DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 8/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 11-14 are amended. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 11-14 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objection, 112(a) rejections, and 112(b) rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 6/9/2026. However, new 112(b) rejections are made in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, with respect to the invocation of 112(f) are fully considered but are unpersuasive. The applicant argues that the mere use of the word "module" does not automatically invoke §112(f), rather the proper inquiry is whether the claim language, read in light of the specification, conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the art a sufficiently definite structural meaning. However, according to the 3-prong analysis from MPEP 2181.1, the claim limitation “intelligence module” invokes 112(f). “Module” is the generic placeholder. “Predicting” is the functional language. And the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The structure of the intelligence module is not explicitly clear to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Though the claim limitation is interpreted in view of the specification when 112(f) is invoked, the 112(f) interpretation is invoked based on claim language rather than what’s described in the specification.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-14, with respect to the 112(a) and 112(b) rejections corresponding to the “intelligence module” are fully considered and are persuasive. The applicant cites paragraph [0025] for describing computing components as software, such as artificial intelligence. Accordingly, the intelligence module is interpreted as software. Accordingly, the corresponding 112(a) and 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 17-46, with respect to the 103 rejections are fully considered and are persuasive. Particularly, the cited prior art does not explicitly teach the amended feature of determining whether a pre-planned trajectory path exists in the trajectory paths database between the begin state and the end state (see arguments on pages 27-30). Accordingly, the prior art rejections are withdrawn. Regarding claim 12, despite describing the scenarios when a pre-planned trajectory path is available or unavailable between the begin state and the end state, the claim does not specifically include the determination step and therefore the prior art rejection remains as interpreted under broad reasonable interpretation (BRI) as described in the 103 rejection below. The cited prior art also does not explicitly teach the amended feature including calculating a blend radius parameter (see arguments on pages 37-40). However, for claim 12, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lin (US 20220063099 A1), Terada (US 20150100194 A1), and Norrlöf (US 20210260761 A1).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “intelligence module” in claims 1, 9, and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “capturing, by the computing system using the intelligence module and the imaging system, … planning, by a computing system.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the computing system” because it is unclear what ‘the’ computing system is referencing because there is no prior mention of ‘a’ computing system. Additionally, the claim recites “a computing system” after already reciting “the computing system” and therefore it is also unclear whether the computing systems are the same. There is also insufficient antecedent basis for “the intelligence module and the imaging system” in the claim because it is unclear what they are referencing without any previous mention of ‘an’ intelligence module and ‘an’ imaging system. For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as reciting “capturing, by [[the]] a computing system using [[the]] an intelligence module and [[the]] an imaging system, … planning, by [[a]] the computing system.” Claims 2-3, 5, 7-9, and 11 are also rejected because they do not resolve the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20220063099 A1) in view of Terada (US 20150100194 A1) and Norrlöf (US 20210260761 A1).
Regarding Claim 12,
Lin teaches
A system comprising: an automated machine comprising a robot arm; a robot controller; (“A robot 100 having a gripper 102 operates within a workspace 104. Motion of the robot 100 is controlled by a controller 110” See at least [0018] and fig. 1)
a computing system comprising a sequence manager, a planning manager, a trajectory path manager, (“The motion planning module 320 provides a sparse sequence of planned path points to a top-level program execution module 340 on the robot controller 110. … By providing the sparse sequence of points from the computer 120 to the program execution module 340, all of the inherent capabilities of the robot controller 110 can be utilized—thereby providing robot kinematics calculations, interpolation points and motion commands which allow the robot 100 to move smoothly and without hesitation along the path computed by the motion planning module 320.” See at least [0030-0032]; “The process continues in this manner, with each planned path output on the line 530 and executed by the robot, followed by a loop back to store the planned path, then receive new input scene data and compute a new path.” See at least [0047]; Examiner Interpretation: The motion planning module 320 illustrated in at least fig. 5 functions as a sequence manager, a planning manager, and a trajectory path manager.)
