DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed April 15th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, and 15-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP Patent No. EP 2712662, to Wong et al. (hereinafter Wong), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20140374541 A1, to Wang et al (hereinafter Wang), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20150360767, to Lissajoux et al (hereinafter Lissajoux).
Regarding claim 1, and commensurate claim 15, 16, and 20 Wong teaches A method for controlling an aircraft, comprising: (See at least paragraph [Abstract] [0024]“control of a toy flying vehicle”).
obtaining a request to switch the aircraft from a current control mode to a target a control mode; (See at least paragraph [0079-0081] “. An operation procedure in control stick, mainly throttle stick, which can switch the control method from altitude control mode back to manual mode. This operation procedure further comprises of a. While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, release the throttle stick so that this stick returns to neutral position by a spring. This action does not affect the hovering height of flying toy b. Push the throttle stick slowly until the throttle step is greater than or equal to current motor speed to take over the control method from altitude control to manual control mode. c. Indication on flying toy and/or transmitter for swapping the control method from altitude control to manual control mode. An alternative operation procedure comprises of a. While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, push the throttle stick from any region to the central region i.e. around 50% throttle b. Keep the throttle stick in this region unchanged for a certain period of time, says more than 1 sec. c. Push the throttle stick either up or down slower to take over the control method from altitude control to manual control mode. d. Indication on flying toy and/or transmitter for swapping the control mode from altitude control to manual control mode.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0105] “A button or selector which can switch the control method from manual mode to altitude control mode.”).
wherein: (a) the aircraft is in communication with a remote controller, and the remote controller comprises a control member; (See at least paragraph [0043] “ The control system includes the remote controller transmitter 122 and a receiver 134 in the body 120 which is in wireless communication”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0079] “One or more control sticks for controlling throttle, forward, backward, left turn, right turn, leftward fly and rightward fly. In manual control mode, altitude control function is masked.”).
and in response to a current position of the control member being within a preset range region, controlling the air craft to enter the target control mode: (See at least paragraph [0007] “The drone is also provided with a command for switching to a fixed-point condition: in this operating mode, called hereinafter "auto-controlled mode", when the user releases all the commands of its remote-control device, the drone is immobilized and stabilized in a fixed-point condition in a fully automatic manner.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0106] “ a. While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, push the throttle stick from any region to the central region i.e. around 50% throttle
b. Keep the throttle stick in this region unchanged for a certain period of time, says more than 1 sec. c. Push the throttle stick either up or down slower to take over the control method from altitude control to manual control mode. d. Indication on flying toy and/or transmitter for swapping the control mode from altitude control to manual control mode.”).
Wong does not explicitly disclose, however Wang discloses, (b) for different control modes, the control member controls a flight state of the aircraft comprising at least a vertical direction flight state; (c) a mapping between input of the control member and the flight state differs under different control modes; (See at least paragraph [0011] “the aircraft is configured to realize imaging functions of a ground target using a camera carried thereon, wherein camera has a lens zooming out/in function, wherein the movement of the first control rod in the first movement direction controls the aircraft's up/down, the camera's focal length zooming out/in, or a coupled motion of the aircraft's up/down and the camera's focal length zooming out/in, wherein the maintained aircraft state comprises a coupled value of the aircraft's height and the camera's focal length.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0077] “ the same control rod 110 returning to its center position may correspond to the focal length of the camera zooming in. In this embodiment, the control rod 110 in the up/down direction returning to its center position does not necessarily correspond to the aircraft's maintaining the previous altitude, but corresponds to the coupled value of the aircraft's altitude and the camera focal length.”).
and (d) a same flight state has different inputs of the control member in different control modes; (See at least paragraph [0074] “Note here that a same preset control rod position may correspond to different states of the holding (such as altitudes).”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0077] “the automatic center position of control rod 110 in the up/down direction can correspond to a constant image size, and the aircraft can, in the case that control rod 110 in the up/down direction has no operator actions, automatically descend to maintain a distance to the target to thereby make the image captured have an invariable size. However, if the aircraft descends too much there may be safety issues, such as the distance to obstructions (e.g., tree branches) becomes too close, then the same control rod 110 returning to its center position may correspond to the focal length of the camera zooming in”).
