DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in People’s Republic of China on 01/09/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202310028459.1 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following claim language is unclear:
Regarding claim 1, lines 12-13 recite “in response to receiving an operation instruction corresponding to target material identity information in the plurality of pieces of material identity information” it is unclear what this means in the context of the claim. Is this action triggered by the current subtask? What is the difference between material identity information and “target ” material identity information? Does the “pieces” relate to the first and second material identity information? The term pieces constitutes a term of degree as it is not clear what portion is used for the target material data if any.
Regarding claim 1, lines 15-17 recite “wherein the generated work comprises material information carried in the target material identity information”. It is unclear what constitutes a material information and how does it relate to the first and second material identity information and the target? Is it a combination of the two?
Regarding claims 6 and 7, they both recite “subtask key data” It is unclear what this term means in the context of the claim. For examination purposes, a key data is used to search a historic log of image editing events.
Regarding claim 8, it recites “resource information” and “a virtual resource” it is unclear what these term refer to and how do they relate to the target picture. Is the resource information related to the target picture of claim 1? Is virtual resource in this context related to virtual resource partitioning?
Claims 2-8 are dependent on claim 1 and fail to cure the deficiencies set forth above for claim 1. Therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale above.
Claims 9-16 are directed to system type claims having similar limitations as claims 1-8 above. Therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale above.
Claims 17-20 are directed to media/product type claims having similar limitations as claims 1-4 above. Therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 10, 13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2024/0153536 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method for processing a task, performed by an electronic device, the method comprising:
in response to receiving a display instruction of a current subtask in a target task, displaying a subtask page ([0115] With reference to FIG. 9, after the addition trigger control in the subtask operation menu is clicked, an editing subtask editing mode selection window is displayed in a mask form on the editing interface of the video editing task.), wherein the subtask page comprises a plurality of pieces of material identity information, the plurality of pieces of material identity information comprise first material identity information corresponding to a first picture type and second material identity information corresponding to a second picture type, the first material identity information indicates that an object to be captured is captured by a capturing assembly for picture acquisition (Fig. 9, New Video, Camera; [0115] direct recording by a camera; [0158] In response to a video recording operation triggered on the video recording interface, a camera corresponding to the video recording interface is employed to record a video or upload the video to fill the video into the video track of the editing interface of the editing subtask; Fig. 18), and the second material identity information indicates that a target picture is acquired from a picture storage region (Fig. 9, Upload; [0115] uploading a material from an album; [0151] As an optional but non-limiting implementation, when the video picture material is uploaded on the material filling page of the first type of editing subtask or the editing interface of the first type of editing subtask, selection and uploading of a plurality of videos and picture materials is supported, and after selection, the video picture material is filled into the material filling page of the first type of editing subtask or the editing interface of the first type of editing subtask. The material filling page of the first type of editing subtask or the editing interface of the first type of editing subtask supports the deletion of the added video picture material.; [0163] Optionally, enter the album, and all albums of the system are displayed on the top, the first layer means choosing to enter the closest album by default, and the second layer means screening for types of materials, all/video/photos/live photos respectively; selection of plural materials is supported, mixed selection of various materials is supported, and the materials are displayed on the bottom in the selection order; click the selected album materials below or the materials themselves in the album area to enter the material preview page. For video-type materials, coarse clipping of the materials is supported; recording and importing the materials is supported, and click and then enter the camera process; after import is confirmed, the coarsely clipped materials are imported into the track in an order, wherein a duration of 3 seconds is set for photos by default.); and
