The following Final Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed on 05/18/2026. Claims 1-15 and 21-25 have been amended. Claims 16-20 have been canceled. Claims 1-15 and 21-25 are pending and reject as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/20/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 objected to because of the following informalities: "remote sever" should be "remote server". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. A subject matter eligibility analysis is set forth below. See MPEP 2106.
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
A system for detecting a fault in a power system that includes a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration, the system comprising:
a first current sensor positioned to sense a primary input current to a distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers;
a second current sensor positioned to sense a primary output current from the distribution transformer; and
one or more processors operable to:
receive signals representing outputs of the first current sensor and the second current sensor;
determine a value representing a current flowing in a primary winding of the distribution transformer based on the received signals; and
generate an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements.”
Comparable limitations forming the abstract idea appear in System Claim 11 and in addition to the elements recited in claim 1, System Claim 11 also recites the following below:
a third current sensor positioned at a primary input of a second distribution transformer, wherein the primary input of the second distribution transformer is electrically in series with the primary output of the first distribution transformer;
a fourth current sensor positioned at a primary output of the second distribution transformer; and
one or more processors operable to:
determine a second value representing a second current flowing in a primary winding of the second distribution transformer based on the second set of received signals;
Similar limitations comprise the abstract idea of System Claim 21, which recites steps corresponding to the system operations in Claim 1 and also recites:
a plurality of distribution transformer monitors, each distribution transformer monitor of the plurality of distribution transformer monitors being hosted on a respective distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers and including:
one or more processors operable to receive and process output signals from the first current sensor and the second current sensor; and
one or more wireless transmitters coupled to the one or more processors and operable to transmit data representing the processed output signals of the one or more processors.
Under Step 1 of the analysis, claim 1 belongs to a statutory category, namely it is a system claim. Likewise, claim 11 is a system claim, and claim 21 is a system claim.
Under Step 2A, prong 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
In the instant case, claim 1 is found to recite at least one judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea), that being a Mental Process and a Mathematical Concept. This can be seen in the claim limitations of “determine a value representing a current flowing in a primary winding of the distribution transformer based on the received signals”, and “generate an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values” which is the judicial exception of a mental process because these limitations are merely data observations, evaluations, and/or judgements in order to determine whether measured electrical current values fall within expected operating thresholds for a distribution transformer, and is capable of being performed mentally and/or with the aid of pen and paper. Additionally, the aforementioned limitations recite mathematical calculations, e.g. see Spec. [0057]-[0065] the processor derives the winding current from digitized sensor signals, computes the resulting current values, and compares those calculated values to predefined thresholds for the monitored distribution transformers.
Also, Claim 11 has similar limitations that comprise the abstract ideas of Claim 1 and also recites “determine a second value representing a second current flowing in a primary winding of the second distribution transformer based on the second set of received signals” which is the judicial exception of a mental process because these limitations are merely data observations, evaluations, and/or judgements in order to determine whether the calculated current values fall within the expected operating range for the monitored distribution transformer, and can be performed mentally and with aid of a pen and paper.
Claim 21 also has similar limitations that comprise the abstract ideas of Claim 1.
Step 2A, prong 2 of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception(s) into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
In addition to the abstract ideas recited in claim 1, the claimed system recites additional elements including “A system for detecting a fault in a power transmission system that includes a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration” and “a first current sensor positioned to sense a primary input current to a distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers” and “a second current sensor positioned to sense a primary output current from the distribution transformer” however these elements are found to be data gathering and output steps, which are recited at a high level of generality, and thus merely amount to “insignificant extra-solution” activity(ies). See MPEP 2106.05(g) “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity,”. Furthermore, the claim recites that the steps, e.g. “receive”, are performed by “one or more processors” however this is found to be equivalent to adding the words “apply it” and mere instructions to apply a judicial exception on a general purpose computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
System claim 11 recites the same additional elements as claim 1 and also recites “a third current sensor positioned at a primary input of a second distribution transformer, wherein the primary input of the second distribution transformer is electrically in series with the primary output of the first distribution transformer”, “a fourth current sensor positioned at a primary output of the second distribution transformer”, however the use of a generic third and fourth sensor is similarly found to be insignificant extra-solution activity and is also considered to be simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular field of use, e.g. the distribution transformers and their sensing hardware serve as a source of data being collected for the calculations, which does not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h): “For instance, a data gathering step that is limited to a particular data source (such as the Internet) or a particular type of data (such as power grid data or XML tags) could be considered to be both insignificant extra-solution activity and a field of use limitation.”
