Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 21-22 are allowed. The cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 1 but fail to teach and an additional liquid injection conduit and an additional liquid injection outlet passage, wherein the additional liquid injection outlet passage is fluidly coupled to the additional liquid injection conduit, and the additional liquid injection outlet passage is configured to output an additional jet of the liquid toward the soil to inject the liquid into the soil at an additional liquid location in front of the ground engaging tool relative to the direction of travel; and an anhydrous ammonia application system comprising an anhydrous ammonia application conduit and an anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage, wherein the anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage is fluidly coupled to the anhydrous ammonia application conduit, and the anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage is configured to apply anhydrous ammonia to the soil at an anhydrous ammonia location behind the ground engaging tool relative to the direction of travel.
Therefore, claim 1 and its dependent claims are rejected.
Claim 19-20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newton (US PUB. 20050211802) in view of Buse et al (US PUB. 20200100424, herein Buse) in further view of Colburn et al (US PUB. 5673637, herein Colburn).
Regarding claim 7, Newton teaches A control system comprising:
a soil moisture sensor configured to output a first signal indicative of a soil moisture value of soil of a field (0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feedback control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”);
and a controller comprising: and one or more processors, wherein the controller is configured to: receive the first signal from the soil moisture sensor (0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”, computerized control);
determine an estimated soil moisture value based on the first signal (0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”, computerized control);
The cited prior art do not teach a memory configured to store instruction, increase a commanded flowrate of a liquid based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below a low threshold soil moisture value; decrease the commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding a high threshold soil moisture value; increase an additional commanded flowrate of anhydrous ammonia based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding the high threshold soil moisture value; and decrease the additional commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below the low threshold soil moisture value.
Buse teaches a memory configured to store instructions (0018 “Each of the metering units 102 can be communicatively coupled to an electronic data controller 124, which can be arranged locally, e.g., on the work vehicle 140, or remotely at data processing center. In embodiments, the electronic data controller 124 can comprise a microprocessor, a microcontroller, a central processing unit, a programmable logic array, a programmable logic controller, an application specific integrated circuit, a logic circuit, an arithmetic logic unit, or another data processing system for processing, storing, retrieving, or manipulating electronic data associated with the metering units”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Newton with the teachings of Buse since Buse teaches a means for robust and cost-effective metering and application system that provides improved metering accuracy (0003).
The cited prior art do not teach increase a commanded flowrate of a liquid based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below a low threshold soil moisture value; decrease the commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding a high threshold soil moisture value; increase an additional commanded flowrate of anhydrous ammonia based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding the high threshold soil moisture value; and decrease the additional commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below the low threshold soil moisture value.
Colburn teaches increase a commanded flowrate of a liquid based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below a low threshold soil moisture value; decrease the commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding a high threshold soil moisture value; increase an additional commanded flowrate of anhydrous ammonia based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding the high threshold soil moisture value; and decrease the additional commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below the low threshold soil moisture value (4:20-35 “it is preferable to measure the complex soil resistivity rather than just the `simple` soil resistivity (or the real component of the complex resistivity) as was done previously. It is a further improvement to measure the naturally occurring solute present in the soil, as well as proportional clay content and organic matter, and to utilize the latter to aid in applying chemicals in addition to soil correcting chemicals. In still another improvement, the measuring apparatus may be calibrated intermittently through the aid of either a fluid of two different conductivities or two different fluids of differing conductivities” 8:25-35 “agronomic studies of crop response to soil variables that both crop yield and quality are related to spatial variations of soil texture and chemical constituents. The spatial variation of soil clay content in a field influence crop uptake of nitrates, thus influencing crop quality. Further, soil type and textural characteristics have long been used by the USDA Extension system to rate the yield potential of soils. Existing regional recommendations of existing agricultural services may thus be used to assist in fertilizer application on the basis of a component of complex soil resistivity (e.g., EC.sub.s or T)”, 12:20-30 “The control valve 87, preferably a fast acting solenoid valve, may be rapidly opened and closed in response to a modulated output signal from sensing and control means 70. The sensing and control means first determines a component of the calibrated complex resistivity of the soil and the true ground speed of the farm vehicle by conventional speed detection means 88, preferably a non-contacting sensor, and then determines the amount of chemical additive to be applied to reach the level desired in the soil. the sensing and control means 70 then signals the chemical application control valve 87 to dispense the appropriate amount of corrective chemical through conduit 89”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Newton, and Buse with the teachings of Colburn since Colburn teaches a means for improved agrichemical system and method and, more particularly, to a system capable of sensing in real time the chemical condition of the soil and/or certain non-chemical parameters of interest such as organic matter, soil type and the like. This information may be utilized in real time to apply an appropriate amount of corrective agrichemical in response to a sensed deficit or excess or in response to the sensed non-chemical parameter while the apparatus is still traversing the soil sampled, or the information may be stored for later use or telemetered to a remote location. The system has important benefits in cost reduction, energy resource conservation, crop production, and reduction of environmental degradation (1:915-25).
