DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, claim 1 recites:
A system for detecting a current fault in a power transmission system including a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration, the system comprising:
a current sensor positioned to concurrently sense a primary input current to and a primary output current from a distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers; and
one or more processors operable to:
receive a signal representing an output of the current sensor;
determine a value representing a current flowing in a primary winding of the distribution transformer based on the received signal; and
generate an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above.
Under the step 1 of the eligibility analysis, it is determined whether the claims are drawn to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter fall within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in the statutory category of (machine).
Under the step 2A, prong one, it is considered whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into groupings of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that cover mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations) and mental process – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
For example, a step of “determine a value representing a current flowing in a primary winding of the distribution transformer based on the received signal” is treated by the Examiner as belonging to mental process or mathematical relationship.
“generate an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values” is treated by the Examiner as belonging to mental process.
These mental steps represent that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of the independent claims 11 and 17.
Next, under the step 2A, prong two, it is considered whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
In this step, it is evaluated whether the claim recites meaningful additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
In claim 1, the additional elements/steps are: current and processor. The above additional elements/steps are recited in generality and represent extra solution activity to the judicial exception. The additional element in the preamble of “A system for detecting a current fault in a power transmission…” is not qualified for a meaningful limitation because it only generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements/steps “a current sensor positioned to… and receive a signal representing…” are also recited in generality which seem to merely be gathering data and not really performing any kind of measurement to provide any meaningful additional element. Also, it represents an extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. All uses of judicial exception require it.
In claim 11, the additional elements/steps recite the similar additional elements/steps as of claim 1 (current and processor), are recited in generality and represent extra- solution activity to the judicial exception. The additional element in the preamble of “An apparatus for detecting a current fault…” is not qualified for a meaningful limitation because it only generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements/steps “a current sensor positioned to… and receive a signal representing…” are also recited in generality which seem to merely be gathering data and not really performing any kind of measurement to provide any meaningful additional element. Also, it represents an extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. All uses of judicial exception require it.
In claim 17, the additional elements/steps recite the similar additional elements/steps as of claim 1 are recited in generality and represent extra- solution activity to the judicial exception. The additional element in the preamble of “A method for a processor to detect a fault…” is not qualified for a meaningful limitation because it only generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements/steps “receiving a signal representing…” are also recited in generality which seem to merely be gathering data and not really performing any kind of measurement to provide any meaningful additional element. Also, it represents an extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. All uses of judicial exception require it.
In conclusion, the above additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the other claim elements do not reflect an improvement to other technology or technical field, and, therefore, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the step 2B.
Considering the claim as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know the practical application of the present invention since the claims do not apply or use the judicial exception in some meaningful way.
The independent claims, therefore, are not patent eligible.
With regards to the dependent claims, the claims 2-10, 12-16 and 18-20 comprise the analogous subject matter and also comprise additional features/steps which are the part of an expanded abstract idea of the independent claim 1, 11 and 17 (additionally comprising mathematical relationship/mental process steps) and, therefore, the dependent claims are not eligible without additional elements that reflect a practical application and qualified for significantly more for substantially similar reason as discussed with regards to independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed et al (US 20220223338 A1) herein after “Reed” in view of Lanoue et al (US 20100315190 A1) herein after “Lanoue”.
A system for detecting a current fault in a power transmission system including a plurality of distribution transformers in a loop configuration (para [0034] The system 200 includes transformer apparatuses 240_1, 240_2, 240_3, and 240_4 that are electrically connected to a transformer loop 204.), the system comprising:
a current sensor positioned to concurrently sense a primary input current to and a primary output current from a distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers (para [0027] A gang-operated switching apparatus is configured to interrupt or switch more than one phase simultaneously.
para [0043] Returning to FIG. 2B, the transformer apparatus 240_1 also includes sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1. Each of the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1 is any type of device configured to measure current through a conductor and to provide an indication of the measured current);
Fig. 2B, examiner views the switches 210A_1 and 210B_1 is positioned (i.e., on primary side) and operate simultaneously so that the current sensors 270A_1 measures the first or primary input current to the transformer 240_1 and current sensor 270B_1 measures the primary output current from the transformer.
