DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 10-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 101 rejection on claim 10, applicant argued that amendment to claim set forth will resolve the issue.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Despite of applicant’s argument, claim 10 was not amended to resolve the 101 issue.
Thus, rejection is proper and maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because software such as “computer-implemented machine learning model” or “computer program” is not patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, “… to perform the method of the steps of a the method…” is redundantly unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al. (US2021/0133966) in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0031919), Dwivedi et al. (US2022/0215201) and Carter et al. (US2021/0073977).
To claim 1, Fuchs teach a method for training a machine learning model for the instance segmentation of objects in microscope images (abstract), comprising the following work steps:
a. inputting a partially annotated image with a first annotated area, whereby regions of objects in the first annotated area of the partially annotated image are assigned to an object class and regions without objects are assigned to a background class (Fig. 2; Fig. 3(b); paragraphs 0004, 0022-0023; paragraphs 0058-0059, 0092-0093, segmentation of objects; paragraph 0083, background regions may be identified; obviously region without object would be identified as background class);
b. labeling the image via the machine learning model, whereby regions of objects predicted by the machine learning model are assigned to the object class (paragraphs 0007, 0009, 0014, 0018-0019, 0123-0128, divided tiles of sample biomedical image would be analyzed for annotation labeling regions of interests);
c. calculating a value of a loss function of the machine learning model by matching annotations related to the first annotated area to corresponding labels (paragraphs 0080, 0082, 0109-0110); and
d. adapting the machine learning model so as to minimize the loss function (paragraphs 0165-0167, the model trainer may determine whether the segmentation model has converged based on a comparison between the current determination of the loss metric and the previous determination of the loss metric. If the difference between the two loss metrics is greater than a threshold, the model trainer may continue to train the segmentation model. Otherwise, if the difference is less than or equal to the threshold, the model trainer may halt training),
wherein the matching annotations related to the first annotated area to corresponding labels allows for the object class and the background class, such that not only "true positives;" i.e. correctly by the machine learning model predicted objects, but also "false positives;" i.e. incorrectly by the machine learning model predicted objects, "true negatives;" i.e. correctly by the machine learning model predicted regions without objects, and "false negatives;" i.e. incorrectly by the machine learning model predicted regions without objects, are taken into account when training the machine learning model (obvious in paragraphs 0088, 0115).
In furthering said obviousness, Kim teach segmenting an image with identification of portions/regions into object classes and portion without an object class as a background class (paragraphs 0050-0053), wherein the segmentation model is trained iteratively to reduce loss until being less than a threshold or converges (paragraphs 0086, 0097).
Dwivedi teach annotating object in image via machine learning model, whereby regions of objects predicted by the machine learning model are assigned to the object class (abstract, paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, identify pixels of region of interest); calculating a value of a loss function of the machine learning model by matching annotations related to the first annotated area to corresponding labels (paragraphs 0036, 0054-0055, comparing identified objects to object-annotation metadata of object-annotated ROI image using a ROI-specific loss function), and adapting the machine learning model so as to minimize the loss function (paragraphs 0026, 0033, 0038, 0054-0055, 0077).
Carter teach automated medical image annotation, wherein the matching annotations related to the first annotated area to corresponding labels allows for the object class and the background class, such that "true positives," "false positives;" "true negatives;" and "false negatives" are taken into account when training the machine learning model (Fig. 6; paragraphs 0056-0057, 0060, 0064-0066), which correspond to Fuchs’ teaching above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings of Kim, Dwivedi and Carter into the method of Fuchs, in order to implement training.
To claim 10, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach a computer-implemented machine learning model, in an artificial neural network, for the instance segmentation of objects in microscope images, wherein the machine learning model is configured to realize the work steps of a method according to claim 1 for each of a plurality of training inputs (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 11, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach a computer-implemented method for the instance segmentation of objects in microscope images, comprising the following work steps:
inputting an image; labeling the image, particularly in its entirety, via a machine learning model according to claim 10; and outputting the labeled image (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 12, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the method of the steps of the method according to claim 1 (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 13, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach a system for training a machine learning model for the instance segmentation of objects in microscope images (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 14, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach a system for the instance segmentation of objects in microscope images, comprising: a third interface for inputting an image; means configured to label the image in its entirety, via the machine learning model according to claim 13; and a fourth interface configured to output the labeled image (as explained in response to claim 13 above, wherein a third interface and a fourth interface can be interpreted respectively as camera/data input connection/etc. and display/printer/data output connection/etc.).
To claim 15, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach a microscope having a system according to claim 13 (as explained in response to claim 13 above).
To claim 16, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach a microscope (Fuchs, paragraph 0122) having a system according to claim 14 (as explained in response to claim 15 above).
To claim 2, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach claim 1.
Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach further comprising the following work step: e. checking whether a predetermined abort condition has been met; wherein work steps b. to d. are repeated until the predetermined abort condition has been met, in particular until a predefined number of repetitions has been reached and/or until the loss function value falls below a predefined value and/or until a change of the loss function value falls below a predefined threshold and/or an accuracy of the machine learning model falls below a predetermined quality in non-annotated areas of the image or areas only annotated for test purposes (as explained in response to claim 1 above, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter, respectively, teach various stop condition of repetitive neural network training).
To claim 3, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach claim 1.
Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach further comprising the following work steps: f. renewed inputting of the partially annotated image with a second annotated area, whereby regions of objects in the second area of the partially annotated image are assigned to an object class and regions without objects are assigned to the background class; g. renewed labeling of the image by the adapted machine learning model, whereby regions of objects predicted by the adapted machine learning model are assigned to the object class; h. renewed calculating of a value of the loss function of the adapted machine learning model by matching annotations to labels in the first annotated area and in the second annotated area; and i. renewed adapting of the adapted machine learning model so as to minimize the loss function (Fuchs, paragraph 0125, obvious for repeating procedure for second or subsequent region of interest; Dwivedi, paragraph 0060, identification for plurality of regions of interest within the input image).
To claim 4, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach claim 3.
Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach further comprising the following work step: j. checking whether a predetermined abort condition has been met; wherein work steps g. to i. are repeated until the predetermined abort condition has been met, in particular until a predefined number of repetitions has been reached and/or until the loss function value falls below a predefined value and/or until a change of the loss function value falls below a predefined threshold and/or an accuracy of the machine learning model falls below a predetermined quality in non-annotated areas of the image or areas only annotated for test purposes (as explained in response to claim 1 above, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter, respectively, teach various stop condition of repetitive neural network training).
To claim 5, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach claim 1.
Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach wherein the value of the loss function depends on the geometric arrangement of the regions of objects predicted by the machine learning model with respect to the first annotated area and/or with respect to the annotated regions, in particular regions of objects, in the first annotated area and/or with respect to the second annotated area and/or with respect to the annotated regions, in particular regions of objects, in the second annotated area (Dwivedi, paragraphs 0031, 0036, 0054, loss function depend on geometric relations).
To claim 6, Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach claim 1.
Fuchs, Kim, Dwivedi and Carter teach wherein regions of objects predicted by the machine learning model which are assignable to a region of an object in the first annotated area and/or the second annotated area are always included in the calculation of the loss function value (Fuchs, paragraphs 0165-0166, loss metric over all segmented image and annotations).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 August 21, 2026