Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the anhydrous ammonia does not antecedent basis support. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "anhydrous ammonia location" in claim 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buse et al (US PUB. 20200100424, herein Buse) in further view of Kopycinski (US PAT. 6148746).
Regarding claim 1, Buse teaches An agricultural implement comprising:
a ground engaging tool (0013 “the agricultural implement 154 can comprise a plurality of ground engaging elements 156 attached to a frame”);
and an anhydrous ammonia application system comprising an anhydrous ammonia application conduit and an anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage, wherein the anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage is fluidly coupled to the anhydrous ammonia application conduit, and the anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage is configured to apply the anhydrous ammonia to the soil at an anhydrous ammonia location behind the ground engaging tool relative to the direction of travel of the agricultural implement (0015 “solution tank 160 can comprise a pressurized tank that stores liquid anhydrous ammonia (NH.sub.3) or other suitable crop input materials for supply to the plurality of applicator devices 152. For example, in some embodiments, the solution tank 160 can be arranged to provide the liquid NH.sub.3 to one or more distribution conduits 155 for supply to the applicator devices 152 via distributed metering system”, 0025 “As the work vehicle 140 travels across the worksite 175, the liquid anhydrous ammonia is supplied from the solution tank 160 (i.e., supply source) to the cooling device 116 and distributed through the metering units 102 to one or more conduits 155 (i.e., row by row) before being supplied to the applicator devices 152” 0014 “the nutrient knives, alone or together with an opener or opener disk, may create a furrow or groove in the soil 170 for accepting the ammonia or nitrogen, whereas a closer or other trailing device cover the furrow” 0025 “the liquid anhydrous ammonia is supplied from the solution tank 160 (i.e., supply source) to the cooling device 116 and distributed through the metering units 102 to one or more conduits 155 (i.e., row by row) before being supplied to the applicator devices” fig. 1).
The cited prior art do not teach a liquid injection system comprising a liquid injection conduit and a liquid injection outlet passage, wherein the liquid injection outlet passage is fluidly coupled to the liquid injection conduit, and the liquid injection outlet passage is configured to output a jet of a liquid toward soil to inject the liquid into the soil at a liquid location behind the ground engaging tool relative to a direction of travel of the agricultural implement
Kopycinski teaches a liquid injection system comprising a liquid injection conduit and a liquid injection outlet passage, wherein the liquid injection outlet passage is fluidly coupled to the liquid injection conduit, and the liquid injection outlet passage is configured to output a jet of a liquid toward soil to inject the liquid into the soil at a liquid location behind the ground engaging tool relative to a direction of travel of the agricultural implement (3:35-40 “liquid anhydrous ammonia pours out of the tube 20, it immediately begins to evaporate into a gaseous state. However, any gas that rises from the furrow immediately encounters and is absorbed into the absorbent liquid spray and falls back into the soil with the absorbent liquid. Additionally, as the liquid falls into the bottom of the furrow, it mixes with the remaining liquid anhydrous ammonia”, 3:20-30 “pump 38 pressurizes the absorbent liquid to approximately 35 psi gauge and the nozzle 34 is formed merely by crimping the trailing edge of tube 32 into an elongated opening approximately one-half millimeter wide, so as to spray a thin stream of absorbent liquid in the shape of a fan into the furrow 12. In another embodiment, a slit is formed in the tube 32, preferably at about a 45.degree. downward sloping angle. The inner edge of the slit creates a pin hole opening in the tube 32. The liquid coming out of the pin hole forms a spray pattern to cover the trench. Other nozzle types may, of course, be used”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Buse with the teachings of Kopycinski since Kopycinski teaches a means for “greatly reducing the vapor pressure of the ammonia compound and reducing the tendency to further evaporation” (3:30-35).
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 1.
Kopycinski teaches wherein the liquid location is disposed behind the anhydrous ammonia location (FIG. 1
3:10-15 “Absorbent liquid from tank 40 flows through flow lines 36 to pump 38 where it is pressurized and supplied through additional flow lines 36 and tube 32 to exit from nozzle 34 as a fan-shaped spray of liquid 42 above the anhydrous ammonia”).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 2.