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art teach The control system of claim 7.
The cited prior art teach comprising: a liquid injection sensor configured to output a second signal indicative of a flowrate of the liquid through a liquid injection conduit (Newton 0045 teaches flow rate of a liquid); and an anhydrous ammonia application sensor configured to output a third signal indicative of an flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia in an anhydrous ammonia conduit (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”).
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art teach The control system of claim 8.
The cited prior art teach wherein the controller is configured to:
receive the second signal from the liquid injection sensor (Newton 0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”);
determine an estimated flowrate of the liquid based on the second signal (Buse 0045);
receive the third signal from the anhydrous ammonia application sensor (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”);
determine an additional estimated flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia based on the third signal (Buse 0004 0014);
determine the commanded flowrate, and the additional commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia, or a combination thereof, based on the first signal (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”);
and control a liquid injection valve of the liquid injection conduit based on the estimated flowrate and the commanded flowrate, and control an anhydrous ammonia application valve of the anhydrous ammonia conduit based on the additional estimated flowrate and the additional commanded flowrate (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”).
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art teach The control system of claim 9.
Buse teaches wherein controlling the liquid injection valve comprises reducing a first difference between the estimated flowrate and the commanded flowrate, and wherein controlling the anhydrous ammonia application valve comprises reducing an additional difference between the additional estimated flowrate and the additional commanded flowrate (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”).
Claim(s) 13-18, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buse et al (US PUB. 20200100424, herein Buse) in view of Kopycinski (US PAT. 6148746) in further view of Newton (US PUB. 20050211802) in further view of Colburn et al (US PUB. 5673637, herein Colburn).
Regarding claim 13, Buse teaches An agricultural implement comprising:
a ground engaging tool (0013 “the agricultural implement 154 can comprise a plurality of ground engaging elements 156 attached to a frame”);
an anhydrous ammonia application system comprising an anhydrous ammonia application conduit and an anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage, wherein the anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage is configured to apply anhydrous ammonia to the soil at an anhydrous ammonia location behind the ground engaging tool relative to the direction of travel; and a control system comprising: a soil moisture sensor configured to output a first signal indicative of a soil moisture value of a field (0015 “solution tank 160 can comprise a pressurized tank that stores liquid anhydrous ammonia (NH.sub.3) or other suitable crop input materials for supply to the plurality of applicator devices 152. For example, in some embodiments, the solution tank 160 can be arranged to provide the liquid NH.sub.3 to one or more distribution conduits 155 for supply to the applicator devices 152 via distributed metering system”, 0025 “As the work vehicle 140 travels across the worksite 175, the liquid anhydrous ammonia is supplied from the solution tank 160 (i.e., supply source) to the cooling device 116 and distributed through the metering units 102 to one or more conduits 155 (i.e., row by row) before being supplied to the applicator devices 152” 0014 “the nutrient knives, alone or together with an opener or opener disk, may create a furrow or groove in the soil 170 for accepting the ammonia or nitrogen, whereas a closer or other trailing device cover the furrow” 0025 “the liquid anhydrous ammonia is supplied from the solution tank 160 (i.e., supply source) to the cooling device 116 and distributed through the metering units 102 to one or more conduits 155 (i.e., row by row) before being supplied to the applicator devices” fig. 1);
and a controller comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and one or more processors (0018), wherein the controller is configured to.
The cited prior art do not teach a liquid injection system comprising a liquid injection conduit and a liquid injection outlet passage, wherein the liquid injection outlet passage is fluidly coupled to the liquid injection conduit, and the liquid injection outlet passage is configured to output a jet of the liquid toward soil to inject the liquid into the soil at a liquid location behind the ground engaging tool relative to a direction of travel of the agricultural implement; receive the first signal from the soil moisture sensor; determine an estimated soil moisture value based on the first signal; and control an anhydrous ammonia flowrate, a liquid flowrate, or a combination thereof based on the estimated soil moisture value, increase a commanded flowrate of the liquid based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below a low threshold soil moisture value; decrease the commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding a high threshold soil moisture value; increase an additional commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding the high threshold soil moisture value; and decrease the additional commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below the low threshold soil moisture value.
