Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
The amendments filed on 7/3/2025 has overcome the previous rejection. However, upon further consideration independent claims 1 & 13 have been rejected by Alvey et al., US Application 20160197566 (hereinafter referred to as Alvey) in view of Hong, KR101114980B1 (hereinafter referred to as Hong). Hong teaches of restarting the voltage-based protection after a ramp up period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvey et al., US Application 20160197566 (hereinafter referred to as Alvey) in view of Hong, KR101114980B1 (hereinafter referred to as Hong).
In regards to claim 1, Alvey teaches a heating ventilation and air-conditioning system (motor drive) comprising: at least one analog-to-digital converter (analog to digital converter 510) configured to sample (transfer data) a voltage signal (analog interface 508) on or across one or more power lines (lines L1 and L2) to provide a plurality of samples (operating parameters), the one or more power lines supplying power (power stage) to a compressor (compressor) ([0022], [0066-0067], & [0069]); a voltage-based protection module (motor protection control logic) configured to execute one or more voltage-based protection algorithms (linear logic, adaptive logic) to protect (protection) the compressor ([0028], [0030], & [0069]); and a soft starter detection module (control logic 210 & power stage 220) configured, based on the plurality of samples, to detect (currents are compared) i) presence of a soft starter (soft-start logic), and ii) activity of the soft starter ramping up current (ramp-up) to the compressor, and to, based on detecting the presence of the soft starter and the activity of the soft starter, disable voltage-based protection (selected voltages… not utilized) provided by the voltage- based protection module ([0028]).
Alvey does not teach the soft starter detection module configured to reenable the voltage-based protection subsequent to a ramp up period during which the soft starter is ramping up the current to the compressor.
Hong teaches the soft starter detection module (soft starter; [Pg. 4, Para. 30]) (soft-start logic, Alvey) configured to reenable the voltage-based protection (PROTECTION SETTING, overvoltage; [Pg. 5, Para. 1]) subsequent to a ramp up period (RAMP TIME; [Pg. 4, Para. 33]) during which the soft starter is ramping up the current to the compressor (Initial torque; [Pg. 4, Para. 31]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey in order to incorporate the soft starter detection module configured to reenable the voltage-based protection subsequent to a ramp up period during which the soft starter is ramping up the current to the compressor as taught by Hong. The motivation for doing so would be to protect the motor from overvoltage, overcurrent, current unbalance, and voltage upwards (Hong, [Pg. 5, Para. 1]).
In regards to claim 2, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 1. In addition, Alvey teaches wherein the soft starter detection module is configured to: disable the voltage-based protection provided by the voltage-based protection module during a soft start ramp up period ([0028]); and enable the voltage-based protection (voltages… are selected…. Faults, and correct action is taken) provided by the voltage-based protection module in response to detecting an end of the soft start ramp up period (running mode) ([0029]).
In regards to claim 3, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 1 & 2. In addition, Alvey teaches wherein the soft starter detection module is configured to: detect whether the voltage signal is a chopped voltage signal (PWM) ([0035]); in response to detecting that the voltage signal is a chopped voltage signal, determine that the soft starter is ramping up current (ramp the speed up) to the compressor; and in response to detecting that the voltage signal is not a chopped voltage signal (steady speed), determine that the soft starter is not ramping up current (soft start logic portion) to the compressor ([0038]).
In regards to claim 13, Alvey teaches a soft starter detection (control logic 210 & power stage 220) method for a heating ventilation and air-conditioning system (motor drive), the heating ventilation and air-conditioning system comprising a voltage-based protection module (motor protection control logic) configured to execute one or more voltage-based protection algorithms (linear logic, adaptive logic) to protect a compressor (compressor) ([0028], [0030], & [0069]), the method comprising: sampling a voltage signal (analog interface 508) on or across one or more power lines (lines L1 and L2) to provide a plurality of samples (operating parameters), the one or more power lines supplying power (power stage) to the compressor ([0022], [0066-0067], & [0069]); based on the plurality of samples, i) detecting (currents are compared) presence of a soft starter (soft-start logic) supplying the power to the compressor, and ii) detecting activity of the soft starter ramping up current (ramp-up) to the compressor; and based on detecting the presence of the soft starter and the activity of the soft starter, disabling voltage-based protection (selected voltages… not utilized) provided by the voltage-based protection module ([0028]).
Alvey does not teach the soft starter detection module configured to reenable the voltage-based protection subsequent to a ramp up period during which the soft starter is ramping up the current to the compressor.