Kopycinski teaches wherein the liquid injection system comprises an additional liquid injection outlet passage disposed in front of the ground engaging tool (FIG. 1, 3:15-25 “The liquid spray pattern 42 is designed to substantially fill the confines of trench or furrow 12 above the anhydrous ammonia, so that gaseous anhydrous ammonia formed by evaporation cannot escape from the trench without encountering the absorbent liquid spray, which as it falls to the bottom of the trench, quickly combines with both the liquid and gaseous anhydrous ammonia”).
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 1.
Kopycinski teaches wherein an anhydrous ammonia central axis of the anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage is directed to the anhydrous ammonia location of a field, and a liquid central axis of the liquid injection outlet passage is directed to the liquid location of the field (fig. 1
3:20-30 “In one embodiment, pump 38 pressurizes the absorbent liquid to approximately 35 psi gauge and the nozzle 34 is formed merely by crimping the trailing edge of tube 32 into an elongated opening approximately one-half millimeter wide, so as to spray a thin stream of absorbent liquid in the shape of a fan into the furrow 12. In another embodiment, a slit is formed in the tube 32, preferably at about a 45.degree. downward sloping angle. The inner edge of the slit creates a pin hole opening in the tube 32. The liquid coming out of the pin hole forms a spray pattern to cover the trench. Other nozzle types may, of course, be used”).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 1.
Kopycinski teaches comprising a valve configured to:
adjust a flowrate associated with the jet of the liquid; adjust a pressure associated with the jet of the liquid; or a combination thereof (3:20-27 “pump 38 pressurizes the absorbent liquid to approximately 35 psi gauge and the nozzle 34 is formed merely by crimping the trailing edge of tube 32 into an elongated opening approximately one-half millimeter wide, so as to spray a thin stream of absorbent liquid in the shape of a fan into the furrow 12”).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 1.
Kopycinski teaches comprising a nozzle configured to adjust a jet spread rate associated with the jet of the liquid (3:20-27 “pump 38 pressurizes the absorbent liquid to approximately 35 psi gauge and the nozzle 34 is formed merely by crimping the trailing edge of tube 32 into an elongated opening approximately one-half millimeter wide, so as to spray a thin stream of absorbent liquid in the shape of a fan into the furrow 12”).
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newton (US PUB. 20050211802) in view of Buse et al (US PUB. 20200100424, herein Buse).
Regarding claim 7, Newton teaches A control system comprising:
a soil moisture sensor configured to output a first signal indicative of a soil moisture value of a field (0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feedback control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”);
and a controller comprising: and one or more processors, wherein the controller is configured to: receive the first signal from the soil moisture sensor (0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”, computerized control);
determine an estimated soil moisture value based on the first signal (0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”, computerized control);
and control an anhydrous ammonia flowrate, a liquid flowrate, or a combination thereof based on the estimated soil moisture value (0046 “a pump creating substantial flow, i.e. pressure, will cause a greater amount of liquid material to flow through the system while conversely smaller diameter delivery tube will restrict liquid material flow”).
The cited prior art do not teach a memory configured to store instructions.
Buse teaches a memory configured to store instructions (0018 “Each of the metering units 102 can be communicatively coupled to an electronic data controller 124, which can be arranged locally, e.g., on the work vehicle 140, or remotely at data processing center. In embodiments, the electronic data controller 124 can comprise a microprocessor, a microcontroller, a central processing unit, a programmable logic array, a programmable logic controller, an application specific integrated circuit, a logic circuit, an arithmetic logic unit, or another data processing system for processing, storing, retrieving, or manipulating electronic data associated with the metering units”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Newton with the teachings of Buse since Buse teaches a means for robust and cost-effective metering and application system that provides improved metering accuracy (0003).
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art teach The control system of claim 7.
