DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the RCE filed 3/30/2026 in which Claims 1-3, 5-12, 15, 16, 18, 23-32 are pending and Claim 32 is new.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 3/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nemanick et al.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-12, filed 3/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sumner.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, filed 3/30/2026, with respect to Claim 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of Claim 8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-13, filed 3/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nemanick et al.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 23 objected to because of the following informalities: Change Line 2 to “size of the battery, the deformable element deforms, causing a change”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 13, 15, 16, 18, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0098872 to Sood et al (“Sood”) in view of U.S. Patent 12,030,404 to Orbay et al (“Orbay”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0314262 to Nemanick et al (“Nemanick”).
As to Claim 1, Sood teaches a system for remotely monitoring a device (a setup for monitoring battery cell state by means of a strain gauge sensor system including a sensor and an RFID tag, see ¶ 0012; When the passive RFID tag is energized wirelessly by a RFID reader through the passive RFID antenna, a signal is generated at the RFID, see ¶ 0024), the system comprising: a deformable element configured to be mounted on an exterior of a monitored device (a bi-directional strain gauge 301 is bonded to or embedded in the solid material of the outer skin or surface 303 of a battery cell 305 or any other surface which is properly prepared. Gauge 301 [deformable element] is electrically connected to passive RFID chip 307, which in turn is connected to passive RFID antenna 309, see ¶ 0032; The strain gauge sensor generates a change in resistance as the cell skin undergoes strain. As the cell undergoes changes in health due to mechanisms such as mechanical strain during operation, charge-discharge cycles or during storage, due to the mechanisms related to intercalation, gas generation and side reactions, see ¶ 0048),
a communication module operatively coupled to the deformable element (Gauge 301 is electrically connected to passive RFID chip 307, which in turn is connected to passive RFID antenna 309, see ¶ 0032), the communication module having a logic circuit and an antenna (The RFID tag [communication module] contains at least two parts, one is an integrated circuit [logic circuit] for storing and processing information, modulating and demodulating a RF signal, and other specialized functions. The second is an antenna for receiving and transmitting the strain signal, see ¶ 0052; In order to measure strain, according to the invention, a strain gauge sensor system is provided in which a strain gauge is connected to an electric circuit that is sensitive to changes in resistance (i.e. a Wheatstone bridge) corresponding to strain, see ¶ 0014),
Sood does not expressly disclose wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to deformation of the deformable element; the logic circuit configured to determine a change in the capacitance of the deformable element, wherein, in response to receiving a signal from a transceiver, the communication module is configured to report the change in the capacitance via the antenna to a controller communicatively coupled to the transceiver.
Orbay teaches wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to of deformation of the deformable element (the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24; The energy storage cells may be, for instance, lithium ion cells, see Col. 8, lines 9-10); and
the logic circuit configured to determine a change in the capacitance of the deformable element (the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24),
wherein, in response to receiving a signal from a transceiver, the communication module is configured to report the change in the capacitance via the antenna to a controller communicatively coupled to the transceiver (The communication element may be configured to send and/or receive data generated by the stretchable electronic unit. Thus, the communication element may be coupled with a processing unit and/or a control unit of the energy storage system to transfer data for evaluating the generated data. In other words, the processing unit and/or the control unit may not be directly arranged at the energy storage cells and/or the energy storage unit, since the communication element integrated in the stretchable electronic unit may communicate remotely. The communication element may utilize a long range communication element such as LTE, 5G, or a short range communication element such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, NFC, etc. Accordingly, the energy storage system may be monitored in real-time and manufactured compactly. The communication element may be included in soft, conformable, stretchable electronic unit or may be designed as a separate sub-unit appropriate for packaging in vehicle, see Col. 3, lines 22-39; the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sood with Orbay to teach a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to at least one of deformation of the deformable element or exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material; the logic circuit configured to determine a change in the capacitance of the deformable element, wherein, in response to receiving a signal from a transceiver, the communication module is configured to report the change in the capacitance via the antenna to a controller communicatively coupled to the transceiver. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to measure a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material (see Col. 4, lines 23-24).