Hong teaches the soft starter detection module (soft starter; [Pg. 4, Para. 30]) (soft-start logic, Alvey) configured to reenable the voltage-based protection (PROTECTION SETTING, overvoltage; [Pg. 5, Para. 1]) subsequent to a ramp up period (RAMP TIME; [Pg. 4, Para. 33]) during which the soft starter is ramping up the current to the compressor (Initial torque; [Pg. 4, Para. 31]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey in order to incorporate the soft starter detection module configured to reenable the voltage-based protection subsequent to a ramp up period during which the soft starter is ramping up the current to the compressor as taught by Hong. The motivation for doing so would be to protect the motor from overvoltage, overcurrent, current unbalance, and voltage upwards (Hong, [Pg. 5, Para. 1]).
In regards to claim 14, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 13. In addition, Alvey teaches the method further comprising: disabling the voltage-based protection provided by the voltage-based protection module during a soft start ramp up period ([0028]); and enabling the voltage-based protection (voltages… are selected…. Faults, and correct action is taken) provided by the voltage-based protection module in response to detecting an end of the soft start ramp up period (running mode) ([0028-0029]).
In regards to claim 15, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 13 and 14. In addition, Alvey teaches the method further comprising: detecting whether the voltage signal is a chopped voltage signal (PWM) ([0035]); in response to detecting that the voltage signal is a chopped voltage signal, determining that the soft starter is ramping up current (ramp the speed up) to the compressor; and in response to detecting that the voltage signal is not a chopped voltage signal (steady speed), determining that the soft starter is not ramping up current (soft start logic portion) to the compressor ([0038]).
Claim(s) 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvey et al., US Application 20160197566 (hereinafter referred to as Alvey) in view of Hong, KR101114980B1 (hereinafter referred to as Hong) and in further view of Devos et al., US Patent 12095391 (hereinafter referred to as Devos).
In regards to claim 4, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 1. In addition, Alvey teaches wherein the soft starter detection module is configured to: determine a first root mean square voltage (root-mean square voltage) of the voltage signal ([0004]); and disable (which is not utilized) the voltage-based protection provided by the voltage-based protection module in response to determining that the soft starter is ramping up the current to the compressor ([0028]).
Alvey & Hong do not teach the soft starter detection module configured to: determine a second root mean square voltage of the voltage signal; and based on a difference between the first root mean square voltage and the second root mean square voltage, determine whether the soft starter is ramping up the current to the compressor.
Devos teaches the soft starter detection module configured to: determine a second root mean square voltage (root mean square current of a winding) of the voltage signal ([Col. 2, Ln. 57-62] & [Col. 5, Ln. 4-8]); and based on a difference (current misbalance) between the first root mean square voltage and the second root mean square voltage, determine whether the soft starter (soft-starter) is ramping up the current (allow… soft-starter) to the compressor (electric motor) ([Col. 1, Ln. 51-53] & [Col. 5, Ln. 9-15]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Devos to include a second RMS voltage signal for determining if the soft-starter is ramping up current. The first voltage monitors the phase A and the second voltage monitors the phase B and a third voltage would monitor the phase C. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “a voltage” includes current because V=IR. Devos teaches of determining a current misbalance. The soft-start should not occur with a current misbalance; and a determination of no misbalance would have the soft start continue. The motivation for doing so would be to add an additional phase protection check for loss of phase on a 3phase motor.
In regards to claim 16, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 13. In addition, Alvey further teaches the method further comprising: determining a first root mean square voltage (root-mean square voltage) of the voltage signal ([0004]); and disabling (which is not utilized) the voltage-based protection provided by the voltage-based protection module in response to determining that the soft starter is ramping up the current to the compressor ([0028]).
Alvey & Hong do not teach the method further comprising: determining a second root mean square voltage of the voltage signal; and based on a difference between the first root mean square voltage and the second root mean square voltage, determining whether the soft starter is ramping up the current to the compressor.
Devos teaches the method further comprising: determining a second root mean square voltage (root mean square current of a winding) of the voltage signal ([Col. 2, Ln. 57-62] & [Col. 5, Ln. 4-8]); and based on a difference (current misbalance) between the first root mean square voltage and the second root mean square voltage, determining whether the soft starter (soft-starter) is ramping up the current (allow… soft-starter) to the compressor (electric motor) ([Col. 1, Ln. 51-53] & [Col. 5, Ln. 9-15]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Devos to include a second RMS voltage signal for determining if the soft-starter is ramping up current. The first voltage monitors the phase A and the second voltage monitors the phase B and a third voltage would monitor the phase C. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “a voltage” includes current because V=IR. Devos teaches of determining a current misbalance. The soft-start should not occur with a current misbalance; and a determination of no misbalance would have the soft start continue. The motivation for doing so would be to add an additional phase protection check for loss of phase on a 3phase motor.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvey et al., US Application 20160197566 (hereinafter referred to as Alvey) in view of Hong, KR101114980B1 (hereinafter referred to as Hong), and in further view of Devos et al., US Patent 12095391 (hereinafter referred to as Devos) and in further view of Ye et al., US Patent 9588152 (hereinafter referred to as Ye).