Kopycinski teaches a liquid injection system comprising a liquid injection conduit and a liquid injection outlet passage, wherein the liquid injection outlet passage is fluidly coupled to the liquid injection conduit, and the liquid injection outlet passage is configured to output a jet of a liquid toward soil of a field to inject the liquid into the soil at a liquid location behind the ground engaging tool relative to a direction of travel of the agricultural implement (3:35-40 “liquid anhydrous ammonia pours out of the tube 20, it immediately begins to evaporate into a gaseous state. However, any gas that rises from the furrow immediately encounters and is absorbed into the absorbent liquid spray and falls back into the soil with the absorbent liquid. Additionally, as the liquid falls into the bottom of the furrow, it mixes with the remaining liquid anhydrous ammonia”, 3:20-30 “pump 38 pressurizes the absorbent liquid to approximately 35 psi gauge and the nozzle 34 is formed merely by crimping the trailing edge of tube 32 into an elongated opening approximately one-half millimeter wide, so as to spray a thin stream of absorbent liquid in the shape of a fan into the furrow 12. In another embodiment, a slit is formed in the tube 32, preferably at about a 45.degree. downward sloping angle. The inner edge of the slit creates a pin hole opening in the tube 32. The liquid coming out of the pin hole forms a spray pattern to cover the trench. Other nozzle types may, of course, be used”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Buse with the teachings of Kopycinski since Kopycinski teaches a means for “greatly reducing the vapor pressure of the ammonia compound and reducing the tendency to further evaporation” (3:30-35).
The cited prior art do not teach receive the first signal from the soil moisture sensor; determine an estimated soil moisture value based on the first signal increase a commanded flowrate of the liquid based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below a low threshold soil moisture value; decrease the commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding a high threshold soil moisture value; increase an additional commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding the high threshold soil moisture value; and decrease the additional commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below the low threshold soil moisture value.
Newton teaches receive the first signal from the soil moisture sensor (0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”);
determine an estimated soil moisture value based on the first signal (0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”, computerized control);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Buse and the teachings of Kopycinski with the teachings of Newton since Newton teaches a means for “system for uniformly dispensing agricultural chemicals in soil” (abstract).
The cited prior art do not teach increase a commanded flowrate of the liquid based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below a low threshold soil moisture value; decrease the commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding a high threshold soil moisture value; increase an additional commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding the high threshold soil moisture value; and decrease the additional commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below the low threshold soil moisture value.
Colburn teaches increase a commanded flowrate of the liquid based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below a low threshold soil moisture value; decrease the commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding a high threshold soil moisture value; increase an additional commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding the high threshold soil moisture value; and decrease the additional commanded flowrate based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below the low threshold soil moisture value (4:20-35 “it is preferable to measure the complex soil resistivity rather than just the `simple` soil resistivity (or the real component of the complex resistivity) as was done previously. It is a further improvement to measure the naturally occurring solute present in the soil, as well as proportional clay content and organic matter, and to utilize the latter to aid in applying chemicals in addition to soil correcting chemicals. In still another improvement, the measuring apparatus may be calibrated intermittently through the aid of either a fluid of two different conductivities or two different fluids of differing conductivities” 8:25-35 “agronomic studies of crop response to soil variables that both crop yield and quality are related to spatial variations of soil texture and chemical constituents. The spatial variation of soil clay content in a field influence crop uptake of nitrates, thus influencing crop quality. Further, soil type and textural characteristics have long been used by the USDA Extension system to rate the yield potential of soils. Existing regional recommendations of existing agricultural services may thus be used to assist in fertilizer application on the basis of a component of complex soil resistivity (e.g., EC.sub.s or T)”, 12:20-30 “The control valve 87, preferably a fast acting solenoid valve, may be rapidly opened and closed in response to a modulated output signal from sensing and control means 70. The sensing and control means first determines a component of the calibrated complex resistivity of the soil and the true ground speed of the farm vehicle by conventional speed detection means 88, preferably a non-contacting sensor, and then determines the amount of chemical additive to be applied to reach the level desired in the soil. the sensing and control means 70 then signals the chemical application control valve 87 to dispense the appropriate amount of corrective chemical through conduit 89”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Newton, and Buse with the teachings of Colburn since Colburn teaches a means for improved agrichemical system and method and, more particularly, to a system capable of sensing in real time the chemical condition of the soil and/or certain non-chemical parameters of interest such as organic matter, soil type and the like. This information may be utilized in real time to apply an appropriate amount of corrective agrichemical in response to a sensed deficit or excess or in response to the sensed non-chemical parameter while the apparatus is still traversing the soil sampled, or the information may be stored for later use or telemetered to a remote location. The system has important benefits in cost reduction, energy resource conservation, crop production, and reduction of environmental degradation (1:915-25).