Sood and Orbay do not expressly disclose wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device.
Nemanick teaches wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device (cell designs where crimp seal 108 is welded close, and the leak detection leads can be at this or any location of concern for leaks, and not at crimp seal 108. For example, this could be on a cell location that is high risk for fracture or puncture from the application, such as a location with repeated bending or external pressure. Application may be defined as the use and environment cell 102 is being exposed to, with particular focus on stress that may cause cell 102 to leak, see ¶ 0019; chip 202 is connected to lead 210 and lead 212 by placing leads 210 and 212 at an area of potential leaks in a pouch cell 200. Pouch cell 200 may be defined as a cell whose enclosing material is flexible or semirigid, with seals made from melting, gluing, or compression of the pouch material to itself. Pouch cell 200 have long seals 204 and 206 around the edge. This allows for chip 202 to have leads 210 and 212 running along crimp seal 204 and 206 for detection of a leak [exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device], see ¶ 0026; pair of leads 210 and 212 [deformable element] running along a seal 204 or 206 of pouch cell 200 may identify leaks in pouch cell 200 through change in capacitance [capacitance of the deformable element changes], see ¶ 0027; Chip 104 may transmit the leak measurements back to the BMU for cell management to mitigate the consequence of a leak. This communication is sent through wireless means, such as an antenna, on or adjacent to the chip in communication with the BMU, see ¶ 0024).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sood and Orbay with Nemanick to teach wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for electrical leads utilizing sensor leads encompassing, adjacent to, or on locations where leaks may occur allowing for localized leak detection to be made (see ¶ 0006).
As to Claim 2, Sood, Orbay and Nemanick depending on Claim 1, Sood teaches wherein the monitored device is a battery and the deformable element is affixed to an outer surface of the battery (a bi-directional strain gauge 301 is bonded to or embedded in the solid material of the outer skin or surface 303 of a battery cell 305 or any other surface which is properly prepared, see ¶ 0032).
As to Claim 3, Sood, Orbay and Nemanick depending on Claim 2, Orbay teaches wherein capacitance of the deformable element is configured to change responsive to discharge of battery fluid from the battery (the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material. The stretchable electronic unit may be able to detect not only the deformation of the energy storage system with respect to pressure force but also acceleration, position, temperature, inductance, chemical concentration [discharge of battery fluid], humidity, etc. of different kinds of materials in a contactless and/or wear-free manner, see Col. 4, lines 21-30).
As to Claim 9, Sood, Orbay and Nemanick depending from Claim 1, Orbay teaches wherein the communication module further includes a temperature sensor configured to determine a temperature of the monitored device (the stretchable electronic unit is configured to generate data based on temperature of the energy storage system. Preferably, the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to monitor not only the pressure force but also temperature of the energy storage system or energy storage cells, see Col. 5, lines 43-48), and wherein, in response to receiving a signal from a transceiver, the communication module is further configured to report the temperature of the monitored device determined by the temperature sensor via the antenna to the controller communicatively coupled to the transceiver (the control unit may be configured to control heat in the energy storage system based on data generated by the stretchable electronic unit if the temperature of the energy storage system exceeds a temperature threshold. The control unit may be configured to receive temperature data directly from the stretchable electronic unit via the communication element and/or from the processing element. The control unit may be integrated in a battery management system (BMS) or at least connected physically/wirelessly to the BMS, see Col. 6, line 64 – Col. 7, line 6; The communication element may be configured to send and/or receive data generated by the stretchable electronic unit. Thus, the communication element may be coupled with a processing unit and/or a control unit of the energy storage system to transfer data for evaluating the generated data. In other words, the processing unit and/or the control unit may not be directly arranged at the energy storage cells and/or the energy storage unit, since the communication element integrated in the stretchable electronic unit may communicate remotely. The communication element may utilize a long range communication element such as LTE, 5G, or a short range communication element such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, NFC, etc. Accordingly, the energy storage system may be monitored in real-time and manufactured compactly. The communication element may be included in soft, conformable, stretchable electronic unit or may be designed as a separate sub-unit appropriate for packaging in vehicle, see Col. 3, lines 22-39).