System claim 21 recites the same additional elements as claim 1 and also recites “a plurality of distribution transformer monitors, each distribution transformer monitor of the plurality of distribution transformer monitors being hosted on a respective distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers”, “one or more processors operable to receive and process output signals from the first current sensor and the second current sensor”, and “one or more wireless transmitters coupled to the one or more processors and operable to transmit data representing the processed output signals of the one or more processors” however the first and second current sensors merely gather the current data that is subsequently processed by the one or more processors. Likewise, the wireless transmitter merely transmit the processed data to the remote computing device. These elements are considered insignificant extra solution activity because they merely gather and transmit the data used to perform the abstract idea. Further, limiting the data gathering to currents associated with distribution transformation merely limits the abstract idea to a particular field of use and does not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g)(h).
The generic data gathering, processing, and output steps, are recited at such a high level of generality (e.g. using “sensors” and “one or more processors”) that it represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on a computer. It can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exceptions to the technological environment of a computer. Noting MPEP 2106.04(d)(I): “It is notable that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in Step 2A Prong Two. As the Supreme Court explained in Alice Corp., mere physical or tangible implementation of an exception does not guarantee eligibility. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 224, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014) ("The fact that a computer ‘necessarily exist[s] in the physical, rather than purely conceptual, realm,’ is beside the point")”.
Thus, under Step 2A, prong 2 of the analysis, even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. No specific practical application is associated with the claimed system. For instance, nothing in the claim applies the calculated current values in any meaningful way beyond merely generating an alert, and therefore no practical application results from the mathematical determination of the current values.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, merely amount to a general purpose computer system that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment, limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use, and/or merely performs insignificant extra-solution activit(ies) (claims 1, 11 and 21). Such insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering and output, when re-evaluated under Step 2B is further found to be well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (describing conventional activities that include transmitting and receiving data over a network, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information from memory, and electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document).
Therefore, similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that claim 1, as well as claim 11 and claim 21, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
With regards to the dependent claims, claims 2-10, 12-15 and 21-25, merely further expand upon the algorithm/abstract idea and do not set forth further additional elements that integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. Therefore, these claims are found ineligible for the reasons described for claims 1, 11 and 20. Specifically:
With respect to dependent claims 2-4, specifically, these claims merely add additional data gathering steps by reciting a third and fourth current sensor positioned at the input and output of the second distribution transformer and generating an alert based on comparing another calculated current value to a desired threshold. These limitations simply restate the same abstract idea of receiving sensor data, determining a current value, and outputting an alert, but applied to a second transformer. Such recitations do not improve the operation of the system, nor do they meaningfully limit the abstract idea, and instead amount to insignificantly extra solution activity. Accordingly, these claims fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
With respect to dependent claims 5, 7, 8, 10, 14, 15, 22, 23, 24, and 25 specifically, the claims merely specify how the sensed current is obtained or represented such as converting the sensed current through an A/D convertor, generating a voltage proportional to a rate of change of the current, or identifying the sensors as Rogowski coils. These limitations do not provide any technological improvement but instead limit the claims to generic data gathering hardware and known sensor functionality used to supply data for the recited calculations. Such steps represent insignificant extra solution activity and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
With respect to dependent claims 6, 9, 12, and 13, specifically, the claims merely add generic components such as wireless transmitters for sending alert data, or specify that the system forms part of a distribution transformer monitor. These limitations simply identify the environment in which the abstract idea is performed or invoke well known communication functions that do not meaningfully limit the judicial exception. Such recitation amount to field of use limitations and fail to provide significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(H).