The cited prior art teach comprising: a liquid injection sensor configured to output a second signal indicative of a flowrate of a liquid through a liquid injection conduit (Newton 0045 teaches flow rate of a liquid); and an anhydrous ammonia application sensor configured to output a third signal indicative of a flowrate of anhydrous ammonia in an anhydrous ammonia conduit (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”).
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art teach The control system of claim 8.
The cited prior art teach wherein the controller is configured to:
receive the second signal from the liquid injection sensor (Newton 0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”);
determine an estimated flowrate of the liquid based on the second signal (Buse 0045);
receive the third signal from the anhydrous ammonia application sensor (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”);
determine an estimated flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia based on the third signal (Buse 0004 0014);
determine a commanded flowrate of the liquid, a commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia, or a combination thereof, based on the first signal (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”);
and control a liquid injection valve of the liquid injection conduit based on the estimated flowrate and the commanded flowrate of the liquid, control an anhydrous ammonia application valve of the anhydrous ammonia conduit based on the estimated flowrate and the commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia, or a combination thereof (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”).
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art teach The control system of claim 9.
Newton teaches wherein the controller is configured to: increase the commanded flowrate of the liquid based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below a low threshold soil moisture value; decrease the commanded flowrate of the liquid based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding a high threshold soil moisture value; or a combination thereof (0045 “Advantageously, the sensor control unit to regulate the flow is disposed proximate the tractor or pulling implement driver's seat. It will be realized by the skilled artisan that the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow, or the like”).
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art teach The control system of claim 10.
The cited prior art teach wherein the controller is configured to: increase the commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia (Buse 0014) based on the estimated soil moisture value exceeding the high threshold soil moisture value; decrease the commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia based on the estimated soil moisture value falling below the low threshold soil moisture value; or a combination thereof (Newton 0045 “Advantageously, the sensor control unit to regulate the flow is disposed proximate the tractor or pulling implement driver's seat. It will be realized by the skilled artisan that the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow, or the like”).
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art teach The control system of claim 9.
Buse teaches wherein controlling the liquid injection valve comprises reducing a first difference between the estimated flowrate and the commanded flowrate of the liquid, wherein controlling the anhydrous ammonia application valve comprises reducing a second difference between the estimated flowrate and the commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”).
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buse et al (US PUB. 20200100424, herein Buse) in view of Kopycinski (US PAT. 6148746) in further view of Newton (US PUB. 20050211802).
Regarding claim 13, Buse teaches An agricultural implement comprising:
a ground engaging tool (0013 “the agricultural implement 154 can comprise a plurality of ground engaging elements 156 attached to a frame”);
an anhydrous ammonia application system comprising an anhydrous ammonia application conduit and an anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage, wherein the anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage is configured to apply the anhydrous ammonia to the soil at an anhydrous ammonia location behind the ground engaging tool relative to the direction of travel of the agricultural implement; and a control system comprising: a soil moisture sensor configured to output a first signal indicative of a soil moisture value of a field (0015 “solution tank 160 can comprise a pressurized tank that stores liquid anhydrous ammonia (NH.sub.3) or other suitable crop input materials for supply to the plurality of applicator devices 152. For example, in some embodiments, the solution tank 160 can be arranged to provide the liquid NH.sub.3 to one or more distribution conduits 155 for supply to the applicator devices 152 via distributed metering system”, 0025 “As the work vehicle 140 travels across the worksite 175, the liquid anhydrous ammonia is supplied from the solution tank 160 (i.e., supply source) to the cooling device 116 and distributed through the metering units 102 to one or more conduits 155 (i.e., row by row) before being supplied to the applicator devices 152” 0014 “the nutrient knives, alone or together with an opener or opener disk, may create a furrow or groove in the soil 170 for accepting the ammonia or nitrogen, whereas a closer or other trailing device cover the furrow” 0025 “the liquid anhydrous ammonia is supplied from the solution tank 160 (i.e., supply source) to the cooling device 116 and distributed through the metering units 102 to one or more conduits 155 (i.e., row by row) before being supplied to the applicator devices” fig. 1);
and a controller comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and one or more processors (0018), wherein the controller is configured to.
