DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 6/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/8/2026.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract is objected to due to the phrase “The present disclosure discloses” in line 1. The abstract is also objected to due to the term “said deflating opening” in line 3 and line 4, “said sealing baffle” in line 4, “said deflation transmission assembly” in line 4-5, and “said operating cavity” in line 6-7. Examiner suggests removing “The present disclosure discloses” in line 1 and replacing the term “said” with “the” in line 3, 4, 4-5, and 6-7.
Line 5 recites “the pressure difference”. As the pressure difference has not been previously introduced, Examiner suggests replacing “the pressure difference” in line 5 with “a pressure difference” to put the abstract in clearer form.
Line 5-6 recites “the inside and outside of said operating cavity”. As the inside and outside of said operating cavity has not been previously introduced, Examiner suggests replacing “the inside and outside of said operating cavity” in line 5-6 with “an inside and outside of said operating cavity” to put the abstract in clearer form.
Line 6 recites “the pump shaft”. As the pump shaft has not been previously introduced, Examiner suggests replacing “the pump shaft” in line 6 with “a pump shaft” to put the abstract in clearer form.
Line 7-8 recites “the sealed chamber”. As the sealed chamber has not been previously introduced, Examiner suggests replacing “the sealed chamber” in line 7-8 with “a sealed chamber” to put the abstract in clearer form.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 12-13 recites “can move to contact with said second movable end”. This is grammatically incorrect. Examiner suggests replacing “can move to contact with said second movable end” in line 12-13 of claim 1 with “can move to contact said second movable end”.
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 3 recites “said the piston chamber”. This is grammatically incorrect. Examiner suggests replacing “said the piston chamber” in line 3 of claim 4 with “said piston chamber”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1,
Line 2-3 recites “a deflation transmission assembly pushing said sealing baffle to move away from said deflating opening”. It is unclear if a method step is being claimed due to the term “pushing”. It is also unclear how the sealing baffle can be both occluding said deflating opening as required by the claim and also positively pushed by said deflation transmission assembly to move away from said deflating opening. If the sealing baffle is pushed to move away from said deflating opening, it would not also be occluding said deflating opening. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purposes Examiner construes “a deflation transmission assembly pushing said sealing baffle to move away from said deflating opening” to be “a deflation transmission assembly configured to push said sealing baffle to move away from said deflating opening”. Examiner suggests replacing “a deflation transmission assembly pushing said sealing baffle to move away from said deflating opening” in line 2-3 of claim 1 with “a deflation transmission assembly configured to push said sealing baffle to move away from said deflating opening”.
Line 3-5 recites “wherein said deflation transmission assembly is forced by the pressure difference between the inside and outside of said operating cavity or by the pump shaft of a vacuum pump”. It is unclear what said deflation transmission assembly is forced to do. Additionally, it is unclear if a method step is being claimed due to the phrase “is forced”. Furthermore, it is unclear if “wherein said deflation transmission assembly is forced by the pressure difference between the inside and outside of said operating cavity or by the pump shaft of a vacuum pump” requires said deflation transmission assembly is forced by the pressure difference between the inside and outside of said operating cavity or forced by the pump shaft of a vacuum pump. For examination purposes Examiner construes “wherein said deflation transmission assembly is forced” to be “wherein said deflation transmission assembly is configured to be forced to push said sealing baffle”. Examiner also construes “or the pump shaft of a vacuum pump” to be “or configured to be forced to push said sealing baffle by the pump shaft of a vacuum pump” Examiner suggests replacing “wherein said deflation transmission assembly is forced” in line 3-4 of claim 1 with “wherein said deflation transmission assembly is configured to be forced to push said sealing baffle” AND replacing “or by the pump shaft of a vacuum pump” with “or configured to be forced to push said sealing baffle by the pump shaft of a vacuum pump”.
Line 4 recites “the pressure difference”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the pressure difference” to be “a pressure difference”. Examiner suggests replacing “the pressure difference” in line 4 of claim 1 with “a pressure difference”.
Line 4-5 recites “the inside and outside of said operating cavity”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the inside and outside of said operating cavity” to be “an inside and outside of said operating cavity”. Examiner suggests replacing “the inside and outside of said operating cavity” in line 4-5 of claim 1 with “an inside and outside of said operating cavity”.