In regards to claim 5, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 1 and 4. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Devos further teaches wherein the soft starter detection module is configured to: determine the first root mean square voltage-based on a square root of an average sum of squares of the plurality of samples of the voltage signal (current measurements) ([Col. 5, Ln. 4-8]).
Devos does not teach the soft starter detection module configured to: determine the second root mean square voltage-based on a peak of the plurality of samples of the voltage signal divided by a square root of 2.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Devos to include an average sum of second RMS voltage signals for determining if the soft-starter is ramping up current. Devos teaches of measurements and not measurement. Therefore, the root mean square measurements are understood as an average of rms measurements on a single winding. The first voltage monitors the phase A and the second voltage monitors the phase B and a third voltage would monitor the phase C. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “a voltage” includes current because V=IR. Devos teaches of determining a current misbalance. The soft-start should not occur with a current misbalance; and a determination of no misbalance would have the soft start continue. The motivation for doing so would be to add an additional phase protection check for loss of phase on a 3phase motor.
Ye teaches the soft starter detection module configured to: determine the second root mean square voltage-based on a peak of the plurality of samples of the voltage signal (peak voltage value) divided by a square root of 2 ([Abstract]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey, Hong, & Devos to incorporate the teachings of Ye to have the second voltage signal measure the peak. Devos teaches a second voltage signal averaging multiple current signals. Ye modifies the second voltage signal to read the peak instead of the RMS value. The motivation for doing so is to have an ability to check the motor under light load conditions.
In regards to claim 17, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 13 and 16. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Devos further teaches the method further comprising: determining the first root mean square voltage-based on a square root of an average sum of squares of the plurality of samples of the voltage signal (current measurements) ([Col. 5, Ln. 4-8]).
Devos does not teach the method further comprising: determining the second root mean square voltage-based on a peak of the plurality of samples of the voltage signal divided by a square root of 2.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Devos to include an average sum of second RMS voltage signals for determining if the soft-starter is ramping up current. Devos teaches of measurements and not measurement. Therefore, the root mean square measurements are understood as an average of rms measurements on a single winding. The first voltage monitors the phase A and the second voltage monitors the phase B and a third voltage would monitor the phase C. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “a voltage” includes current because V=IR. Devos teaches of determining a current misbalance. The soft-start should not occur with a current misbalance; and a determination of no misbalance would have the soft start continue. The motivation for doing so would be to add an additional phase protection check for loss of phase on a 3phase motor.
Ye teaches the method further comprising: determining the second root mean square voltage-based on a peak of the plurality of samples of the voltage signal (peak voltage value) divided by a square root of 2 ([Abstract]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey, Hong, & Devos to incorporate the teachings of Ye to have the second voltage signal measure the peak. Devos teaches a second voltage signal averaging multiple current signals. Ye modifies the second voltage signal to read the peak instead of the RMS value. The motivation for doing so is to have an ability to check the motor under light load conditions.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvey et al., US Application 20160197566 (hereinafter referred to as Alvey) in view of Hong, KR101114980B1 (hereinafter referred to as Hong), and in further view of Goder et al., US Patent 5978195 (hereinafter referred to as Goder).
In regards to claim 6, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 1. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Goder teaches wherein the soft starter detection module is configured to: track (has not elapsed) an amount of time (soft-start delay) during a startup (startup) of the compressor that the soft starter is ramping up current to the compressor; compare the amount of time to a maximum ramp time (fault-delay) ([Col. 1, Ln. 62-67]); and based on the comparison of the amount of time and the maximum ramp time, enable the voltage-based protection (prevent the regulator from starting) provided by the voltage-based protection module ([Col. 1, Ln. 58-62]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Goder to track an amount of time a soft starter ramps up and compare it to a maximum amount of time. The comparison is built into the design of the durations for the fault-delay and the start-delay. The motivation for doing so is to prevent false trips during start-up (Col. 1, Ln. 58-62).