The cited prior art do not teach a liquid injection system comprising a liquid injection conduit and a liquid injection outlet passage, wherein the liquid injection outlet passage is fluidly coupled to the liquid injection conduit, and the liquid injection outlet passage is configured to output a jet of the liquid toward soil to inject the liquid into the soil at a liquid location behind the ground engaging tool relative to a direction of travel of the agricultural implement; receive the first signal from the soil moisture sensor; determine an estimated soil moisture value based on the first signal; and control an anhydrous ammonia flowrate, a liquid flowrate, or a combination thereof based on the estimated soil moisture value.
Kopycinski teaches a liquid injection system comprising a liquid injection conduit and a liquid injection outlet passage, wherein the liquid injection outlet passage is fluidly coupled to the liquid injection conduit, and the liquid injection outlet passage is configured to output a jet of the liquid toward soil to inject the liquid into the soil at a liquid location behind the ground engaging tool relative to a direction of travel of the agricultural implement (3:35-40 “liquid anhydrous ammonia pours out of the tube 20, it immediately begins to evaporate into a gaseous state. However, any gas that rises from the furrow immediately encounters and is absorbed into the absorbent liquid spray and falls back into the soil with the absorbent liquid. Additionally, as the liquid falls into the bottom of the furrow, it mixes with the remaining liquid anhydrous ammonia”, 3:20-30 “pump 38 pressurizes the absorbent liquid to approximately 35 psi gauge and the nozzle 34 is formed merely by crimping the trailing edge of tube 32 into an elongated opening approximately one-half millimeter wide, so as to spray a thin stream of absorbent liquid in the shape of a fan into the furrow 12. In another embodiment, a slit is formed in the tube 32, preferably at about a 45.degree. downward sloping angle. The inner edge of the slit creates a pin hole opening in the tube 32. The liquid coming out of the pin hole forms a spray pattern to cover the trench. Other nozzle types may, of course, be used”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Buse with the teachings of Kopycinski since Kopycinski teaches a means for “greatly reducing the vapor pressure of the ammonia compound and reducing the tendency to further evaporation” (3:30-35).
The cited prior art do not teach receive the first signal from the soil moisture sensor; determine an estimated soil moisture value based on the first signal; and control an anhydrous ammonia flowrate, a liquid flowrate, or a combination thereof based on the estimated soil moisture value.
Newton teaches receive the first signal from the soil moisture sensor (0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”);
determine an estimated soil moisture value based on the first signal (0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”, computerized control);
and control an anhydrous ammonia flowrate, a liquid flowrate, or a combination thereof based on the estimated soil moisture value (0046 “a pump creating substantial flow, i.e. pressure, will cause a greater amount of liquid material to flow through the system while conversely smaller diameter delivery tube will restrict liquid material flow”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Buse and the teachings of Kopycinski with the teachings of Newton since Newton teaches a means for “system for uniformly dispensing agricultural chemicals in soil” (abstract).
Regarding claim 14, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 13.
Buse teaches wherein the liquid location is disposed behind the anhydrous ammonia location (FIG. 1
3:10-15 “Absorbent liquid from tank 40 flows through flow lines 36 to pump 38 where it is pressurized and supplied through additional flow lines 36 and tube 32 to exit from nozzle 34 as a fan-shaped spray of liquid 42 above the anhydrous ammonia”).
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 13.
The cited prior art teach comprising: a liquid injection sensor configured to output a second signal indicative of a flowrate of a liquid through the liquid injection conduit (Newton 0045 teaches flow rate of a liquid); and an anhydrous ammonia application sensor configured to output a third signal indicative of a flowrate of anhydrous ammonia in an anhydrous ammonia conduit (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”).
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 15.
