DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-15, 17, and 18 have been examined and are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
4. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 8/11/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended, claims 4, 10, and 16 have been canceled, and no new matter appears to be included.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-15, 17, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0184810 A1 to Bai et al. (hereinafter “Bai”) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0131568 A1 to You et al. (hereinafter “You”).
Regarding Claim 1, Bai discloses a method of operating a user equipment (UE) in a mobile communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration (Bai: [0062] – “The operations 500 may begin, at block 505, with UE receiving a configuration (e.g., via RRC signaling) of trigger states for CSI-RS reporting (e.g., aperiodic CSI-RS reporting).”);
receiving channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (Bai: Figure 5, step 515; Figure 7, step 715; Figure 8, step 813; see also [0062] – “At block 515, the UE may receive the CSI-RS in accordance with the activated one of the trigger states, and at block 520, process the CSI-RS.”); and
performing CSI feedback after receiving the RRC configuration and the CSI-RS (Bai: Figure, step 525; Figure 7, step 725; Figure 8, steps 816, 824; see also [0062] – UE receives the RRC then the CSI-RS before performing CSI feedback.), wherein at least one of the CSI-RS reception and the CSI feedback is triggered by receiving downlink control information (DCI) (Bai: Figure 5, step 510; Figure 8, step 810), wherein the RRC configuration includes at least one sub-configuration associated with the CSI feedback (Bai: [0062-0064] – corresponds to multiple trigger states and content, received in the RRC, that indicate multiple different trigger states.).
Although Bai discloses sub-configurations of RRC configurations, and that these configurations include multiple trigger-state configurations, Bai does not expressly disclose wherein each sub-configuration is related to antenna adaptation, and defined in a bitmap form.
Although Bai discloses sub-configurations of RRC configurations, and that these configurations include multiple trigger-state configurations, Bai does not expressly disclose wherein each sub-configuration is associated with an antenna adaptation pattern indicated by a bit string included in the RRC configuration, each bit of the bit string corresponding to a respective CSI-RS antenna port, and wherein the DCI includes information indicating a triggering state of the plurality of sub-configurations.
However, these features cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of You. You is similarly concerned with transmitting and receiving channel state information (You: [0001]). You discloses a sub-configuration is associated with an antenna adaptation pattern (You: [0112-0117] with Tables 8 and 9 – corresponds to receiving a plurality CSI-RS configurations, each configuration corresponding to an antenna pattern. See also [0049].) indicated by a bit string included in an RRC configuration (You: [0117] – corresponds to a one-to-one bit indication for CSI-RS port(s), wherein one bit may correspond to the lowest CSI-RS configuration number.), each bit of the bit string corresponding to a respective CSI-RS antenna port (You: [0117] – “…a 16-bit bitmap corresponding one by one to 16 CSI-RS patterns for four antenna ports. In the 16-bit bitmap, the most significant bit corresponding to a CSI-RS configuration of the lowest CSI-RS configuration number (also called a CSI-RS configuration index) and subsequent bits correspond to CSI-RS patterns in an ascending order.”), and wherein a DCI includes information indicating a triggering state of the plurality of sub-configurations (You: [0134] – “…an aperiodic CSI report is transmitted on the PUSCH. The aperiodic CSI report is triggered by a CSI request field included in the DCI (e.g. DCI of DCI format 0 or 4) for scheduling of UL data (hereinafter, UL DCI format).” See also [0139-0143], [0045] – as is known, the CSI report corresponds to one or more CSI-RS ports for reporting measurements.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the configuration of Bai in view of the configuration of You to include antenna patterns in higher-layer signaling for the reasons of reducing correlation and interference between antennas (You: [0008]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Bai and You discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Bai further discloses the DCI is received through a UE dedicated physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Bai: [0045], [0054-0055] – PDCCH is utilized for the transmission of control information, including DCI.).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Bai and You discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Bai further discloses the DCI comprising parameter information associated with network energy, and the parameter information saving is defined in a bitmap form (Bai: [0055] – corresponds to new or existing bit fields of DCI to transmit trigger information.)
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Bai and You discloses the method of claim 3, wherein Bai further discloses the parameter information associated with the network energy saving comprises CSI-RS transmission frequency information (Bai discloses these parameters may include [0054-0055] corresponding to a frequency of CSI-RS reporting (aperiodic) and how it is reported (beam). See also [0064].).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Bai and You discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Bai further discloses at least one of the CSI-RS reception and the CSI feedback is triggered after a certain amount of time, after receiving the DCI (Bai: [0062] – corresponds to the DCI indicating the scheduled CSI-RS using the activated one of the trigger states.).