wherein in the target control mode. the control member's being in the preset range region renders the aircraft maintain a same flight state as that before switching to the target mode. (See at least paragraph [0056--0057] “Provided in the aircraft 104 may be an automatic control device that can, in the case that the first control rod 110 in a first direction of movement 220 automatically returns to a predetermined position in the first direction of movement, control the aircraft 104 in the first motion direction to enter a flight mode maintaining. Wherein the maintained flight mode can be dependent on signals received by the aircraft, including control signals generated from the changes in the external force received by first control rod 110 in its first direction of movement, and status signals measured by state measurement sensors carried by the aircraft. For example, to remain in the new altitude just achieved by the aircraft through climbing. This way, the user's operations are simplified, and the handling of the aircraft 104 becomes easier and more precise.”).
Lissajoux teaches, or in response to the current position being not within the preset range region. Prohibiting the aircraft from entering the target control mode: (See at least paragraph [0020] “the switching from the first mode to the second mode is authorized only if the value of each determined property is comprised in a corresponding predetermined value range”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0104] “the switching software 48 is further configured for allowing the switching from the first mode M1 to the second mode M2 only if the value of at least one aeronautic property from among measurements or estimates of a status vector of the aircraft 10, the first and second derivatives of the measurements or estimates of the status vector, the airspeed of the aircraft 10, the sideslip of the aircraft 10 and the incidence of the aircraft 10, is comprised in a corresponding predetermined value range.”).
Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, remote aircraft controlling. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wong to incorporate the teachings of Wang, and Lissajoux because they solve the same problem, switching an aircraft’s control mode via a hand operated control member without disturbing the aircraft current flight state. Therefore the position gated mode will aid in predictably to prevent an abrupt, unintended flight state when switching modes.
Regarding claim 2, Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux teaches the claimed features of claim 1 and Wong further teaches, wherein the preset range region comprises at least a hovering position; and the aircraft maintains altitude in a vertical direction at the hovering position. (See at least paragraph [0080] “release the throttle stick so that this stick returns to neutral position by a spring. This action does not affect the hovering height of flying toy”).
Regarding claim 3, Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux teaches the claimed features of claim 2 and Wong further teaches, wherein the hovering position is located in a middle position of the preset range region. (See at least paragraph [0081] “central region i.e. around 50% throttle”).
Regarding claim 4, and commensurate claim 17, Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux teaches the claimed features of claim 1 and Wong further teaches, wherein the target control mode is a first control mode, (See at least paragraph [0080] “altitude control to manual control mode.”). and correspondingly the preset range region comprises a first preset range region; (See at least paragraph [0080] “While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, release the throttle stick so that this stick returns to neutral position by a spring. This action does not affect the hovering height of flying toy”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0080] “While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, release the throttle stick so that this stick returns to neutral position by a spring. This action does not affect the hovering height of flying toy”).
or the target control mode is a second control mode, and correspondingly the preset range region comprises a second preset range region different from the first preset range region. (See at least paragraph [0079] “One or more control sticks for controlling throttle, forward, backward, left turn, right turn, leftward fly and rightward fly. In manual control mode, altitude control function is masked.”)
Regarding claim 5, and commensurate claim 18, Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux teaches the claimed features of claim 4 and Wong further teaches, wherein in response to the aircraft is being in the first control mode, and the control member being located in a middle position of an operating range of the control member, the aircraft maintains altitude in a vertical direction, and the first preset range region comprises the middle position; and in response to the aircraft being the second control mode and the control member being located in the middle position, the aircraft does not maintain altitude in the vertical direction, and the second preset range region comprises a portion other than the middle position. (See at least paragraph [0080] “While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, release the throttle stick so that this stick returns to neutral position by a spring. This action does not affect the hovering height of flying toy”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0080] “While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, release the throttle stick so that this stick returns to neutral position by a spring. This action does not affect the hovering height of flying toy”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0079] “One or more control sticks for controlling throttle, forward, backward, left turn, right turn, leftward fly and rightward fly. In manual control mode, altitude control function is masked.”)