The cited prior art teach wherein the controller is configured to: receive the second signal from the liquid injection sensor (Newton 0045 “the flow rate control and sensor can be computerized and/or involve a dynamic feed back control mechanism, which automatically regulates the flow of material to the soil predicated upon some sensed parameter such as soil moisture, depth of furrow”);
determine an estimated flowrate of the liquid based on the second signal (Buse 0045);
receive the third signal from the anhydrous ammonia application sensor (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”);
determine an estimated flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia based on the third signal (Buse 0004 0014);;
determine a commanded flowrate of the liquid, a commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia, or a combination thereof, based on the first signal (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”);
and control a liquid injection valve of the liquid injection conduit based on the estimated flowrate and the commanded flowrate of the liquid, control an anhydrous ammonia application valve of the anhydrous ammonia conduit based on the estimated flowrate and the commanded flowrate of the anhydrous ammonia, or a combination thereof (Buse 0004 “The electronic control unit is configured to control an application rate of a crop input material supplied from the plurality of metering units by adjusting an operating parameter of a component of each of the plurality of metering units when the application rate exceeds or falls below a predetermined threshold” 0014 “In various embodiments, the applicator devices 152 (i.e., liquid dispensers) can include tubular, conical, funnel-shaped, syringe or other suitable dispenser shapes that are configured to accurately apply the crop input materials (i.e. liquid anhydrous ammonia)”).
Regarding claim 17, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 13.
Kopycinski teaches comprising a valve configured to: adjust a flowrate associated with the jet of the liquid; adjust a pressure associated with the jet of the liquid; or a combination thereof (3:20-27 “pump 38 pressurizes the absorbent liquid to approximately 35 psi gauge and the nozzle 34 is formed merely by crimping the trailing edge of tube 32 into an elongated opening approximately one-half millimeter wide, so as to spray a thin stream of absorbent liquid in the shape of a fan into the furrow 12”).
Regarding claim 18, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 13.
Kopycinski teaches wherein an anhydrous ammonia central axis of the anhydrous ammonia application outlet passage is directed to the anhydrous ammonia location of the field, and a liquid central axis of the liquid injection outlet passage is directed to the liquid location of the field (fig. 1
3:20-30 “In one embodiment, pump 38 pressurizes the absorbent liquid to approximately 35 psi gauge and the nozzle 34 is formed merely by crimping the trailing edge of tube 32 into an elongated opening approximately one-half millimeter wide, so as to spray a thin stream of absorbent liquid in the shape of a fan into the furrow 12. In another embodiment, a slit is formed in the tube 32, preferably at about a 45.degree. downward sloping angle. The inner edge of the slit creates a pin hole opening in the tube 32. The liquid coming out of the pin hole forms a spray pattern to cover the trench. Other nozzle types may, of course, be used”)..
Regarding claim 19, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 13.
Kopycinski teaches wherein an additional liquid injection outlet passage is disposed in front of the ground engaging tool (FIG. 1, 3:15-25 “The liquid spray pattern 42 is designed to substantially fill the confines of trench or furrow 12 above the anhydrous ammonia, so that gaseous anhydrous ammonia formed by evaporation cannot escape from the trench without encountering the absorbent liquid spray, which as it falls to the bottom of the trench, quickly combines with both the liquid and gaseous anhydrous ammonia”).
Regarding claim 20, the cited prior art teach the agricultural implement of claim 19.
The cited prior art teach comprising a valve (Buse 0020 “In one embodiment, the regulator device 114 can comprise a differential pressure control valve that is configured to monitor pressure differentials across the pump device”) configured to selectively couple the liquid injection conduit to the additional liquid injection outlet passage (FIG. 1, 3:15-25 “The liquid spray pattern 42 is designed to substantially fill the confines of trench or furrow 12 above the anhydrous ammonia, so that gaseous anhydrous ammonia formed by evaporation cannot escape from the trench without encountering the absorbent liquid spray, which as it falls to the bottom of the trench, quickly combines with both the liquid and gaseous anhydrous ammonia”).
Conclusion
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116