As to Claim 15, Sood teaches a system for remotely monitoring of a fleet of devices comprising, the system comprising: a plurality of a monitoring modules, each monitoring module configured to be associated with a respective monitored device of a fleet of monitored devices (The cell being monitored with the sensor can be one of a battery pack that consists of multiple batteries connected in series, parallel or a combination [fleet of monitored devices]. Multiple strain sensors can be arranged either internal to the casing of the cell, outside the cell or both on the inside and the outside of the cell, see ¶ 0018), wherein each monitoring module includes, respectively, deformable element and a communication module (The strain sensor [deformable element], RFID transmitter [communication module] and antenna can be incorporated into one cell that is part of a larger, multi-cell pack, or into every cell in a large, multi-cell pack, see ¶ 0054; a bi-directional strain gauge 301 is bonded to or embedded in the solid material of the outer skin or surface 303 of a battery cell 305 or any other surface which is properly prepared. Gauge 301 is electrically connected to passive RFID chip 307, which in turn is connected to passive RFID antenna 309, see ¶ 0032), the deformable element mounted on an exterior of the respective monitored device (a bi-directional strain gauge 301 [deformable element] is bonded to or embedded in the solid material of the outer skin or surface 303 of a battery cell 305 or any other surface which is properly prepared. Gauge 301 is electrically connected to passive RFID chip 307, which in turn is connected to passive RFID antenna 309, see ¶ 0032; The strain gauge sensor generates a change in resistance as the cell skin undergoes strain. As the cell undergoes changes in health due to mechanisms such as mechanical strain during operation, charge-discharge cycles or during storage, due to the mechanisms related to intercalation, gas generation and side reactions, see ¶ 0048),
wherein the communication module is operatively coupled to the deformable element and has a logic circuit and an antenna (The RFID tag contains at least two parts, one is an integrated circuit for storing and processing information, modulating and demodulating a RF signal, and other specialized functions. The second is an antenna for receiving and transmitting the strain signal, see ¶ 0052; In order to measure strain, according to the invention, a strain gauge sensor system is provided in which a strain gauge is connected to an electric circuit that is sensitive to changes in resistance (i.e. a Wheatstone bridge) corresponding to strain, see ¶ 0014),
and a transceiver, configured to transmit a request signal to the communication module of each of the plurality of monitoring modules (The signal is transmitted over to the strain gauge sensor and a voltage pulse is passed through the sensor. Due to the changes in the strain values, a change in potential is observed across the strain gauge sensor. This change in the potential corresponds to the amount of strain that is applied to the gauge by the cell. This strain values can be inside a “healthy” strain envelope that was captured during the baselining step, see ¶ 0054; The cell being monitored with the sensor can be one of a battery pack that consists of multiple batteries connected in series, parallel or a combination. Multiple strain sensors can be arranged either internal to the casing of the cell, outside the cell or both on the inside and the outside of the cell, see ¶ 0018).
Sood does not expressly disclose wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to deformation of the deformable element and to exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material discharged from the respective monitored device, and the logic circuit of the communication module is configured to determine whether the capacitance of the deformable element has changed; wherein, in response to the request signal, the communication module of at least one of the plurality of monitored modules is configured to report whether the capacitance of the respective deformable element has changed via the antenna of the respective communication module to a controller communicatively coupled to the transceiver, wherein the controller is remote from the transceiver.