one or more processors operable to (para [0047] The control system 250_1 is also coupled to the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_2 .,, Fig. 2D.):
receive a signal representing an output of the current sensor (para [0043] Returning to FIG. 2B, the transformer apparatus 240_1 also includes sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1. Each of the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1 is any type of device configured to measure current through a conductor and to provide an indication of the measured current);
The control system 250_1 that includes processor in Fig. 2D is connected current sensor to receive measured values or signals from the sensors.
determine a value representing a current flowing in a primary winding of the distribution transformer based on the received signal (para [0043] Returning to FIG. 2B, the transformer apparatus 240_1 also includes sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1. Each of the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1 is any type of device configured to measure current through a conductor and to provide an indication of the measured current)
Examiner views the sensors above are placed in the primary winding 231_1. The sensors prove value of current flowing in the primary winding of the distribution sensor; and
Reed does not clearly teach generate an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values
Lanoue teaches generate an alert when the value is outside a desired range of values (para [0034] The IED 80 may periodically or continuously transmit values for these currents, voltages and other variable over the communication link to the control center and/or may transmit alarms to the control center over the communication link if the values exceed certain predetermined limits.).
Herein predetermined limits are viewed as desired range of values which when exceeded an alarm is generated by the IED 80 that includes a processor.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Lanoue into Reed for the purpose of providing alerts when the current values exceed the desired range of values so that power transmission system can be prevented from damage.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Reed and Lanoue teach the system of claim 1, further comprising: Reed teaches an analog-to-digital converter operably positioned between the current sensor and the one or more processors, the analog-to-digital converter converting an analog output of the current sensor into the signal received by the one or more processors, wherein the signal is in digital form (para [0043] Examples of sensors that may be used as the sensor 270A_1 and/or 270B_1 include, without limitation, cored current sensors, coreless current sensors, and a shunt resistor with an isolation analog-to-digital converter (such as a power operational amplifier)
Para [0048] FIG. 2D is a block diagram that shows the control system 250_1 in more detail. The control system 250_1 includes an electronic processing module 251_1, an electronic storage 252_1, and an input/output (I/O) interface 253_1. In some implementations, the electronic processing module 251_1, the electronic storage 252_1, and the I/O interface 253_1 are implemented as a microcontroller.).
From above paragraphs examiner views the sensors include analog to digital converter (ADC). In Fig. 2D the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1 are connected (i.e., sensors with ADC send digital signal) to the controller 250_1 which includes a processor. Examiner views ADC as operably positioned between sensor and the controller or processor.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Reed and Lanoue teach the system of claim 1, further comprising: Reed teaches a wireless transmitter operably coupled to the one or more processors for transmitting data representing at least one of the signal (para [057] The control systems 250_1, 250_2, 250_3, 250_4 are coupled to the remote station 257 via respective communication paths 298_1, 298_2, 298_3, 298_4. The communication paths 298_1, 298_2, 298_3, 298_4 are any type of path capable of carrying data and information. For example, the communication paths 298_1, 298_2, 298_3, 298_4 may be any type of wired or wireless connection)
Here examiner views the wireless communication path inherently have wireless transmitters. The above communication paths are connected or transmit data representing the sensor signal to controller 250s that have processors 253.
Lanoue teaches and the alert to a remote server (para [0034]the IED 80 monitors the operation of the versatile transformer 10 and communicates operating information to a remotely located control center over a communication link, which may be may be a physical hardwired link, a satellite link, a cellular link, a modem or telephone line link, an Internet link or any other wireless or wide area or shared local area network link.… The IED 80 may periodically or continuously transmit values for these currents, voltages and other variable over the communication link to the control center and/or may transmit alarms to the control center over the communication link if the values exceed certain predetermined limits.).).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Lanoue into Reed for the purpose of providing alerts when the current values exceed the desired range of values using wireless communication system so that power transmission system can be remotely monitored.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Reed and Lanoue teach the system of claim 3, Reed teaches wherein at least one of the one or more processors forms part of the remote server to which the signal was communicated, and wherein the at least one processor is operable to receive the signal (para [0055] The remote device 257 includes an electronic controller 290, which may include an electronic processor and an electronic storage. The remote device 257 is any type of apparatus, system, or device that is separate from the transformer apparatus 240_1. For example, the remote device 257 may be a control system similar to the control system 250_1 that is in another transformer apparatus. The remote device 257 may be a computer-based work station, a smart phone, tablet, or a laptop computer in a remote monitoring station that connects to the control system 250_1 via a services protocol, or a remote control that connects to the control system 250_1 via a radio-frequency signal or an infrared signal),
Herein examiner views the remote computer-based workstation as remote server which includes processor which receives the signals related to a transformer through remote communication.