in response to receiving an operation instruction corresponding to target material identity information in the plurality of pieces of material identity information, displaying a generated work of the current subtask on the subtask page (Fig. 14, last two displays on the right; [0147]; Fig. 15, first display on the left; [0148]; [0170] Referring to FIG. 21, the camera is automatically pulled up upon entering the video recording interface, and the green screen mode is turned on by default, and the green screen operation panel is automatically pulled up in response to a trigger operation of the green screen control at the video recording interface. The green screen operation panel allows for selecting a green screen background material, entering an album selection page and importing the background material as the second video material. The album selection page may display the video picture materials in the album in a reverse chronological order. The album selection page only supports checking the video picture material, and the video picture material only supports single selection; after the material is selected, a coarse clipping page is entered, and after confirmation, the material is imported into the camera, and the video recording interface for importing the background material is displayed.; [0173] Optionally, in response to a recording operation triggered on the recording interface, recording image acquisition may be performed during the recording, and meanwhile, a recorded image is concatenated with an image in the second video material based on the concatenation layout on the recording interface, and thereby the recorded images are recorded to generate the first video material.; See Fig. 21; [0175] entering a recording preview page; if the uploaded background is a photo, the recording duration is not limited, and completing the playing after manually stopping recording, and entering the recording preview page; the multi-section recording mode is as follows: if the uploaded background is a video, automatically completing the playing when the recording reaches a countdown duration or a video duration (a shorter duration), and entering the recoding preview page);
wherein the generated work comprises material information carried in the target material identity information and the object to be captured, or the generated work comprises material information carried in the target material identity information and the target picture ([0174] Referring to FIG. 21, optionally, in response to a background replacement operation at the recording interface of the third type of editing subtask, the obtained second video material is used to replace the original green screen placeholder picture. After the camera is pulled up after entering the video recording interface (namely, the green screen video recording interface) of the third type of editing subtask, the original green screen placeholder picture of the video recording interface of the third type of editing subtask may be replaced with the second video material obtained right after the addition of the background material. After the background of the recording interface of the third type of editing subtask is imported into the second video material, in response to triggering a recording operation on the recording interface, image acquisition may be performed by the camera; while recording, the recorded image is concatenated with the image in the second video material according to the concatenation layout and the concatenated image is displayed on the recording interface for preview. Subsequently, the recorded image may be recorded to obtain the first video material.; [0175]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein when the target material identity information is the first material identity information, displaying the generated work of the current subtask on the subtask page comprises:
in response to receiving the operation instruction corresponding to the target material identity information in the plurality of pieces of material identity information, displaying the object to be captured in a first preview area of the subtask page, and displaying material information carried in the target material identity information in a second preview area of the subtask page (Fig. 21, shows target material information in a first upper area along with a ribbon in the bottom of the page where a separate information is displayed);
in response to receiving an adjustment instruction of a target sub-object in the object to be captured, displaying an adjusted object to be captured in the first preview area (Fig. 21, “Automatically pull up a greenscreen operation panel”; [0170] Referring to FIG. 21, the camera is automatically pulled up upon entering the video recording interface, and the green screen mode is turned on by default, and the green screen operation panel is automatically pulled up in response to a trigger operation of the green screen control at the video recording interface. The green screen operation panel allows for selecting a green screen background material, entering an album selection page and importing the background material as the second video material. The album selection page may display the video picture materials in the album in a reverse chronological order. The album selection page only supports checking the video picture material, and the video picture material only supports single selection; after the material is selected, a coarse clipping page is entered, and after confirmation, the material is imported into the camera, and the video recording interface for importing the background material is displayed.); and
in response to receiving a work generating instruction, displaying a generated work comprising the material information and the adjusted object to be captured in the subtask page (Fig. 21, “Preview of the video picture material-coarsely clip”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches wherein when the target material identity information is the second material identity information, displaying the generated work of the current subtask on the subtask display page comprises:
in response to receiving the operation instruction corresponding to the target material identity information in the plurality of pieces of material identity information, jumping from the subtask page to a picture page of the electronic device (Fig. 21, shows subtask page of the editing app and a “jump” to a work page in which video picture can be further adjusted.);
displaying a plurality of historical pictures acquired at a historical moment in the picture page (Fig. 21; [0170] The album selection page may display the video picture materials in the album in a reverse chronological order.); and
in response to receiving an application instruction corresponding to the target picture in the plurality of historical pictures, displaying the target picture on the subtask page in an application sequence of the target picture (Fig. 21, “Preview of the video picture material-coarsely clip”).
