tabs, when in the second position are configured to prevent a distal end of the absorbent material from contacting the source of the bodily fluid during collection
Lenigk teaches one or more bendable tabs extending from the substrate, wherein the tabs are movable between a first position being substantially coplanar with the substrate and a second position being non-coplanar with the substrate [fig. 5A, 5B; par. 65]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Palmer, to incorporate one or more bendable tabs extending from the substrate, wherein the tabs are movable between a first position being substantially coplanar with the substrate and a second position being non-coplanar with the substrate, for protection of the substrate, as evidence by Lenigk [par. 65].
Frey teaches the tabs, when in the second position are configured to prevent a distal end of the absorbent material from contacting the source of the bodily fluid during collection [fig. 3a, 3b; par. 143].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Palmer, to incorporate the tabs, when in the second position are configured to prevent a distal end of the absorbent material from contacting the source of the bodily fluid during collection, for ensuring the fluid only contacts the electrodes, as evidence by Frey [par. 143]
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 21-39 of US Patent No. 17/934,087. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as they are understood to be obvious variants of one another.
Claim 1 of the reference claim states a bodily fluid indicator device, the device comprising: a substrate comprising a surface; an absorbent material covering at least a portion of the surface of the substrate; the second portion of the absorbent material comprising at least one of a graduated scale and a visual reactive feature printed directly on the second portion of the absorbent material. This falls entirely within the scope of the limitations of pending claim 1 which states a bodily fluid indicator device comprising: a substrate; and an absorbent material covering a portion of the substrate, wherein the absorbent material comprises at least one of a graduated scale and/or a reactive feature.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the device as claimed in the pending claim, to incorporate the second portion of the absorbent material comprising at least one of a graduated scale and a visual reactive feature printed directly on the second portion of the absorbent material, as the limitation in the pending claim is encompassed by the limitation in the reference claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE L ROZANSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791