DETAILED ACTION
The following NON-FINAL Office Action is in response to application 18/240,315. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/30/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. A subject matter eligibility analysis is set forth below. See MPEP 2106.
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
A system for detecting a fault in a power transmission system that includes a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration, the system comprising:
a first current sensor positioned to sense a primary input current to a distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers;
a second current sensor positioned to sense a primary output current from the distribution transformer; and
one or more processors operable to:
receive signals representing outputs of the first current sensor and the second current sensor;
determine a value representing a current flowing in a primary winding of the distribution transformer based on the received signals; and
generate an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements.”
Comparable limitations forming the abstract idea appear in System Claim 11 and in addition to the elements recited in claim 1, System Claim 11 also recites the following below:
a third current sensor positioned at a primary input of a second distribution transformer, wherein the primary input of the second distribution transformer is electrically in series with the primary output of the first distribution transformer;
a fourth current sensor positioned at a primary output of the second distribution transformer; and
one or more processors operable to:
determine a second value representing a second current flowing in a primary winding of the second distribution transformer based on the second set of received signals;
Similar limitations comprise the abstract idea of Method Claim 16, which recites steps corresponding to the system operations in Claim 1.
Under Step 1 of the analysis, claim 1 belongs to a statutory category, namely it is a system claim. Likewise, claim 11 is a system claim, and claim 16 is a method claim.
Under Step 2A, prong 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
In the instant case, claim 1 is found to recite at least one judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea), that being a Mental Process and a Mathematical Concept. This can be seen in the claim limitations of “determine a value representing a current flowing in a primary winding of the distribution transformer based on the received signals”, and “generate an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values” which is the judicial exception of a mental process because these limitations are merely data observations, evaluations, and/or judgements in order to determine whether measured electrical current values fall within expected operating thresholds for a distribution transformer, and is capable of being performed mentally and/or with the aid of pen and paper. Additionally, the aforementioned limitations recite mathematical calculations, e.g. see Spec. [0057]-[0065] the processor derives the winding current from digitized sensor signals, computes the resulting current values, and compares those calculated values to predefined thresholds for the monitored distribution transformers.
Also, Claim 11 has similar limitations that comprise the abstract ideas of Claim 1 and also recites “determine a second value representing a second current flowing in a primary winding of the second distribution transformer based on the second set of received signals” which is the judicial exception of a mental process because these limitations are merely data observations, evaluations, and/or judgements in order to determine whether the calculated current values fall within the expected operating range for the monitored distribution transformer, and can be performed mentally and with aid of a pen and paper.
Claim 16 also has similar limitations that comprise the abstract ideas of Claim 1.
Step 2A, prong 2 of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception(s) into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
In addition to the abstract ideas recited in claim 1, the claimed system recites additional elements including “A system for detecting a fault in a power transmission system that includes a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration” and “a first current sensor positioned to sense a primary input current to a distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers” and “a second current sensor positioned to sense a primary output current from the distribution transformer” however these elements are found to be data gathering and output steps, which are recited at a high level of generality, and thus merely amount to “insignificant extra-solution” activity(ies). See MPEP 2106.05(g) “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity,”. Furthermore, the claim recites that the steps, e.g. “receive”, are performed by “one or more processors” however this is found to be equivalent to adding the words “apply it” and mere instructions to apply a judicial exception on a general purpose computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
System claim 11 recites the same additional elements as claim 1 and also recites “a third current sensor positioned at a primary input of a second distribution transformer, wherein the primary input of the second distribution transformer is electrically in series with the primary output of the first distribution transformer”, “a fourth current sensor positioned at a primary output of the second distribution transformer”, however the use of a generic third and fourth sensor is similarly found to be insignificant extra-solution activity and is also considered to be simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular field of use, e.g. the distribution transformers and their sensing hardware serve as a source of data being collected for the calculations, which does not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h): “For instance, a data gathering step that is limited to a particular data source (such as the Internet) or a particular type of data (such as power grid data or XML tags) could be considered to be both insignificant extra-solution activity and a field of use limitation.”
Method claim 16 recites the same additional elements as claim 1.
