DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-8 are pending.
Claim 4 is cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hildreth (US 11,746,587) in view of Johnson et al (“Johnson”) (US 3,869,839).
Re claim 1, Hildreth discloses a sill leveling device (10/12, being capable of leveling a sill, as this is directed to the intended use) securing a door or window frame member (20) to a substructure (28), comprising:
an adjuster plate (74) having a female threaded through hole (which receives 26) therein and configured to be secured (Fig. 10) to the door or window frame member (20);
an adjustment screw (26) for threadedly engaging (Fig. 10) the female threaded through hole (of 74, which receives 26) of the adjuster plate (74), the adjustment screw (74) having a through hole (32) therein; and
a locking screw (34) for securing (Fig. 10) the adjuster plate (74) to the substructure (28), the locking screw (34) passing through (Fig. 10) the through hole (32) of the adjustment screw (26) and being screwed to (Fig. 10) the substructure (28),
wherein a distance (Claim 1) between the door or window frame member (20) and the substructure (28) is adjusted (Claim 1) by rotatably adjusting (Col 4 lines 11-24) the adjustment screw (26) with a distal end thereof (Fig. 10, left end of 26) abutted against (Fig. 10) the substructure (28),
but fails to disclose a thermal breaker disposed between the adjuster plate and the door or window frame member.
However, Johnson discloses a thermal breaker (36; Col 2 lines 56-61 disclosing foam plastic) disposed between the adjuster plate (24) and the door or window frame member (21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sill leveling device of Hildreth with a thermal breaker disposed between the adjuster plate and the door or window frame member as disclosed by Johnson in order to add resilience such that upon adjustment, contacting features do not wear against each other, extending the life of the device.
Re claim 2, Hildreth as modified discloses the sill leveling device of claim 1, wherein the female threaded through hole (which receives 26) in the adjuster plate (74) is axially aligned with (Fig. 10) the through hole (32) in the adjustment screw (26)
Re claim 3, Hildreth as modified discloses the sill leveling device of claim 1, wherein the adjuster plate (74) includes a plate portion (see examiner comments) and a protruding portion (see examiner comments), the protruding portion (see examiner comments) being received in (Fig. 10) the door or window frame member (20).
Re claim 5, Hildreth as modified discloses a sill leveling assembly (Fig. 1), comprising a plurality of sill leveling devices (12, see Fig. 11) of claim 1 (see above) spaced along a length (Fig. 11) of the door or window frame member (28).
Re claim 6, Hildreth as modified discloses a sill leveling assembly (Fig. 1), comprising a plurality of sill leveling devices (12) of claim 1 (see above) and a plurality of door or window frame members (20) located adjacent each other (Fig. 11), the sill leveling devices (12) respectively being spaced along a length (Fig. 11) of two of the door or window frame members (jambs 20), but fails to disclose the sill leveling devices spaced along a length of each of the plurality of door or window frame members (in other words, a plurality of 12 are not disposed on top element 20).
However, it would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the leveling assembly of Hildreth to have the sill leveling devices spaced along a length of each of the plurality of door or window frame members (in other words, multiple also on top 20) in order to increase the range of adjustment and leveling through use of additional shims on the header. In addition, it has been held that the duplication of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent production of a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669.
Re claim 8, Hildreth as modified discloses the sill leveling device according to claim 1, wherein the adjuster plate (74) is secured external to (Fig. 10, at the protruding part being external thereto) the door or window frame member (20).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hildreth (US 11,746,587) in view of Johnson et al (“Johnson”) (US 3,869,839) and Johansson (US 3,667,338).
Re claim 7, Hildreth as modified discloses the sill leveling device according to claim 3, but fails to disclose wherein an entirety of the protruding portion is within an opening in the door or window frame member.
However, Johansson discloses wherein an entirety of the protruding portion (5) is within an opening (within 10) in the door or window frame member (10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sill leveling device of Hildreth wherein an entirety of the protruding portion is within an opening in the door or window frame member as disclosed by Johannson in order to allow for flush mounting on either side of the frame member (as the protruding portion would no longer protrude outward from the frame member), or to reduce the size/material of the adjuster plate (saving costs), as all portions would no longer be disposed / required exterior to the frame member.
Examiner Comments
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections 35 USC 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are moot as they do not apply to any of the combination of references in the above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635