Accordingly, for the reasons stated above and those discussed in relation to independent claim 1, 11, and 21, the dependent claims are insufficient to integrate the claimed abstract ideas into a practical application or significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210116517 A1, Snook et al (hereinafter Snook).
Regarding Claim 1, Snook disclose a system for detecting a fault in a power system that includes a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration (Snook, Fig. 3, [0009] the Transformer Monitoring Device and/or Fire Mitigation Device may comprise one or more local interfaces to connect to other internal sensors, and/or external sensors or probes located in proximity of the transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device, (e.g., a fault indicator, a weather station, an external temperature probe, etc.)), the system comprising:
a first current sensor positioned to sense a primary input current to a distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers (Snook, [0232] microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15), respectively);
a second current sensor positioned to sense a primary output current from the
distribution transformer (Snook, Fig. 3, [0116] The transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 each comprise one or more sensors (not shown) that interface with one or more power lines (not shown) connecting the distribution transformers 104, 121 to the consumer premises 106-111 (FIG. 1). Thus, the one or more sensors of the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 senses electrical characteristics, e.g., voltage and/or current, present in the power lines as power is delivered to the consumer premises 106-111 through the power lines 101e-101j); and
one or more processors (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) operable to:
receive signals representing outputs of the first current sensor and the second current sensor (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device);
determine a value representing a current flowing in a primary winding of the distribution transformer based on the received signals (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902); and
generate an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded).
Regarding Claim 2, Snook disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a third current sensor positioned to sense a primary input current (Snook, [0232] the microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15)) to a second distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] a transformer data collection system 105 in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure and a plurality of meter data collection devices 986-991. The transformer data collection system 105 comprises the one or more transformer monitoring devices 243, 244. Note that only two transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 are shown in FIG. 2A, but additional transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121 (FIG. 1), and/or throughout the area(s) being monitored);
a fourth current sensor positioned to sense a primary output current (Snook, Fig. 3, [0116] The transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 each comprise one or more sensors (not shown) that interface with one or more power lines (not shown) connecting the distribution transformers 104, 121 to the consumer premises 106-111 (FIG. 1). Thus, the one or more sensors of the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 senses electrical characteristics, e.g., voltage and/or current, present in the power lines as power is delivered to the consumer premises 106-111 through the power lines 101e-101j) of the second distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121); and
wherein the one or more processors (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) are further operable to:
receive additional signals representing outputs (Snook, [0110] two transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 are shown in FIG. 2A, but additional transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) of the third current sensor and the fourth current sensor (Snook, [0242] current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15));
determine a second value representing a current flowing in a primary
winding (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902) of the second distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) based on the received additional signals (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device); and
generate a second alert when the second value is outside a second desired range of values (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded).
Regarding Claim 3, Snook disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors generate the alert when the value is outside the desired range (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded) and the second value is inside the second desired range to identify a fault to the distribution transformer (Snook, [0294] The central computing device 2101 alerts an operator to the fault without the operator having to manually check the fault indicator).
Regarding Claim 4, Snook disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) generate the second alert when the value is inside the desired range and the second value is outside the second desired range (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded) to identify a fault to the second distribution transformer (Snook, [0298] Notably, any fault conditions either with the transformer monitoring device 2400 or in the power, voltage, current, power factor, or any parameter measured by the device would show an indication on the display to advise the installer and/or user of the condition).
Regarding Claim 5, Snook disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the third current sensor and the fourth current sensor are coupled to at least one high speed analog-to-digital converter (Snook, [0237] the microprocessor 1578 receives signals indicative of current and voltage from current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577, respectively. When received, the signals are analog signals. The microprocessor 1578 receives the analog signals, conditions the analog signals, e.g., through filtering, and converts the analog signals indicative of current and voltage measurements into transient current data 1594 and transient voltage data 1595), wherein the one or more processors (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) are operable to receive outputs of the at least one analog-to-digital converter, and wherein the one or more processors are further operable to determine an instantaneous current in the primary winding (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902) of the second distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) based on the outputs of the at least one analog-to-digital converter (Snook, [0237] The microprocessor transmits the data 1594 and 1595 to the microprocessor 1585, and the control logic 1586 stores the data 1594 and 1595 as current data 1582 and voltage data 1581).
