DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 12, 14, and 15 have been amended. No claims have been canceled or added. Claims 1-20 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 10, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the amendments to
the drawing objections are persuasive. The drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 10, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections are persuasive. The previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-13, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejections, are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument of : “does not disclose that the alleged suction power decrease amount (differential pressure) is calculated by a comparison between an initial pressure value measured in a state in which no foreign material is in the dust container and a current pressure measured in a manner that both of the initial pressure value and the current pressure are measured in a lifted state of the alleged cordless vacuum cleaner 30 spaced apart from a floor surface.”, the examiner disagrees.
The examiner understands the intent of the amended claim language, however, given its broadness, SEMECK, as disclosed below, continues to read on the claim. SEMECK, as shown in Fig. 1, shows the vacuum in communication with the station and lifted off the surface 3, which in this position alone, meets the limitations of the claim. Additionally, SEMECK discloses in paragraphs 0210 and 0170, respectively:
“If the measured differential pressure ΔpSA across chamber 30C reaches or falls below a predefined or stored limit value ΔpSmin, chamber 30C is empty or nearly empty and/or, for
example, less than 10% of the volume of chamber 30C is filled with absorbent material. In this case, the cleaning device 30 can be used again for cleaning.; “Consequently, the differential pressure ΔpS across chamber 30C is preferably determined during cleaning or in cleaning mode in the same way as during suction or in suction mode”. “Cleaning mode” is defined as being used to clean the floor and “suction mode” when coupled/ docked to the station, as shown in Fig. 1. SEMECK discloses the differential pressure can be determined during “cleaning mode” in the “same way” as “suction mode”, when lifted off the surface as shown in Fig. 1.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 14-16, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the claims have been amended and the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEMECK (DE 102019004417 A1).
Referring to claim 1: SEMECK discloses a station apparatus (10 Figs. 1 and 2) for discharging dust from a cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2) including a dust container (30C Figs. 1 and 2),
the station apparatus (10 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a communication interface (50E Fig. 1) configured to communicate with the cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2);
a suction motor (50Y/50J Figs. 1 and 2) configured to generate suction power for sucking up the dust [0082] from the dust container (30C Figs. 1 and 2) included in the cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2);
a collecting portion (50G Figs. 1 and 2) through which the dust [0082] from the dust container (30C Figs. 1 and 2) is collected;
a memory (memory used for storing limit value; “stored limit value” [0015, 0210]) which stores information about a pre-set threshold (“stored limit value” [0015, 0210]) suction power decrease amount ([0033, 0034]); and
at least one processor (10S/10R/30S Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from the cordless vacuum cleaner, information (“evaluate and/or transmit the measured values to the cleaning unit 30 and/or another device,” [0163]) about a suction power (“(measured) differential pressure” [0186]) decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner calculated by (“30R and/or the communication unit 30K, in particular to process, evaluate and/or transmit the measured values to the base station 10” [0146]) the cordless vacuum cleaner through the communication interface (50E Figs. 1 and 2);
and
when it is identified that the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner is equal to or greater than the pre-set threshold (“exceeds the limit value” [0186]) suction power decrease amount, based on the received information about the suction power decrease amount, perform a dust discharging operation (“In this case, the cleaning device 30 or chamber 30C should be emptied before carrying out a further cleaning process, in particular by means of the base station 10.” [0186]) of discharging the dust from the dust container (30C Figs. 1 and 2) to the collecting portion (30C Figs. 1 and 2) by driving the suction motor (50Y/50J Figs. 1 and 2) and wherein the suction power decrease amount is calculated by a comparison between an initial pressure value measured in a state in which no foreign material is in the dust container (If the measured differential pressure ΔpSA across chamber 30C reaches or falls below a
predefined or stored limit value ΔpSmin, chamber 30C is empty or nearly empty and/or, for
example, less than 10% of the volume of chamber 30C is filled with absorbent material. In this case, the cleaning device 30 can be used again for cleaning. [0210]; “Consequently, the differential pressure ΔpS across chamber 30C is preferably determined during cleaning or in cleaning mode in the same way as during suction or in suction mode” [0170]) and a current pressure value measured in a lifted state (lifted state shown in Fig. 1) of the cordless vacuum cleaner spaced apart from a floor surface (3 Fig. 1), both the initial pressure value and the current pressure value being measured in the lifted state (lifted state shown in Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 2: SEMECK discloses the station apparatus of claim 1, wherein the suction power decrease amount (“The pressure sensor 30W or 30X is therefore preferably designed to measure at the measuring point S1 or S2 to measure the pressure in comparison” [0145]) of the cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2) is obtained based on a sensor measurement value measured (“in particular to process, evaluate and/or transmit the measured values to the base station 10” [0146]) using a flow sensor or a pressure sensor (30W Fig. 2) of the cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2).