Lanoue teaches determine the value, and generate the alert when the value is outside the desired range of values (para [0034] The IED 80 may periodically or continuously transmit values for these currents, voltages and other variable over the communication link to the control center and/or may transmit alarms to the control center over the communication link if the values exceed certain predetermined limits.).
Herein predetermined limits are viewed as desired range of values which when exceeded an alarm is generated by the IED 80 that includes a processor.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Lanoue into Reed for the purpose of providing alerts when the current values exceed the desired range of values using remote communication system and processor so that power transmission system can be remotely monitored.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Reed and Lanoue teach the system of claim 1, Reed teaches wherein the current sensor is a single Rogowski coil (para [0043] Examples of cored current sensors include, without limitation, iron core current transformers (CTs) or air core CTs (that is, a Rogowski coil)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Reed and Lanoue teach the system of claim 1, Reed teaches wherein the current sensor and a processor of the one or more processors form part of a distribution transformer monitor, and wherein the processor is operable to receive the signal (para [0047] The control system 250_1 is also coupled to the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_2.
Para [0048] [0048] FIG. 2D is a block diagram that shows the control system 250_1 in more detail. The control system 250_1 includes an electronic processing module 251_1, an electronic storage 252_1, and an input/output (I/O) interface 253_1. In some implementations, the electronic processing module 251_1, the electronic storage 252_1, and the I/O interface 253_1 are implemented as a microcontroller).
Herein examiner views current sensors 270A_1 and 270B_2 is connected to controller (i.e., processor) to monitor the distribution transformer 230. The processor is operably connected to receive the signal from the sensors.
Lanoue teaches determine the value, and generate the alert when the value is outside the desired range of values (para [0034] The IED 80 may periodically or continuously transmit values for these currents, voltages and other variable over the communication link to the control center and/or may transmit alarms to the control center over the communication link if the values exceed certain predetermined limits.).
Herein predetermined limits are viewed as desired range of values which when exceeded an alarm is generated by the IED 80 that includes a processor.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Lanoue into Reed for the purpose of providing alerts when the current values exceed the desired range of values using remote communication system and processor so that power transmission system can be remotely monitored.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Reed and Lanoue teach the system of claim 1, wherein the system further comprises:
Reed teaches a second current sensor positioned to concurrently sense a primary input current to and a primary output current from a second distribution transformer of the plurality of distribution transformers (para [0027] A gang-operated switching apparatus is configured to interrupt or switch more than one phase simultaneously.
para [0043] Returning to FIG. 2B, the transformer apparatus 240_1 also includes sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1. Each of the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1 is any type of device configured to measure current through a conductor and to provide an indication of the measured current);
Fig. 2B, examiner views the switches 210A_1 and 210B_1 is positioned (i.e., on primary side) and operate simultaneously so that the current sensors 270A_1 measures the first or primary input current to the transformer 240_1 and current sensor 270B_1 measures the primary output current from the transformer.
wherein the one or more processors are further operable to: receive a second signal representing an output of the second current sensor (para [0043] Returning to FIG. 2B, the transformer apparatus 240_1 also includes sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1. Each of the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1 is any type of device configured to measure current through a conductor and to provide an indication of the measured current.
(para [0047] The control system 250_1 is also coupled to the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_2 . Fig. 2D.);
The control system 250_1 that includes processor in Fig. 2D is connected current sensor to receive measured values or signals from the sensors.
determine a second value representing a current flowing in a primary winding of the second distribution transformer based on the received second signal (para [0043] Returning to FIG. 2B, the transformer apparatus 240_1 also includes sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1. Each of the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1 is any type of device configured to measure current through a conductor and to provide an indication of the measured current)
Examiner views the sensors above are placed in the primary winding 231_1. The sensors prove value of current flowing in the primary winding of the distribution sensor; and
Lanoue teaches generate a second alert when the second value is outside a second desired range of values (para [0034] The IED 80 may periodically or continuously transmit values for these currents, voltages and other variable over the communication link to the control center and/or may transmit alarms to the control center over the communication link if the values exceed certain predetermined limits.).