In regards to claim 7, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 1 and 6. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Goder teaches wherein the soft starter detection module is configured to: in response to the amount of time being longer (longer) than the maximum ramp time, enable the voltage-based protection (prevent the regulator from starting) provided by the voltage-based protection module ([Col. 1, Ln. 62-67]); and in response to the amount of time being less than or equal to the maximum ramp time (soft-start delay), maintaining the voltage-based protection module in a disabled state (protection arrangement is delay) ([Col. 1, Ln. 58-62]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Goder to track an amount of time a soft starter ramps up and compare it to a maximum amount of time. The comparison is built into the design of the durations for the fault-delay and the start-delay. The motivation for doing so is to prevent false trips during start-up (Col. 1, Ln. 58-62).
In regards to claim 18, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 13. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Goder teaches the method further comprising: tracking (has not elapsed) an amount of time (soft-start delay) during a startup (startup) of the compressor that the soft starter is ramping up current to the compressor; comparing the amount of time to a maximum ramp time (fault-delay) ([Col. 1, Ln. 62-67]); and based on the comparison of the amount of time and the maximum ramp time, enabling the voltage-based protection (prevent the regulator from starting) provided by the voltage-based protection module ([Col. 1, Ln. 58-62]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Goder to track an amount of time a soft starter ramps up and compare it to a maximum amount of time. The comparison is built into the design of the durations for the fault-delay and the start-delay. The motivation for doing so is to prevent false trips during start-up (Col. 1, Ln. 58-62).
In regards to claim 19, most of the claimed limitations have been taught above in claim 13 and 18. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Goder teaches the method further comprising: in response to the amount of time being longer (longer) than the maximum ramp time, enabling the voltage-based protection (prevent the regulator from starting) provided by the voltage-based protection module ([Col. 1, Ln. 62-67]); and in response to the amount of time being less than or equal to the maximum ramp time (soft-start delay), maintaining the voltage-based protection module in a disabled state (protection arrangement is delay) ([Col. 1, Ln. 58-62]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Goder to track an amount of time a soft starter ramps up and compare it to a maximum amount of time. The comparison is built into the design of the durations for the fault-delay and the start-delay. The motivation for doing so is to prevent false trips during start-up (Col. 1, Ln. 58-62).
Claim(s) 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvey et al., US Application 20160197566 (hereinafter referred to as Alvey) in view of Hong, KR101114980B1 (hereinafter referred to as Hong), and in further view of Nannen et al., US Patent 10862416 (hereinafter referred to as Nannen) and in further view of Ye et al., US Patent 9588152 (hereinafter referred to as Ye).
In regards to claim 9, most of the claim limitations are taught above in claim 1. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Nannen teaches wherein the soft starter detection module is configured to: determine a first voltage-based on a square root of an averaged sum of squares of the plurality of samples (first indicator) ([Col. 4, Ln. 35-37]); determine a second voltage of the plurality of samples (second indicator) ([Col. 4, Ln. 51-53]); and based on the first voltage and the second voltage, detect at least one of i) the presence of a soft starter (reference course), and ii) the activity of the soft starter ramping up (no longer moves) current to the compressor ([Col. 4, Ln. 44-50, Ln. 56-53]).
Nannen does not teach the soft starter detection module is configured to: determine a second voltage-based on a peak voltage of the plurality of samples.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Nannen to use the sum of error squares for the first and second voltage to detect the presence of a soft starter. The motivation for doing so would be to improve on Alvey’s linear and adaptive logic to use a known calculation to check if the motor is blocked (Col. 4, Ln. 37).
Ye teaches the soft starter detection module is configured to: determine a second voltage-based on a peak voltage (peak voltage value) of the plurality of samples ([Abstract]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey, Hong, and Nannen to incorporate the teachings of Ye to have the second voltage signal measure the peak. Nannen teaches a second indicator of calculating the sum of error squares. Ye modifies the second voltage signal to read the peak instead of the RMS value. The motivation for doing so is to have an ability to check the motor under light load conditions.
In regards to claim 21, most of the claim limitations are taught above in claim 13. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Nannen teaches the method further comprising: determining a first voltage-based on a square root of an averaged sum of squares of the plurality of samples (first indicator) ([Col. 4, Ln. 35-37]); determining a second voltage of the plurality of samples (second indicator) ([Col. 4, Ln. 51-53]); and based on the first voltage and the second voltage, detecting at least one of i) the presence of a soft starter (reference course), and ii) the activity of the soft starter ramping up (no longer moves) current to the compressor ([Col. 4, Ln. 44-50, Ln. 56-53]).
Nannen does not teach the method further comprising: determining a second voltage-based on a peak voltage of the plurality of samples.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Nannen to use the sum of error squares for the first and second voltage to detect the presence of a soft starter. The motivation for doing so would be to improve on Alvey’s linear and adaptive logic to use a known calculation to check if the motor is blocked (Col. 4, Ln. 37).