Regarding claim 9, it is a system type claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above. The additional limitations including a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to are taught by Zhang in at least Claim 20 “A storage medium containing computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor, cause the computer processor to”
Regarding claim 10, it is a system type claim having similar limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 13, it is a system type claim having similar limitations as claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 17, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 18, it is a system type claim having similar limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 11, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0153536 A1) in further view of Hicks et al. (US 2014/0075335 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein displaying the object to be captured in the first preview area of the subtask display page comprises:
in response to receiving the operation instruction corresponding to the target material identity information in the plurality of pieces of material identity information, jumping from the subtask page to a work example page (Fig. 21, shows subtask page of the editing app and a “jump” to a work page in which video picture can be further adjusted.);
displaying the capturing assembly (Fig. 21, shows camera used to capture image);and
in response to receiving a capturing instruction triggered based on the capturing assembly, displaying the object to be captured in the first preview area of the subtask page (Fig. 21, “Recording in progress”).
Zhang does not teach displaying published works corresponding to different accounts on the work example page, wherein the published works corresponding to the different accounts are generated based on the target material identity information.
However, Hicks teaches displaying the capturing assembly and published works corresponding to different accounts on the work example page, wherein the published works corresponding to the different accounts are generated based on the target material identity information ([0064] Alternately or additionally, the image may include an edited image such as an edited version of an original image pulled from a source location into a browser, a native app, or other suitable application running on the client device. The original image may be edited in the browser, the native app, or other suitable application to create the image.; [0065] In block 354, the image may be shared with other users. For example, where the image is received at a social network, the image may be shared with other users, such as members of the social network that are associated with the first user, by sharing the image on a wall, a timeline, a feed, in a comment stream of a corresponding original image, or via other sharing means of the social network.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hicks with the teachings of Zhang to share the edited media with other users having accounts on a social media platform. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of combining known elements to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches, further comprising:
displaying resource information of the current subtask on the subtask page (Fig. 15, shows audio/text resource information “Add a text” and ”“Add an audio”; [0080] Optionally, the editing type of the editing subtask corresponding to the video editing component may include off-picture audio-video editing, oral broadcast video editing, and green screen-captured video editing.); and
receiving a virtual resource described in the resource information of the current subtask ([0080] Wherein main narration content of the off-picture video comes from a narration; the narration is recorded separately, and is generally a human voice or a voice converted from words, and the video picture may jump-over according to the voice content).
In addition, Hicks teaches in response to receiving a publishing instruction of the generated work, publishing the generated work ([0090] The first user may edit and share the selected image using a browser, a native app, or other suitable application. The selected image may be edited and the edited image may be shared to the social network 103 and/or to a social network hosted by the image server 101. Other users, in response to viewing the edited image, can engage in a visual commentary with respect to the image by also editing and sharing the same image back to the social network 103 and/or the social network hosted by the image server 101, for example.).
Regarding claim 11, it is a system type claim having similar limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 16, it is a system type claim having similar limitations as claim 8 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 19, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Claims 4, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0153536 A1) in further view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0245926 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Zhang does not teach further comprising:
in response to detecting a pose adjustment of the object to be captured, determining a continuously adjusted display position of the first preview area in the subtask page and a continuously adjusted material display perspective in a pose adjustment process;
displaying the first preview area in the continuously adjusted display position, and displaying the object to be captured in the first preview area; and
displaying the material information carried in the target material identity information at the continuously adjusted material display perspective in the second preview area.