Referring to claim 14: SEMECK discloses an operating method of a station apparatus (10 Figs. 1 and 2) for discharging dust from a cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2) including a dust container (30C Figs. 1 and 2), the operating method comprising: receiving information, from the cordless vacuum cleaner (“The pressure measuring device 30M, in particular the pressure sensor 30W, or 30X is preferably electrically connected to the control unit 30S, the data processing unit 30R and/or the communication unit 30K, in particular to process, evaluate and/or transmit the measured values to the base station 10 and/or another device” [0146]), about a suction power (“(measured) differential pressure” [0186]) decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2) from the cordless vacuum cleaner through a communication interface (50E Fig. 1) of the station apparatus (10 Figs. 1 and 2); comparing the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner with a pre-set threshold (“exceeds the limit value” [0186]) suction power decrease amount, based on the received information about the suction power decrease amount; and performing a dust discharging operation (“In this case, the cleaning device 30 or chamber 30C should be emptied before carrying out a further cleaning process, in particular by means of the base station 10.” [0186]) of discharging the dust from the dust container of the cordless vacuum cleaner to a collecting portion (50G Figs. 1 and 2) of the station apparatus (10 Figs. 1 and 2) by driving a suction motor (50Y/50J Figs. 1 and 2) of the station apparatus, when it is identified that the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner is equal to or greater than the pre-set threshold (“exceeds the limit value” [0186]) suction power decrease amount, based on a result of the comparing, wherein the suction power decrease amount is calculated by a comparison between an initial pressure value measured in a state in which no foreign material is in the dust container (If the measured differential pressure ΔpSA across chamber 30C reaches or falls below a
predefined or stored limit value ΔpSmin, chamber 30C is empty or nearly empty and/or, for
example, less than 10% of the volume of chamber 30C is filled with absorbent material. In this case, the cleaning device 30 can be used again for cleaning. [0210]; “Consequently, the differential pressure ΔpS across chamber 30C is preferably determined during cleaning or in cleaning mode in the same way as during suction or in suction mode” [0170]) and a current pressure value measured in a lifted state (lifted state shown in Fig. 1) of the cordless vacuum cleaner spaced apart from a floor surface (3 Fig. 1), both the initial pressure value and the current pressure value being measured in the lifted state (lifted state shown in Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 20: SEMECK discloses the operating method of claim 14, further comprising: receiving information about a mainly used cleaning mode of the cordless vacuum cleaner from the cordless vacuum cleaner (“The pressure measuring device 30M, in particular the pressure sensor 30W, or 30X is preferably electrically connected to the control unit 30S, the data processing unit 30R and/or the communication unit 30K, in particular to process, evaluate and/or transmit the measured values to the base station 10 and/or another device” [0146]); and determining at least one of the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount, the discharge strength, or the discharge duration time (“Preferably, a user is notified when or that chamber 30C has been completely vacuumed or that the cleaning device 30 is ready for use again. However, it is also possible in principle for the suction process to be carried out for a specific or predefined period of time, for example 10 or 20 seconds.” [0227-0228]), based on the mainly used cleaning mode (“During cleaning or in cleaning mode, the differential pressure ΔpSR across chamber 30C can be determined by a pressure measurement, in particular absolute or relative pressure measurement, (exclusively) at the first measuring point S1 in the cleaning device 30.” [0172]) of the cordless vacuum cleaner.
Claim 3-6, 8-11, 13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEMECK (DE 102019004417 A1) and Angle et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0207282 A1).
