Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2006/0201800) in view of Wu et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2010/0021787).
Regarding claim 1, Nakazawa teaches an electrode/anode comprising: a power feeder layer (40) including an electric conductive material (paragraphs 37, 59-60), the power feeder layer including a porous structure including porosity of 10% or more and 50% or less (paragraphs 38, 55, 60); and
a catalyst layer (44a) provided on the power feeder layer (40; as shown in figure 2), the catalyst layer including a ruthenium or platinum catalyst layer (paragraphs 9, 37).
Nakazawa fails to teach wherein the catalyst layer includes a porous catalyst layer including a porous precious metal or sheet-like precious metal, a metallic content per area of the catalyst layer being not less than 0.02 mg/cm² and not more than 1.0 mg/cm², a film thickness of the catalyst layer being 0.1 µm or more and 2 µm or less, and a porosity of the catalyst layer being 30 % or more and 70 % or less.
Wu discloses a membrane electrode assembly comprising an anode catalyst layer, a cathode catalyst layer and a membrane sandwiched between the catalyst layers (paragraphs 16-20). The porous catalyst layers include: a porous precious metal, i.e. ruthenium, platinum or gold, among others (paragraph 42), a metallic content per area/load of the catalyst layer of 1.0 mg/cm² (paragraphs 88-89), a film thickness of the catalyst layer being 0.1 µm or more and 2 µm or less (50-300nm ~ 0.05 to 0.3 µm - paragraph 83), and a porosity of the catalyst layer being 30 % or more and 70 % or less (as shown in table 1 on pages 6-7). As a result of this arrangement, the efficiency of catalyst metal utilization in a catalyst layer can be improved in the electrode of the electrochemical cell (paragraphs 22, 28, 46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use porous catalyst layers in the assembly of Nakazawa comprising the properties taught by Wu, in order to improve the efficiency of catalyst metal utilization in the catalyst layers in the electrode of the electrochemical cell.
Regarding claim 4, Nakazawa in view of Wu teaches a membrane electrode assembly using the electrode according to claim 1 (abstract; paragraphs 37, 59).
Regarding claim 5, Nakazawa in view of Wu discloses an electrochemical cell using the electrode according to claim 1 (paragraphs 33, 36, 62).
Regarding claim 6, Nakazawa in view of Wu further teaches a stack using the electrode according to claim 1 (paragraphs 7, 33).
Regarding claim 7, Nakazawa in view of Wu discloses an electrolyzer using the electrode according to claim 1 (paragraphs 33, 36, 62).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa in view of Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakai et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2021/0399319).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Nakazawa teaches all the features discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the power feeder layer is a metal non-woven fabric having the fiber diameter of 1 µm or more and 100 µm or less.
Sakai discloses a stack of electrochemical cells comprising an electrode including a power feeder and a catalyst, wherein the power feeder is composed of non-woven fabric having fibers to appropriately follow the displacement and deformation of the components which may occur during the operation of the electrochemical hydrogen pump due to the pressure difference between the electrodes (paragraphs 50-52). Even though Sakai fails to explicitly teach the particular diameter, it has been held by courts that limitations relating to the size of an element is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art, if the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04. IV.A.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a power feeder made of a metal non-woven fabric in the device of the modified Nakazawa, as taught by Sakai, in order to appropriately follow the displacement and deformation of the components which may occur during the operation of the electrochemical hydrogen pump due to the pressure difference between the electrodes.
Regarding claim 3, even though the modified Nakazawa fails to explicitly teach the particular thickness of the power feeder, it has been held by courts that limitations relating to the size of an element is not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art, if the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04. IV.A.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant argues that the prior art made of record fails to teach “a porous catalyst layer including a porous precious metal or sheet-like precious metal, a metallic content per area of the catalyst layer being not less than 0.02 mg/cm² and not more than 1.0 mg/cm², a film thickness of the catalyst layer being 0.1 µm or more and 2 µm or less, and a porosity of the catalyst layer being 30 % or more and 70 % or less”, as amended.
After further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection have been presented in view of Wu et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZULMARIAM MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794