Regarding claim 6, and commensurate claim 19, Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux teaches the claimed features of claim 1 and Wong further teaches, further comprising: in response to the control member being within the preset range region, determining a duration of the control member being within the preset range region, wherein the controlling of the aircraft to enter the target control mode in response to the current position of the control member being within the preset range region comprises:
controlling the aircraft to enter the target control mode in response to the current position of the control member being within the preset range region and the duration is greater than or equal to a preset time threshold. (See at least paragraph [0081] “ While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, push the throttle stick from any region to the central region i.e. around 50% throttle b. Keep the throttle stick in this region unchanged for a certain period of time, says more than 1 sec. c. Push the throttle stick either up or down slower to take over the control method from altitude control to manual control mode. d. Indication on flying toy and/or transmitter for swapping the control mode from altitude control to manual control mode.”).
Regarding claim 7, Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux teaches the claimed features of claim 1 and Wong further teaches, further comprising: outputting first operation assistance information of the control member, wherein the first operation assistance information is configured to assist a user to adjust a position of the control member in an operating range of the control memeber to the preset range region. (See at least paragraph [0081] “ While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, push the throttle stick from any region to the central region i.e. around 50% throttle b. Keep the throttle stick in this region unchanged for a certain period of time, says more than 1 sec. c. Push the throttle stick either up or down slower to take over the control method from altitude control to manual control mode. d. Indication on flying toy and/or transmitter for swapping the control mode from altitude control to manual control mode.”).
Claims 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP Patent No. EP 2712662, to Wong et al. (hereinafter Wong), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20140374541 A1, to Wang et al (hereinafter Wang), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20150360767, to Lissajoux et al (hereinafter Lissajoux), and further in view of CN. Patent Publication No. CN102610073, to Zengnian et al (hereinafter Zengnian).
Regarding claim 8, Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux teaches the claimed features of claim 7, however Wong does not explicitly disclose, Zengnian discloses, wherein the first operation assistance information comprises at least one of a voice prompt, a graphic indicator, or a text indicator. (See at least paragraph [0037-0039] “On the remote control circuitry plate, also be provided with voice cue module 3; This voice cue module 3 specifically includes Audio Processing Unit 31, power amplifier unit 32 and the phonation unit 33 that is electrically connected successively, and voice cue module 3 is electrically connected with main control module 2 through its Audio Processing Unit 31.Audio Processing Unit 31 be used for receiving main control module 2 that send, with the corresponding phonetic order of keypress function that is pressed, and convert phonetic order to the voice driven signal.Voice driven signal after power amplifier unit 32 is handled Audio Processing Unit 31 carries out power amplification, exports phonation unit 33 then to, sends and the corresponding voice of keypress function through phonation unit 33. This embodiment is through being provided with voice cue module 3 in telepilot; Push button the user and can keypress function be pointed out through voice after 1; Make the user need not to see that remote controller key just can know that what press is the button of carrying out which kind of function, improves the property easy to use of telepilot. Voice cue module 3 specifically can adopt the circuit theory diagrams shown in Fig. 2 to realize.”).
Wong as modified by Zengnian, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, remote controlling. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux to incorporate the teachings of Zengnian such that the “voice prompt” of Zengnian will aid in Wong to better operate the hovering mode by voice for safety reasons once the remote controller is inactive.
Claims 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP Patent No. EP 2712662, to Wong et al. (hereinafter Wong), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20140374541 A1, to Wang et al (hereinafter Wang), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20150360767, to Lissajoux et al (hereinafter Lissajoux), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20040221787, to Mckenney et al (hereinafter Mckenney).
Regarding claim 9, Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux teaches the claimed features of claim 7 and Wong further teaches, controlling of the aircraft to enter the target control mode in response to the current position of the accelerator control member being within the preset range region and the horizontal flight control member being within the preset position region (See at least paragraph [0079-0081] “. An operation procedure in control stick, mainly throttle stick, which can switch the control method from altitude control mode back to manual mode. This operation procedure further comprises of a. While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, release the throttle stick so that this stick returns to neutral position by a spring. This action does not affect the hovering height of flying toy b. Push the throttle stick slowly until the throttle step is greater than or equal to current motor speed to take over the control method from altitude control to manual control mode. c. Indication on flying toy and/or transmitter for swapping the control method from altitude control to manual control mode. An alternative operation procedure comprises of a. While the flying toy is in altitude control mode, push the throttle stick from any region to the central region i.e. around 50% throttle b. Keep the throttle stick in this region unchanged for a certain period of time, says more than 1 sec. c. Push the throttle stick either up or down slower to take over the control method from altitude control to manual control mode. d. Indication on flying toy and/or transmitter for swapping the control mode from altitude control to manual control mode.”).