Referring to claim 3: SEMECK discloses the station apparatus of claim 2, wherein the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner is obtained (when 30 is lifted and secured to 10 via 10C, the data from 30W is obtained by the station apparatus 10 via 30E/50E)
based on the sensor measurement value measured using the flow sensor or the pressure sensor (30W Fig. 2) of the cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2) is in the lifted state (lifted state shown in Fig. 1) from the surface to be cleaned (3 Fig. 1).
But is silent on a brush device specifically connected to the cordless vacuum cleaner.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches a brush device (“reciprocating brush” [0089]) specifically connected to the cordless vacuum cleaner (200 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the brush device as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having a device suitable for cleaning.
Referring to claim 4: SEMECK as modified teaches the station apparatus of claim 3, wherein the lifted state (lifted state shown in Fig. 1) comprises at least one of
a state in which the brush device is lifted from the surface to be cleaned during a cleaning operation or a state in which the cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2) is docked (shown docked via 10C in Fig. 1) to the station apparatus (10 Figs. 1 and 2).
Referring to claim 5: SEMECK discloses the station apparatus of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the at least one processor (10S/10R/30S Figs. 1 and 2) is further configured to: a smart discharge mode (“Preferably, extraction is only possible if the measured differential pressure ΔpB across the container 50G or the filter 50H of the base station 10 is below the limit value ΔpBmax.” [0243]) in which whether to perform the dust discharging operation is determined based on the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner; set a discharge mode of the station apparatus to the smart discharge mode; and perform the dust discharging operation (“Preferably, the volume flow rate VA during extraction in the cleaning device 30 is determined, in particular by means of the pressure measuring device 30M or the first pressure sensor 30W. However, it is also possible that the volume flow rate VA is measured or determined additionally or alternatively in the base station 10 or independently of the cleaning device 30.” [0245]; when it is identified that the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner is equal to or greater than the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount in the smart discharge mode (“Preferably, extraction is only possible if the measured differential pressure ΔpB across the container 50G or the filter 50H of the base station 10 is below the limit value ΔpBmax” [0243])
But is silent on specifically receiving user input.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches it capable of receiving user inputs for setting a plurality of modes (“Most advantageously, the scheduling process works interactively with a charging and/or evacuating dock 140, such that the robot 200 may launch on schedule in a fully charged and/or empty (cleaning bin) state.” [0178]);
(“the networked-enabled automation controller devices 126, 127, 128, 129, 140” [0115]; “The hub 110, the robot 200, the local user terminal 140, 300 and the remote user terminal 144, 300 may each be configured with an environmental manager access client 152 and a robot manager access client 152A, which may be the same as the environmental manager access client (e.g., downloadable or pre-installed application software app) enabling communications and control between the nodes 110, 200, 140, 142, 144, 300 and 150 as described herein. The access client 152, 152A may provide a convenient interface for a user (also referred to herein as "Person P" or "Occupant P" of the living space 20)” [0077]; “a robot dock 140 that is also a network-enabled automation controller device” [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the user enabled capabilities as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of allowing the user to customize or tweak the capabilities of the vacuum to increase the overall efficiency.
Referring to claim 6: SEMECK discloses the station apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (10S/10R/30S Figs. 1 and 2) is further configured to receive the information about the pre-set threshold (“exceeds the limit value” [0186]) suction power decrease amount from a server device (“Preferably, the corresponding limit values ΔpBmax , ΔpSmax and are used. ΔpSmin, setpoints ΔpSBset, functional equations and/or tables are stored in the data processing unit 30R of the cleaning device 30, in the data processing unit 10R of the base station 10 or a central unit, such as a server.” [0270]) or the cordless vacuum cleaner.
