DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 3, 5 and 6 objected to because of the following informalities: because of an informal expression. Specifically, the unit "mol/i" appears to be typographical error and should be corrected to "mol/L" to denote the molarity in liters. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being anticipated by Heping et al. (CN114122571 A).
Regarding claim 1, 2, 4 and 7, Heping et al. discloses a metal-air battery (aluminium-air battery, n0007) with aluminum as anode (para. n0003, n0007), an air electrode as cathode (para. n0007) and an ion conducting alkaline electrolyte solution interposed therebetween (ref. 3, figure 1, para. n0026). Heping et al. further discloses the alkaline electrolyte comprises of polyethylene glycol (polyethylene oxide) and potassium hydroxide (para. n 0026).
Regarding claim 3, Heping et al. discloses the potassium hydroxide is present in a concentration of 0.1~8 mol/L (para. n0026).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Guha et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2017/0237134 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 2, 4, and 7, Guha et al. discloses a metal-air battery (zinc-air battery) with a zinc anode (para. 0003, 0106), an air cathode (para. 0003, 0051) and an ion conducting alkaline electrolyte (para. 0007) between the electrodes. Guha et al. further discloses the electrolyte comprises of potassium hydroxide (para. 0007, 0091) and polyalkylene glycol containing ethylene oxide - poly ethylene glycol (para. 0009 – 0010).
Regarding claim 8, Guha et al. further discloses in an embodiment the anode is an alloy which contains silicon (para. 0106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heping et al. (CN114122571 A) in view of Inoue et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2021/0126290 A1).
Heping et al. is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 5 and 6, Heping et al. discloses polyethylene glycol in the electrolyte is in a concentration range of 0.1~100 g in each liter (para. n 0026).
Heping et al. fails to disclose the average molecular weight of the polyethylene glycol being used as the electrolyte additive.
Inoue et al. discloses an alkaline secondary battery containing zinc-based negative electrode and an alkaline electrolyte solution comprising of potassium hydroxide concentration preferably 38 mass% or less (less than 9.3 mol/L) and polyethylene glycol (para. 0022, 0094, 0102-103). Inoue et al. further discloses the preferable average molecular weight of polyethylene glycol used is 200 or more (para. 0092). The calculation for the amount of polyethylene glycol as disclosed by Heping et al. when the average molecular weight of polyethylene glycol is 200 g/mol is as shown below and it falls within the claimed range.
0.1
g
o
f
P
E
G
200
i
n
1
l
i
t
e
r
=
0.1
g
200
g
/
m
o
l
=
500
µ
m
o
l
/
L
100
g
o
f
P
E
G
200
i
n
1
l
i
t
e
r
=
100
g
200
g
/
m
o
l
=
0.5
m
o
l
/
L
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to include an electrolyte containing polyethylene glycol in the claimed concentration range and to use polyethylene glycol whose average molecular weight is 200 g/mol or above as taught by Inoue et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include use polyethylene glycol whose average molecular weight is 200 g/mol or above to reduce zinc dendrite formation and improve cycle characteristics.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heping et al. (CN114122571 A) in view of Ein-Eli et al. (WO 2011061728 A1). For purpose of prior art discussion refer to US PG Pub 2012/0299550 A1 for WO 2011061728 A1.
Heping et al. is relied upon as above.
Regarding claims 8, 9, and 10, Heping et al. fails to disclose a metal-air battery where in the anode contains Silicon – amorphous silicon, silicon wafer and silicon in the form of a powder.
Ein-Eli et al. discloses a silicon-air battery (ref. 10, figure 1 para. 0061) where in anode is a silicon wafer (ref.12, figure 1, para. 0061, 0086) and nickel mesh air cathode (ref. 14, figure 1, para. 0061). Ein-Eli et al. further discloses in an embodiment the anode comprises of amorphous silicon (para. 0016, 0079) and another embodiment where silicon powder is used as the anode material (para. 0023, 0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to have an anode containing amorphous silicon, or silicon wafer or silicon in a powder form as taught by Ein-Eli et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a silicon anode as a chemical fuel due to their high energy density and electrochemical performance.
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guha et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2017/0237134 A1) in view of Heping et al. (CN114122571 A).
Guha et al. are relied upon as described above.
Regarding claim 3, Guha et al. fails to disclose the concentration of potassium hydroxide present in the electrolyte.
Heping et al. discloses a metal-air battery (aluminium-air battery, n0007) with aluminum as anode (para. n0003, n0007), an air electrode as cathode (para. n0007) and an ion conducting electrolyte solution interposed therebetween (ref. 3, figure 1, para. n0026). Heping et al. further discloses the alkaline electrolyte comprises of polyalkylene glycol containing polyethylene oxide and potassium hydroxide (para. n 0026). The concentration of potassium hydroxide is 0.1~8 mol/L (para. n0026).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guha et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2017/0237134 A1) in view of Inoue et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2021/0126290 A1).
Guha et al. are relied upon as described above.
Regrading claim 5 and 6, Guha et al. discloses using polyethylene glycol (corrosion inhibitor) present in the electrolyte from about 100 ppm to about 25000 ppm (para. 0072).
Guha et al. fails to disclose the average molecular weight of the polyethylene glycol used as the electrolyte additive. Inoue et al. discloses an alkaline secondary battery containing zinc-based negative electrode and an alkaline electrolyte solution comprising of potassium hydroxide concentration preferably 38 mass% or less (concentration less than 9.3 mol/L) and polyethylene glycol (para. 0022, 0094, 0102-103). Inoue et al. further discloses the preferable average molecular weight of polyethylene glycol used is 200 or more (para. 0092). The calculation for the amount of polyethylene glycol as disclosed by Guha et al. when the average molecular weight of polyethylene glycol is 200 g/mol is as shown below and it falls within the claimed range.
100
p
p
m
o
f
P
E
G
200
i
n
1
K
g
=
1
L
=
0.1
g
200
g
/
m
o
l
=
500
µ
m
o
l
/
L
25000
p
p
m
o
f
P
E
G
200
i
n
1
K
g
=
1
L
=
25
g
200
g
/
m
o
l
=
0.13
m
o
l
/
L
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to include an electrolyte containing polyethylene glycol in the claimed concentration range and to use polyethylene glycol whose average molecular weight is above 200 as taught by Inoue et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include use of polyethylene glycol whose average molecular weight is above 200 to reduce zinc dendrite formation and improve cycle characteristics.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guha et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2017/0237134 A1) in view of Ein-Eli et al. (WO 2011061728 A1). For purpose of prior art discussion refer to US PG Pub 2012/0299550 A1 for WO 2011061728 A1.
Guha et al. is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 9 and 10, Guha et al. fails to disclose a metal-air battery where in the anode contains amorphous silicon, silicon in the form wafer and powder.
Ein-Eli et al. discloses a silicon-air battery (ref. 10, figure 1 para. 0061) where in anode is a silicon wafer (ref.12, figure 1, para. 0061, 0086) and nickel mesh air cathode (ref. 14, figure 1, para. 0061). Ein-Eli et al. further discloses in an embodiment the anode comprises of amorphous silicon (para. 0016, 0079) and another embodiment where silicon powder is used as the anode material (para. 0023, 0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to have an anode containing amorphous silicon, or silicon wafer or silicon in a powder form as taught by Ein-Eli et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a silicon anode as a chemical fuel due to their high energy density and electrochemical performance.
Conclusion
/I.M./
Iswarya MathewExaminer, Art Unit 1788 04/03/2026
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788