However Wong does not explicitly disclose, Mckenney discloses, wherein: the control member comprises an accelerator control member and a horizontal flight control member: in response to the reques(See at least paragraph [0015] “The autopilot may be configured to always be engaged when the stick control member is in its neutral position.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [008] “When the operator has completed the course change and released the joystick, a centering spring returns it to a neutral position and the autopilot automatically reengages.”).
Wong as modified by Mckenney, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, remote controlling systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wong as modified by Wang, and Lissajoux to incorporate the teachings of Mckenney such that the “centering spring return” of Mckenney will aid in Wong to better control the drone to a hovering state.
Regarding claim 10, Wong as modified by Wang, Lissajoux and Mckenney teaches the claimed features of claim 9, Wong does not explicitly teach, however Mckenney teaches, wherein the preset position region comprises a middle position of the operating. (See at least paragraph [0015] “a neutral zero rotation position ”).
Wong as modified by Mckenney, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, remote controlling systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wong to incorporate the teachings of Mckenney for the same motivation reasons in claim 9.
Claims 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP Patent No. EP 2712662, to Wong et al. (hereinafter Wong), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20140374541 A1, to Wang et al (hereinafter Wang), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20150360767, to Lissajoux et al (hereinafter Lissajoux), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20040221787, to Mckenney et al (hereinafter Mckenney), and further in view of CN. Patent Publication No. CN102610073, to Zengnian et al (hereinafter Zengnian).
Regarding claim 11, Wong as modified by Wang, Lissajoux and Mckenney teaches the claimed features of claim 9, Wong does not explicitly teach, however Zengnian teaches, further comprising: outputting second operation assistance information of the horizontal flight control member, wherein the second operation assistance information is configured to assist a user to adjust the horizontal flight control member in the operating range to the preset position region. (See at least paragraph [0006] “A kind of telepilot with sound prompt function is provided on the one hand; Through in telepilot, setting up voice cue module; Can point out through voice the function of the button that the user pressed, whether carry out correct button operation to remind the user.”).
Wong as modified by Zengnian, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, remote controlling systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wong to incorporate the teachings of Zengnian for the same motivation reasons in claim 8.
Regarding claim 12, Wong as modified by Wang, Lissajoux, Mckenney, and Zengnian teaches the claimed features of claim 11, Wong does not explicitly teach, however Zengnian teaches, wherein the second operation assistance information comprises at least one of a voice prompt, a graphic indicator, or a text indicator. (See at least paragraph [0037-0039] “On the remote control circuitry plate, also be provided with voice cue module 3; This voice cue module 3 specifically includes Audio Processing Unit 31, power amplifier unit 32 and the phonation unit 33 that is electrically connected successively, and voice cue module 3 is electrically connected with main control module 2 through its Audio Processing Unit 31.Audio Processing Unit 31 be used for receiving main control module 2 that send, with the corresponding phonetic order of keypress function that is pressed, and convert phonetic order to the voice driven signal.Voice driven signal after power amplifier unit 32 is handled Audio Processing Unit 31 carries out power amplification, exports phonation unit 33 then to, sends and the corresponding voice of keypress function through phonation unit 33. This embodiment is through being provided with voice cue module 3 in telepilot; Push button the user and can keypress function be pointed out through voice after 1; Make the user need not to see that remote controller key just can know that what press is the button of carrying out which kind of function, improves the property easy to use of telepilot. Voice cue module 3 specifically can adopt the circuit theory diagrams shown in Fig. 2 to realize.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0006] “A kind of telepilot with sound prompt function is provided on the one hand; Through in telepilot, setting up voice cue module; Can point out through voice the function of the button that the user pressed, whether carry out correct button operation to remind the user.”).
Wong as modified by Zengnian, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, remote controlling systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wong to incorporate the teachings of Zengnian for the same motivation reasons in claim 8.
Claims 13, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP Patent No. EP 2712662, to Wong et al. (hereinafter Wong), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20140374541 A1, to Wang et al (hereinafter Wang), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20150360767, to Lissajoux et al (hereinafter Lissajoux), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20040221787, to Mckenney et al (hereinafter Mckenney), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20140350750, to Burch et al (hereinafter Burch).