But is silent on being set by a user.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches it being set by a user, from a server device (“a remote management server or servers (e.g., cloud server) 150” [0077]) or the cordless vacuum cleaner
(“the networked-enabled automation controller devices 126, 127, 128, 129, 140” [0115]; “The hub 110, the robot 200, the local user terminal 140, 300 and the remote user terminal 144, 300 may each be configured with an environmental manager access client 152 and a robot manager access client 152A, which may be the same as the environmental manager access client (e.g., downloadable or pre-installed application software app) enabling communications and control between the nodes 110, 200, 140, 142, 144, 300 and 150 as described herein. The access client 152, 152A may provide a convenient interface for a user (also referred to herein as "Person P" or "Occupant P" of the living space 20)” [0077]; “a robot dock 140 that is also a network-enabled automation controller device” [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the user enabled capabilities as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of allowing the user to customize or tweak the capabilities of the vacuum via server to increase the ease of use and its overall efficiency.
Referring to claim 8: SEMECK discloses the station apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (10S/10R/30S Figs. 1 and 2) is further configured to: at least one of a discharge strength or a discharge duration time (“Preferably, a user is notified when or that chamber 30C has been completely vacuumed or that the cleaning device 30 is ready for use again. However, it is also possible in principle for the suction process to be carried out for a specific or predefined period of time, for example 10 or 20 seconds.” [0227-0228]); and control power consumption (“depends on the fill level of the chamber 30C and the container 50G, the power of the blower 50J and/or on the condition, in particular the contamination, of the air-conducting components.” [0211]) of the suction motor (50Y/50J Figs. 1 and 2) or an operating time of the suction motor while the dust discharging operation is being performed.
But is silent on obtaining user setting information.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches it capable of obtaining user setting information (“In some embodiments, or in an invention disclosed herein, the robot 300 or application optimizes the user's original input settings, and the user can then decide whether to adopt the recommendation or proceed with the original settings.” [0250]);
(“the networked-enabled automation controller devices 126, 127, 128, 129, 140” [0115]; “The hub 110, the robot 200, the local user terminal 140, 300 and the remote user terminal 144, 300 may each be configured with an environmental manager access client 152 and a robot manager access client 152A, which may be the same as the environmental manager access client (e.g., downloadable or pre-installed application software app) enabling communications and control between the nodes 110, 200, 140, 142, 144, 300 and 150 as described herein. The access client 152, 152A may provide a convenient interface for a user (also referred to herein as "Person P" or "Occupant P" of the living space 20)” [0077]; “a robot dock 140 that is also a network-enabled automation controller device” [0079])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the user setting information as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of allowing the user to select the vacuum settings to increase the ease of use and its overall efficiency.
Referring to claim 9: SEMECK discloses the station apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor (10S/10R/30S Figs. 1 and 2) is further configured to:
obtain information related to a discharge timing (“Preferably, a user is notified when or that chamber 30C has been completely vacuumed or that the cleaning device 30 is ready for use again. However, it is also possible in principle for the suction process to be carried out for a specific or predefined period of time, for example 10 or 20 seconds.” [0227-0228]);
compare the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner with the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount when the discharge timing condition is satisfied (“However, it is also possible that the suction process is only started when the cleaning device 30 is full or almost full and/or the limit value ΔpSmax has been reached or exceeded, or no (further) cleaning process is possible with the cleaning device 30. This reduces the power consumption of base station 10.”[0208]);
and
perform the dust discharging operation by driving the suction motor when the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner is equal to or greater than the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount as a result of the comparing (“when the cleaning device
30 is full or almost full and/or the limit value ΔpSmax has been reached or exceeded” [0208]).
But is silent on the conditions set specifically by the user.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches it capable of conditions set specifically by the user (“In some embodiments, or in an invention disclosed herein, the robot 300 or application optimizes the user's original input settings, and the user can then decide whether to adopt the recommendation or proceed with the original settings.” [0250]);
(“the networked-enabled automation controller devices 126, 127, 128, 129, 140” [0115]; “The hub 110, the robot 200, the local user terminal 140, 300 and the remote user terminal 144, 300 may each be configured with an environmental manager access client 152 and a robot manager access client 152A, which may be the same as the environmental manager access client (e.g., downloadable or pre-installed application software app) enabling communications and control between the nodes 110, 200, 140, 142, 144, 300 and 150 as described herein. The access client 152, 152A may provide a convenient interface for a user (also referred to herein as "Person P" or "Occupant P" of the living space 20)” [0077]; “a robot dock 140 that is also a network-enabled automation controller device” [0079])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the conditions set by the user as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of allowing the user to select the vacuum settings to increase the ease of use and its overall efficiency.