Orbay teaches a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to at least one of deformation of the deformable element or exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material (the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24; The energy storage cells may be, for instance, lithium ion cells, see Col. 8, lines 9-10),
the logic circuit of the communication module is configured to determine whether the capacitance of the deformable element has changed (the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24);
wherein, in response to the request signal, the communication module of at least one of the plurality of monitored modules is configured to report whether the capacitance of the respective deformable element has changed via the antenna of the respective communication module to a controller communicatively coupled to the transceiver, wherein the controller is remote from the transceiver (The communication element may be configured to send and/or receive data generated by the stretchable electronic unit. Thus, the communication element may be coupled with a processing unit and/or a control unit of the energy storage system to transfer data for evaluating the generated data. In other words, the processing unit and/or the control unit may not be directly arranged at the energy storage cells and/or the energy storage unit, since the communication element integrated in the stretchable electronic unit may communicate remotely. The communication element may utilize a long range communication element such as LTE, 5G, or a short range communication element such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, NFC, etc. Accordingly, the energy storage system may be monitored in real-time and manufactured compactly. The communication element may be included in soft, conformable, stretchable electronic unit or may be designed as a separate sub-unit appropriate for packaging in vehicle, see Col. 3, lines 22-39; the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sood with Orbay to teach a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to at least one of deformation of the deformable element, the logic circuit of the communication module is configured to determine whether the capacitance of the deformable element has changed; wherein, in response to the request signal, the communication module of at least one of the plurality of monitored modules is configured to report whether the capacitance of the respective deformable element has changed via the antenna of the respective communication module to a controller communicatively coupled to the transceiver, wherein the controller is remote from the transceiver. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to measure a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material (see Col. 4, lines 23-24).
Sood and Orbay do not expressly disclose wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to deformation of the deformable element and to exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material discharged from the respective monitored device.
Nemanick teaches wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to deformation of the deformable element and to exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material discharged from the respective monitored device (cell designs where crimp seal 108 is welded close, and the leak detection leads can be at this or any location of concern for leaks, and not at crimp seal 108. For example, this could be on a cell location that is high risk for fracture or puncture from the application, such as a location with repeated bending or external pressure. Application may be defined as the use and environment cell 102 is being exposed to, with particular focus on stress that may cause cell 102 to leak, see ¶ 0019; chip 202 is connected to lead 210 and lead 212 by placing leads 210 and 212 at an area of potential leaks in a pouch cell 200. Pouch cell 200 may be defined as a cell whose enclosing material is flexible or semirigid, with seals made from melting, gluing, or compression of the pouch material to itself. Pouch cell 200 have long seals 204 and 206 around the edge. This allows for chip 202 to have leads 210 and 212 running along crimp seal 204 and 206 for detection of a leak [exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device], see ¶ 0026; pair of leads 210 and 212 [deformable element] running along a seal 204 or 206 of pouch cell 200 may identify leaks in pouch cell 200 through change in capacitance [capacitance of the deformable element changes], see ¶ 0027; Chip 104 may transmit the leak measurements back to the BMU for cell management to mitigate the consequence of a leak. This communication is sent through wireless means, such as an antenna, on or adjacent to the chip in communication with the BMU, see ¶ 0024).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sood and Orbay with Nemanick to teach wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to deformation of the deformable element and to exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material discharged from the respective monitored device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for electrical leads utilizing sensor leads encompassing, adjacent to, or on locations where leaks may occur allowing for localized leak detection to be made (see ¶ 0006).
As to Claim 16, Sood, Orbay and Nemanick depending on Claim 15, Sood teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to periodically transmit the request signal over an area having at least one monitored device, in response to at least one of a user input or a control signal from the controller (In addition to incorporating the wireless RFID based strain sensor into a battery management system, the technique has applications in a cell battery pack repair depot as a means of non-destructive and non-intrusive cell health assessment tool. A technician at the repair facility is equipped with the RFID reader. The technician can promptly scan the cell battery pack and gather cell health data in a wireless fashion by approaching the pack. This data is used for maintenance and downtime decisions, see ¶ 0058).
As to Claim 18, Sood, Orbay and Nemanick depending on Claim 15, Sood teaches wherein each monitored device is a battery and each deformable element is affixed to an outer surface of one of the monitored devices (a bi-directional strain gauge 301 is bonded to or embedded in the solid material of the outer skin or surface 303 of a battery cell 305 or any other surface which is properly prepared, see ¶ 0032).