Regarding claim 13, Wong as modified by Wang, Lissajoux and Mckenney teaches the claimed features of claim 9, Wong does not explicitly teach, however Burch teaches, wherein the control member comprises a pitch control member and a roll control member:(See at least paragraph [0014] “The beginner mode may be desirable when the pilot is learning to fly the RC airplane. Preferably, the flight envelope corresponding to the beginner flight mode includes predefined ranges for at least inertial pitch and inertial roll that are designed to keep the RC airplane within an inertial attitude that substantially reduces the likelihood of a crash. In preferred embodiments, the beginner mode may also include a self-leveling feature where the positioning of the control sticks on the controller correspond to particular inertial attitudes rather than rates of rotation about the roll, pitch, and yaw axes as is typically the case with controllers for RC airplanes. In the beginner flight mode, when the RC airplane determines that it has exceed one or more of the limits defined by the corresponding beginner flight envelope, the RC airplane will control itself to be within the limits defined by the beginner flight envelope so as to prevent (or at least substantially reduce) the pilot's ability to accidentally fly the RC airplane into an unintended attitude.”).
Wong as modified by Burch, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, remote controlling systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wong to incorporate the teachings of Burch such that the “positioning of the control sticks on the controller correspond to particular inertial attitudes rather than rates of rotation about the roll, pitch, and yaw axes” of Burch will aid in Wong to better level/hold the aircraft horizontal in order to stay in a hovering state.
Claims 14, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP Patent No. EP 2712662, to Wong et al. (hereinafter Wong), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20140374541 A1, to Wang et al (hereinafter Wang), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20150360767, to Lissajoux et al (hereinafter Lissajoux), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20040221787, to Mckenney et al (hereinafter Mckenney), and further in view of US. Patent Publication No. 20140350750, to Burch et al (hereinafter Burch), and further in view of US. Patent No. US 5904724, to Margolin et al (hereinafter Margolin).
Regarding claim 14, Wong as modified by Callou, McAndrew, and Mckenney and Burch teaches the claimed features of claim 9, Wong does not explicitly teach, however Burch teaches, wherein the target control mode is a second control mode; a pitch control member, wherein a position of the pitch control member in its operating range is mapped to an angular velocity controlling a pitch attitude of the aircraft, (See at least paragraph [0014] “The beginner mode may be desirable when the pilot is learning to fly the RC airplane. Preferably, the flight envelope corresponding to the beginner flight mode includes predefined ranges for at least inertial pitch and inertial roll that are designed to keep the RC airplane within an inertial attitude that substantially reduces the likelihood of a crash. In preferred embodiments, the beginner mode may also include a self-leveling feature where the positioning of the control sticks on the controller correspond to particular inertial attitudes rather than rates of rotation about the roll, pitch, and yaw axes as is typically the case with controllers for RC airplanes. In the beginner flight mode, when the RC airplane determines that it has exceed one or more of the limits defined by the corresponding beginner flight envelope, the RC airplane will control itself to be within the limits defined by the beginner flight envelope so as to prevent (or at least substantially reduce) the pilot's ability to accidentally fly the RC airplane into an unintended attitude.”).
Further, and when the pitch control member is in a middle position of its operating range, the angular velocity controlling the pitch attitude of the aircraft is 0: a roll control member, wherein a position of the roll control member in its operating range is mapped to an angular velocity controlling a roll attitude of the aircraft: aircraft: and when the roll control member is in a middle of its operating range, the angular velocity controlling the roll attitude of the aircraft is 0. Margolin teaches, (See at least [Section 7 lines 6-11] “Moving the joystick forward or backward establishes a pitch rate. The airplane continues to pitch until the joystick is returned to the center position, ”).
Wong as modified by Burch, and Margolin are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, remote controlling systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wong to incorporate the teachings of Burch such that the “positioning of the control sticks on the controller correspond to particular inertial attitudes rather than rates of rotation about the roll, pitch, and yaw axes” of Burch will aid in Wong to better level/hold the aircraft horizontal in order to stay in a hovering state, and further by Margolin teachings of a zero rate roll rate.
Conclusion
/WESAM NMN ALMADHRHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666