Referring to claim 10: SEMECK as modified teaches the station apparatus of claim 9, wherein the information related to the discharge timing condition set by the user (“In some embodiments, or in an invention disclosed herein, the robot 300 or application optimizes the user's original input settings, and the user can then decide whether to adopt the recommendation or proceed with the original settings.” [0250] of Angle et al.) comprises at least one of a discharge cycle, a discharge duration time (“it is also possible in principle for the suction process to be carried out for a specific or predefined period of time, for example 10 or 20 seconds.” [0227-0228]), an accumulated operating duration time of the cordless vacuum cleaner, or an accumulated number of operations (accumulated number of operations resulting in a full or almost full container; “Preferably, the fill level of the container can be displayed to the user. For example, the pressure gauge makes it possible to inform or indicate to a user when the measured differential pressure reaches or exceeds the limit value and/or the container is full or almost full and needs to be emptied or the filter needs to be replaced.” [0016]) of the cordless vacuum cleaner.
Referring to claim 11: SEMECK discloses the station apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one the processor (10S/10R/30S Figs. 1 and 2) is further configured to: receive information about a mainly used cleaning mode (“During cleaning or in cleaning mode, the differential pressure ΔpSR across chamber 30C can be determined by a pressure measurement, in particular absolute or relative pressure measurement, (exclusively) at the first measuring point S1 in the cleaning device 30.” [0172]) of the cordless vacuum cleaner from the cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2); and determine at least one of the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount (“The pressure measuring device 30M, in particular the pressure sensor 30W, or 30X is preferably electrically connected to the control unit 30S, the data processing unit 30R and/or the communication unit 30K, in particular to process, evaluate and/or transmit the measured values to the base station 10 and/or another device, as will be explained in more detail below.”[0146]), a discharge strength, or a discharge duration time (“the suction process to be carried out for a specific or predefined period of time, for example 10 or 20 seconds.” [0228]”), based on the mainly used cleaning mode of the cordless vacuum cleaner.
Referring to claim 13: SEMECK discloses the station apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (10S/10R/30S Figs. 1 and 2) is further configured to: perform the dust discharging operation (“In this case, the cleaning device 30 or chamber 30C should be emptied before carrying out a further cleaning process, in particular by means of the base station 10.” [0186]) by controlling the suction motor (50Y/50J Figs. 1 and 2) according to a discharge strength or a discharge duration time (“Preferably, a user is notified when or that chamber 30C has been completely vacuumed or that the cleaning device 30 is ready for use again. However, it is also possible in principle for the suction process to be carried out for a specific or predefined period of time, for example 10 or 20 seconds.” [0227-0228]); and perform the dust discharging operation by controlling the suction motor according to a default discharge strength or a default discharge duration time (“a specific or predefined period of time” [0228])
But is silent on being set specifically by a user;
an input of pressing a dust discharge button for a first time is detected;
an input of pressing the dust discharge button for a second time different from the first time is detected.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches setting set specifically by a user (“the networked-enabled automation controller devices 126, 127, 128, 129, 140” [0115]; “The hub 110, the robot 200, the local user terminal 140, 300 and the remote user terminal 144, 300 may each be configured with an environmental manager access client 152 and a robot manager access client 152A, which may be the same as the environmental manager access client (e.g., downloadable or pre-installed application software app) enabling communications and control between the nodes 110, 200, 140, 142, 144, 300 and 150 as described herein. The access client 152, 152A may provide a convenient interface for a user (also referred to herein as "Person P" or "Occupant P" of the living space 20)” [0077]; “a robot dock 140 that is also a network-enabled automation controller device” [0079]) and a plurality of inputs (inputs of 300 shown in Fig. 6) capable of being a discharge button (“Most advantageously, the scheduling process works interactively with a charging and/or evacuating dock 140, such that the robot 200 may launch on schedule in a fully charged and/or empty (cleaning bin) state.” [0178]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the user set settings and inputs as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of allowing the user to customize or tweak the capabilities of the vacuum via server to increase the ease of use and its overall efficiency.