As to Claim 23, Sood and Orbay depending on Claim 2, Orbay teaches wherein responsive to a change in physical size of the battery, the the deformable element deforms, causing a change of capacitance of the deformable element (the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to monitor swelling, contraction…of the energy storage system. Accordingly, the stretchable electronic unit may detect any deformation such as swelling and/or contraction of the energy storage system or energy storage cells, see Col. 2, lines 61-67; the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0098872 to Sood et al (“Sood”) in view of U.S. Patent 12,030,404 to Orbay et al (“Orbay”) and U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0314262 to Nemanick et al (“Nemanick”) and further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0309102 to Sumner.
As to Claim 7, Sood, Orbay and Nemanick depending on Claim 3, Orbay teaches a nonconductive absorptive material overlaying the deformable element (The stretchable sheet may be formed as a very thin layer and comprise elastic and stretchable materials such as silicone, see Col. 3, lines 65-67),
Sood, Orbay and Nemanick do not expressly disclose the absorptive material configured to absorb the ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device.
Sumner teaches the absorptive material configured to absorb the ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device (A system for coupling with a terminal end of a battery is used for the mitigation of battery leakage and includes a conductive disc and an absorption ring in combination that fits to an end of the battery… The absorption ring includes an absorbent material that absorbs any liquid escaping from the battery. An adhesive material is positioned proximate to the absorption ring and secures the system to an end of the battery, see Abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sood, Orbay and Nemanick with Sumner to teach the absorptive material configured to absorb the ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to capture battery discharge and control its escape for preventing damage to battery-powered devices (see ¶ 0001).
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 12,030,404 to Orbay et al (“Orbay”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0314262 to Nemanick et al (“Nemanick”).
As to Claim 10, Orbay teaches a method of remotely monitoring a device comprising: monitoring, via a logic circuit of a communication module, a capacitance of a deformable element in contact with the exterior of a monitored device (the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24; The energy storage cells may be, for instance, lithium ion cells, see Col. 8, lines 9-10); and
wherein the capacitance changes in response to deformation of the deformable element (the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24; The energy storage cells may be, for instance, lithium ion cells, see Col. 8, lines 9-10);
determining, via the logic circuit, a change in the capacitance has occurred (the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24); and
in response to the communication module receiving a signal from a transceiver, transmitting a response signal indicating the change in the capacitance from the communication module to a controller communicatively coupled to the transceiver (The communication element may be configured to send and/or receive data generated by the stretchable electronic unit. Thus, the communication element may be coupled with a processing unit and/or a control unit of the energy storage system to transfer data for evaluating the generated data. In other words, the processing unit and/or the control unit may not be directly arranged at the energy storage cells and/or the energy storage unit, since the communication element integrated in the stretchable electronic unit may communicate remotely. The communication element may utilize a long range communication element such as LTE, 5G, or a short range communication element such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, NFC, etc. Accordingly, the energy storage system may be monitored in real-time and manufactured compactly. The communication element may be included in soft, conformable, stretchable electronic unit or may be designed as a separate sub-unit appropriate for packaging in vehicle, see Col. 3, lines 22-39; the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24).
Orbay does not expressly disclose wherein the capacitance changes in response to exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device.
Nemanick teaches wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device (cell designs where crimp seal 108 is welded close, and the leak detection leads can be at this or any location of concern for leaks, and not at crimp seal 108. For example, this could be on a cell location that is high risk for fracture or puncture from the application, such as a location with repeated bending or external pressure. Application may be defined as the use and environment cell 102 is being exposed to, with particular focus on stress that may cause cell 102 to leak, see ¶ 0019; chip 202 is connected to lead 210 and lead 212 by placing leads 210 and 212 at an area of potential leaks in a pouch cell 200. Pouch cell 200 may be defined as a cell whose enclosing material is flexible or semirigid, with seals made from melting, gluing, or compression of the pouch material to itself. Pouch cell 200 have long seals 204 and 206 around the edge. This allows for chip 202 to have leads 210 and 212 running along crimp seal 204 and 206 for detection of a leak [exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device], see ¶ 0026; pair of leads 210 and 212 [deformable element] running along a seal 204 or 206 of pouch cell 200 may identify leaks in pouch cell 200 through change in capacitance [capacitance of the deformable element changes], see ¶ 0027; Chip 104 may transmit the leak measurements back to the BMU for cell management to mitigate the consequence of a leak. This communication is sent through wireless means, such as an antenna, on or adjacent to the chip in communication with the BMU, see ¶ 0024).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sood and Orbay with Nemanick to teach wherein a capacitance of the deformable element changes in response to exposure of the deformable element to an ionic material that has been discharged from the monitored device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for electrical leads utilizing sensor leads encompassing, adjacent to, or on locations where leaks may occur allowing for localized leak detection to be made (see ¶ 0006).