Line 5 recites “the pump shaft”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the pump shaft” to be “a pump shaft”. Examiner suggests replacing “the pump shaft” in line 5 of claim 1 with “a pump shaft”.
Line 5 recites “the pump shaft of a vacuum pump”. It is unclear if the pump shaft of a vacuum pump is positively required by the claim and is a component of the vacuum deflation structure. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the pump shaft of a vacuum pump” to not be required by the claim and to be a separate component from the vacuum deflation structure. Examiner suggests amending line 3-4 of claim 1 as suggested above.
Examiner notes claims 2-8 are similarly rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1 and claims 14-16 are similarly rejected by virtue of requiring the limitations of claim 1.
In regard to claim 2,
Line 3 recites “the external environment”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the external environment” to be “an external environment”. Examiner suggests replacing “the external environment” in line 3 of claim 2 with “an external environment”.
Line 5-6 recites “the area between said deflation transmission assembly and said connection-adapted end”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the area between said deflation transmission assembly and said connection-adapted end” to be “an area between said deflation transmission assembly and said connection-adapted end”. Examiner suggests replacing “the area between said deflation transmission assembly and said connection-adapted end” in line 5-6 of claim 2 with “an area between said deflation transmission assembly and said connection-adapted end”.
Line 9 recites “a fixed portion rotationally installed”. It is unclear if the fixed portion is fixed or if the fixed portion can be rotated. It appears the fixed portion is axially fixed, but is able to be rotated. For examination purposes Examiner construes the fixed portion to be capable of rotated. Examiner suggests clarifying in what direction the fixed portion is fixed.
Line 10 recites “the first movable end of said sealing baffle”. It is unclear if the first movable end is of the movable ends introduced in line 9 or an additional movable end of the said sealing baffle. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the first movable end of said sealing baffle” to be “a first movable end of the movable ends of said sealing baffle”. Examiner suggests replacing “the first movable end of said sealing baffle” in line 10 of claim 2 “a first movable end of the movable ends of said sealing baffle”.
Line 11 recites “the second movable end of said sealing baffle”. It is unclear if the second movable end is of the movable ends introduced in line 9 or an additional movable end of the said sealing baffle. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the second movable end of said sealing baffle” to be “a second movable end of the movable ends of said sealing baffle”. Examiner suggests replacing “the second movable end of said sealing baffle” in line 11 of claim 2 “a second movable end of the movable ends of said sealing baffle”.
Examiner notes claims 3-8 are similarly rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
In regard to claim 3,
Line 3 recites “the direction close to said connection-adapted end”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the direction close to said connection-adapted end” to be “a direction close to said connection-adapted end”. Examiner suggests replacing “the direction close to said connection-adapted end” in line 3 of claim 3 with “a direction close to said connection-adapted end”.
Line 4 recites “the deepest position”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the deepest position” to be “a deepest position”. Examiner suggests replacing “the deepest position” in line 4 of claim 3 with “a deepest position”.
Line 5-6 recites “when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward said connection-adapted end, said second movable end is jacked up by said skewed groove”. It is unclear if a method step is being claimed due to the phrase “is jacked up”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purposes Examiner construes “when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward said connection-adapted end, said second movable end is jacked up by said skewed groove” to be “when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward said connection-adapted end, said second movable end is configured to be jacked up by said skewed groove”. Examiner suggests replacing “when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward said connection-adapted end, said second movable end is jacked up by said skewed groove” in line 5-6 of claim 3 with “when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward said connection-adapted end, said second movable end is configured to be jacked up by said skewed groove”.
Line 8-10 recites “when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward the air inlet end to be in contact with said second movable end at said deflation-stopping surface, said second movable end is tightened by said deflation-stopping surface”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purposes Examiner construes “when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward the air inlet end to be in contact with said second movable end at said deflation-stopping surface, said second movable end is tightened by said deflation-stopping surface” to be “when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward the air inlet end to be in contact with said second movable end at said deflation-stopping surface, said second movable end is configured to be tightened by said deflation-stopping surface”. Examiner suggests replacing “when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward the air inlet end to be in contact with said second movable end at said deflation-stopping surface, said second movable end is tightened by said deflation-stopping surface” in line 8-10 of claim 3 with “when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward the air inlet end to be in contact with said second movable end at said deflation-stopping surface, said second movable end is configured to be tightened by said deflation-stopping surface”.
Examiner notes claims 4-5 are similarly rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 3.
