DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims filed 22 April 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not specifically challenge the new reference (NAENKO, cited below) in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10, and 16-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANG et al. Pub. No.: US 2020/0028785 A1 (hereafter ANG), in view of NAENKO et al. Patent No.: US 10,019,282 B1 (hereafter NAENKO).
ANG was cited previously
Regarding claim 1, ANG teaches:
A method, comprising:
executing a supervisor; executing a first virtual machine on the supervisor ([0022] Hypervisors 109A and 109B (i.e., “supervisors”) are software layers or components that support the execution of multiple VMs, such as VM1A-VM1B);
detecting a first exit from the first virtual machine ([0027] In an embodiment, an approach includes offloading the fast path processing from a VM (i.e., “first VM”) onto an offload destination, and allowing the less frequent slow path processing to be still performed by the VM. [0073] In step 604, the hypervisor determines whether the network function packet processing can be offloaded (i.e., a determination that packet processing will be offloaded to the hypervisor causes the packet processing to “exit” the virtual machine));
responsive to detecting…the first exit…loading a userspace context without loading a supervisor context ([0051] Hypervisor 109A offloads network function packet processing module 210 onto user space 304 (i.e., user space “context”), and saves it as an offloaded network function packet processing module 215B, or an offload 215B, in user space 304. Offload 215B is downloaded to user space 304 to facilitate network function packet processing of a packet 201B along a path 410B, and to produce a resulting, processed packet 216B (i.e., processing the packet in user space does not use, or “load” other offload destinations including kernel space));
executing a second virtual machine on the supervisor ([0022] Hypervisors 109A and 109B are software layers or components that support the execution of multiple VMs, such as VM1A-VM1B (i.e., at least a “second VM”));
detecting a second exit from the second virtual machine ([0027] In an embodiment, an approach includes offloading the fast path processing from a VM onto an offload destination, and allowing the less frequent slow path processing to be still performed by the VM. [0073] In step 604, the hypervisor determines whether the network function packet processing can be offloaded (i.e., a determination that packet processing will be offloaded to the hypervisor causes the packet processing to “exit” the virtual machine. A decision to offload processing of a second packet of a data flow (see [0027]) represents a “second exit”)); and
responsive to detecting…the second exit, loading the supervisor context ([0050] Hypervisor 109A offloads network function packet processing module 210 onto kernel space 302 (i.e., “supervisor context”), and saves it as an offloaded network function packet processing module 215A, also called an offload 215A, in kernel space 302. Offload 215A is downloaded to kernel space 302 to facilitate network function packet processing of a packet 201A along a path 410A, and to produce a resulting, processed packet 216A).
While ANG discusses detection of first and second virtual machine exits, ANG does not explicitly teach:
detecting that the first exit is of a first exit type based on a first lookup of a table that maps exit codes to corresponding context switch destinations;
detecting that the second exit is of a second exit type based on a second lookup of the table;
However, in analogous art that similarly teaches detection of first and second virtual machine exits, NAENKO teaches:
detecting that the first exit is of a first exit type based on a first lookup of a table that maps exit codes to corresponding context switch destinations; detecting that the second exit is of a second exit type based on a second lookup of the table ([Column 6, Lines 6-8] Intercepting VM exits by the VM exit processing accelerator which may process certain types of VM exits or pass other types of VM exits through to the original VM exit handler. [Column 7, Lines 1-11] At block 450, the processing device may read, from the VMCS associated with the virtual machine, an identifier of the reason of the VM exit. Responsive to determining that the identifier of the reason of the VM exit satisfies a certain condition (such as matches a pre-defined or dynamically calculated value or matches a certain rule), the processing device may, at block 460, process the VM exit by the VM exit processing accelerator, as described in more details herein above. Otherwise, the processing device may, at block 470, use the stored pointer value to transfer control to the previously configured VM exit handler (i.e., multiple types of virtual machine exits are detected based on looking up the identifier of the exit reason in a pre-defined lookup table to determine a destination to transfer, or switch the exit to));
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined NAENKO’s teaching of determining whether a VM exit is of a first or second type based on a lookup, with ANG’s teaching of determining first and second VM exits, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that determines a first and second VM exit, as in ANG, by looking up an identifier to determine a VM exit type, as in NAENKO. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to facilitate execution of VM exits of a particular type without requiring transfer of control to a VMM (NAENKO Column 2, Line 66-Column 3, Line 14).
Regarding claim 2, ANG further teaches:
the first virtual machine and the second virtual machine are a same virtual machine (FIGS 4A and 4B illustrate the same VM (VM1 107A) offloading packets to both the kernel space 302, in 4A, or the user space 304, in 4B).
