Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the Rejection under 35 U.S.C 102 based on Patron, the applicant states that the prior art fails to disclose “a selection signal part on the substrate part and configured to induce a radiation pattern of the radiation part to become either directional or omnidirectional by selectively connecting the main ground part and the side ground part” as recited by claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains the art rejection.
As explained further in the 102 rejection below, Patron discloses a plurality of RF switches on the substrate (FIG.1, Parts.106) configured to selectively induce either a directional radiation pattern [0029] or an omnidirectional pattern [0028]. Patron further discloses “ the antenna 100 includes eight folded metallic elements 102 […] each of the pairs of branches can be connected/disconnected to the center feed 104 by means of pin diodes or other RF switching devices 106 as depicted in FIG. 1” on paragraph [0030] and “when at least one metallic element 102 is not connected to the RF feed point 104 […], the metallic element(s) 102 not connected to the RF feed point 104 acts as a reflector/director for the other elements and allows the generation of a directional radiation beam in one direction” on paragraph [0029]. Paragraph [0046] of the Applicants specification clarify that the side ground functions to block radiation when configured in the directional mode. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, Patron discloses in paragraph [0030]-[0031] that by the means of RF switches 106 (mapped to the selection signal part, as claimed), if any one pair of the branches is selectively connected to the RF feed port 104 via the metallic elements 102 for that such one pair, then broadly, the bottom layer 110 (mapped to the side ground part, as claimed) for that such one pair is also selectively connected to the RF feed port 104 (mapped to the main ground part, as claimed) to result in directional radiation pattern (emphasis added). And if all pairs of the branches are connected to the RF feed port 104 via all metallic elements 102, then broadly, all bottom layers 110 (mapped to the side ground part, as claimed) are also selectively connected to the RF feed port 104 (mapped to the main ground part, as claimed) to result in an omnidirectional radiation pattern (emphasis added). Therefore, Patron clearly teaches “a selection signal part on the substrate part and configured to induce a radiation pattern of the radiation part to become either directional or omnidirectional by selectively connecting the main ground part and the side ground part” as claimed. The Examiner maintains the art rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patron(US20150349418A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Patron discloses
A switching antenna for ultra wide band (UWB) (“ the antenna described herein can be employed in UWB devices” [0041]) communication for a vehicle (“The antenna design described herein has potential applications to be incorporated into vehicles for terrestrial communications” [0046]), the switching antenna comprising: a substrate part (“the plurality of conductive elements include four folded metallic elements on each side of the substrate” [0010]); a radiation part on the substrate part and configured to radiate an omnidirectional pattern signal (“Such a configuration of metallic elements 102 allows the generation of an omnidirectional radiation pattern” [0028]); a main ground part on the substrate part and disposed below the radiation part (“the coaxial RF feed port 104 is connected on the bottom layer 110 with ground” [0030]); a side ground part in the substrate part and disposed on both sides of the radiation part (FIG.7, Part.110(left& Right)); and a selection signal part on the substrate part (“RF switches 106 “ [0031]) and configured to induce a radiation pattern of the radiation part to become either directional (“directional modes are achieved by connecting just one pair of branches to the center feed 104“ [0031]) or omnidirectional by selectively connecting the main ground part and the side ground part (“which radiates an omnidirectional radiation pattern “ [0031]).
Regarding Claim 2, Patron discloses
The switching antenna of claim 1, wherein the radiation part is configured to form a pattern on a top surface of the substrate part (FIG.1, Part.112)
Regarding Claim 3, Patron discloses
The switching antenna of claim 1, wherein the radiation part comprises: a radiation feeding part extends from a portion of the substrate part (Fig.9b Parts.104,106 &102) on a front side of the substrate part to a center of the substrate part and configured to apply power (“metallic elements 102 connected to a common RF feed point 104” [0028]); and a radiation antenna part connected to the radiation feeding part (FIG.9b, Part.106) and configured to radiate an omnidirectional signal in response to an electrical signal from the radiation feeding part (“the connection of all of them to the center feed 104 allows the generation of an omnidirectional pattern” [0032]).
Regarding Claim 4, Patron discloses
The switching antenna of claim 3, wherein the substrate part includes a circuit (FIG.1), and wherein the radiation feeding part has a pole shape (FIG.7, Part.102), and is connected to the circuit(FIG.7, Part.104).