In regard to claim 4,
Line 3-4 recites “a first elastic reset member forcing said movable plug to move close to said air inlet end”. It is unclear if a method step is being claimed due to the phrase “forcing said movable plug to move”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purposes Examiner construes “a first elastic reset member forcing said movable plug to move close to said air inlet end” to be “a first elastic reset member configured to force said movable plug to move close to said air inlet end”. Examiner suggests replacing “a first elastic reset member forcing said movable plug to move close to said air inlet end” in line 3-4 of claim 4 with “a first elastic reset member configured to force said movable plug to move close to said air inlet end”.
Line 5 recites “the outer wall of said movable plug”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the outer wall of said movable plug” to be “an outer wall of said movable plug”. Examiner suggests replacing “the outer wall of said movable plug” in line 5 of claim 4 with “an outer wall of said movable plug”
Line 5 recites “so that said movable plug is pushed away”. It is unclear if a method step is being claimed due to the phrase “is pushed away”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purposes Examiner construes “so that said movable plug is pushed away” to be “so that said movable plug is configured to be pushed away”. Examiner suggests replacing “so that said movable plug is pushed away” in line 5 of claim 4 with “so that said movable plug is configured to be pushed away”.
Line 6 recites “the inward and outward pressure difference”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. Claim 4 depends on claim 1. Claim 1 recites “the pressure difference between the inside and outside of said operating cavity”. It is unclear if “the inward and outward pressure difference” is the same or different than “the pressure difference between the inside and outside of said operating cavity”. For examination purposes Examiner construes them to be the same. Examiner suggests replacing “the inward and outward pressure difference” in line 6 of claim 4 with “the pressure difference between the inside and outside of said operating cavity”.
Line 6-7 recites “the pressure in the sealed space”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the pressure in the sealed space” to be “a pressure in the sealed space”. Examiner suggests replacing “the pressure in the sealed space” in line 6-7 of claim 4 with “a pressure in the sealed space”.
Examiner notes claim 5 is similarly rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 4.
In regard to claim 5,
Line 1-2 recites “the cavity wall of said piston chamber”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the cavity wall of said piston chamber” to be “a cavity wall of said piston chamber”. Examiner suggests replacing “the cavity wall of said piston chamber” in line 1-2 of claim 5 with “a cavity wall of said piston chamber”.
Line 2-3 recites “the extreme position of said movable plug”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. It is unclear what constitutes an extreme position of said movable plug. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the extreme position of said movable plug” to be “an extreme position of said movable plug”. Examiner suggests further defining what constitutes an extreme position of said movable plug.
Line 3 recites “said movable plug moves toward said air inlet end”. It is unclear if a method step is being claimed due to the phrase “moves toward”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purposes Examiner construes “said movable plug moves toward said air inlet end” to be “said movable plug is configured to move toward said air inlet end”. Examiner suggests replacing “said movable plug moves toward said air inlet end” in line 3 of claim 5 with “said movable plug is configured to move toward said air inlet end”.
Line 4-5 recites “said first movable end occludes said deflating opening when said movable plug has reached the extreme position”. It is unclear if a method step is being claimed due to the term “occludes”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purposes Examiner construes “said first movable end occludes said deflating opening when said movable plug has reached the extreme position” to be “said first movable end is configured to occlude said deflating opening when said movable plug has reached the extreme position”. Examiner suggests replacing “said first movable end occludes said deflating opening when said movable plug has reached the extreme position” in line 4-5 of claim 5 with “said first movable end is configured to occlude said deflating opening when said movable plug has reached the extreme position”.
In regard to claim 6,
Line 1-2 recites “a second elastic reset member”. Claim 6 depends on claim 2 and claim 1. Claim 1 and 2 do not require a first elastic reset member. It is unclear by stating “a second elastic reset member” if a first elastic reset member is also required in claim 6, 2, and 1. For examination purposes Examiner construes “a second elastic reset member” to be “an elastic reset member”. Examiner suggests replacing “a second elastic reset member” in line 1-2 of claim 6 with “an elastic reset member”.
Line 2 recites “that forces said first movable end”. It is unclear if a method step is being claimed due to the phrase “that forces”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purposes Examiner construes “that forces said first movable end” to be “that is configured to force said first movable end”. Examiner suggests replacing “that forces said first movable end” in line 2 of claim 6 with “that is configured to force said first movable end”.