The generic data gathering, processing, and output steps, are recited at such a high level of generality (e.g. using “sensors” and “one or more processors”) that it represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on a computer. It can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exceptions to the technological environment of a computer. Noting MPEP 2106.04(d)(I): “It is notable that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in Step 2A Prong Two. As the Supreme Court explained in Alice Corp., mere physical or tangible implementation of an exception does not guarantee eligibility. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 224, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014) ("The fact that a computer ‘necessarily exist[s] in the physical, rather than purely conceptual, realm,’ is beside the point")”.
Thus, under Step 2A, prong 2 of the analysis, even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. No specific practical application is associated with the claimed system. For instance, nothing in the claim applies the calculated current values in any meaningful way beyond merely generating an alert, and therefore no practical application results from the mathematical determination of the current values.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, merely amount to a general purpose computer system that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment, limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use, and/or merely performs insignificant extra-solution activit(ies) (claims 1, 11 and 16). Such insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering and output, when re-evaluated under Step 2B is further found to be well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (describing conventional activities that include transmitting and receiving data over a network, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information from memory, and electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document).
Therefore, similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that claim 1, as well as claim 11 and claim 16, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
With regards to the dependent claims, claims 2-10, 12-15 and 17-20, merely further expand upon the algorithm/abstract idea and do not set forth further additional elements that integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. Therefore, these claims are found ineligible for the reasons described for claims 1, 11 and 20. Specifically:
With respect to dependent claims 2-4, specifically, these claims merely add additional data gathering steps by reciting a third and fourth current sensor positioned at the input and output of the second distribution transformer and generating an alert based on comparing another calculated current value to a desired threshold. These limitations simply restate the same abstract idea of receiving sensor data, determining a current value, and outputting an alert, but applied to a second transformer. Such recitations do not improve the operation of the system, nor do they meaningfully limit the abstract idea, and instead amount to insignificantly extra solution activity. Accordingly, these claims fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
With respect to dependent claims 5, 7, 8, 10, 14, and 15, specifically, the claims merely specify how the sensed current is obtained or represented such as converting the sensed current through an A/D convertor, generating a voltage proportional to a rate of change of the current, or identifying the sensors as Rogowski coils. These limitations do not provide any technological improvement but instead limit the claims to generic data gathering hardware and known sensor functionality used to supply data for the recited calculations. Such steps represent insignificant extra solution activity and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
With respect to dependent claims 6, 9, 12, and 13, specifically, the claims merely add generic components such as wireless transmitters for sending alert data, or specify that the system forms part of a distribution transformer monitor. These limitations simply identify the environment in which the abstract idea is performed or invoke well known communication functions that do not meaningfully limit the judicial exception. Such recitation amount to field of use limitations and fail to provide significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(H).
With respect to dependent claims 17-20, specifically, the claims merely specify that the sensors and processor form part of a distribution transformer monitor and that the alert includes additional parameters. These limitations simply identify the source of data or add further output information and therefore amount to nothing more than insignificant extra solution activity. Additionally, the recited transformer monitor environment is merely a particular technological setting that limits the abstract idea to a known context, which is insufficient to integrate the exception into a practical application. Accordingly, claims 17-20 do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Accordingly, for the reasons stated above and those discussed in relation to independent claim 1, 11, and 16, the dependent claims are insufficient to integrate the claimed abstract ideas into a practical application or significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210116517 A1, Snook et al (hereinafter Snook).
Regarding Claim 1, Snook disclose a system for detecting a fault in a power transmission system that includes a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration (Snook, Fig. 3, [0009] the Transformer Monitoring Device and/or Fire Mitigation Device may comprise one or more local interfaces to connect to other internal sensors, and/or external sensors or probes located in proximity of the transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device, (e.g., a fault indicator, a weather station, an external temperature probe, etc.)), the system comprising:
a first current sensor positioned to sense a primary input current to a distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers (Snook, [0232] microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15), respectively);
a second current sensor positioned to sense a primary output current from the
distribution transformer (Snook, Fig. 3, [0116] The transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 each comprise one or more sensors (not shown) that interface with one or more power lines (not shown) connecting the distribution transformers 104, 121 to the consumer premises 106-111 (FIG. 1). Thus, the one or more sensors of the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 senses electrical characteristics, e.g., voltage and/or current, present in the power lines as power is delivered to the consumer premises 106-111 through the power lines 101e-101j); and
one or more processors (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) operable to:
receive signals representing outputs of the first current sensor and the second current sensor (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device);
determine a value representing a current flowing in a primary winding of the distribution transformer based on the received signals (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902); and
generate an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded).