Regarding Claim 6, Snook disclose The system of claim 1, further comprising:
one or more wireless transmitters coupled to the one or more processors for transmitting data representing at least the alert to a remote server (Snook, [0112] the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244, the meter data collection devices 986-991, and an operations computing device 287 may communicate via a network 280. The network 280 may be any type of network over which devices may transmit data, including, but not limited to, a wireless network, a wide area network, a large area network, a satellite network, or any type of network known in the art or future-developed).
Regarding Claim 7, Snook disclose the system of claim 1, wherein each of the first current sensor and the second current sensor generates a respective voltage that is proportional to a rate of change of a current flowing through a respective conductor or terminal around which the first current sensor or the second current sensor is positioned (Snook, [0308] More specifically, each satellite current sensor 1490-1493 takes current measurements over time of current that is flowing through the conductor cable, bus bar, or node around which it is installed. Also, over time, voltage measurements are sensed via each of the satellite current sensor's respective voltage cables 1484-1487. As will be described herein, the current measurements and voltage measurements taken over time are correlated and thus used to determine power usage corresponding to the conductor cable, bus bar, or node).
Regarding Claim 8, Snook disclose the system of claim 6, wherein each of the first current sensor and the second current sensor is a Rogowski coil (Snook, [0382] The current detection device may comprise an implementation of one or more Rogowski coils).
Regarding Claim 9, Snook disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the system forms part of a distribution transformer monitor (Snook, Fig. 3, [0090] the distribution transformers 104, 121 are electrically coupled to transformer monitoring devices 244, 243, respectively. The transformer monitoring devices 244, 243 of the present disclosure comprises one or more electrical devices that measure operational data via one or more electrical interfaces with the distribution transformers 104, 121).
Regarding Claim 10 and 24, Snook disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the first current sensor and the second current sensor are coupled to at least one high speed analog-to-digital converter, wherein the one or more processors are operable to receive outputs of the at least one analog-to-digital converter (Snook, [0237] the microprocessor 1578 receives signals indicative of current and voltage from current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577, respectively. When received, the signals are analog signals. The microprocessor 1578 receives the analog signals, conditions the analog signals, e.g., through filtering, and converts the analog signals indicative of current and voltage measurements into transient current data 1594 and transient voltage data 1595), and wherein the one or more processors are further operable to determine an instantaneous current for a primary winding of the distribution transformer (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902).
Regarding Claim 11, Snook disclose a system for detecting a fault in a power system that includes a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration (Snook, [0009] the Transformer Monitoring Device and/or Fire Mitigation Device may comprise one or more local interfaces to connect to other internal sensors, and/or external sensors or probes located in proximity of the transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device, (e.g., a fault indicator, a weather station, an external temperature probe, etc.)), the system comprising:
a first current sensor positioned at a primary input of a first distribution
transformer (Snook, [0232] microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15), respectively);
a second current sensor positioned at a primary output of the first distribution transformer (Snook, Fig. 3, [0116] The transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 each comprise one or more sensors (not shown) that interface with one or more power lines (not shown) connecting the distribution transformers 104, 121 to the consumer premises 106-111 (FIG. 1). Thus, the one or more sensors of the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 senses electrical characteristics, e.g., voltage and/or current, present in the power lines as power is delivered to the consumer premises 106-111 through the power lines 101e-101j);