In regard to claim 7,
Line 1-2 recites “wherein the pump shaft of said vacuum pump rotates during vacuuming”. Claim 7 depends on claim 2 and claim 1. Claim 1 is drawn to a vacuum deflation structure. It is unclear if claim 7 is positively requiring the pump shaft of said vacuum pump and if the pump shaft of said vacuum pump is a component of the vacuum deflation structure. Additionally, it is unclear if a method claim is being claimed due to the term “rotates”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purpose Examiner construes “wherein the pump shaft of said vacuum pump rotates during vacuuming” to be “wherein the vacuum deflation structure is configured to be used with the pump shaft of said vacuum pump which is configured to rotate during vacuuming”. Examiner suggests replacing “wherein the pump shaft of said vacuum pump rotates during vacuuming” in line 1-2 of claim 7 with “wherein the vacuum deflation structure is configured to be used with the pump shaft of said vacuum pump which is configured to rotate during vacuuming”.
Line 2-3 recites “the pump shaft of said vacuum pump stops rotating”. It is unclear if a method claim is being claimed due to the term “rotates”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purpose Examiner construes “the pump shaft of said vacuum pump stops rotating” to be “the pump shaft of said vacuum pump is configured to stop rotating”. Examiner suggests replacing “the pump shaft of said vacuum pump stops rotating” in line 2-3 of claim 7 with “the pump shaft of said vacuum pump is configured to stop rotating”.
Line 3 recites “the actual pressure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the actual pressure” to be “an actual pressure”. Examiner suggests replacing “the actual pressure” in line 3 of claim 7 with “an actual pressure”.
In regard to claim 8,
Line 1-3 recites “wherein said vacuum deflation structure serving as an end cover is installed at the end of said vacuum pump or independently installed on the outside of said vacuum pump”. It is unclear if the vacuum pump is positively required by the claim. Claim 8 is drawn to the vacuum deflation structure, not a system comprising the vacuum deflation structure and the vacuum pump. For examination purposes Examiner construes “wherein said vacuum deflation structure serving as an end cover is installed” to be “wherein said vacuum deflation structure serving as an end cover is configured to be installed”. Examiner suggests replacing “wherein said vacuum deflation structure serving as an end cover is installed” in line 1-2 of claim 8 with “wherein said vacuum deflation structure serving as an end cover is configured to be installed”.
Line 2 recites “the end of said vacuum pump”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the end of said vacuum pump” to be “an end of said vacuum pump”. Examiner suggests replacing “the end of said vacuum pump” in line 2 of claim 8 with “an end of said vacuum pump”.
Line 3 recites “the outside of said vacuum pump”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the outside of said vacuum pump” to be “an outside of said vacuum pump”. Examiner suggests replacing “the outside of said vacuum pump” in line 3 of claim 8 with “an outside of said vacuum pump”.
In regard to claim 16,
Line 2 recites “said vacuum pump”. Claim 16 requires the limitations of claim 15, 14, and 1. Claim 14 introduces a vacuum pump and claim 1 introduces a vacuum pump. It is unclear which vacuum pump line 2 of claim 16 refers to. For examination purposes Examiner construes the vacuum pump of claim 14 and 1 to be the same. Examiner suggests replacing “a vacuum pump and the vacuum deflation structure according to claim 1” in line 1-2 of claim 14 with “the vacuum deflation structure according to claim 1 and the vacuum pump”.
Line 2-3 recites “said sealed chamber”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For examination purposes Examiner construes “said sealed chamber” to be “a sealed chamber”. Examiner suggests replacing “said sealed chamber” in line 2-3 of claim 16 with “a sealed chamber”.
Line 2-3 recites “said vacuum pump is used to vacuum said sealed chamber”. It is unclear if a method claim is being claimed due to the phrase “is used to vacuum”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purpose Examiner construes “said vacuum pump is used to vacuum said sealed chamber” to be “said vacuum pump is configured to be used to vacuum said sealed chamber”. Examiner suggests replacing “said vacuum pump is used to vacuum said sealed chamber” in line 2-3 of claim 16 with “said vacuum pump is configured to be used to vacuum a sealed chamber”.
Line 3 recites “to deform it”. It is unclear what “it” refers to. It is unclear if “it” refers to the diaphragm or to the sealed chamber to a different structure. For examination purposes Examiner construes “it” to be “the diaphragm”. Examiner suggests replacing “it” in line 3 of claim 16 with “the diaphragm”.