Regarding claim 3, ANG further teaches:
inspecting a first exit status to determine whether a supervisor context switch is required for the first exit ([0074] If, in step 606, the hypervisor determines that the network function packet processing can be offloaded, then, in step 610, the hypervisor determines an offload destination. [0005] The offload itself and the offload's destination are usually determined based on availability of PNICs, capacities of the available PNICs, hardware capabilities of the PNIC and capabilities of the hypervisor (i.e., any of the factors used to determine the offload’s destination may be considered “first exit status”)); and
responsive to the first exit not requiring the supervisor context switch, loading the userspace context without loading the supervisor context ([0075] An offload destination is a hypervisor kernel space (612), a hypervisor user space (618), and/or a PNIC (614). The offload destination may be selected based on the factors and considerations described above. [0051] Hypervisor 109A offloads network function packet processing module 210 onto user space 304 (i.e., user space “context”), and saves it as an offloaded network function packet processing module 215B, or an offload 215B, in user space 304. Offload 215B is downloaded to user space 304 to facilitate network function packet processing of a packet 201B along a path 410B, and to produce a resulting, processed packet 216B (i.e., processing the packet in user space does not use, or “load” other offload destinations including kernel space)).
Regarding claim 4, ANG further teaches:
inspecting a second exit status to determine whether a supervisor context switch is required for the second exit ([0074] If, in step 606, the hypervisor determines that the network function packet processing can be offloaded, then, in step 610, the hypervisor determines an offload destination. [0005] The offload itself and the offload's destination are usually determined based on availability of PNICs, capacities of the available PNICs, hardware capabilities of the PNIC and capabilities of the hypervisor (i.e., any of the factors used to determine the offload’s destination may be considered “second exit status”)); and responsive to the second exit requiring the supervisor context switch, loading the supervisor context ([0075] An offload destination is a hypervisor kernel space (612), a hypervisor user space (618), and/or a PNIC (614). The offload destination may be selected based on the factors and considerations described above. [0050] Hypervisor 109A offloads network function packet processing module 210 onto kernel space 302 (i.e., “supervisor context”), and saves it as an offloaded network function packet processing module 215A, also called an offload 215A, in kernel space 302. Offload 215A is downloaded to kernel space 302 to facilitate network function packet processing of a packet 201A along a path 410A, and to produce a resulting, processed packet 216A).
Regarding claim 10, it comprises limitations similar to those of claims 1, 3, and 4. They are therefore
Regarding claim 16, ANG further teaches:
checking whether an exit status is of the first type; and responsive to determining that the exit status is not of the first type, determining that the exit status is of the second type ([0074] If, in step 606, the hypervisor determines that the network function packet processing can be offloaded, then, in step 610, the hypervisor determines an offload destination. [0005] The offload itself and the offload's destination are usually determined based on availability of PNICs, capacities of the available PNICs, hardware capabilities of the PNIC and capabilities of the hypervisor (i.e., any of the factors used to determine the offload’s destination may be considered “first exit status” used to determine whether packet processing is of a type requiring offload to a kernel space (first type of exit status, which is not a second type) or of a type requiring offload to a user space (second type of exit status, which is not a first type))).
Regarding claim 17, ANG further teaches:
checking whether an exit status is of the second type; and responsive to determining that the exit status is not of the second type, determining that the exit status is of the first type ([0074] If, in step 606, the hypervisor determines that the network function packet processing can be offloaded, then, in step 610, the hypervisor determines an offload destination. [0005] The offload itself and the offload's destination are usually determined based on availability of PNICs, capacities of the available PNICs, hardware capabilities of the PNIC and capabilities of the hypervisor (i.e., any of the factors used to determine the offload’s destination may be considered “second exit status” used to determine whether packet processing is of a type requiring offload to a kernel space (first type of exit status, which is not a second type) or of a type requiring offload to a user space (second type of exit status, which is not a first type))).
Regarding claim 18, it comprises limitations similar to claims 1, 3, and 4, and is therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, they comprise limitations similar to claims 16 and 17 respectively, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claims 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANG, and NAENKO, as applied to claims 1, and 10 above, and in further view of LEMAY et al. Pub. No.: US 2024/0220423 A1 (hereafter LEMAY).
LEMAY was cited previously.
Regarding claim 5, while ANG and NAENKO discusses executing exits from VMs, ANG and NAENKO does not explicitly teach:
the second exit status is a page fault or timer interrupt.