a third current sensor positioned at a primary input of a second distribution transformer (Snook, [0232] the microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15)), wherein the primary input of the second distribution transformer is electrically in series with the primary output of the first distribution transformer (Snook, [0088] prior to transmission, the power station 10 increases the voltage of the electricity so that it may be transmitted over greater distances efficiently without loss that affects the quality of the electricity delivered. As further indicated hereinabove, the voltage of the electricity may need to be increased to minimize energy losses as the electricity is being transmitted on the power lines 101b. The transmission substation 102 forwards the electricity to the distribution substation transformer 103 of the distribution network 119);
a fourth current sensor positioned at a primary output of the second distribution transformer (Snook, Fig. 3, [0116] the one or more sensors of the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 senses electrical characteristics, e.g., voltage and/or current, present in the power lines as power is delivered to the consumer premises 106-111 through the power lines 101e-101j); and
one or more processors (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) operable to:
receive a first set of signals representing outputs of the first current sensor and the second current sensor (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device);
receive a second set of signals representing outputs (Snook, [0110] two transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 are shown in FIG. 2A, but additional transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) of the third current sensor and the fourth current sensor (Snook, [0242] current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15));
determine a first value representing a first current flowing in a primary winding (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902) of the first distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) based on the first set of received signals (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device);
determine a second value representing a second current flowing in a
primary winding (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902) of the second distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) based on the second set of received signals (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device); and
generate an alert when the first value is outside a first range of values or the second value is outside a second range of values (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded).
Regarding Claim 12, Snook disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the first current sensor and the second current sensor forms (Snook, [0232] The microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15)) at least part of a distribution transformer monitor (Snook, Fig. 3, [0090] the distribution transformers 104, 121 are electrically coupled to transformer monitoring devices 244, 243, respectively. The transformer monitoring devices 244, 243 of the present disclosure comprises one or more electrical devices that measure operational data via one or more electrical interfaces with the distribution transformers 104, 121).
Regarding Claim 13, Snook disclose the system of claim 11, further comprising:
one or more wireless transmitters coupled to the one or more processors for transmitting data representing at least the alert to a remote server (Snook, [0112] the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244, the meter data collection devices 986-991, and an operations computing device 287 may communicate via a network 280. The network 280 may be any type of network over which devices may transmit data, including, but not limited to, a wireless network, a wide area network, a large area network, a satellite network, or any type of network known in the art or future-developed).
Regarding Claim 14 and 22, Snook disclose the system of claim 11, wherein each of the first current sensor, the second current sensor, the third current sensor, and the fourth current sensor generates a respective voltage that is proportional to a rate of change of a current flowing through a respective conductor being sensed thereby (Snook, [0308] More specifically, each satellite current sensor 1490-1493 takes current measurements over time of current that is flowing through the conductor cable, bus bar, or node around which it is installed. Also, over time, voltage measurements are sensed via each of the satellite current sensor's respective voltage cables 1484-1487. As will be described herein, the current measurements and voltage measurements taken over time are correlated and thus used to determine power usage corresponding to the conductor cable, bus bar, or node).
Regarding Claim 15 and 23, Snook disclose the system of claim 11, wherein each of the first current sensor, the second current sensor, the third current sensor, and the fourth current sensor is a Rogowski coil (Snook, [0382] The current detection device may comprise an implementation of one or more Rogowski coils).