Regarding Claim 2, Snook disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a third current sensor positioned to sense a primary input current (Snook, [0232] the microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15)) to a second distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] a transformer data collection system 105 in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure and a plurality of meter data collection devices 986-991. The transformer data collection system 105 comprises the one or more transformer monitoring devices 243, 244. Note that only two transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 are shown in FIG. 2A, but additional transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121 (FIG. 1), and/or throughout the area(s) being monitored);
a fourth current sensor positioned to sense a primary output current (Snook, Fig. 3, [0116] The transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 each comprise one or more sensors (not shown) that interface with one or more power lines (not shown) connecting the distribution transformers 104, 121 to the consumer premises 106-111 (FIG. 1). Thus, the one or more sensors of the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 senses electrical characteristics, e.g., voltage and/or current, present in the power lines as power is delivered to the consumer premises 106-111 through the power lines 101e-101j) of the second distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121); and
wherein the one or more processors (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) are further operable to:
receive additional signals representing outputs (Snook, [0110] two transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 are shown in FIG. 2A, but additional transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) of the third current sensor and the fourth current sensor (Snook, [0242] current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15));
determine a second value representing a current flowing in a primary
winding (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902) of the second distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) based on the received additional signals (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device); and
generate a second alert when the second value is outside a second desired range of values (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded).
Regarding Claim 3, Snook disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors generate the alert when the value is outside the desired range (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded) and the second value is inside the second desired range to identify a fault to the distribution transformer (Snook, [0294] The central computing device 2101 alerts an operator to the fault without the operator having to manually check the fault indicator).
Regarding Claim 4, Snook disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) generate the second alert when the value is inside the desired range and the second value is outside the second desired range (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded) to identify a fault to the second distribution transformer (Snook, [0298] Notably, any fault conditions either with the transformer monitoring device 2400 or in the power, voltage, current, power factor, or any parameter measured by the device would show an indication on the display to advise the installer and/or user of the condition).
Regarding Claim 5, Snook disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the third current sensor and the fourth current sensor are coupled to at least one high speed analog-to-digital converter (Snook, [0237] the microprocessor 1578 receives signals indicative of current and voltage from current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577, respectively. When received, the signals are analog signals. The microprocessor 1578 receives the analog signals, conditions the analog signals, e.g., through filtering, and converts the analog signals indicative of current and voltage measurements into transient current data 1594 and transient voltage data 1595), wherein the one or more processors (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) are operable to receive outputs of the at least one analog-to-digital converter, and wherein the one or more processors are further operable to determine an instantaneous current in the primary winding (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902) of the second distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) based on the outputs of the at least one analog-to-digital converter (Snook, [0237] The microprocessor transmits the data 1594 and 1595 to the microprocessor 1585, and the control logic 1586 stores the data 1594 and 1595 as current data 1582 and voltage data 1581).
Regarding Claim 6, Snook disclose The system of claim 1, further comprising:
one or more wireless transmitters coupled to the one or more processors for transmitting data representing at least the alert to a remote server (Snook, [0112] the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244, the meter data collection devices 986-991, and an operations computing device 287 may communicate via a network 280. The network 280 may be any type of network over which devices may transmit data, including, but not limited to, a wireless network, a wide area network, a large area network, a satellite network, or any type of network known in the art or future-developed).
Regarding Claim 7, Snook disclose the system of claim 1, wherein each of the first current sensor and the second current sensor generates a respective voltage that is proportional to a rate of change of a current flowing through a respective conductor or terminal around which the first current sensor or the second current sensor is positioned (Snook, [0308] More specifically, each satellite current sensor 1490-1493 takes current measurements over time of current that is flowing through the conductor cable, bus bar, or node around which it is installed. Also, over time, voltage measurements are sensed via each of the satellite current sensor's respective voltage cables 1484-1487. As will be described herein, the current measurements and voltage measurements taken over time are correlated and thus used to determine power usage corresponding to the conductor cable, bus bar, or node).