wherein the computing system comprises an intelligence module configured to capture a three-dimensional image through an imaging system; (“FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a system for robotic motion path planning using an external computer in communication with a robot controller, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. … In FIG. 3, the sensor processing and task management module 210 operates as described above relative to FIG. 2. That is, the module 210 receives camera images or sensor data, and provides the start and goal points for the upcoming robot task, along with obstacle data. The start and goal points and the obstacle data are provided to a motion planning module 320.” See at least [0028-0029] and figs. 1, 3, and 5; “Although the diagrams shown in FIG. 4 are two-dimensional, it is to be understood that all of the calculations performed in the presently disclosed techniques are three-dimensional and include all six degrees of freedom (DOF) of an item where applicable. The start and goal points include position (three coordinates) and pose (three angular orientations). The obstacles are defined as three-dimensional objects, either in terms of surface or solid models from CAD, or by point cloud or surface data from the sensor module 120. The computed tool paths are in three-dimensional space, and include not only the tool center point location but also the orientation (six DOF).” See at least [0035])
and a trajectory paths database, wherein: the computing system is configured to pre-plan trajectory paths between known neighbouring waypoint pairs prior to execution; the trajectory path manager is configured to generate the trajectory paths using spline interpolation between neighbouring waypoint pairs; the trajectory paths database stores the generated trajectory paths as pre-planned trajectory paths; the robot controller is configured to retrieve a pre-planned trajectory path when available between a begin state and an end state; (“At box 540, the path which was just output on the line 530 is stored in a data repository for later use in initial reference path generation, as discussed below.” See at least [0045], wherein the data repository is the database.; “Because the path currently being computed is very similar to a previously computed path (same obstacle environment, and similar start and goal points), the initial reference generation at the box 550 will be able to quickly provide an initial reference path which is a very good approximation of the path currently being computed. This in turn allows the optimization method box 410 to quickly converge on an optimized path and provide that planned path to the box 520. The process continues in this manner, with each planned path output on the line 530 and executed by the robot, followed by a loop back to store the planned path” See at least [0047]; See at least [0059] for spline interpolation.; “selecting a candidate path from a repository of previously computed paths,” See at least Claim 8; Also see at least fig. 7 illustrating that the planning is performed before controlling the robot to move according to the plan.)
Lin does not explicitly teach, but Terada teaches
when a pre-planned trajectory path is unavailable between the begin state and the end state, the planning manager and the sequence manager are configured to determine a first trajectory path from the begin state to a nearest intermediate waypoint having a pre-planned trajectory path and determine a second trajectory path from the nearest intermediate waypoint to the end state; the computing system is configured to construct a final trajectory path in a chain-movement mode by clubbing together the first trajectory path, the second trajectory path and one or more retrieved pre-planned trajectory paths; (“the reference trajectory acquisition unit 3 selects a trajectory from the trajectory database 2. The trajectory selected in this case is a trajectory whose motion planning input (for example, the current environment such as the position/pose of robot, object type, and object position) is similar to that of the arm motion planning problem to be solved and whose motion planning output is highly evaluated. The reference trajectory acquisition unit 3 outputs the selected trajectory to the differential motion generation unit 4 as a reference trajectory.” See at least [0027]; “First, the differential motion generation unit 4 acquires a reference trajectory from the reference trajectory acquisition unit 3 (FIG. 3A). Next, the differential motion generation unit 4 applies the reference trajectory, acquired from the reference trajectory acquisition unit 3, to the arm motion planning problem to be solved (FIG. 3B). At this point, note that the robot cannot move along the reference trajectory. This is because there are new obstacles associated with the arm motion planning problem to be solved and because the start point and the end point of the acquired reference trajectory differ respectively from the start point and the end point of the arm motion planning problem to be solved.” See at least [0051]; “the differential motion generation unit 4 extends the branches, one extending from the start point and the other extending from the end point, using the BiRRT method and connects them respectively to the ends of the calculated trajectory part T'longest (FIG. 4A). The differential motion generation unit 4 determines the trajectory, generated by the connection described above, as a temporarily solved trajectory (FIG. 4B). Finally, the differential motion generation unit 4 smoothes the temporarily solved trajectory to make it shorter and determines the smoothed trajectory as the finally solved trajectory (FIG. 4C).” See at least [0053] and figs 4a-4b (provided below); Examiner Interpretation: The trajectory path is interpreted as being unavailable in the database because the start point and the end point of the acquired reference trajectory differ respectively from the start point and the end point of the arm motion planning problem to be solved.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lin to further include the teachings of Terada with a reasonable expectation of success to “generate a reliable trajectory quickly.” (See at least [0053])