Regarding Claim 21, Snook disclose a system for detecting a fault in a power system that includes a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration (Snook, [0009] the Transformer Monitoring Device and/or Fire Mitigation Device may comprise one or more local interfaces to connect to other internal sensors, and/or external sensors or probes located in proximity of the transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device, (e.g., a fault indicator, a weather station, an external temperature probe, etc.)), the system comprising:
a plurality of distribution transformer monitors (Snook, [0110] FIG. 3 depicts a transformer data collection system 105 in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure and a plurality of meter data collection devices 986-991), each distribution transformer monitor of the plurality of distribution transformer monitors being hosted on a respective distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers (Snook, [0110] The transformer data collection system 105 comprises the one or more transformer monitoring devices 243, 244. Note that only two transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 are shown in FIG. 2A, but additional transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121 (FIG. 1), and/or throughout the area(s) being monitored) and including:
a first current sensor positioned to sense a primary input current of the respective distribution transformer (Snook, [0232] The microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15), respectively);
a second current sensor positioned to sense a primary output current of the respective distribution transformer (Snook, Fig. 3, [0116] The transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 each comprise one or more sensors (not shown) that interface with one or more power lines (not shown) connecting the distribution transformers 104, 121 to the consumer premises 106-111 (FIG. 1). Thus, the one or more sensors of the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 senses electrical characteristics, e.g., voltage and/or current, present in the power lines as power is delivered to the consumer premises 106-111 through the power lines 101e-101j);
one or more processors operable to receive and process output signals from the first current sensor and the second current sensor (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data. [0242] the input/output interface 1583 may be, for example, an optical port that connects to a computing device (not shown) or other terminal for interrogation of the controller 1593. In such an embodiment, logic (not shown) on the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device); and
one or more wireless transmitters coupled to the one or more processors (Snook, [0112] the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244, the meter data collection devices 986-991, and an operations computing device 287 may communicate via a network 280) and operable to transmit data representing the processed output signals of the one or more processors (Snook, [0112] The network 280 may be any type of network over which devices may transmit data, including, but not limited to, a wireless network, a wide area network, a large area network, a satellite network, or any type of network known in the art or future-developed [0242] Additionally, the input/output interface 1583 may be, for example, an optical port that connects to a computing device (not shown) or other terminal for interrogation of the controller 1593. In such an embodiment, logic (not shown) on the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device); and
a remote computing device (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) operable to:
receive the data transmitted by the one or more wireless transmitters of each of the plurality of distribution transformer monitors (Snook, [0242] the input/output interface 1583 may be, for example, an optical port that connects to a computing device (not shown) or other terminal for interrogation of the controller 1593. In such an embodiment, logic (not shown) on the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device);
determine values representing currents flowing in primary windings of the plurality of distribution transformers based on the data received from each of the plurality of distribution transformer monitors (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902); and
generate an alert when at least one of the values is outside a range of values (Snook, [0294] The central computing device 2101 alerts an operator to the fault without the operator having to manually check the fault indicator [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded).
Regarding Claim 25, Snook disclose the system of claim 21, wherein the values determined by remote sever (Snook, [0017] the central computing device is configured to perform remote diagnostics on the transformer monitoring devices and/or fire mitigation devices) are values of instantaneous current flowing in the primary windings of the plurality of distribution transformers (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902).
Response to Arguments
35 USC§ 101
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed current sensors provide a technical solution and are not merely insignificant data gathering because the sensors physically measure current associated with the distribution transformers. This argument is unpersuasive because the current sensors merely collect the current data that is received and processed to determine whether the measured values fall outside a specified range. The fact that the sensors are physical components does not, by itself, integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, the claims do not recite an improvement to the operation of the current sensors, processors, or distribution transformer. Rather, the sensors collect the data and the processor performs the recited analysis on that data.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Electric Power Group are also unpersuasive because the addition of physical sensors used to collect the data being analyzed does not change the nature of the abstract idea. The additional transformer monitors and wireless transmitters similarly perform data gathering and transmission functions.
For at least the reasons above, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection under 35 USC§ 101 is maintained.
35 USC§ 102
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Snook does not disclose the claimed first and second current sensors for sensing primary input and primary output currents and instead relies on a separate fault indicator for detecting current on the primary side of the transformer. This argument is unpersuasive because Snook discloses transformer monitoring devices that sense electrical characteristics, including current and/or voltage, and further discloses a microprocessor electrically coupled to multiple current sensors. Snook further discloses that fault indicator may be any type of electrical device that detects current or voltage through primary winding. Therefore, Snook is not limited to monitoring only the low voltage side of the transformer as argued by Applicant.
Regarding amended claim 12, the amendment is also disclosed by Snook because the cited sensors are associated with the transformer monitoring device, as set forth in the rejection above.
For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection under 35 USC§ 102 is maintained. See rejection above for further details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM NAGI SHOHATEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857