As to Claim 11, Orbay and Nemanick depending from Claim 10, Orbay teaches wherein further comprising determining a temperature of the monitored device via a temperature sensor of the communication module (the stretchable electronic unit is configured to generate data based on temperature of the energy storage system. Preferably, the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to monitor not only the pressure force but also temperature of the energy storage system or energy storage cells, see Col. 5, lines 43-48), and, in response to receiving a signal from a transceiver, transmitting the temperature to a controller communicatively coupled to the transceiver (the control unit may be configured to control heat in the energy storage system based on data generated by the stretchable electronic unit if the temperature of the energy storage system exceeds a temperature threshold. The control unit may be configured to receive temperature data directly from the stretchable electronic unit via the communication element and/or from the processing element. The control unit may be integrated in a battery management system (BMS) or at least connected physically/wirelessly to the BMS, see Col. 6, line 64 – Col. 7, line 6; The communication element may be configured to send and/or receive data generated by the stretchable electronic unit. Thus, the communication element may be coupled with a processing unit and/or a control unit of the energy storage system to transfer data for evaluating the generated data. In other words, the processing unit and/or the control unit may not be directly arranged at the energy storage cells and/or the energy storage unit, since the communication element integrated in the stretchable electronic unit may communicate remotely. The communication element may utilize a long range communication element such as LTE, 5G, or a short range communication element such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, NFC, etc. Accordingly, the energy storage system may be monitored in real-time and manufactured compactly. The communication element may be included in soft, conformable, stretchable electronic unit or may be designed as a separate sub-unit appropriate for packaging in vehicle, see Col. 3, lines 22-39).
As to Claim 12, Orbay and Nemanick depending on Claim 10, Orbay teaches wherein the monitored device is a battery (the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system [battery] by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material, see Col. 4, lines 21-24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 allowed.
Claims 8, 24-32 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Referring to independent claims 5 and 6, Sood teaches a strain gauge sensor system for monitoring changes in strain of a battery surface, said change in strain indicative of internal changes in the battery. Orbay teaches the stretchable electronic unit may be configured to detect the deformation of the energy storage system by measuring a capacitance or conductance change of the conductive material. With respect to Claim 5, the Sood and Orbay references do not teach, or fairly suggest, wherein the communication module and the deformable element are formed on a substrate, the substrate includes a main portion upon which the communication module is formed and a flap portion upon which the deformable element is formed, the flap portion is folded relative to the main portion to position the flap portion and the main portion in a stacked configuration, the main portion is affixed to the monitored device and the flap portion is disposed between the main portion and the monitored device, the main portion retaining the flap portion against the monitored device. The aspects as summarized above are neither anticipated nor obviated by the prior art of record.
With respect to Claim 6, the Sood and Orbay references do not teach, or fairly suggest, wherein the monitored device is a battery, and the deformable element is affixed to a surface of the battery, wherein the communication module is formed on a first substrate and the deformable element is formed on a second substrate, the communication module is electrically coupled to the deformable element is formed by vias formed on the first substrate and the second substrate, the first and second substrates are disposed in a stacked configuration, the first substrate is affixed to the monitored device with the second substrate disposed between the first substrate and the monitored device, the first substrate retaining the second substrate against the monitored device.
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622