However, Huang teaches in response to detecting a pose adjustment of the object to be captured, determining a continuously adjusted display position of the first preview area in the subtask page and a continuously adjusted material display perspective in a pose adjustment process ([0217] First, an image in a viewfinder frame of the mobile phone of the user is shown in FIG. 18A. The user selects a pose recommendation function, such that after a pose recommendation interface (FIG. 18B) is entered, a function prompt that allows the user to change a photographing angle (shown by “change an angle” in an upper right corner in FIG. 18B) can be displayed in the pose recommendation interface. After the user selects the function, a prompt (an arrow and a prompt text “move the mobile phone in the arrow direction” that are shown in FIG. 18C) that allows the user to change the photographing angle may be displayed in a photographing function interface. The user moves a location of the mobile phone to change the photographing angle. In this process, a system obtains N preview pictures at different angles (for example, the user rotates the mobile phone leftward, and preview pictures are continuously obtained in the process: assuming that the mobile phone is rotated leftward by 30 degrees, a preview picture 1 is obtained; and after the mobile phone continues to be rotated leftward by 30 degrees, a preview picture 2 is obtained) based on a video stream obtained in the process in which the user moves the mobile phone);
displaying the first preview area in the continuously adjusted display position, and displaying the object to be captured in the first preview area ([0217] generates at least N recommendation result lists (for example, a recommendation result list 1 is generated based on the preview picture 1, a recommendation result list 2 is generated based on the preview picture 2, and . . . ); and recommends at least one picture to the user (for example, a final ranking result is a picture in the recommendation result list generated based on the preview picture 2). A recommendation manner may be shown in the following FIG. 18D. In the photographing function interface of the mobile phone, a preview frame (in a lower right corner in FIG. 18D) is first displayed, and a preview picture (the preview picture 2) corresponding to the foregoing recommended picture is displayed in the preview frame, to prompt the user with a photographing place. The user learns, by observing the preview picture 2, that the user should perform photographing at a location obtained after the mobile phone is rotated leftward by 60 degrees). Therefore, the user performs photographing by rotating the mobile phone leftward by 60 degrees to return to the location at which the preview picture 2 is just obtained, and may also view the foregoing recommended picture in the pose recommendation interface.); and
displaying the material information carried in the target material identity information at the continuously adjusted material display perspective in the second preview area (Abstract; [0217]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with the teachings of Zhang to suggest posing recommendation to users and displaying multiple images for further selection. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of combining known elements to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, it is a system type claim having similar limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 20, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0153536 A1) in further view of Shoji et al. (US 2005/0036168 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches wherein displaying the subtask page comprises:
in response to receiving the display instruction of the current subtask in the target task, displaying the subtask page (Fig. 21; opens editing subtask page in response to an instruction);
displaying subtask description information of the current subtask on the subtask page (Fig. 21, subtask editing information such as greenscreen, audio, text, etc.); and
determining subtask key data of the current subtask by performing an information analysis on the subtask description information ([0124] Referring to the left diagram of FIG. 3, a preview player 140 is displayed on the editing interface of the video editing task; the preview player 140 may be used to perform preview playing on the combination result of the editing results of the editing subtasks of the video editing task on the editing interface of the video editing task. Optionally, upon playing through the preview player 140, an identifier of the editing subtask corresponding to the play may be selected on the editing interface of the video editing task, and a playing icon is displayed on the identifier of the selected editing subtask, and the playing icon is used for prompting that the editing result of the corresponding editing subtask is being played.).
Zhang does not explicitly teach determining the plurality of pieces of material identity information from a material identity information library based on the subtask key data; and
displaying the plurality of pieces of material identity information on the subtask page.
However, Shoji teaches
determining the plurality of pieces of material identity information from a material identity information library based on the subtask key data ([0099] In this case, the record search unit 8 tabulates as records the users that obtained the images from the WWW server, the edited and printed images that were edited and processed using the image editing unit 203b, and the edit and print count, and at the same time, using as a key the users that edited and printed the plurality of edited and printed images,); and
displaying the plurality of pieces of material identity information on the subtask page ([0019] output the records).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shoji with the teachings of Zhang to keep track of editing information for later retrieval by the user. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of combining known elements to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Shoji teaches wherein determining the plurality of pieces of material identity information from the material identity information library based on the subtask key data comprises:
determining a historical subtask in the target task, wherein the historical subtask is a subtask before the current subtask ([0019] a record of previous edits; [0044]);
determining historical material identity information applied in the historical subtask (Abstract);
determining a plurality of pieces of candidate material identity information from the material identity information library based on the subtask key data ([0019]); and
in response to the plurality of pieces of candidate material identity information comprising the historical material identity information, obtaining the plurality of pieces of material identity information by deleting the historical material identity information from the plurality of pieces of candidate material identity information ([0099]).
Regarding claim 14, it is a system type claim having similar limitations as claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 15, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Conclusion
/JORGE A CHU JOY-DAVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195