Referring to claim 15: SEMECK discloses the operating method of claim 14, wherein the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner is obtained based on a sensor measurement value measured (“in particular to process, evaluate and/or transmit the measured values to the base station 10” [0146]) using a flow sensor or a pressure sensor (30W Fig. 2) of the cordless vacuum cleaner (30 Figs. 1 and 2) when the cordless vacuum cleaner is in the lifted state (lifted state shown in Fig. 1) from the floor surface (3 Fig. 1).
But is silent on a brush device specifically connected to the cordless vacuum cleaner.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches a brush device (“reciprocating brush” [0089]) specifically connected to the cordless vacuum cleaner (200 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the brush device as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having a device suitable for cleaning.
Referring to claim 16: SEMECK discloses the operating method of claim 14, wherein the performing of the dust discharging operation (“In this case, the cleaning device 30 or chamber 30C should be emptied before carrying out a further cleaning process, in particular by means of the base station 10.” [0186]) comprises: a smart discharge mode (“Preferably, extraction is only possible if the measured differential pressure ΔpB across the container 50G or the filter 50H of the base station 10 is below the limit value ΔpBmax.” [0243]) in which whether to perform the dust discharging operation is determined based on the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner; setting a discharge mode of the station apparatus (“In suction mode, the volume flow V through the cleaning device 30 or the base station 10, hereinafter referred to as volume flow VA, depends on the fill level of the chamber 30C and the container 50G, the power of the blower 50J and/or on the condition, in particular the contamination, of the air-conducting components.” [0211]) to the smart discharge mode; and performing the dust discharging operation when it is identified that the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner is equal to or greater than the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount in the smart discharge mode (“Preferably, extraction is only possible if the measured differential pressure ΔpB across the container 50G or the filter 50H of the base station 10 is below the limit value ΔpBmax” [0243]).
But is silent on specifically receiving user input.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches it capable of receiving user inputs (“the networked-enabled automation controller devices 126, 127, 128, 129, 140” [0115]; “The hub 110, the robot 200, the local user terminal 140, 300 and the remote user terminal 144, 300 may each be configured with an environmental manager access client 152 and a robot manager access client 152A, which may be the same as the environmental manager access client (e.g., downloadable or pre-installed application software app) enabling communications and control between the nodes 110, 200, 140, 142, 144, 300 and 150 as described herein. The access client 152, 152A may provide a convenient interface for a user (also referred to herein as "Person P" or "Occupant P" of the living space 20)” [0077]; “a robot dock 140 that is also a network-enabled automation controller device” [0079])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the user enabled capabilities as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of allowing the user to customize or tweak the capabilities of the vacuum to increase the overall efficiency.
Referring to claim 17: SEMECK discloses the operating method of claim 14, further comprising: receiving information about the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount, a server device (“Preferably, the corresponding limit values ΔpBmax , ΔpSmax and are used. ΔpSmin, setpoints ΔpSBset, functional equations and/or tables are stored in the data processing unit 30R of the cleaning device 30, in the data processing unit 10R of the base station 10 or a central unit, such as a server.” [0270]) or the cordless vacuum cleaner; and storing the information about the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount in a memory (memory used for storing limit value; “limit values.. stored in… the data processing unit 10R of the base station 10” [0015, 0210]) of the station apparatus (10 Figs. 1 and 2).
But is silent on being set by a user.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches it being set by a user, from a server device (“a remote management server or servers (e.g., cloud server) 150” [0077]) or the cordless vacuum cleaner
(“the networked-enabled automation controller devices 126, 127, 128, 129, 140” [0115]; “The hub 110, the robot 200, the local user terminal 140, 300 and the remote user terminal 144, 300 may each be configured with an environmental manager access client 152 and a robot manager access client 152A, which may be the same as the environmental manager access client (e.g., downloadable or pre-installed application software app) enabling communications and control between the nodes 110, 200, 140, 142, 144, 300 and 150 as described herein. The access client 152, 152A may provide a convenient interface for a user (also referred to herein as "Person P" or "Occupant P" of the living space 20)” [0077]; “a robot dock 140 that is also a network-enabled automation controller device” [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the user enabled capabilities as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of allowing the user to customize or tweak the capabilities of the vacuum via server to increase the ease of use and its overall efficiency.