Regarding Claim 8, Snook disclose the system of claim 6, wherein each of the first current sensor and the second current sensor is a Rogowski coil (Snook, [0382] The current detection device may comprise an implementation of one or more Rogowski coils).
Regarding Claim 9, Snook disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the system forms part of a distribution transformer monitor (Snook, Fig. 3, [0090] the distribution transformers 104, 121 are electrically coupled to transformer monitoring devices 244, 243, respectively. The transformer monitoring devices 244, 243 of the present disclosure comprises one or more electrical devices that measure operational data via one or more electrical interfaces with the distribution transformers 104, 121).
Regarding Claim 10, Snook disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the first current sensor and the second current sensor are coupled to at least one high speed analog-to-digital converter, wherein the one or more processors are operable to receive outputs of the at least one analog-to-digital converter (Snook, [0237] the microprocessor 1578 receives signals indicative of current and voltage from current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577, respectively. When received, the signals are analog signals. The microprocessor 1578 receives the analog signals, conditions the analog signals, e.g., through filtering, and converts the analog signals indicative of current and voltage measurements into transient current data 1594 and transient voltage data 1595), and wherein the one or more processors are further operable to determine an instantaneous current for a primary winding of the distribution transformer (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902).
Regarding Claim 11, Snook disclose a system for detecting a fault in a power transmission system that includes a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration (Snook, [0009] the Transformer Monitoring Device and/or Fire Mitigation Device may comprise one or more local interfaces to connect to other internal sensors, and/or external sensors or probes located in proximity of the transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device, (e.g., a fault indicator, a weather station, an external temperature probe, etc.)), the system comprising:
a first current sensor positioned at a primary input of a first distribution
transformer (Snook, [0232] microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15), respectively);
a second current sensor positioned at a primary output of the first distribution transformer (Snook, Fig. 3, [0116] The transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 each comprise one or more sensors (not shown) that interface with one or more power lines (not shown) connecting the distribution transformers 104, 121 to the consumer premises 106-111 (FIG. 1). Thus, the one or more sensors of the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 senses electrical characteristics, e.g., voltage and/or current, present in the power lines as power is delivered to the consumer premises 106-111 through the power lines 101e-101j);
a third current sensor positioned at a primary input of a second distribution transformer (Snook, [0232] the microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15)), wherein the primary input of the second distribution transformer is electrically in series with the primary output of the first distribution transformer (Snook, [0088] prior to transmission, the power station 10 increases the voltage of the electricity so that it may be transmitted over greater distances efficiently without loss that affects the quality of the electricity delivered. As further indicated hereinabove, the voltage of the electricity may need to be increased to minimize energy losses as the electricity is being transmitted on the power lines 101b. The transmission substation 102 forwards the electricity to the distribution substation transformer 103 of the distribution network 119);
a fourth current sensor positioned at a primary output of the second distribution transformer (Snook, Fig. 3, [0116] the one or more sensors of the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 senses electrical characteristics, e.g., voltage and/or current, present in the power lines as power is delivered to the consumer premises 106-111 through the power lines 101e-101j); and
one or more processors (Snook, [0012] transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device comprises at least one processor, and other components, such as memory, configured for collecting samples measured by the sensors and acting upon the collected data) operable to:
receive a first set of signals representing outputs of the first current sensor and the second current sensor (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device);
receive a second set of signals representing outputs (Snook, [0110] two transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 are shown in FIG. 2A, but additional transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) of the third current sensor and the fourth current sensor (Snook, [0242] current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15));
determine a first value representing a first current flowing in a primary winding (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902) of the first distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) based on the first set of received signals (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device);
determine a second value representing a second current flowing in a
primary winding (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902) of the second distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) based on the second set of received signals (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device); and
generate an alert when the first value is outside a first range of values or the second value is outside a second range of values (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded).
Regarding Claim 12, Snook disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the system forms at least part of a distribution transformer monitor (Snook, Fig. 3, [0090] the distribution transformers 104, 121 are electrically coupled to transformer monitoring devices 244, 243, respectively. The transformer monitoring devices 244, 243 of the present disclosure comprises one or more electrical devices that measure operational data via one or more electrical interfaces with the distribution transformers 104, 121).
