DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a portion”; “a guide” (see claim 19 lines 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 line 7 recites: “slot of the guide; and a second electrical connector” should be
--slot of the guide; and
a second electrical connector--
claim 19 line 11 recites: “having a slot” should be --having a position slot--
Appropriate correction is required.
(Note: Applicant is reminded to recites exact terminology which has described in the Specification to prevent from confusing and antecedent basis. Therefore, Applicant should revise the claim set accordingly).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 line 4 recites: “a portion configured to receive a locking member of the mating connector”. Applicant just simply recites “a portion” but what is this portion and where exactly this “a portion” in order to receive a locking member of the mating connector. Further, where is this mating connector which has a locking member in order to receive by “a portion” that Applicant is recited in claim 10. Further, clarification is required.
Therefore, claims 11-18 also are rejected due to dependency. Claim 19 line 14 recites: “the slot of the guide of the second electrical connector comprises a portion”. Applicant just simply recited “a portion”, but where is this and what is this portion that Applicant is trying to claim here. Further clarification is required.
Claim 20 is also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Winey (US 10910770).
As per claim 1: Winey discloses an electrical connector 200 (as shown in fig. 2) comprising: a housing 214 comprising a body having a mating face and a mounting face (see fig. 2; wherein a connector comprises a mating interface adapted to mate with a second connector pressed towards the connector in a mating direction, the mating interface comprising: a plurality of contacts; and housing 214, forming a mounting interface, and Cage 202 has contact tails at the mounting interface of connector 200), a slot (not label, see fig. 6A-B, wherein the housing 214 has a slot, lined with contacts 212 that will engage pads of plug connector 104) extending along the body 214, and a guide 250 disposed at an end of the body 214 and having a first slot (not label, see figs. 6A-B, wherein the latching member is located within); a plurality of conductive elements 602 held by the housing 214, each of the plurality of conductive elements 602 extending from the mounting face into the slot (see figs. 6A-B, wherein housing 214 has a slot, lined with contacts 212 that will engage pads of plug connector 104); and a locking member 502/504 comprising a beam (as shown in figs. 6A-B) fixedly disposed in and curving out of the first slot of the guide (see figs. 6a-B; wherein latching members 502 and 504 have hook-shaped projections. In the embodiment illustrated, latching members 502 and 504 are coupled to connector 300. They are elongated in the mating direction A and are positioned to fit behind a side wall 250 of cage 202. Additionally, they are flexible in a direction perpendicular to the mating direction A and normal to side surface 250 of cage 202. The projections of latching members 502 and 504 have leading ends that are ramped, providing a camming surface that, when connector 300 is inserted into connector 200, causes latching members 502 and 504 to deflect away from surface 250).
As per claim 9: Winey discloses the electrical connector 200, and the locking member 502/504 is a metal member (see figs. 6A-B, wherein the locking member comprises a elongated member 620 may be formed from a springy material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winey (US 10910770) in view of Wang (US 9407022).
As per claim 7: Winey discloses the electrical connector 200, the housing 214, and the locking member 502/504. However, Winey does not explicitly disclose a board lock held by the housing, wherein the locking member and the board lock are integrated or separate.
Wang discloses a board lock 31 held by the housing (as shown in fig. 3), wherein the locking member 313 (hook) and the board lock 31 are integrated (as shown in fig. 4) in order to enhance a stability, reliability and securely locked/fastened between sub-assembly (as shown in figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the electrical connector of Winey by having a board lock held by the housing, wherein the locking member and the board lock are integrated in order to enhance a stability, reliability and securely locked/fastened between sub-assembly (as shown in figs. 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Winey does not teach: “wherein a head portion disposed in a second slot of the guide such that the head portion is movable inside the second slot of the guide; and a joint portion protruding out of the guide”. The above noted structure in combination with other recitations within the claims is not shown by a single prior art document and the examiner knows of no reasonable rational to combine the prior art of record such that the claimed invention would have been obvious at prior to the filing of this application.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831