The Applicant amended claims 12 and 15; and added new claims 18-20. The pending claims are claims 1-20.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first and second contact regions" in last two lines of claim 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutman et al., US 20070054561, in view of Steuer US 2003/0077485 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Gutman et al., discloses a plurality of battery modules (20A and 20B) in Fig. 20a. Fig. 19a shows pole pins protruding out of one battery module which should be the same for the adjacent battery module in Fig. 20a. Fig.19a shows pole pin coverings (55) but doesn’t quite have first and second covers mounted on respective first and second battery modules. Fig. 19a shows an insulating housing 50 but doesn’t show it being mounted on the first and second battery modules.
Gutman teaches module cover connected with a pole pin covering and a gap between the pole pin cover and the base of the module cover.
Steuer (US 2003/0077485 A1) teaches a module cover (1) which is integrated with a pole pin covering (7) where there is a gap between the pole pin cover (7) and the base of the module cover (1).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Streuer teaches the first and second pole pin coverings (0016- 0018), further are connected to the respective cover in regions facing the end edge of the respective cover (0016-0018) and positioned over the first and second pole pins respectively. The claimed first and second contact regions are herein equated to a surface of the pole pin which is in contact with the electrical connector.
Streuer "relates to an electrical rechargeable battery adapted to connect to at least one substantially flat cable lug of a cable connection including a cover made at least partially from substantially non- conductive material and having a substantially circular recess, an end pole provided with an external thread and arranged in the circular recess in the cover such that the end pole is surrounded on all sides by the substantially non-conductive material of the cover and is accessible only from above and through at least one narrow slot in the cover through which a flat cable connection can be inserted, and a covering cap which may be screwed onto the end pole to substantially isolate a region which is accessible from above." (0007).
Regarding claim 11, Streuer teaches a motor vehicle (0018) having the battery system of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zeng et al., US 2020/0091487.
Regarding claim 12, Zeng teaches a battery connector (3) for electrical contact-connecting a first pole pin of a first battery module (Fig. 3) to a second pole pin of a second battery module (Fig. 2-4) (0075); wherein the battery connector comprises a busbar with a first contact region (32); a second contact region (31); and a connecting region (33) having an electrically insulating coating (4) between the first contact region and the second contact region (Fig. 4) (0078-0079); the first contact region and the second contact region being provided respectively with cut-outs (cutouts between 32 and 31 respectively in Fig. 4); wherein the cut-outs are open in an insertion direction (x direction in Fig. 4) that is parallel to a main plane of extent of the bus-bar (plane formed in x-direction and y-direction in Fig. 4) and orthogonal to the main direction of extent of the bus-bar (plane formed in x-direction and y-direction in Fig. 4) and orthogonal to the main direction of extend (y direction in Fig. 4); wherein the cutouts are disposed through an entirety of a thickness of the busbar, wherein a direction of the thickness is oriented in a z-direction that is orthogonal to the main plane of extent (z direction in Fig. 4).
Thus, the claim is anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al., US 2020/0091487.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Zeng teaches a contact region having a cutout. Regarding additional cutouts, Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of cutouts, the court held that mere duplication of parts, since the further cutout can be used to connect three batteries (15) in the first module as opposed to two batteries (Fig. 3) has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Regarding the cutout, two cutouts would form a U-shape for both the first contact region and the second contact region.
Regarding claim 15, Zeng doesn’t explicitly teach the first contact region and the second contact region for the busbar (3), each having a recessed region, the recessed region being arranged offset relative to the connecting region in the z direction; but it does teach this feature for busbar (2) (Fig. 5) (0084). Therefore, the insulating material (4) can be coated on busbar (2) instead of busbar (3) in order to electrically insulate busbars 2 and 3 from each other as an obvious alternative.
Regarding claim 16, Zeng teaches the insulating coating on the connecting region of busbar (2) (instead of busbar (3) would result in the connecting region having a thickened portion orthogonal to the main plane of extent.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al., US 2020/0091487, in view of Wang et al., CN 208423030.
Regarding claim 17, Zeng does not teach the claim limitations of claim 17.
Wang et al., teaches battery connector (0014; 0055), wherein the connecting region has a lug that extends over an entire extent of the busbar (0024-0025; 0064) in the insertion direction, the lug being electrically insulating and spacing apart the first battery module from the second battery module (0030; 0061).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 18, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Streuer does not fairly teach or suggest the first contact region and the second contact region being provided respectively with first and second cutouts that are open in an insertion direction that is parallel to a main plane of extent of the busbar and orthogonal to the main direction of extent, the first cutout being connectable to the first pole pin of the first battery module and the second cutout being connectable to the second pole pin of the second battery module with the connecting region being between the first pole pin covering of the first cover and the second pole pin covering of the second covering.
Conclusion
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727