Regarding Claim 6, Patron discloses
The switching antenna of claim 1, wherein the main ground part is on a back surface of the substrate part and disposed below the radiation part, and is configured to block a radiation signal of the radiation part (“the coaxial RF feed port 104 is connected on the bottom layer 110 with ground.” [0030]).
Regarding Claim 16, Patron discloses
The switching antenna of claim 1, wherein the side ground part is on a back surface of the substrate part and configured to block a radiation signal of the radiation part by covering both sides of the radiation part (“the coaxial RF feed port 104 is connected on the bottom layer 110 with ground,.” [0030]).
Regarding Claim 17, Patron discloses
The switching antenna of claim 1, wherein the side ground part extends along two opposing shorter edges of the substrate part (FIG.7, Part.110(left& Right)).
Regarding Claim 18, Patron discloses
The switching antenna of claim 1, wherein the selection signal part comprises: a signal pattern part connecting the main ground part and the side ground part (FIG.9A, Part 102); and a signal application part connected to the signal pattern part and configured to apply power to the signal pattern part, so that the power is applied to the main ground part and the side ground part via the signal pattern part. (FIG.9A, Part 106).
Regarding Claim 19, Patron discloses
The switching antenna of claim 1, wherein when the selection signal part connects the main ground part and the side ground part (“each of the pairs of branches can be connected/disconnected to the center feed 104 by means of pin diodes or other RF switching devices 106 as depicted in FIG. 1.” [0030]), a radiation signal of the radiation part becomes directional (“ directional modes are achieved by connecting just one pair of branches to the center feed 104,” [0031])
Regarding Claim 20, Patron discloses
The switching antenna of claim 1, wherein when the selection signal part blocks a connection between the main ground part and the side ground part (“ the parasitic elements act as directors and/or reflectors during directional modes of operation” [0010] & “the antenna 100 is also designed to operate by switching between four pairs of microstrip elements 102” [0039]), a radiation signal of the radiation part becomes omnidirectional (“the connection of all of [the branches] to the center feed 104 allows the generation of an omnidirectional pattern” [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patron(US20150349418A1) in view of Guan(US20250007180A1).
Regarding claim 5, Patron discloses all of the limitations of claim 3. Patron does not appear to set forth the Switching antenna of claim 3. Guan teaches in the same field of antenna design. Guan discloses the Switching antenna wherein, the radiation antenna part comprises: a first radiation part connected to the radiation feeding part and having a circle shape (FIG.10, Part.92); and a pair of second radiation parts that is symmetrical to each other at an edge of the first radiation part (FIG.10, Part 91)
Guan teaches in the same field of antenna design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patron with the teachings of Guan to incorporate the features of a circular first radiation part and symmetrical second radiation parts so as to gain the advantage of improving omnidirectional radiation characteristic [0022, Guan]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patron(US20150349418A1) in view of OKADO(KR20070007209A)
Regarding claim 7, Patron discloses all of the limitations of claim 3. Patron discloses the Switching antenna wherein, the main ground part comprises: a first main ground part on a rear side of the substrate part (Fig.9b Parts.104,106 &102) and extends up to ends of the substrate part on both sides of the substrate part (FIG.7, Part.110(left& Right)).