Regarding Claim 7, Bai discloses a method of operating a base station in a mobile communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) configuration (Bai: [0062] – “The operations 500 may begin, at block 505, with UE receiving a configuration (e.g., via RRC signaling) of trigger states for CSI-RS reporting (e.g., aperiodic CSI-RS reporting).” Since the UE receives the configuration, the base station has therefore transmitted the configuration.);
transmitting channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (Bai: Figure 4, step 405; Figure 5, step 515 (implicitly disclosing “transmitting”); Figure 6, step 605; Figure 7, steps 705, 715 (implicitly disclosing “transmitting”); Figure 8, steps 813, 821; see also [0062] – “At block 515, the UE may receive the CSI-RS in accordance with the activated one of the trigger states, and at block 520, process the CSI-RS.”); and
receiving CSI feedback after transmitting the RRC configuration and the CSI-RS (Bai: Figure 4, step 415; Figure 5, step 525 (implicitly disclosing “receiving”); Figure 6, step 615; Figure 7, step 725 (implicitly disclosing “receiving”); Figure 8, steps 816, 824; see also [0062] – UE receives the RRC then the CSI-RS before performing CSI feedback.), wherein at least one of the CSI-RS transmission and the CSI feedback reception is triggered by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) (Bai: Figure 5, step 510; Figure 8, step 810), wherein the RRC configuration includes at least one sub-configuration associated with the CSI feedback (Bai: [0062-0064] – corresponds to multiple trigger states and content, received in the RRC, that indicate multiple different trigger states.).
Although Bai discloses sub-configurations of RRC configurations, and that these configurations include multiple trigger-state configurations, Bai does not expressly disclose wherein each sub-configuration is related to antenna adaptation, and defined in a bitmap form.
Although Bai discloses sub-configurations of RRC configurations, and that these configurations include multiple trigger-state configurations, Bai does not expressly disclose wherein each sub-configuration is associated with an antenna adaptation pattern indicated by a bit string included in the RRC configuration, each bit of the bit string corresponding to a respective CSI-RS antenna port, and wherein the DCI includes information indicating a triggering state of the plurality of sub-configurations.
However, these features cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of You. You is similarly concerned with transmitting and receiving channel state information (You: [0001]). You discloses a sub-configuration is associated with an antenna adaptation pattern (You: [0112-0117] with Tables 8 and 9 – corresponds to receiving a plurality CSI-RS configurations, each configuration corresponding to an antenna pattern. See also [0049].) indicated by a bit string included in an RRC configuration (You: [0117] – corresponds to a one-to-one bit indication for CSI-RS port(s), wherein one bit may correspond to the lowest CSI-RS configuration number.), each bit of the bit string corresponding to a respective CSI-RS antenna port (You: [0117] – “…a 16-bit bitmap corresponding one by one to 16 CSI-RS patterns for four antenna ports. In the 16-bit bitmap, the most significant bit corresponding to a CSI-RS configuration of the lowest CSI-RS configuration number (also called a CSI-RS configuration index) and subsequent bits correspond to CSI-RS patterns in an ascending order.”), and wherein a DCI includes information indicating a triggering state of the plurality of sub-configurations (You: [0134] – “…an aperiodic CSI report is transmitted on the PUSCH. The aperiodic CSI report is triggered by a CSI request field included in the DCI (e.g. DCI of DCI format 0 or 4) for scheduling of UL data (hereinafter, UL DCI format).” See also [0139-0143], [0045] – as is known, the CSI report corresponds to one or more CSI-RS ports for reporting measurements.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the configuration of Bai in view of the configuration of You to include antenna patterns in higher-layer signaling for the reasons of reducing correlation and interference between antennas (You: [0008]).
Claims 8, 9, 11 and 12, dependent upon claim 7, recites similar features as claims 2, 3, 5, and 6, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 2, 3, 5, and 6. Please see above rejections of claims 2, 3, 5, and 6.
Claims 13-15, 17, and 18, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6, recite similar features as claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6. Please see above rejections of claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6. Bai further discloses the apparatus as a user device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory in at least Figure 9 with [0078-0082].
Conclusion
10. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 August 19, 2026