Regarding Claim 13, Snook disclose the system of claim 11, further comprising:
one or more wireless transmitters coupled to the one or more processors for transmitting data representing at least the alert to a remote server (Snook, [0112] the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244, the meter data collection devices 986-991, and an operations computing device 287 may communicate via a network 280. The network 280 may be any type of network over which devices may transmit data, including, but not limited to, a wireless network, a wide area network, a large area network, a satellite network, or any type of network known in the art or future-developed).
Regarding Claim 14, Snook disclose the system of claim 11, wherein each of the first current sensor, the second current sensor, the third current sensor, and the fourth current sensor generates a respective voltage that is proportional to a rate of change of a current flowing through a respective conductor being sensed thereby (Snook, [0308] More specifically, each satellite current sensor 1490-1493 takes current measurements over time of current that is flowing through the conductor cable, bus bar, or node around which it is installed. Also, over time, voltage measurements are sensed via each of the satellite current sensor's respective voltage cables 1484-1487. As will be described herein, the current measurements and voltage measurements taken over time are correlated and thus used to determine power usage corresponding to the conductor cable, bus bar, or node).
Regarding Claim 15, Snook disclose the system of claim 11, wherein each of the first current sensor, the second current sensor, the third current sensor, and the fourth current sensor is a Rogowski coil (Snook, [0382] The current detection device may comprise an implementation of one or more Rogowski coils).
Regarding Claim 16, Snook disclose a method for a processor to detect a fault in a power transmission system that includes a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration (Snook, [0009] the Transformer Monitoring Device and/or Fire Mitigation Device may comprise one or more local interfaces to connect to other internal sensors, and/or external sensors or probes located in proximity of the transformer monitoring device and/or fire mitigation device, (e.g., a fault indicator, a weather station, an external temperature probe, etc.)), the method comprising:
receiving a first signal representing an output of a first current sensor positioned to sense a primary current (Snook, [0232] microprocessor 1578 is electrically coupled to four current sensors 1570-1573 and four voltage inputs 1574-1577. Note that with reference to FIG. 14, such current sensors 1570-1573 and voltage inputs 1574-1577 correlate with satellite units 1490-1493 (FIG. 13) and voltage leads 1476-1479 (FIG. 15), respectively) entering a distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121);
receiving a second signal representing an output of a second current sensor positioned to sense a primary current (Snook, Fig. 3, [0116] The transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 each comprise one or more sensors (not shown) that interface with one or more power lines (not shown) connecting the distribution transformers 104, 121 to the consumer premises 106-111 (FIG. 1). Thus, the one or more sensors of the transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 senses electrical characteristics, e.g., voltage and/or current, present in the power lines as power is delivered to the consumer premises 106-111 through the power lines 101e-101j) exiting the distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121);
determining a value representing a current flowing in a primary winding (Snook, [0370] Note that the fault indicator 2904 is any type of electrical device that can detect current or voltage through the primary winding 2902) of the distribution transformer (Snook, [0110] transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121) based on the first signal and the second signal (Snook, [0242] the computing device may request data, e.g., power data 1580, voltage data 1581, current data 1582, or configuration data 1592, via the interface 1583, and in response, the control logic 1586 may transmit data indicative of the data 1580-1582 or 1592 via the interface 1583 to the computing device); and
generating an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values (Snook, [0324] A user of the Central Computing Devices with access to the Transformer Monitoring Devices, via the Networks, can set thresholds to trigger automated alerts when the thresholds are met or exceeded).
Regarding Claim 17, Snook disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the first current sensor and the second current sensor (Snook, Fig. 3 [0099] MDs 290-293 may collect voltage and/or current information) form part of a distribution transformer monitor positioned at the distribution transformer (Snook, [0090] In one embodiment of the present disclosure, the distribution transformers 104, 121 are electrically coupled to transformer monitoring devices 244, 243, respectively).