Line 3-4 recites “said sealed chamber where said diaphragm is located”. Line 2-3 recites “said sealed chamber formed by said diaphragm”. It is unclear how the diaphragm is located at the sealed chamber if the diaphragm forms the sealed chamber. Examiner suggests removing “wherein said diaphragm is located” from claim 16 to put the claim in clearer form.
Line 4-5 recites “said sealed chamber gradually returns to its original shape when said deflating opening is opened”. It is unclear if a method claim is being claimed due to the phrase “gradually returns”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p). For examination purpose Examiner construes “said sealed chamber gradually returns to its original shape when said deflating opening is opened” to be “said sealed chamber is configured to gradually return to its original shape when said deflating opening is opened”. Examiner suggests replacing “said sealed chamber gradually returns to its original shape when said deflating opening is opened” in line 4-5 of claim 16 with “said sealed chamber is configured to gradually return to its original shape when said deflating opening is opened”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aida (U.S. Patent no 4759747).
In regard to claim 1,
Aida discloses a vacuum deflation structure (see all of figure 3 and pump 50 shown in figure 2), comprising an operating cavity (see cavity within the vacuum deflation structure shown in figure 3) having a deflating opening (figure 3, item 42A), a sealing baffle (figure 3, item 43) occluding said deflating opening (see figure 3; column 2, line 61-column 3, line 3), and a deflation transmission assembly (figure 2, item 50) pushing said sealing baffle to move away from said deflating opening (column 3, line 19-40), wherein said deflation transmission assembly is forced by the pressure difference between the inside and outside of said operating cavity or by the pump shaft of a vacuum pump (column 3, line 19-40).
In regard to claim 14,
Aida discloses a vacuum pump assembly (see all of figure 3 and pump 50 and 60 shown in figure 1), comprising a vacuum pump (figure 1, item 60) and the vacuum deflation structure according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
In regard to claim 15,
Aida discloses a breast pump (see all of figure 1), comprising the vacuum pump assembly according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above).
Claims 1-2, 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuen (U.S. Patent no 7641629).
In regard to claim 1,
Yuen discloses a vacuum deflation structure (see enlarged view of figure 10 below) comprising an operating cavity (see enlarged view of figure 10 below wherein the cavities formed in the vacuum deflation structure are construed as the operating cavity) having a deflating opening (figure 10, item 68), a sealing baffle (figure 10, item 66) occluding said deflating opening (column 4, line 6-21), and a deflation transmission assembly (figure 10, item 58, 60, 62, and 64) pushing said sealing baffle to move away from said deflating opening (column 4, line 21-30), wherein said deflation transmission assembly is forced by the pressure difference between the inside and outside of said operating cavity or by the pump shaft of a vacuum pump (column 4, line 6-30).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Enlarged view of figure 10)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Vacuum deflation structure)]
In regard to claim 2,
Yuen discloses the vacuum deflation structure according to claim 1, wherein said operating cavity is composed of a piston chamber and a deflation cavity (see enlarged view of figure 10 below), one end of said piston chamber is an air inlet end communicating with the external environment (see figure 10 below; column 4, line 23-21), the other end of said piston chamber is a connection-adapted end for vacuuming (see figure 10 below; column 4, line 13-21), said deflation transmission assembly is movably arranged inside said piston chamber (column 4, line 4-30), and the area between said deflation transmission assembly and said connection-adapted end forms a sealed space (see figure 10 below), which is provided with an intermediate interface, by which said piston chamber and said deflation cavity [AltContent: textbox (Piston chamber)]intercommunicate with each other (see figure 10 below);
[AltContent: textbox (Second movable end)][AltContent: textbox (Deflation cavity)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First movable end)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Enlarged view of figure 10)]
wherein said sealing baffle has a fixed portion (see enlarged view of figure 10 above wherein the fixed portion is construed as the portion between the first and second movable end, Examiner notes the fixed portion is fixed relative to the first and second movable end) rotationally installed (see enlarged view of figure 10 above wherein the fixed portion can rotate) and movable ends disposed on both sides of said fixed portion (see enlarged view of figure 10 above), the first movable end of said sealing baffle occludes said deflating opening (column 4, line 4-30), the second movable end of the sealing baffle extends into said sealed space from said intermediate interface (column 4, line 4-30), said deflation transmission assembly can move to contact with said second movable end and poke said sealing baffle to rotate (see enlarged view of figure 10 above; column 4, line 4-30), so that said first movable end moves away from said deflating opening or close to said deflating opening (column 4, line 4-30).