However, in analogous art that similarly executes VMexits, LEMAY teaches:
the second exit status is a page fault or timer interrupt ([0050] An event may be received to be handled by the kernel at block 412. The processor is the first entity to receive the event. Events don't necessarily result in switching processes. Sometimes the same process will be resumed after the event has been processed. In other cases, processing the event results in a process switch event. [0051] A process switch event may include a system call (syscall), an interrupt, or an exception. Control of execution is switched to kernel 117 at block 414 to handle the process switch event. [0056] FIG. 7 illustrates transferring control 700 from a compartment to the kernel 117 according to an implementation. When usermode execution exits to the OS 116 (e.g., due to issuing a syscall, generating an exception, or being interrupted), VMM 120 detects this event and switches to the appropriate EPT view for supervisor execution (i.e., interrupts cause VM exit to a supervisor kernel mode)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined LEMAY’s teaching of exiting a VM to a supervisor kernel mode due to an interrupt, with ANG and NAENKO’s teaching of exiting a VM to a supervisor kernel mode, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that exits a VM to a supervisor kernel mode, as in ANG and NAENKO, based on receiving an operation that requires the kernel to be used, such as an interrupt, as in LEMAY. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to enable events requiring supervisory interaction, such as interrupts, syscalls, and exceptions, to be properly processed while maintaining memory security (LEMAY [0001]).
Regarding claim 11, it comprises limitations similar to claim 5, and is therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claims 6, 7, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANG, and NAENKO as applied to claims 1, and 10 above, and in further view of XIAO et al. Pub. No.: US 2021/0334125 A1 (hereafter XIAO).
XIAO was cited previously.
Regarding claim 6, while ANG and NAENKO discusses causing virtual machine exits, ANG and NAENKO does not explicitly teach:
saving a first guest context of the first virtual machine to storage; and saving a second guest context of the second virtual machine to the storage.
However, in analogous art that similarly teaches causing virtual machine exits, XIAO teaches:
saving a first guest context of the first virtual machine to storage; and saving a second guest context of the second virtual machine to the storage ([0006] The method may include suspending, by the guest operating system, running of the application, and causing an exit to the virtual machine monitor, then storing, by the virtual machine monitor, resumption information of the application, where the resumption information may include a context of the application or a storage address of the context, and next, restoring, by the virtual machine monitor, the context of the application based on the resumption information, and causing an entry to the guest operating system, so that running of the application may be resumed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined XIAO’s teaching of saving application context when causing virtual machine exits, with ANG and NAENKO’s teaching of causing virtual machine exits to perform packet processing tasks, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that causes virtual machine exits to perform packet processing tasks, as in ANG and NAENKO, which involves saving application context, as in XIAO. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to ensure that applications may be resumed with a relative faster resumption speed (XIAO [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, XIAO further teaches:
loading the first guest context or the second guest context into memory ([0006] The method may include suspending, by the guest operating system, running of the application, and causing an exit to the virtual machine monitor, then storing (i.e., in “memory”), by the virtual machine monitor, resumption information of the application, where the resumption information may include a context of the application or a storage address of the context, and next, restoring, by the virtual machine monitor, the context of the application based on the resumption information, and causing an entry to the guest operating system, so that running of the application may be resumed).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, they comprise limitations similar to claims 6-7, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claims 8, 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANG, and NAENKO as applied to claims 1, and 10 above, and in further view of TAOKORO et al. Pub. No.: US 2021/0294528 A1 (hereafter TAOKORO).
TAOKORO was cited previously.
Regarding claim 8, while ANG and NAENKO discusses switching between user space and kernel space, ANG and NAENKO does not explicitly teach:
saving the userspace context to storage.
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses switching between user space and kernel space, TADOKORO teaches:
saving the userspace context to storage ([0069] The user space thread 103 includes a plurality of coroutines (coroutines (1) to (3) in the example of FIG. 2). A coroutine (also described as a small execution row) is a type of programing structure. The coroutine allows processing execution to be suspended and resumed during execution. The host 2 can execute only one coroutine simultaneously. By using a function called context switch, the host 2 can switch from one coroutine to another coroutine. The coroutine is a light thread in which a context switch is possible in a few ns. During a context switch, the user space thread 103 saves, in a stack, a memory device (register) (i.e., “userspace context” saved in “memory”) inside the host CPU 20, and switches a stack pointer).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined TADOKORO’s teaching of saving userspace context in memory, with ANG and NAENKO’s teaching of switching between userspace and kernel, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that switches between userspace and kernel, as in ANG, and NAENKO and in doing so, saves userspace context, as in TADOKORO. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to enable user space coroutines to properly resume after switching using stored context.
Regarding claim 9, TADOKORO further teaches:
the userspace context is stored on a userspace stack ([0069] The user space thread 103 includes a plurality of coroutines (coroutines (1) to (3) in the example of FIG. 2). A coroutine (also described as a small execution row) is a type of programing structure. The coroutine allows processing execution to be suspended and resumed during execution. The host 2 can execute only one coroutine simultaneously. By using a function called context switch, the host 2 can switch from one coroutine to another coroutine. The coroutine is a light thread in which a context switch is possible in a few ns. During a context switch, the user space thread 103 saves, in a stack, a memory device (register) (i.e., “userspace context” saved in “memory”) inside the host CPU 20, and switches a stack pointer).
Regarding claims 14-15, they comprise limitations similar to claims 8-9, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W AYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195