Patron does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein a second main ground part has a concave shape. OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. OKADO discloses the Switching antenna wherein, a second main ground part above the first main ground part and having a concave shape so that the second main ground part does not interfere with the radiation antenna part (“a concave portion (1215) for accommodating a power supply portion (1207) is formed in the ground pattern (1202)”[0088])
OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patron with the teachings of OKADO to incorporate the features of a second main ground part has a concave shape so as to gain the advantage of improving low-frequency characteristic [0056, OKADO]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8, Patron as modified by OKADO discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Patron does not appear to set forth the Switching antenna of claim 8. OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. OKADO discloses the Switching antenna wherein, the first main ground part extends along a longer edge of the substrate part (“a ground pattern (1202)” [0086]), and a top of the first main ground part is higher than the radiation feeding part and lower than a central point of the radiation antenna part (FIG.22, Parts.1215,1207 & 1202)
OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patron with the teachings of OKADO to incorporate the features of a first main ground part extending along a longer edge of the substrate part and a first main ground part being higher than the radiation feeding part and lower than a central point of the radiation antenna part so as to gain the advantage of reducing antenna size [0059, OKADO]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 9, Patron discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Patron discloses the Switching antenna wherein, the main ground part comprises: a first main ground part on a side of the substrate part (Fig.9b Parts.104,106 &102) […] a third main ground part on the side of the substrate part and disposed at a first edge of the substrate part (FIG.7, Part.110(left)); and a fourth main ground part on the side of the substrate part and disposed at a second edge of the substrate part, where the first and second edges oppose each other (FIG.7, Part.110(right))
Patron does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein a second main ground part has a concave shape. OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. OKADO discloses the Switching antenna wherein, a second main ground part above the first main ground part (“a ground pattern (1202)” [0086]) and having a concave shape so that the second main ground part does not interfere with the radiation part (“a concave portion (1215) for accommodating a power supply portion (1207) is formed in the ground pattern (1202)”[0088]);
OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patron with the teachings of OKADO to incorporate the features of a second main ground part has a concave shape so as to gain the advantage of improving low-frequency characteristic [0056, OKADO]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, Patron as modified by OKADO discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Patron discloses the Switching antenna wherein both ends of the first main ground part are spaced apart from the first and second edges of the substrate part on both sides of the substrate part (FIG.1, Parts 110 & 108)
Patron does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the first main ground part extends along a longer edge of the substrate part. OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. OKADO discloses the Switching antenna wherein, the first main ground part extends along a longer edge of the substrate part(“a ground pattern (1202)” [0086])
OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patron with the teachings of OKADO to incorporate the features of the first main ground part extending along a longer edge of the substrate part so as to gain the advantage of improving impedance characteristic [0060, OKADO]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 11, Patron as modified by OKADO discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Patron does not appear to set forth the Switching antenna of claim 11. OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. OKADO discloses the Switching antenna wherein, a top of the first main ground part is higher than the radiation feeding part and lower than a central point of the radiation part (FIG.22, Parts.1215,1207 & 1202).
OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patron with the teachings of OKADO to incorporate the features of a first main ground part being higher than the radiation feeding part and lower than a central point of the radiation antenna part so as to gain the advantage of reducing antenna size [0059, OKADO]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, Patron as modified by OKADO discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. OKADO teaches in the same field of antenna design. Patron discloses the Switching antenna wherein, the third main ground part comprises: a third vertical ground part extends along the first edge of the substrate part (FIG.7, Part.110(left));
Patron does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein a third horizontal ground part extending laterally from the third vertical ground part. Shifting the position of the third main ground part to extend laterally from the third vertical ground part would not modify the operation of the device; therefore, Patron discloses, a third horizontal ground part extending laterally from the third vertical ground part (FIG.7, Part.110(left)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patron by rearranging a third main ground part to incorporate the features of a third horizontal ground part extending laterally from the third vertical ground part as the rearrangement is an obvious matter of design choice (see, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Note that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See also, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)
Regarding claim 13, Patron as modified by OKADO discloses all of the limitations of claim 12. Patron discloses the Switching antenna wherein, the third main ground part is spaced apart from or connected to the first main ground part (FIG.7, Part.110(left)& 110(bottom)).
Regarding claim 14, Patron as modified by OKADO discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Patron discloses the Switching antenna wherein, the fourth main ground part comprises: a fourth vertical ground part extends along the second edge of the substrate part (FIG.7, Part.110(right));
Patron does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein a fourth horizontal ground part extending laterally from the fourth vertical ground part. Shifting the position of the fourth main ground part to extend laterally from the fourth vertical ground part would not modify the operation of the device; therefore, Patron discloses, a fourth horizontal ground part extending laterally from the fourth vertical ground part (FIG.7, Part.110(right)) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patron by rearranging a fourth main ground part to incorporate the features of a fourth horizontal ground part extending laterally from the fourth vertical ground part as the rearrangement is an obvious matter of design choice (see, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Note that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See also, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)
Regarding claim 15, Patron as modified by OKADO discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. Patron discloses the Switching antenna wherein, the fourth main ground part is spaced apart from or connected to the first main ground part (FIG.7, Part.110(right)& 110(bottom)).
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646