In regard to claim 6,
Yuen discloses the vacuum deflation structure according to claim 2, wherein a second elastic reset member (figure 10, item 44) that forces said first movable end to occlude said deflating opening is installed inside said deflation cavity (column 4, line 63-67).
In regard to claim 7,
Yuen discloses the vacuum deflation structure according to claim 2, wherein the pump shaft of said vacuum pump rotates during vacuuming (column 4, line 4-30), and the pump shaft of said vacuum pump stops rotating when the actual pressure of said operating cavity decreases to a set pressure (column 4, line 4-30).
In regard to claim 8,
Yuen discloses the vacuum deflation structure according to claim 2, wherein said vacuum deflation structure serving as an end cover is installed at the end of said vacuum pump or independently installed on the outside of said vacuum pump (see figure 10).
In regard to claim 14,
Yuen discloses a vacuum pump assembly (vacuum deflation structure in enlarged view of figure 10 above and figure 3, item 42 and 40), comprising a vacuum pump (figure 3, item 42, 40, and 44) and the vacuum deflation structure according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
In regard to claim 15,
Yuen discloses a breast pump (figure 2, item 10), comprising the vacuum pump assembly according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above).
In regard to claim 16,
Yuen discloses the breast pump according to claim 15, wherein the breast pump further includes a milk collecting casing (figure 3, item 18) and a diaphragm (figure 3, item 44), said vacuum pump is used to vacuum said sealed chamber formed by said diaphragm to deform it (column 4, line 4-30), said deflating opening leads to said sealed chamber where said diaphragm is located via said operating cavity (see figure 10), and said sealed chamber gradually returns to its original shape when said deflating opening is opened (column 4, line 4-30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Examiner notes the indication of allowability is on the condition that the claims are amended in such a way as to be in line with the interpretation that has been applied in view of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and any other amendments to the claims may affect their allowability.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not teach or otherwise render obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in combination with all claim limitations the vacuum deflation structure as claimed in claim 2 comprising wherein said deflation transmission assembly is provided with a skewed groove for accommodating said second movable end, said skewed groove gradually deepens in the direction close to said connection-adapted end, and the deepest position of said skewed groove is provided with a deflation-stopping surface; when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward said connection-adapted end, said second movable end is jacked up by said skewed groove, so that said first movable end moves away from said deflating opening; when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward the air inlet end to be in contact with said second movable end at said deflation-stopping surface, said second movable end is tightened by said deflation-stopping surface, so that said first movable end occludes said deflating opening. The deflation transmission assembly of Yuen (U.S. Patent no 7641629) fails to disclose a skewed groove for accommodating said second movable end, said skewed groove gradually deepens in the direction close to said connection-adapted end, and the deepest position of said skewed groove is provided with a deflation-stopping surface; when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward said connection-adapted end, said second movable end is jacked up by said skewed groove, so that said first movable end moves away from said deflating opening; when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward the air inlet end to be in contact with said second movable end at said deflation-stopping surface, said second movable end is tightened by said deflation-stopping surface, so that said first movable end occludes said deflating opening. The second movable end of Yuen is moved by item 64 contacting the second movable end. The second movable end of Yuen is not jacked up by said skewed groove, so that said first movable end moves away from said deflating opening, and said second movable end is not tightened by said deflation-stopping surface, so that said first movable end occludes said deflating opening. The subject matter of wherein said deflation transmission assembly is provided with a skewed groove for accommodating said second movable end, said skewed groove gradually deepens in the direction close to said connection-adapted end, and the deepest position of said skewed groove is provided with a deflation-stopping surface; when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward said connection-adapted end, said second movable end is jacked up by said skewed groove, so that said first movable end moves away from said deflating opening; when said deflation transmission assembly moves toward the air inlet end to be in contact with said second movable end at said deflation-stopping surface, said second movable end is tightened by said deflation-stopping surface, so that said first movable end occludes said deflating opening in combination with the vacuum deflation structure according to claim 2 and claim 1 could not be found nor was suggested elsewhere in the prior art of record. Accordingly, claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Dependent claims 4-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action by virtue of being dependent upon allowable claim 3.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA LALONDE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783