Herein predetermined limits are viewed as desired range of values which when exceeded an alarm is generated by the IED 80 that includes a processor.
Reed uses multiple sensors and processors to monitor multiple transformers and Lanoue teaches generating alarms. Therefore examiner views Reed and Lanaoue obviously to apply the teachings of claim 1 to teach multiple, second sensors, second signals and, generate alarms for second values
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Lanoue into Reed for the purpose of providing alerts when the current values exceed the desired range of values so that power transmission system can be prevented from damage.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Reed and Lanoue teach the system of claim 7, wherein the second current sensor and a processor of the one or more processors form part of a distribution transformer monitor positioned at the second distribution transformer, wherein the processor is operable to receive the second signal, determine the second value, and generate the alert when the second value is outside the second desired range of values (please see claim 6)
Reed uses multiple sensors and processors to monitor multiple transformers and Lanoue teaches generating alarms. Therefore, examiner views Reed and Lanaoue obviously to apply the teaching of claim 6 to teach multiple, second sensors, second signals and, generate alarms for second values
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Lanoue into Reed for the purpose of providing alerts when the current values exceed the desired range of values using remote communication system and processor so that power transmission system can be remotely monitored.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Reed and Lanoue teach the system of claim 1, Reed teaches wherein the current sensor generates a voltage that is proportional to a rate of change of the current flowing in the primary winding of the distribution transformer (para [0043] Examples of cored current sensors include, without limitation, iron core current transformers (CTs) or air core CTs (that is, a Rogowski coil)),
Rogowski coil induces a voltage in a coil that is proportional to the rate of change of current in the primary winding of the distribution transformer.
wherein the current flowing in the primary winding of the distribution transformer is a difference between the primary input current and the primary output current (para [0050] For example, the switch control module 254_1 may store instructions that compare an indication from the sensor 270A_1 or the sensor 270B_1 to a pre-defined fault current limit that is stored on the electronic storage 252_1.)
Reed teaches either primary input or output current is compared to a predefined value but not the comparison between the primary input and output current. Similarly, examiner views, a person skilled in the art would use current transformers (CT) to measure input and output current from the primary winding of the transformer and determine their difference to check for an unpredictable result.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Reed by comparing the input and out current value of primary winding of a transformer to confirm if the transformer is operating in an intended manner.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Reed and Lanoue teach the system of claim 1, wherein the current sensor is positioned concurrently around a primary input terminal and a primary output terminal of the distribution transformer (para [0027] A gang-operated switching apparatus is configured to interrupt or switch more than one phase simultaneously.
para [0043] Returning to FIG. 2B, the transformer apparatus 240_1 also includes sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1. Each of the sensors 270A_1 and 270B_1 is any type of device configured to measure current through a conductor and to provide an indication of the measured current);
Fig. 2B, examiner views the switches 210A_1 and 210B_1 is positioned (i.e., on primary side) and operate simultaneously so that the current sensors 270A_1 measures the first or primary input current to the transformer 240_1 and current sensor 270B_1 measures the primary output current from the transformer. The current sensor is positioned concurrently around a primary input and output of the distribution transformer to measure the currents in the transformer.
Claims 1, 11 and 17 are rejected as claim 1 having same claim limitation.
Claim 12 is rejected as claim 3 having same claim limitation.
Claim 13 is rejected as claim 10 having same claim limitation.
Claim 14 is rejected as claim 5 having same claim limitation.
Claim 15 is rejected as claim 2 having same claim limitation.
Claim 16 is rejected as claim 9 having same claim limitation.
Claim 18 is rejected as claim 6 having same claim limitation.
Claim 19 is rejected as claim 10 having same claim limitation.
Claim 20 is rejected as claim 7 having same claim limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guzman et al (US 8031447 B2) teaches a transformer fault current monitoring.
Gajic et al (US 20080130179 A1) teaches for fault detection in transformers.
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863