DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 14-20 in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 were filed on 8/30/2023 and are pending. Claims 1-13 are withdrawn and claims 14-20 are under examination.
Priority
The application was filed on 8/30/2023 and claims benefit of priority to:
See filing receipt dated 9/12/2023.
Specification and Drawings
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the structures in [0035] are illegible.
Appropriate correction is required.
The drawings are objected to because the text in Fig. 3 is illegible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hobbs (“Mono-organotin(IV) compounds as esterification and transesterification catalysts” Applied organometallic chemistry, 1992, p. 95, of record in the IDS filed on 5/6/2026).
Hobbs teaches the use of a compound of the following formula in a transesterification reaction in Table 1 on p. 96: BuSn(OSiPh3)3. This is a compound of claim 14 wherein R is n-butyl, a C4 alkyl and R2 is phenyl, an aryl. Also see MPEP 2131.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Erlikh (Vysokomolekulyarnye Soedineniya, 1963, p. 217, of record in the IDS filed on 5/6/2026).
Erlikh teaches a compound of the following formula in the first reaction on p. 217:
. This is a compound of claim 14 wherein R is a carboxylate and R2 is methyl, a C1 alkyl. In the same reaction Erlikh also teaches the following compound: [(CH3)3SiO]4Sn. This is a compound of claim 14 wherein R is a silylated alkoxide (OSi(CH3)3) and R2 is methyl, a C1 alkyl. Also see MPEP 2131.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schmidbaur (“Darstellung und eigenschaften von alkylstannosiloxanen” Journal of Organometallic Chemistry, 1964, p. 217, of record in the IDS filed on 5/6/2026).
Schmidbaur teaches a compound of the following formula (VI) on p. 246: [(CH3)3SiO]3SnCH3. This is a compound of claims 14 and 15 wherein R and R2 are methyl, a C1 alkyl. Schmidbaur also teaches the following compound (VII) on p. 246: [(CH3)3SiO]4Sn. This is a compound of claim 14 wherein R is a silylated alkoxide (OSi(CH3)3) and R2 is methyl, a C1 alkyl. Also see MPEP 2131.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada (JP2001031870A, published on 2/6/2001, of record in the IDS filed on 5/6/2026, including a machine generated translation).
Okada teaches the following compound: monobutyltin tris(triethoxysilicate). This compound corresponds to a compound of claim 14 wherein R2 is a C2 alkoxide and R is butyl (C4 alkyl). Also see example 6 in lines 333-350 of the translation. Okada additionally teaches that R2 can be methyl, propyl or butyl. See lines 147-150 of the translation. Also see MPEP 2131.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gutmann(“Triphenylsiloxyverbindungen von Elementen der 4. Gruppe” Monatshefte fuer Chemie (1960), 91, 519-22).
Gutmann teaches the following compound of formula [(C6H5)3SiO]4Sn in Table 1 on p. 520. This is a compound of claim 14 wherein R is a silylated alkoxide (OSi(C6H5)3) and R2 is C6H5, an aryl. Also see MPEP 2131.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of co-pending Application No. 18/785117 (‘117, reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 11 of ‘117 requires the species of instant claims 15, 16, and 18 in any purity. Also see MPEP 2131.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Subject Matter free from the Prior Art
The compositions of claims 16-20 appear to be free from the prior art. The closest art to the claimed invention are the references of record. The references do not teach or suggest modifying the disclosed compounds to arrive at those claimed. Nor do the references explicitly teach that the purity of the compounds is 99.9%, or that such a purity of said compounds is possible to attain.
Conclusion
/AMY C BONAPARTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692