Referring to claim 18: SEMECK discloses the operating method of claim 14, wherein the performing of the dust discharging operation further comprises at least one of a discharge strength or a discharge duration time (“Preferably, a user is notified when or that chamber 30C has been completely vacuumed or that the cleaning device 30 is ready for use again. However, it is also possible in principle for the suction process to be carried out for a specific or predefined period of time, for example 10 or 20 seconds.” [0227-0228]); and controlling power consumption of the suction motor (“depends on the fill level of the chamber 30C and the container 50G, the power of the blower 50J and/or on the condition, in particular the contamination, of the air-conducting components.” [0211]) or an operating time of the suction motor (50Y/50J Figs. 1 and 2) while the dust discharging operation is being performed.
But is silent on obtaining user setting information.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches it capable of obtaining user setting information (“In some embodiments, or in an invention disclosed herein, the robot 300 or application optimizes the user's original input settings, and the user can then decide whether to adopt the recommendation or proceed with the original settings.” [0250]);
(“the networked-enabled automation controller devices 126, 127, 128, 129, 140” [0115]; “The hub 110, the robot 200, the local user terminal 140, 300 and the remote user terminal 144, 300 may each be configured with an environmental manager access client 152 and a robot manager access client 152A, which may be the same as the environmental manager access client (e.g., downloadable or pre-installed application software app) enabling communications and control between the nodes 110, 200, 140, 142, 144, 300 and 150 as described herein. The access client 152, 152A may provide a convenient interface for a user (also referred to herein as "Person P" or "Occupant P" of the living space 20)” [0077]; “a robot dock 140 that is also a network-enabled automation controller device” [0079])
Referring to claim 19: SEMECK discloses the operating method of claim 14, wherein the performing of the dust discharging operation further comprises: obtaining information related to a discharge timing (“it is also possible in principle for the suction process to be carried out for a specific or predefined period of time, for example 10 or 20 seconds.” [0228]); comparing the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner with the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount (“The pressure measuring device 30M, in particular the pressure sensor 30W, or 30X is preferably electrically connected to the control unit 30S, the data processing unit 30R and/or the communication unit 30K, in particular to process, evaluate and/or transmit the measured values to the base station 10 and/or another device, as will be explained in more detail below.”[0146]) when the discharge timing is satisfied; and performing the dust discharging operation by driving the suction motor when the suction power decrease amount of the cordless vacuum cleaner is equal to or greater than the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount as a result of the comparing (“If the (measured) differential pressure ΔpSR reaches or exceeds the limit value ΔpSmax, chamber 30C is full or nearly full. In this case, the cleaning device 30 or chamber 30C should be emptied before carrying out a further cleaning process, in particular by means of the base station 10.” [0186]).
But is silent on the conditions set specifically by the user.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches it capable of conditions set specifically by the user (“In some embodiments, or in an invention disclosed herein, the robot 300 or application optimizes the user's original input settings, and the user can then decide whether to adopt the recommendation or proceed with the original settings.” [0250]);
(“the networked-enabled automation controller devices 126, 127, 128, 129, 140” [0115]; “The hub 110, the robot 200, the local user terminal 140, 300 and the remote user terminal 144, 300 may each be configured with an environmental manager access client 152 and a robot manager access client 152A, which may be the same as the environmental manager access client (e.g., downloadable or pre-installed application software app) enabling communications and control between the nodes 110, 200, 140, 142, 144, 300 and 150 as described herein. The access client 152, 152A may provide a convenient interface for a user (also referred to herein as "Person P" or "Occupant P" of the living space 20)” [0077]; “a robot dock 140 that is also a network-enabled automation controller device” [0079])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the conditions set by the user as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of allowing the user to select the vacuum settings to increase the ease of use and its overall efficiency.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEMECK (DE 102019004417 A1) and Angle et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0207282 A1), and HOWARD (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0315418 A1).