Regarding Claim 18, Snook disclose the method of claim 16, wherein:
the first current sensor forms part of a first distribution transformer monitor (Snook, Fig. 3 [0099] MDs 290-293 may collect voltage and/or current information) positioned at the distribution transformer (Snook, [0090] In one embodiment of the present disclosure, the distribution transformers 104, 121 are electrically coupled to transformer monitoring devices 244, 243, respectively);
the second current sensor forms part of a second distribution transformer monitor positioned (Snook, Fig. 3, [0099] MD 290 is coupled to one or more of the power lines 101c and MD 292 is coupled to one or more of the power lines 101d. In addition, MD 291 is coupled to power transmission tower 140, and MD 293 is coupled to power transmission tower 141. Note that in one embodiment, the MDs 290-293 may collect voltage and/or current information) at a second distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers (Snook, [0090] In one embodiment of the present disclosure, the distribution transformers 104, 121 are electrically coupled to transformer monitoring devices 244, 243, respectively);
the first signal is received from the first distribution transformer monitor (Snook, [0096] meter data (not shown) (i.e., data indicative of readings taken by the meters 112-117) and transformer data (not shown) (i.e., data indicative of readings taken by the transformer monitoring devices 244, 243) may be stored, compared, and analyzed in order to determine whether particular events have occurred, for example, whether electricity theft is occurring or has occurred between the distribution transformers 104, 121 and the consumer premises 106-111 or to determine whether power usage trends and/or power delivery trends (e.g., from solar panels) indicate a need or necessity for more or less power supply equipment);
the second signal is received from the second distribution transformer monitor (Snook, Fig. 3, [0110] The transformer data collection system 105 comprises the one or more transformer monitoring devices 243, 244. Note that only two transformer monitoring devices 243, 244 are shown in FIG. 2A, but additional transformer monitoring devices may be used in other embodiments, including one or a plurality of transformer monitoring devices for each distribution transformer 104, 121 (FIG. 1), and/or throughout the area(s) being monitored, which is described in more detail herein); and
a primary input of the second distribution transformer monitor is electrically in series with a primary output of the distribution transformer (Snook, [0088] prior to transmission, the power station 10 increases the voltage of the electricity so that it may be transmitted over greater distances efficiently without loss that affects the quality of the electricity delivered. As further indicated hereinabove, the voltage of the electricity may need to be increased to minimize energy losses as the electricity is being transmitted on the power lines 101b. The transmission substation 102 forwards the electricity to the distribution substation transformer 103 of the distribution network 119).
Regarding Claim 19, Snook disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the processor forms part of the first distribution transformer monitor or part of the second distribution transformer monitor (Snook, Fig. 3, [0090] the distribution transformers 104, 121 are electrically coupled to transformer monitoring devices 244, 243, respectively. The transformer monitoring devices 244, 243 of the present disclosure comprises one or more electrical devices that measure operational data via one or more electrical interfaces with the distribution transformers 104, 121).
Regarding Claim 20, Snook disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the alert includes additional determined parameters for the distribution transformer (Snook, [0326] In one embodiment, the Transformer Monitoring Devices are configured to produce customizable, automated alerts to end users (e.g., user of the Central Computing Devices, user of a portable device, text messages to utility personnel, etc.). These automated alerts are configured based on specific operational values either exceeding thresholds (maximum and minimum values), delta values (this operational value changed more than X amount since the last time it was reported, etc.), variance (this value is more than Y standard deviations from its average over time or for this time of the day), trigger (this operational value hits a specific value), or time-based (this operational value has been X for a time)).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclose:
-US 20080106425 A1, describing a system, device, and method for detecting an overload condition of a distribution transformer that supplies power to one or more customer premises. The disclosure includes monitoring transformer parameters, evaluating overload conditions based on measured electrical characteristics, and communicating notifications or adjustments to mitigate transformer failures.
-US 20180128673 A1, describing a transformer condition monitoring system utilizing optical sensors positioned at multiple transformer locations to detect mechanical and operational changes. The disclosure includes generating light-based measurements, processing vibration and displacement data, and determining transformer health indicators based on monitored optical signals, current values, and environmental conditions.
-US 20220155386 A1, describing a method and system for detecting winding faults during online operation of an electrical machine by analyzing magnetic field signals from multiple sensors. The disclosure includes generating first and second magnetic flux signals, comparing indicators to thresholds and identifying internal winding faults based on deviations detected over a monitored time period.
-US 20180217195 A1, describing generating test signals in a power line, detecting reflected signals using inductively coupled coils, and analyzing time domain responses to assess line conditions such as faults, impedance changes, and structural abnormalities.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM NAGI SHOHATEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857