Ye teaches the method further comprising: determining a second voltage-based on a peak voltage (peak voltage value) of the plurality of samples ([Abstract]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey, Hong, and Nannen to incorporate the teachings of Ye to have the second voltage signal measure the peak. Nannen teaches a second indicator of calculating the sum of error squares. Ye modifies the second voltage signal to read the peak instead of the RMS value. The motivation for doing so is to have an ability to check the motor under light load conditions.
Claim(s) 10-12 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvey et al., US Application 20160197566 (hereinafter referred to as Alvey) in view of Hong, KR101114980B1 (hereinafter referred to as Hong) and in further view of Hjiaghajani et al., US Patent 7892304 (hereinafter referred to as Hjiaghajani).
In regards to claim 10, most of the claimed limitations are taught above in claim 1. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Hjiaghajani teaches the system further comprising: the soft starter (soft starter device 290) ([Abstract]); the compressor (motor 295); a contactor (switches 501-503) connected between the soft starter and the compressor ([Col. 20, Ln. 19-22] & [Fig. 5A]); and a control module (adjustable ramp timer 520) configured to close (adjustable) the contactor to supply current (line voltage 291) from the soft starter to the compressor ([Col. 20, Ln. 22-26] & [Fig. 5A]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Hjiaghajani to substitute the electromechanical device taught by Alvey with the contactor and connections taught by Hjiaghajani. The motivation for doing so would be to improve upon the contactor taught by Alvey and improve the automated control over the soft start.
In regards to claim 11, most of the claimed limitations are taught above in claim 1 and 10. In addition, Alvey teaches wherein the control module is configured to enable (send) the at least one analog-to-digital converter (analog to digital converter 510) to sample the voltage signal (analog interface 508) subsequent to closing (valid initial voltage parameters) the contactor ([0028] & [0066-0067]). The system checks the voltage signal before start-up and the contactor would have to be closed to move to the next stage.
In regards to claim 12, most of the claimed limitations are taught above in claim 1 and 10. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Hjiaghajani teaches wherein the one or more power lines are either i) supplying power from the soft starter to the contactor, or ii) supplying power from the contactor to the compressor (line voltage 291 to AC motor 295) ([Col. 5, Ln. 19-26] & [Fig. 5A]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Hjiaghajani to substitute the electromechanical device taught by Alvey with the contactor and connections taught by Hjiaghajani. The motivation for doing so would be to improve upon the contactor taught by Alvey and improve the automated control over the soft start.
In regards to claim 22, most of the claimed limitations are taught above in claim 13. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Hjiaghajani teaches the method further comprising: closing a contactor (switches 501-503) to supply current (line voltage 291) from the soft starter (soft starter device 290) ([Abstract]) to the compressor (motor 295); and enabling sampling of the voltage signal subsequent to closing the contactor ([Col. 20, Ln. 22-26] & [Fig. 5A]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Hjiaghajani to substitute the electromechanical device taught by Alvey with the contactor and connections taught by Hjiaghajani. The motivation for doing so would be to improve upon the contactor taught by Alvey and improve the automated control over the soft start.
In regards to claim 23, most of the claimed limitations are taught above in claim 13 and 22. Alvey & Hong do not explicitly disclose, but, Hjiaghajani teaches wherein the one or more power lines either i) supply power from the soft starter to the contactor, or ii) supply power from the contactor to the compressor (line voltage 291 to AC motor 295) ([Col. 5, Ln. 19-26] & [Fig. 5A]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alvey & Hong to incorporate the teachings of Hjiaghajani to substitute the electromechanical device taught by Alvey with the contactor and connections taught by Hjiaghajani. The motivation for doing so would be to improve upon the contactor taught by Alvey and improve the automated control over the soft start.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is allowed.
The claimed combination found within independent claim 8 is/are considered novel and unobvious in view of the prior art of record. The closest prior arts are considered to be Alvey et al., US Application 20160197566, Goder et al., US Patent 5978195, Nannen et al., US Patent 10862416, Ye et al., US Patent 9588152, and Hjiaghajani et al., US Patent 7892304.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In regards to claim 8, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination or limitations including "wherein the soft starter detection module is configured to: determine a peak voltage of the plurality of samples; determine a present partial sum of the plurality of samples; determine an accumulated partial sum based on the present partial sum; determine a first voltage-based on the accumulated partial sum; determine a second voltage-based on the peak voltage”.
Claim 20 & 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838