Referring to claim 7: SEMECK discloses the station apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (10S/10R/30S Figs. 1 and 2) is further configured to: selecting one operating mode from among a plurality of operating modes of the station apparatus (“In suction mode, the volume flow V through the cleaning device 30 or the base station 10, hereinafter referred to as volume flow VA, depends on the fill level of the chamber 30C and the container 50G, the power of the blower 50J and/or on the condition, in particular the contamination, of the air-conducting components.” [0211]; charging mode “After use or after a cleaning process, the cleaning device can be connected to the base station in order to preferably charge the cleaning device automatically or autonomously (electrically) and/or - in particular the chamber of the cleaning device” [0010]); and select the pre-set threshold suction power decrease amount (“Preferably, the limit value ApSmin is determined empirically or experimentally, depending on the volume flow rate VA.” [0215]) and a plurality of pre-set threshold suction power decrease amounts (“Preferably, one or more measured values, limit values and/or functional equations are used.” [0248])
But is silent on receiving a user input; and select the pre-set threshold suction power decrease specifically corresponding to the selected operating mode, among a plurality of pre-set threshold suction power decrease amounts respectively specifically corresponding to the plurality of operating modes of the station apparatus.
Angle et al. in an analogous station apparatus (“Dock” 140 Fig. 1; “The dock 140 may be an evacuation station including a motorized receptacle actuatable to empty debris from the robot 200.” [0084]) and teaches it capable of receiving user inputs for setting a plurality of modes (“Most advantageously, the scheduling process works interactively with a charging and/or evacuating dock 140, such that the robot 200 may launch on schedule in a fully charged and/or empty (cleaning bin) state.” [0178]);
(“the networked-enabled automation controller devices 126, 127, 128, 129, 140” [0115]; “The hub 110, the robot 200, the local user terminal 140, 300 and the remote user terminal 144, 300 may each be configured with an environmental manager access client 152 and a robot manager access client 152A, which may be the same as the environmental manager access client (e.g., downloadable or pre-installed application software app) enabling communications and control between the nodes 110, 200, 140, 142, 144, 300 and 150 as described herein. The access client 152, 152A may provide a convenient interface for a user (also referred to herein as "Person P" or "Occupant P" of the living space 20)” [0077]; “a robot dock 140 that is also a network-enabled automation controller device” [0079])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the user capabilities as taught by Angle et al. for the purpose of allowing the user to set the vacuum modes to increase the ease of use and its overall efficiency.
HOWARD in an analogous vacuum cleaner (100 Fig.1A), and teaches selecting the pre-set threshold (“the thresholds for determining floor types may be adjusted based” [0026]) specifically corresponding to the selected operating mode (modes for specific “floor types” [0026]; ), among a plurality of pre-set threshold amounts (“For example, a first secondary threshold may correspond to a high pile carpet and another secondary threshold may correspond to a low pile carpet” [0027]) respectively corresponding to the plurality of operating modes (“thresholds that are associated with the operational mode,” [0027]) of the similar configuration station apparatus (“in response to a command issued by the controller 120” [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK as modified with the mode specific threshold limits as taught by HOWARD for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of the operation.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEMECK (DE 102019004417 A1) and Uenishi (U.S. Patent No. 5,276,939 A).
Referring to claim 12: SEMECK discloses the station apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (10S/10R/30S Figs. 1 and 2), SEMECK discloses “Consequently, the differential pressure ΔpS across chamber 30C is preferably determined during cleaning or in cleaning mode in the same way as during suction or in suction mode” [0170], but is silent on being further configured to: calculate the suction power decrease specifically amount plural times in response to the lifted state being identified plural times specifically during a cleaning operation.
Uenishi in an analogous vacuum cleaner (shown in Fig. 1) teaches being configured to calculate the suction power (“To find the variable noload current value, if the no-load current in brush driving motor 19 becomes I.sub.ref =0.8A or less (0.6A, for example), the moment floor nozzle 17 is lifted, for example, the current may be become a new comparison reference value I.sub.ref.” Col. 8, lines 10-14) specifically amount plural times in response to the lifted state being identified plural times capable during a cleaning operation (capable of being measured during a similar configuration cleaning operation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the station apparatus of SEMECK with the lifted measuring method as taught by Uenishi for the purpose of improving the accuracy of the measurements by establishing a consistent baseline measurement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723