Terada also does not explicitly teach, but Norrlöf teaches
and the computing system is configured to calculate a blend radius parameter that blends successive trajectory paths and reduces deceleration and acceleration effects at waypoint transitions. (“there is provided a method for controlling an industrial actuator, the method comprising defining a movement path as a sequence of a plurality of consecutive movement segments, where each movement segment is defined between two points; defining at least one blending zone associated with one of the points between two consecutive movement segments, wherein the blending zone is defined independently in relation to each of the two consecutive movement segments; and executing the movement path comprising the blending zone by the industrial actuator.” See at least [0017]; “due to the blending zone 12b and the blending zone 12c, the industrial actuator is allowed to fly-by the second point 16a and the third point 16c. The movement path 10 is thereby made more smooth and acceleration and deceleration phases along the movement path 10 can be reduced or eliminated.” See at least [0061] and fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lin and Terada to further include the teachings of Norrlöf with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the speed of the industrial actuator can be increased and the wear on mechanical components of the industrial actuator can be reduced.” (See at least [0061])
Regarding Claim 13,
Lin further teaches
wherein each stored trajectory path comprises predefined (“On input lines 602 and 604, candidate planned paths are received from the optimization module 410 and the sampling module 420. The optimization module 410 and the sampling module 420 each independently compute a candidate path based on the data from the camera or sensor module 210 (start and goal points, and obstacle data). … At the box 650, the quality of the candidate paths is evaluated to select one path to use. The quality may be determined as a combination of robot joint path travel distance, path curvature, path execution time, smoothness of the path, and/or other factors.” See at least [0050-0051] and fig. 4; “At box 540, the path which was just output on the line 530 is stored in a data repository for later use in initial reference path generation, as discussed below.” See at least [0045]; Examiner Interpretation: The paths include path curvature parameters and they are predefined when the paths are stored in the data repository.)
Lin does not explicitly teach, but Norrlöf teaches
motion speed, velocity, acceleration and curvature parameters. (“The curves 22b, 22c define the movement path 10 within the respective blending zones 12b, 12c. … A dynamic coupling, e.g. speeds and accelerations of the industrial actuator along the movement path 10, may be generated in a second step to define a movement trajectory.” See at least [0060])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Lin to further include the teachings of Norrlöf with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the speed of the industrial actuator can be increased and the wear on mechanical components of the industrial actuator can be reduced.” (See at least [0061])
Regarding Claim 14,
Lin further teaches
wherein the trajectory paths database is configured to be updated with constructed final trajectory paths such that subsequently requested robot movements are executable using pre-planned stored trajectory paths with reduced planning delay. (“At box 540, the path which was just output on the line 530 is stored in a data repository for later use in initial reference path generation, as discussed below.” See at least [0045], wherein the data repository is the database.; “Because the path currently being computed is very similar to a previously computed path (same obstacle environment, and similar start and goal points), the initial reference generation at the box 550 will be able to quickly provide an initial reference path which is a very good approximation of the path currently being computed. This in turn allows the optimization method box 410 to quickly converge on an optimized path and provide that planned path to the box 520. The process continues in this manner, with each planned path output on the line 530 and executed by the robot, followed by a loop back to store the planned path” See at least [0047])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US 20220129013 A1) is pertinent because it discusses determining whether a predetermined route of the robot exists.
The above mentioned art, evaluated separately and in combination, does not disclose the entirety of limitations of the independent claim 1 since they do not describe a determination step for whether a pre-planned trajectory path exists in the trajectory paths database between the begin state and the end state including determining that the pre-planned trajectory path does not exist between the begin state and the end state as disclosed by the applicant in combination with the entire claim. No prior art has been found at the time of writing this office action to reject the pending claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARSTON G. EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 3657