DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by JP 2003245288.
‘288 teaches a head unit (1); and a handle unit (2) detachably combined with the head unit, supplying a driving voltage to the head unit in response to a user's manipulation (switch 82), and when being partially inserted into the head unit and then rotated with respect to the head unit, electrically connected to and mechanically engaged with the head unit (protrusions 4b are inserted into 4a and the head is twisted to secure to handle; paragraph 0014).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-20220035826 in view of JP 2003245288.
With regards to claim 1 and 9, ‘826 teaches an electric toothbrush comprising: a head unit (100); and a handle unit (200) detachably combined with the head unit and supplying a driving voltage to the head unit in response to a user's manipulation.
‘826 teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the head unit is inserted into the handle and then rotated to secure the head to the handle.
‘288 teaches a toothbrush with a pair of protrusion (4b) formed to protrude from the handle (3) and are rotated after being inserted into a cutout part (4a) in a head unit (1), thereby connecting the handle to the head. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the snap connection of ‘826 with the rotating twist lock of ‘288 since both attachment means are equivalent structures known in the art and substituting one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
With regards to claim 2, 9 and 10, ‘826 teaches the handle unit includes: an insertion member (230) including a base (230) portion formed in a pillar shape and one or more protrusion portions (231a, b) protruding from a circumferential surface of the base portion; a handle housing combined with the insertion member; a battery (310) installed in the handle housing; a main circuit board (350) on which a signal supply unit for generating a driving voltage using a voltage of the battery is mounted; and a connection terminal (311, 312) being in contact with the main circuit board, having a portion positioned to protrude outward from the insertion member, and electrically connected to the head unit when the head and handle are combined.
With regards to claim 3 and 11, ‘826 teaches the head unit includes: a head housing including a head portion having one opened side and a combining portion communicating with the head portion; an auxiliary circuit board (131, 132) installed inside the head housing; a head cover (110) closing an opened area of the head portion; bristles (111) combined with the head cover; and first and second electrodes (131, 132) positioned to correspond to the head portion on the auxiliary circuit board to generate an electric field, an electrode assembly (131, 132) positioned adjacent to a part of the combining portion combined with the handle unit, and is combined with the auxiliary circuit board and electrically connected to the handle unit when the head and handle are combined; and a receiving member (161) positioned adjacent to the electrode assembly, combined with a part of the combining portion when the handle unit is combined and mechanically fastened to the handle unit when the handle unit and head unit are combined.
With regards to claim 4 and 9, ‘826 teaches the receiving member (161) including an inlet part recessed to a depth into which the insertion member is inserted, a separation preventing part (135a, b) protruding from an inner wall surface of the inlet part and placed to face and engage with the protrusion portion when the insertion member is inserted into the inlet part and then rotated (as taught by ‘288); and a limiting part (walls of the separation preventing part) protruding from the inner wall surface of the inlet part, and limiting a further rotation after the insertion member is inserted into the inlet part and then rotated (as taught by ‘288).
With regards to claim 5 and 12, ‘826 teaches the plurality of connection terminals include: a first connection terminal (311); and one or more second connection terminals (312) spaced apart from the first connection terminal.
With regards to claim 7 and 18, the first electrode and the second electrode are located to be spaced apart from each other along a length direction of the auxiliary circuit board (figure 3).
With regards to claim 14, ‘826 teaches the electrode assembly includes: an insulating member (150) made of a non-conductive material and having a through-hole (121, 122) into which a portion of the auxiliary circuit board is inserted; and a conductive member made of a conductive material, having one side installed near the through-hole of the insulating member and electrically connected to the auxiliary circuit board, and having the other side positioned adjacent to the receiving member and electrically connected to the plurality of connection terminals when the handle unit and the head unit are combined with each other.
With regards to claim 17, ‘826 teaches at least one bar-shaped (131, 132) extension is formed in the auxiliary circuit board to be inserted into a through-hole (121, 122) of the insulating member.
Claim(s) 8, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘826 and ‘288 further in view of KR 20-0277091.
‘826 and ‘288 teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach a light emitting element (claim 8, 19) and that the head is transparent (claim 20).
‘091 teaches a toothbrush with a light emitting element (12) molded into the head that is formed of a transparent material (claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘826 so that there is a light and that the head is transparent as taught by ‘091 to have a toothbrush with a sterilizing function.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘826 and ‘288 further in view of and KR 10-20120130565.
With regards to claim 6 and 13, ‘826 and ‘288 teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach a first insertion part formed to pass through a bottom surface of the inlet part, and allowing the first connection terminal to be electrically connected to the electrode assembly; and at least one second insertion part formed to pass through the bottom surface of the inlet part, formed in an arc shape so that the second connection terminal inserted therein moves from one end to the other end when the handle unit and the head unit rotate relative to each other, and allowing the second connection terminal to be electrically connected to the electrode assembly.
‘565 teaches a plug and socket assembly wherein a connection terminal (114) extends through an insertion part (121) of a socket and is electrically connected to an electrode assembly (126) positioned within the socket. There is a first and second insertion part (121) of a socket receives a first and second connection terminal (114), in an arc shape so that rotated in a first direction the connection terminals are secured in the insertion parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘826 so that there are a plurality of insertion parts formed to pass through a bottom surface of the inlet as taught by ‘565 as an alternative means to securely connect the electrodes and connection terminals.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 15 includes the limitation that the conductive member includes a gripping part gripping a portion of the insulating member where the through-hole is formed; a pressing part formed by bending a portion of the gripping part that contacts the auxiliary circuit board, and pressing the auxiliary circuit board; and a contact part extending from the gripping part and coming into contact with the connection terminal.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723