Regarding claim 14, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 13.
Buse teaches wherein the liquid location is disposed behind the anhydrous ammonia location relative to the direction of travel (FIG. 1
3:10-15 “Absorbent liquid from tank 40 flows through flow lines 36 to pump 38 where it is pressurized and supplied through additional flow lines 36 and tube 32 to exit from nozzle 34 as a fan-shaped spray of liquid 42 above the anhydrous ammonia”).
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 13.
The cited prior art teach comprising: a liquid injection sensor configured to output a second signal indicative of a flowrate of the liquid through the liquid injection conduit (Newton 0045 teaches flow rate of a liquid); and an anhydrous ammonia application sensor configured to output a third signal indicative of an additional flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia through the anhydrous ammonia application conduit (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”).
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 15.
The cited prior art teach wherein the controller is configured to: receive the second signal from the liquid injection sensor (Newton 0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”);
determine an estimated flowrate of the liquid based on the second signal (Buse 0045);
receive the third signal from the anhydrous ammonia application sensor (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”);
determine an additional estimated flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia based on the third signal (Buse 0004 0014);;
determine the commanded flowrate, and the additional commanded flowrate, based on the first signal (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”);
and control a liquid injection valve of the liquid injection conduit based on the estimated flowrate and the commanded flowrate, and control an anhydrous ammonia application valve of the anhydrous ammonia application conduit based on the additional estimated flowrate and the additional commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia, or a combination thereof (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”).
Regarding claim 17, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 13.
Kopycinski teaches comprising a valve configured to: adjust a flowrate associated with the jet of the liquid; adjust a pressure associated with the jet of the liquid; or a combination thereof (3:20-27 “pump 38 pressurizes the absorbent liquid to approximately 35 psi gauge and the nozzle 34 is formed merely by crimping the trailing edge of tube 32 into an elongated opening approximately one-half millimeter wide, so as to spray a thin stream of absorbent liquid in the shape of a fan into the furrow 12”).
Regarding claim 18, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 13.
Kopycinski teaches wherein an anhydrous ammonia central axis of the anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage is directed to the anhydrous ammonia location of the field, and a liquid central axis of the liquid injection outlet passage is directed to the liquid location of the field (fig. 1
3:20-30 “In one embodiment, pump 38 pressurizes the absorbent liquid to approximately 35 psi gauge and the nozzle 34 is formed merely by crimping the trailing edge of tube 32 into an elongated opening approximately one-half millimeter wide, so as to spray a thin stream of absorbent liquid in the shape of a fan into the furrow 12. In another embodiment, a slit is formed in the tube 32, preferably at about a 45.degree. downward sloping angle. The inner edge of the slit creates a pin hole opening in the tube 32. The liquid coming out of the pin hole forms a spray pattern to cover the trench. Other nozzle types may, of course, be used”).
Regarding claim 23, the cited prior art teach The agricultural implement of claim 15.
Colburn teaches wherein the soil moisture sensor is disposed in front of the liquid injection sensor relative to the direction of travel, and the soil moisture sensor is disposed in front of the anhydrous ammonia application sensor relative to the direction of travel (fig. 3, 8:60-65 “FIG. 3 depicts an integrated, two electrode ground-engaging soil sensor operated in conjunction with a coulter for unencumbered passage of the sensor electrodes through surface debris, stalks and roots, embodying additional mechanical means for increasing contact”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/29/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newton (US PUB. 20050211802) in view of Buse et al (US PUB. 20200100424, herein Buse) in further view of Colburn et al (US PUB. 5673637, herein Colburn).
In regards to claim 1 and its dependent claims, the amendments to the claims overcome the cited prior art.
Applicant argues on page 13 that the cited prior art do not teach the amendments to the claims. Examiner agrees. However, as a result of the amendment to claim 7, Colburn was introduced. Colburn teaches measuring soil moisture levels and based on the value received, controlling amount of chemical additive to reach the level desired in the soil (4:20-35, 12:20-35, 8:25-35).
Therefore, claim 7 and its dependent claims are rejected. Similar arguments are made for claim 13 which is similarly rejected along with its dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116